بحث

غيبوبة الخنازير: العلماء "إحياء" الدماغ الخنزير بعد أربع ساعات من الموت

حدث شيء لا يصدق: استعاد العلماء النشاط الخلوي لدماغ الخنازير بعد ساعات قليلة من موت الحيوانات. حدثت هذه القيامة ، التي أجريت بمساعدة نظام معقد من السوائل الاصطناعية ، بعد أربع ساعات من وفاة الخنازير في المسالخ. وتقول نيتا فرحاني ، محامية الأخلاق بجامعة ديوك: "هذا إنجاز لا يصدق". إنه يتحدى كل المعتقدات الموجودة في علم الأعصاب. من الواضح أن فكرة عدم رجعية فقدان وظائف المخ ليست صحيحة ".

نتائج العمل ، نشرت في 17 أبريل فييمكن أن تؤدي مجلة Nature إلى تحسين علاج تلف الدماغ الناجم عن السكتة الدماغية أو الإصابات الأخرى التي تحرم أنسجة المخ من الأكسجين. يثير هذا الإنجاز أيضًا عددًا من القضايا الأخلاقية الخطيرة المتعلقة بأبحاث الدماغ ، والتي لم تعد على قيد الحياة ، ولكنها لم تمت بعد بالكامل.

هل من الممكن إحياء الدماغ بعد الموت؟ يبدو نعم

خلال الدراسة ، لم تظهر العقول أيعلامات النشاط العصبي الواسع الانتشار ، والذي يُعتقد أنه ضروري للوعي. لكن الخلايا العصبية الفردية لا تزال تعمل. يقول فرحاني: "توجد هذه المنطقة الرمادية بين الحيوانات الميتة والحيوانات الحية".

أجريت التجارب على الخنازير التي قتلت في مصنع الغذاء. كانت متجهة هذه الحيوانات لتصبح لحم الخنزير. "لم يقتل حيوان واحد من أجل هذه الدراسة ،" حدد المؤلفون.

بعد قطع الرأس ، كان حوالي 300 رأس خنزيروضعت في الجليد ونقلها إلى مختبر جامعة ييل ، حيث أزال الباحثون جراحيا الدماغ. بعد أربع ساعات من الوفاة ، وضع العلماء 32 من هذه العقول في نظام اصطناعي يعرف باسم BrainEX - حجرة بها سائل مطور خصيصًا يحل محل الدم ، الذي يتم ضخه عبر الأوعية الدموية ، ويوفر الأكسجين والسكر والمكونات الضرورية الأخرى في درجة حرارة الجسم للحفاظ على وظائف المخ.

بعد ست ساعات في نظام BrainEX الموتىوأظهرت العقول علامات النشاط. دخل الأكسجين والسكر في أنسجة المخ ، وتم إطلاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، كما يتضح من تحليل السوائل. هذا يشير إلى أن الدماغ كان نشط الأيض. بعض الخلايا العصبية في الحصين وقشرة الفص الجبهي ، وهي مناطق مهمة للتفكير المعقد ، بدت سليمة تحت المجهر. ولا تزال الخلايا العصبية تحفز الإشارات ، كما أظهرت الدراسات التي أجريت على الخلايا الفردية في أجزاء من الدماغ. على العكس ، تدهورت العقول التي لم تكن موجودة في نظام BrainEX.

</ p>

هذه النتائج تشير إلى أن الدماغ قدحتى الإنسان أكثر مقاومة للتآكل مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. يقول مؤلف الدراسة نيناد سيستان ، عالم الأعصاب في جامعة ييل: "هذه هي النقطة الأساسية". توفر هذه الطريقة طريقة جديدة لدراسة دماغ الحيوانات في المختبرات ، ويمكن للتجارب التي أجريت معها أن تعطي فكرة عن كيفية مواجهة الأضرار التي لحقت بالدماغ البشري الناجم عن السكتات الدماغية أو الإصابات الأخرى.

الدراسة رائعة أيضًا لما تحتويهلم يجد - نشاط دماغي واسع ومنسق يمكن اكتشافه بواسطة أقطاب كهربائية على سطح الدماغ. قد يشير هذا النشاط إلى مستوى معين من الوعي في هذه العملية. يقول ستيفن لاثام ، أخلاقيات علم الأحياء من جامعة ييل: إذا لاحظ العلماء مثل هذه الإشارات ، فإن التجربة ستتوقف على الفور. "إذا حدث هذا ، فسيتعين علينا إعادة تجميع صفوفنا ، لأن هناك مشكلة فريدة تتمثل في خلق نوع من الخبرة أو الوعي في جهاز معزول تمامًا عن أي كائن حي" ، كما يقول.

