الفضاء

لماذا يستحيل إنقاذ روفر "الفرصة" مع روفر المريخ "الفضول"

يوم الأربعاء ، وكالة الفضاء الأمريكيةأعلنت ناسا الانتهاء الرسمي من مهمة روفر مارس المريخ. توقف الروبوت البحثي عن التواصل في يونيو 2018 بعد مرور عاصفة ترابية عالمية على الكوكب الأحمر. هذا الأسبوع مساء الثلاثاء ، قام خبراء ناسا بمحاولة أخيرة للاتصال بالروفر ، لكنها كانت أيضًا غير ناجحة. الجواب من البحوث الروبوت على الأرض لم تنتظر. من الواضح أن الألواح الشمسية "الفرصة" كانت مغطاة تمامًا بالغبار ، مما يتداخل مع إعادة شحن بطارياتها. لقد نفدت الطاقة أثناء العمل.

بحلول وقت هبوطه على الكوكب الأحمر فيكانون الثاني (يناير) 2004 ، كانت الفرصة موجودة بالفعل بعيدًا عن أول روفر التي هبطت على سطح المريخ (وبالتأكيد لن تكون الأخيرة). لكنه كان بالتأكيد الأكثر دواما بين الآخرين. كما لاحظ جيم برايدن ، مدير ناسا ، من لحظة الهبوط ، "كانت المهمة الرئيسية هي التقدم على الأقل 100 متر على سطح المريخ والعمل لمدة 90 منفرداً" (أيام المريخ تستغرق حوالي 40 دقيقة أطول من الأرض). لكن في النهاية ، عملت السيارة تقريبًا 5111 منفرداً ، وهذا ما يقرب من 15 عامًا! خلال هذا الوقت ، و "مدفوعة" من قبل الرياح المريخية ، والتي فجرت من وقت لآخر الغبار المتراكم على سطح البطاريات الشمسية لها ، غطت روفر مسافة أكثر من 40 كيلومترا من سطح المريخ.

هل الفرصة مفقودة تمامًا ولا يمكن لـ NASA حفظها ، على سبيل المثال ، بمساعدة روفر آخر؟

المرشح الأكثر وضوحا لهذا الدور"المنقذ" ، بالطبع ، هو "فضول" المتجول - وهو زميل أكبر و "شاب" لا يستخدم بطاريات شمسية لتوليد الطاقة ، ولكن مولد كهربائي حراري للنظائر المشعة ، مما يعني أنه لا يخاف من أي عاصفة مريخية. ألا يمكن أن يصرف انتباهه عن عمله ، ويرسل إلى "زميل" ويرى ما حدث بالفعل ، إن أمكن ، لتصحيح المشكلة؟

صورة لآثار روفر الفرص التي تقدمها ناسا ، والتي التقطها في الحفرة إنديفور في يونيو 2017

لسوء الحظ ، المشكلة الأولى والرئيسيةيكمن في المسافة. وفقًا لخريطة المريخ التي أنشأتها ناسا ، يقع الفضول والفرص على بعد 8400 كيلومتر. على الرغم من أن قلادة Curiosity أكثر فاعلية بكثير من الفرصة ، فهي تتحرك بسرعة 4 سم فقط في الثانية - سيستغرق الأمر إلى الأبد للوصول إلى زميل في مشكلة. بسبب تعقيد وتنوع تربة المريخ ، يجب التحكم في روفرز عن بعد من الأرض. في المتوسط ​​، تتقاسم Earth و Mars مسافة 254 مليون كيلومتر ، لذلك تستغرق الرسائل ثنائية الاتجاه في المتوسط ​​حوالي 28 دقيقة و 12 ثانية. بمعنى آخر ، لكي تقود السيارة بضعة أمتار على الأقل ، ستحتاج السيارة إلى عدة أيام.

المشكلة الثانية هي ذلك"الفضول" هو بحث ، وليس روفر إصلاح. سيواجه فريق المهمة المهمة الهائلة المتمثلة في إعادة تشكيل أدوات روفر حتى يتمكن من تنظيف الألواح الشمسية الفرصة. وحتى في هذه الحالة ، لن يكون أي شخص مستعدًا لضمان نجاح هذه العملية المغامرة. إذا حدث خطأ ما ، فإن وكالة ناسا ستخاطر بفقدان روفرز دفعة واحدة.

