عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

النجوم الصغار المكتشفة في أقدم مناطق المجرة

تحيط مجرتنا بهالة من النجوم القديمة والغاز الساخن الذي لا يمكن أن يبرد إلى الحالة الضرورية لتكوين نجوم جديدة. ومع ذلك ، في حزام أوريون ، اكتشف الباحثون مجموعة من النجوم الجديدة نسبيًا - وهي بنية ضخمة غامضة كانت مخبأة في الذراع الحلزونية لدرب التبانة. يبلغ عمر الكتلة النجمية 120 مليون عام على الأقل ، وتقع على مسافة حوالي 94000 سنة ضوئية من كوكبنا. تم اكتشاف الهيكل من خلال تحليل البيانات التي حصلت عليها مركبة الفضاء غايا التابعة لوكالة الفضاء الأوروبية. تم الإعلان عن هذا العمل خلال مؤتمر صحفي للجمعية الفلكية الفلكية في 8 يناير 2020.

الهيكل الغامض للغاز والنجوم الشباب تبدو جميلة بشكل مثير للدهشة ، أليس كذلك؟

ما هي موجة رادكليف؟

وفقا للمؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة ، جواوألفيس ، الشمس هي فقط 500 سنة ضوئية من الهيكل المكتشفة. في الماضي ، لم يكن أحد يستطيع أن يتخيل أن تدفق الغاز الشبيه بالموجة يمر عبر طائرة درب التبانة ، التي تجمع بين النجوم الشباب والمناطق المكونة للنجوم في مجمل واحد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحتوي الهيكل ، الذي أطلق عليه "موجة رادكليف" والذي يمتد لمسافة 9 آلاف سنة ضوئية ، على ما لا يقل عن 800 مليون نجم ، فضلاً عن كمية كبيرة من الغاز الكثيف المكون للنجم - ما يسمى "مهد النجوم". يفيد الباحثون أيضًا أن هذا الاكتشاف يغير تمامًا فهم منزلنا المجري ، حيث كان الهيكل أمامنا طوال هذا الوقت - لملايين السنين - لكن الآن فقط تمكنا من رؤيته بوضوح.

اقرأ المزيد عن اكتشافات علم الفلك الأخرى المثيرة للاهتمام على قناتنا في Yandex.Zen

مركبة غايا الفضائية التي أطلقتها أوروبافي عام 2013 ، قامت وكالة الفضاء بقياس مسافات ما يقرب من مليار نجم في مجرتنا ، ووفقًا للعلماء ، تعتبر قاعدة بيانات ضخمة وقوية لاكتشاف الهياكل واسعة النطاق مثل موجة Radcliffe. أتاحت البيانات التي تم جمعها بواسطة الجهاز حول عدد النجوم الشابة التي تم تجميعها معًا والانتقال في اتجاه واحد للعلماء من جامعة هارفارد إنشاء خريطة ثلاثية الأبعاد للمسألة بين النجوم في مجرتنا واكتشاف هذا الهيكل الهائل. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال شكلها يشبه الموجة ، وكذلك أسباب تشكيله ، لغزًا لعلماء الفلك.

مركبة غايا الفضائية على خلفية درب التبانة

يعتقد علماء الفلك أن الهيكل ببساطة ليس كذلكتمكنت من تكوين مكان آخر ، ولكن كيف تم تشكيلها بالضبط حيث يوجد القليل جدا من الغاز البارد اللازمة لتشكيل جيل جديد من النجوم غير معروف. ربما تكمن الإجابة على هذا السؤال في السحب السحرية - الجارتان المجرتان لطريقة درب التبانة. يبدو أن الكتلة تتسارع أمام مجرى الغاز الذي تنفجر من هذه المجرات بسبب الجاذبية في مجرة ​​درب التبانة. يسمح هذا للخبراء بافتراض أن النجوم الجديدة تولد بسبب بقايا الغاز الممزقة من هذه المجرات المجاورة.

هل تريد أن تكون دائما على اطلاع بأخبار من عالم العلوم الشعبية والتكنولوجيا المتقدمة؟ الاشتراك في قناة أخبارنا في برقية

هذا ما قد يكون ، وهذا اكتشاف مذهل فييثبت مرة أخرى كم هو قليل علمنا ليس فقط عن الكون ، ولكن أيضًا حول منزلنا المجري. إن النظر إلى الأشياء المألوفة من زاوية جديدة ، كما تعلم ، يساعد على توسيع حدود عالم يبدو مألوفًا بشكل كبير. على الأرجح ، في المستقبل لا يزال لدينا الكثير لنتعلمه عن موجة Radcliffe وأسباب ظهورها. يمكن العثور على نص الدراسة على صفحات المجلة العلمية Nature.

General, Research, Technology

Young stars discovered in the oldest regions of the galaxy

Our galaxy is surrounded by a halo of old stars andhot gas that cannot cool to the state necessary for the formation of new stars. And yet, in the Orion belt, researchers discovered a cluster of relatively new stars - a mysterious, massive structure that was hidden in the spiral arm of the Milky Way. The star cluster is at least 120 million years old, and it is located at a distance of about 94,000 light years from our planet. The structure was discovered by analyzing data obtained by the Gaia spacecraft of the European Space Agency. The work was announced during a press conference of the Astronomical Astronomical Society on January 8, 2020.

The mysterious structure of gas and young stars looks amazingly beautiful, doesn't it?

What is a Radcliffe wave?

According to lead author of the study, JoaoAlves, the Sun is only 500 light years from the discovered structure. In the past, no one could have imagined that a wave-like gas flow passes through the plane of the Milky Way, which combines young stars and star-forming regions into a single whole. In addition, the structure, which was called the “Radcliffe wave” and which extends over a distance of 9 thousand light years, contains at least 800 million stars, as well as a large amount of dense, star-forming gas - the so-called “star cradle”. Researchers also report that this discovery completely changes the understanding of our galactic home, as the structure has been in front of us all this time - for millions of years - but only now we were able to clearly see it.

Read more about other equally interesting discoveries of astronomy on our channel in Yandex.Zen

Gaia spacecraft launched by Europeanin 2013, the space agency measured the distances of nearly 1 billion stars in our galaxy and, according to scientists, is a valuable, colossal database for detecting large-scale structures such as the Radcliffe wave. The data collected by the device on the number of young stars grouped together and moving in one direction allowed scientists from Harvard University to create a three-dimensional map of the interstellar matter of our galaxy and discover this massive structure. However, its wave-like shape, as well as the reasons for its formation, remain a mystery to astronomers.

Gaia spacecraft on the background of the Milky Way

Astronomers believe that the structure is simply notmanaged to form somewhere else, but how exactly it was formed where there is very little cold gas, which is needed to form a new generation of stars, is unknown. Perhaps the answer to this question lies in the Magellanic Clouds - the two galactic neighbors of the Milky Way. The cluster seems to accelerate in front of the gas stream that burst from these galaxies due to the gravitational attraction of the Milky Way. This allows specialists to assume that new stars are born due to the remnants of gas torn from these neighboring galaxies.

Do you want to always be up to date with news from the world of popular science and high technology? Subscribe to our news channel in Telegram

Be that as it may, this is an amazing discovery inonce again proves how little we know not only about the Universe, but also about our galactic home. Looking at familiar things from a new angle, as you know, helps to significantly expand the boundaries of a seemingly familiar world. Most likely, in the future we still have a lot to learn about the Radcliffe wave and the reasons for its appearance. The text of the study can be found on the pages of the scientific journal Nature.