بحث

لماذا ماتت الديناصورات؟ نظرية جديدة

يعتقد بعض الخبراء منذ فترة طويلة أن السببكان انقراض الديناصورات قبل 65 مليون عام هو سقوط كويكب ضخم. ومع ذلك ، يشير تحليل جديد أجراه أستاذ علم النفس بجامعة ألباني إلى أن الديناصورات كانت في ورطة قبل سقوط الكويكب بفترة طويلة. يجادل البروفيسور وعالم النفس التطوري جوردون جالوب وطالبه السابق مايكل فريدريك ، الذي يعمل الآن في جامعة بالتيمور ، بأن ظهور النباتات السامة إلى جانب عدم قدرة الديناصورات على ربط طعم بعض الأطعمة بالخطر قد أدى إلى انخفاض أعداد سكانها بالفعل بشكل كبير في وقت سقوط الكويكب .

نفور الذوق المكتسب هوالحماية التطورية التي يمكن العثور عليها في العديد من الأنواع ، حيث يتعلم الحيوان كيفية ربط استهلاك نبات أو طعام آخر بعواقب سلبية ، مثل الشعور بالمرض. لتوضيح آلية الدفاع ، يستشهد Gallup بالجرذان كمثال.

"السبب معظم المحاولاتيقول جالوب: "إن قتل الفئران لم يكن ناجحًا ، فهي ، مثل العديد من الأنواع الأخرى ، تطورت للتعامل مع سمية النباتات". "عندما تصادف الفئران طعامًا جديدًا ، فإنها عادة ما تجرب فقط كمية صغيرة ، وإذا شعرت بالسوء ، فإنها تظهر قدرة ملحوظة على تجنب هذا الطعام مرة أخرى لأنها تربط بين طعمه ورائحته برد فعل غير سار".

لماذا ماتت الديناصورات؟

ودعا النباتات المزهرة الأولىكاسيات البذور ، تظهر في الحفريات قبل وقت طويل من انهيار الكويكب وقبل أن تبدأ الديناصورات في الاختفاء تدريجياً. يجادل كل من جالوب وفريدريك أنه مع تطور النباتات وتطور الحماية السامة ، استمرت الديناصورات في أكلها ، على الرغم من اضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي. على الرغم من أن هناك شكوك حول متى أصبحت النباتات المزهرة سامة والمدة التي استغرقتها لنشر هذه الصفة ، يلاحظ جالوب وفريدريك أن مظهرها يتزامن مع الانقراض التدريجي للديناصورات.

بالإضافة إلى دراسة انتشار السامةالنباتات خلال حياة الديناصورات ، قام كل من جالوب وفريدريك بالتحقيق فيما إذا كانت الطيور (التي تعتبر أحفاد الديناصورات) والتماسيح (أحفاد أيضًا) يمكنها الحصول على النفور من الذوق. اتضح أن الطيور ، بدلاً من التعود على الذوق ، طورت نفورًا من السمات المرئية لما جعلها تشعر بالسوء. كانوا يعرفون ما يجب عليهم عدم تناوله من أجل البقاء. في دراسة سابقة ، تم فيها تغذية 10 تمساح بأنواع مختلفة من اللحوم ، بعضها سامة قليلاً ، وجدت جالوب أن التماسيح ، مثل الديناصورات ، لم تتعلم فهم الأذواق.

"رغم أن الكويكب كان مهمًا بالتأكيد ،يقول جالوب إن العجز النفسي الذي جعل الديناصورات غير قادرة على الامتناع عن تناول بعض النباتات كان له تأثير خطير عليها. "إن الرؤية الواسعة لانقراض الديناصورات المرتبطة بسقوط الكويكب تعني أن انقراض الديناصور كان يجب أن يكون مفاجئًا ، ولكن العكس هو واضح: لقد بدأت الديناصورات تختفي قبل وقت طويل من سقوط الكويكب واستمرت في التلاشي لملايين السنين بعد ذلك".

Research

Why did dinosaurs die out? New theory

Some experts have long believed that the reasonThe extinction of dinosaurs 65 million years ago was the fall of a massive asteroid. However, a new analysis by a professor of psychology at the University of Albany suggests that dinosaurs were in trouble long before the asteroid fell. Professor and evolutionary psychologist Gordon Gallup and his former student Michael Frederick, now working at the University of Baltimore, argue that the appearance of toxic plants combined with the inability of dinosaurs to associate the taste of certain foods with danger has led to their population already drastically declining at the time of the asteroid’s fall .

Acquired taste aversion isevolutionary protection that can be found in many species, in which the animal learns to associate the consumption of a plant or other food with negative consequences, such as a feeling of illness. To explain the defense mechanism, Gallup cites rats as an example.

"The reason most attemptskilling rats was not successful, it is that, like many other species, they have evolved to cope with plant toxicity, ”says Gallup. "When rats encounter new food, they usually try only a small amount, and if they feel bad, they demonstrate a remarkable ability to avoid this food again because they associate the taste and smell of it with an unpleasant reaction."

Why did dinosaurs die out?

First flowering plants calledangiosperms, appear in fossils long before the asteroid collapses and right before the dinosaurs began to gradually disappear. Gallup and Frederick argue that as plants developed and toxic protection developed, dinosaurs continued to eat them, despite gastrointestinal upsets. Although there is uncertainty about when flowering plants became poisonous and how long it took to spread this trait, Gallup and Frederick note that their appearance coincides with the gradual extinction of the dinosaurs.

In addition to studying the spread of toxicplants during the life of dinosaurs, Gallup and Frederick investigated whether birds (which are considered descendants of dinosaurs) and crocodiles (also descendants) can acquire taste aversion. It turned out that the birds, instead of getting used to the taste, developed an aversion to the visual features of what made them feel bad. They knew what they should not eat in order to survive. In a previous study, in which 10 crocodiles were fed various kinds of meat, some of which were slightly toxic, Gallup found that, like dinosaurs, crocodiles did not learn to understand tastes.

“Although the asteroid was certainly important,the psychological deficit that made dinosaurs unable to refrain from eating certain plants had a serious impact on them, ”says Gallup. “The widespread view of dinosaur extinction associated with the asteroid’s fall implies that the dinosaur’s extinction should have been sudden, but the opposite is clear: dinosaurs began to disappear long before the asteroid’s fall and continued to fade away for millions of years after it.”