عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

الديدان قادرة على أكل النفايات البلاستيكية والطبيعة نظيفة

كل يوم نستخدم الأكياس البلاستيكيةورمي الكثير من المنتجات البلاستيكية. إنها تلوث البيئة لدرجة أن النفايات البلاستيكية كانت تستخدم من قبل الحيوانات كمواد بناء وحتى تستخدم كغذاء. يحاول دعاة حماية البيئة من جميع أنحاء العالم التوصل إلى طريقة فعالة لتنظيف البلاستيك من القمامة بطبيعتها ومن وقت لآخر يقدمون خيارات مثيرة للاهتمام وغير عادية. على سبيل المثال ، يعتقد العلماء الكنديون أن يرقات ما يسمى فراشة الشمع الكبيرة يمكن أن تدمر النفايات البلاستيكية بشكل فعال. اتضح أنهم ، إلى جانب البكتيريا المعوية ، يأكلون ويهضمون مادة البولي إيثيلين ، التي تراكمت كثيراً على كوكبنا ، بشهية كبيرة.

يبدو مثل يرقة عثة الشمع كبيرة

قيل اكتشاف العلماء في العلميةوقائع الجمعية الملكية ب. تثير يرقات عثة الشمع الكبيرة ، والتي تُعرف أيضًا باسم ديدان الشمع ، العديد من المشكلات لمربي النحل. إنهم يتناولون بنشاط أقراص العسل الشمعية ويدمرون جزءًا من العسل الذي يجمعه النحل ، لذلك يحاول الناس محاربتهم. ومع ذلك ، في عام 2017 ، وجد الباحثون أنها يمكن أن تكون ذات فائدة بيئية كبيرة من خلال تناول البولي إيثيلين وإنتاج الكحول الإيثيلين غليكول ثنائي الهيدول كمنتج ثانوي.

تنظيف الكوكب من البلاستيك

في سياق العمل العلمي ، والعلماء الكنديون عمدازرعت اليرقات على نظام غذائي يتكون تماما من البولي ايثيلين. كما اتضح فيما بعد ، تأكل الديدان نفايات بلاستيكية بشهية كبيرة ، لأن 60 شخصًا تناولوا خلال الأسبوع شظية بلاستيكية من الكيس تبلغ مساحتها أكثر من 30 سنتيمترًا مربعًا. علاوة على ذلك ، خلال العمل الإضافي ، اتضح أن اليرقات يمكنها أن تأكل مواد أخرى تلوث كوكبنا ، لكن ما الذي يتحدثون عنه بالضبط ، لم يحدد الباحثون بعد.

يرقات عثة الشمع الكبيرة تسبب العديد من المشكلات لمربي النحل

مساعدة كبيرة في هضم البولي ايثيلينالبكتيريا المعوية لها يرقات. لقد تعلم العلماء حول هذا عندما قارنوا تركيبة البكتيريا المعوية التي كانت في النظام الغذائي "البلاستيكي" لليرقات والأفراد الذين تناولوا شمع العسل المعتاد. اتضح أن تركيز البكتيريا المعوية داخل عشاق النفايات البلاستيكية كان أعلى بكثير من البقية. هذا يعني أنه بالنسبة لهضم البولي إيثيلين ، فإن البكتيريا المعوية ضرورية ببساطة لليرقات.

انظر أيضًا: كيف تتعامل الصين مع النفايات البلاستيكية؟

العلماء أكثر أهمية في أهمية البكتيريا المعويةتأكد في سياق تجربة أخرى. اختاروا العديد من اليرقات وحرموهم تماما من البكتيريا المعوية بالمضادات الحيوية. أكلت هذه المجموعة نفايات بلاستيكية طوال العام وكان من الصعب هضمها. اتضح أن هناك تآزرًا بين اليرقات والبكتيريا المعوية ، أي المساعدة المتبادلة.

التآزر - هذا تأثير معزز لتفاعل عاملين أو أكثر.

حسنا ، اتضح أن جبال النفايات البلاستيكيةيمكن تدميرها ببساطة عن طريق السماح للديدان الحصول على ما يكفي منهم. هنا فقط أن لديهم قوة كافية لذلك ، هناك شكوك كبيرة. لذلك ، في المستقبل ، سوف يتوصل العلماء إلى طريقة لتعزيز اتحاد اليرقات والبكتيريا المعوية. للقيام بذلك ، من المهم بالنسبة لهم أن يكتشفوا بالضبط كيف تتفاعل اليرقات والبكتيريا المعوية ، وأيضاً تحت أي ظروف تبدأ البكتيريا في الازدهار.

إشعار Facebook للاتحاد الأوروبي! تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول لعرض ونشر تعليقات الفيسبوك!

General, Research, Technology

Worms are able to eat plastic waste and clean nature

Every day we use plastic bagsand throw away a lot of plastic products. It pollutes the environment so much that plastic wastes were used by animals as building materials and even used as food. Environmentalists from around the world are trying to come up with an effective way to clean plastic from rubbish in nature and from time to time offer very interesting and unusual options. For example, Canadian scientists believe that the larvae of the so-called large wax moth can effectively destroy plastic waste. It turned out that they, together with their intestinal bacteria, with great appetite eat and digest polyethylene, which on our planet has accumulated a lot.

It looks like a larva of a large wax moth

The discovery of scientists was told in the scientificProceedings of the Royal Society B. The large wax moth larvae, also known as wax worms, actually bring many problems to beekeepers. They actively eat wax honeycombs and destroy part of the honey collected by bees, so people try to fight them. However, in 2017, researchers found that they can be of great environmental benefit by eating polyethylene and producing ethylene glycol dihydric alcohol as a by-product.

Cleaning the planet from plastic

In the course of scientific work, Canadian scientists intentionallyplanted the larvae on a diet consisting entirely of polyethylene. As it turned out, the worms eat plastic waste with great appetite, because during the week 60 individuals ate a plastic fragment of the bag with an area of ​​more than 30 square centimeters. Moreover, in the course of further work, it turned out that the larvae can eat other materials that pollute our planet, but what exactly are they talking about, the researchers have not yet specified.

Large wax moth larvae cause many problems for beekeepers

Great help in digesting polyethyleneintestinal bacteria have larvae. Scientists learned about this when they compared the composition of the intestinal bacteria that were on the “plastic” diet of larvae and individuals that ate the usual beeswax. It turned out that the concentration of intestinal bacteria inside plastic waste lovers was much higher than the rest. This means that for the digestion of polyethylene, intestinal bacteria are simply necessary for the larvae.

See also: How does China deal with plastic waste?

Scientists are even more important in the importance of intestinal bacteriamade sure in the course of another experiment. They selected several larvae and completely deprived them of intestinal bacteria with antibiotics. This group ate plastic waste throughout the year and was difficult to digest. It turns out that between the larvae and intestinal bacteria there is synergy, that is, mutual assistance.

Synergy - This is the enhancing effect of the interaction of two or more factors.

Well, it turns out that mountains of plastic wastecan be destroyed simply by letting the worms get enough of them. Only here is that they have enough strength for this, there are big doubts. Therefore, in the future, scientists are going to come up with a way to strengthen the union of larvae and intestinal bacteria. To do this, it is important for them to find out exactly how the larvae and intestinal bacteria interact, and also under what conditions the bacteria begin to thrive.