في نظام BrainEX ، تم تصميم السائل للتشمل مجمع عرقلة النشاط العصبي ؛ يشتبه العلماء في أن نشاط خلايا الأعصاب المفرط سيضر بالدماغ. لا يعرف العلماء ما إذا كانت إزالة هذا المركب المحظور قد سمحت بأنماط أكثر نشاطًا من نشاط الدماغ في الظهور أم أنها ستظهر عاجلاً أم آجلاً في مثل هذا السائل.

بالطبع ، على الدماغ البشري مثل هذه البحوثلا أحد جاهز بعد. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الطريقة على أي حال تزيد من احتمال أن تكون مثل هذه الأساليب في يوم من الأيام قادرة على استعادة بعض الوظائف في نسيج الدماغ البشري. قواعد التجارب البشرية صارمة للغاية.

نقترح مناقشة هذا الاكتشاف المدهش في غرفة الدردشة في Telegram.

Research

Zombie Pigs: Scientists “Resurrect” the Pig's Brain Four Hours After Death

Something incredible happened: Scientists have restored the cellular activity of the brain of pigs a few hours after the death of animals. This resurrection, which was carried out with the help of a complex system of artificial fluid, occurred four hours after the death of the pigs in the slaughterhouse. “This is an incredible breakthrough,” says ethicist and lawyer Nita Farahani of Duke University. “It challenges all existing beliefs in neuroscience. The idea of ​​irreversibility of loss of brain function is clearly not true. "

The results of the work, published on April 17 inThe journal Nature can lead to improved treatment of brain damage caused by stroke or other injuries that deprive brain tissue of oxygen. This achievement also raises a number of serious ethical issues related to brain research, which are no longer alive, but are not completely dead yet.

Is it possible to resurrect the brain after death? Seems to be yes

During the study, the brains did not show anysigns of widespread neuronal activity, which is thought to be essential for consciousness. But individual nerve cells still worked. “There is this gray area between dead animals and live animals,” says Farahani.

The experiments were carried out on pigs that were killed in the food factory. These animals were destined to become pork. "Not a single animal died for the sake of this study," the authors specified.

After beheading, about 300 pig heads wereplaced in ice and taken to the laboratory of Yale University, where researchers surgically removed the brain. Four hours after death, scientists put 32 of these brains into an artificial system known as BrainEX — a chamber with a specially developed fluid that replaces blood, which is pumped through blood vessels, delivers oxygen, sugar, and other necessary ingredients at body temperature to maintain brain function.

After six hours in the BrainEX system the deadbrains showed signs of activity. Oxygen and sugar got into the brain tissue, and carbon dioxide was released, as shown by fluid analysis. This suggests that the brain was metabolically active. Some nerve cells in the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex, important areas for complex thinking, seemed healthy under a microscope. And nerve cells could still trigger signals, as shown by studies of individual cells in sections of the brain. Conversely, brains that were not in the BrainEX system have deteriorated.

</ p>

These results indicate that the brain mayeven human is much more resistant to decay than previously thought. “That's the whole point,” says study co-author Nenad Sestan, a neuroscientist at Yale University. This method offers a new way to study the brain of animals in laboratories, and experiments with it can give an idea of ​​how to counter damage to human brain caused by strokes or other injuries.

The study is also remarkable for what is in itdid not find - coordinated, extensive brain activity that can be detected by electrodes on the surface of the brain. Such activity may indicate some level of consciousness in the process. If scientists observed such signals, the experiment would immediately stop, says Stephen Latham, a bio-ethic from Yale University. “If this happens, we will have to regroup, because there is a unique problem of creating some kind of experience or awareness in an organ that is completely isolated from any living thing,” he says.

In the BrainEX system, the fluid was designed toto include a compound blocking neural activity; scientists suspected that too much activity of nerve cells would be harmful to the brain. Scientists do not know whether the removal of this blocking compound allowed more complex patterns of brain activity to appear or they would have manifested sooner or later in such a liquid.

Of course, on the human brain such researchno one is ready yet. However, this method in any case increases the likelihood that such approaches can one day restore some function in the tissue of the human brain. The rules of human experiments are very strict.

We propose to discuss this amazing discovery in our chat room in Telegram.