سلفي روفر "الفضول"

أخيرًا ، المشكلة الأخيرة هي الوقت. حتى لو كان معجزة ، فإن الفضول يمكن أن يتحرك عبر سطح المريخ مع رشاقة قطار فائق السرعة وكان قادراً على الوصول إلى موقع الفرص ، فإن شتاء المريخ القريب سيؤدي إلى تفاقم أي ضرر محتمل تتعرض له الفرصة الآن ، مما يحول دون تسخينه بدرجة كافية.

بشكل عام ، قصة الفرصة ، للأسف ، تنتهي هنا. من يدري ، ربما عندما يعيش الناس على سطح المريخ ، سيتمكنون من العثور عليه وإعادة تمكينه؟

تابع الأخبار الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام من عالم العلوم والتكنولوجيا بمساعدة قناة Telegram الخاصة بنا.

Space

Why it is impossible to save the rover "Opportunity" with the Mars rover "Curiosity"

On Wednesday, the US Aerospace AgencyNASA announced the official completion of the Opportunity Mars rover mission. The research robot stopped communicating in June 2018, after a global dust storm passed over the Red Planet. This week on Tuesday evening, NASA experts made a final attempt to contact the rover, but it was unsuccessful. The answer from the research robot on Earth did not wait. Apparently, the Opportunity solar panels were completely covered with dust, which interferes with the recharging of its batteries. The rover just ran out of energy to work.

By the time of his landing on the Red Planet inJanuary 2004, Opportunity was already far from the first rover that landed on Mars (and certainly will not be the last). But he was definitely the most enduring among all the rest. As NASA Director Jim Brydenstein noted, from the moment of landing, "the main task was to advance on the Martian surface at least 100 meters and work for 90 solos" (Martian days lasting about 40 minutes longer than the Earth's). But in the end, the car worked almost 5111 solo, and this is almost 15 years! During this time, "driven" by the Martian winds, which from time to time blew away the dust deposited on the surface of its solar batteries, the rover covered a distance of more than 40 kilometers of the Martian surface.

Is "Opportunity" completely lost and NASA can not save him, for example, with the help of another rover?

The most obvious candidate for the roleThe “lifesaver,” of course, is the Curiosity rover - a larger and “young” colleague who uses not solar batteries to power, but a radioisotope thermoelectric generator, which means that he is not afraid of any Martian storm. Couldn’t he be distracted from his work, sent to a “fellow” and see what actually happened, if possible, correcting the problem?

Photo of traces of NASA's Opportunity rover, taken by him at the crater Endeavor in June 2017

Unfortunately, the first and main problemlies in the distance. According to the map of Mars created by NASA, Curiosity and Opportunity are located 8,400 kilometers apart. Even in spite of the fact that the “Curiosity” suspension is much more efficient than that of “Opportyuniti”, it moves at a speed of only 4 centimeters per second - it will take an eternity to get to a colleague who is in trouble. Due to the complexity and diversity of the Martian soil, rovers must be remotely controlled from Earth. On average, Earth and Mars share a distance of 254 million kilometers, so on average, two-way messaging takes about 28 minutes and 12 seconds. In other words, to drive at least a few meters, the car will need several days.

The second problem is thatThe "curiosity" is a research, not a repair rover. The mission team would be faced with the colossal task of reconfiguring the rover's tools so that it could clean the Opportunity solar panels. And even in this case, no one would be ready to guarantee the success of such an adventurous operation. If something went wrong, NASA would risk losing two rovers at once.

Selfi rover "Curiosity"

Finally, the last problem is time. Even if by some miracle, the Curiosity could move across the surface of Mars with the agility of a high-speed train and was able to get to the Opportunity location, the approaching Martian winter would aggravate any possible damage that Opportunity currently has, not allowing it to warm enough.

In general, the story of Opportunity, unfortunately, ends here. Who knows, maybe when people will live on Mars, they will be able to find it and re-enable it?

Follow the most interesting news from the world of science and technology with the help of our Telegram-channel.