عام

ماذا لا نعرف عن السفر عبر الزمن؟

ما هي المهلة الزمنية؟ قال القديس أغسطينوس: "أعرف ما هو الوقت ، حتى أفكر في ذلك". وفقًا للنموذج القياسي للفيزياء ، يعد الوقت هو البعد الرابع ، بالإضافة إلى الأبعاد المكانية الثلاثة. لذلك يمكنك الذهاب من خلال ذلك. لسنوات عديدة ، يستمتع كتاب الخيال العلمي بإمكانيات السفر عبر الزمن بمجموعة متنوعة من التفاصيل. مع كل قرن ، نتقن المزيد والمزيد من التقنيات الجديدة ، ونكتشف جوانب جديدة من العلوم. ماذا علينا أن نتعلم عن السفر عبر الزمن قبل أن نبدأ في ترجمتها إلى حقيقة؟

ربما لاحظت أننا باستمرارتتحرك في الوقت المناسب. نتحرك من خلالها. في المستوى الأساسي للمفهوم ، الوقت هو معدل تغير الكون ، وبغض النظر عما إذا كنا نرغب في ذلك أم لا ، فإننا نتعرض لتغيرات مستمرة. مع تقدمنا ​​في العمر ، تتحرك الكواكب حول الشمس ، ويتم تدمير الأشياء.

نقيس مرور الوقت بالثواني والدقائق ،لساعات وسنوات ، ولكن هذا لا يعني في كل ذلك الوقت يتدفق بسرعة ثابتة. مثل الماء في النهر ، يمر الوقت بشكل مختلف في أماكن مختلفة. باختصار ، الوقت نسبي.

ولكن ما الذي يسبب تقلبات مؤقتة في الطريق منمهد القبر؟ كل ذلك يعود إلى العلاقة بين الزمان والمكان. يستطيع الشخص إدراك ثلاثة أبعاد - الطول والعرض والعمق. الوقت يكمل هذا الحزب باعتباره البعد الرابع الأكثر أهمية. لا يوجد وقت بدون فراغ ؛ ولا يوجد فراغ خارج الزمن. وهذا الزوج متصلاً بسلسلة زمنية متصلة. يجب أن ينطوي أي حدث في الكون على مساحة ووقت.

في هذه المقالة سننظر في أكثر واقعية والاحتمالات اليومية للتنقل عبر الزمن في عالمنا ، بالإضافة إلى إمكانية الوصول إليها ، ولكن ليس أقل الطرق الممكنة من خلال البعد الرابع.

المحتوى

  • 1 رحلات مؤقتة إلى المستقبل
  • 2 يسافر مؤقتا في الماضي
  • 3 ثقوب سوداء وحلقات كير
  • 4 الثقوب (الثقوب الدودية)
  • 5 سلاسل الكونية
  • 6 مفارقات السفر عبر الزمن

رحلات مؤقتة إلى المستقبل


إذا كنت تريد أن تعيش بضع سنوات بشكل أسرع قليلاً ،من أي شخص آخر ، تحتاج إلى التعامل مع الزمكان. تقوم أقمار تحديد المواقع العالمية بهذا كل يوم ، متجاوزة المسار الطبيعي للوقت بثلاثة مليارات من الثانية. في المدار ، يتدفق الوقت بشكل أسرع لأن الأقمار الصناعية بعيدة عن كتلة الأرض. وعلى السطح ، تحمل كتلة الكوكب الوقت معه وتبطئه على نطاق صغير نسبيًا.

ويسمى هذا التأثير تباطؤ الجاذبية.الوقت. وفقا لنظرية النسبية العامة لآينشتاين ، فإن الجاذبية تنحني الزمكان ، ويستخدم علماء الفلك هذه النتيجة الطبيعية عندما يدرسون الضوء الذي يمر بالقرب من الأجسام الضخمة.

ولكن ما علاقة هذا بالوقت؟ تذكر - أي حدث يحدث في الكون يتضمن كلاً من المكان والزمان. لا تسحب الجاذبية المساحة معًا فحسب ، بل أيضًا الوقت.

يجري في تدفق الوقت ، بالكاد تلاحظالتغيير في مسارها. لكن الأشياء الضخمة جدًا - مثل الثقب الأسود الفائق القوس الموجود في وسط مجرتنا - سوف تشوه نسيج الزمن بشكل خطير. كتلة نقطة التفرد لها هي 4 ملايين شمس. هذه الكتلة تبطئ الوقت بمقدار النصف. خمس سنوات في مدار الثقب الأسود (دون الوقوع فيه) هي عشر سنوات على الأرض.

السرعة تلعب أيضا دورا هاما فيسرعة عصرنا. كلما اقتربت من الحد الأقصى للسرعة - سرعة الضوء - كلما كان الوقت أبطأ. ستكون "الساعة المتأخرة" في قطار سريع الحركة "متأخرة" بمقدار المليار من الثانية بنهاية الرحلة. إذا وصل القطار بسرعة 99.999٪ من الضوء ، في عام واحد في سيارة القطار ، يمكنك السفر مائتي ثلاثة وعشرين عامًا في المستقبل.

في الواقع ، تستند السفريات الافتراضية إلى المستقبل في المستقبل على هذه الفكرة ، آسف على علم التروتولوجيا. ولكن ماذا عن الماضي؟ هل من الممكن إعادة عقارب الساعة إلى الوراء؟

يسافر مؤقتا إلى الماضي


وجدنا أن الرحلة إلى المستقبل تجريطوال الوقت. لقد أثبت العلماء هذا الأمر تجريبياً ، وتكمن هذه الفكرة في أساس نظرية النسبية لآينشتاين ، التي تصادف مائة عام هذا العام. من الممكن الانتقال إلى المستقبل ، يبقى السؤال "بسرعة"؟ أما بالنسبة للسفر إلى الماضي ، للإجابة على هذا السؤال ، عليك أن تنظر إلى سماء الليل.

مجرة درب التبانة واسعة حوالي 100000السنوات الضوئية ، وهو ما يعني أن الضوء من النجوم البعيدة يحتاج إلى التغلب على آلاف وآلاف السنين قبل أن يصل إلى الأرض. التقط هذا النور ، وفي الحقيقة ، أنت فقط تنظر إلى الماضي. عندما يقيس علماء الفلك إشعاع الميكروويف الكوني ، فإنهم ينظرون إلى الكون ، الذي كان عليه قبل 10 مليارات سنة. لكن هذا ليس كل شيء.

نظرية أينشتاين في النسبية ليست شيئًاالتي قد تستبعد إمكانية رحلة إلى الماضي ، لكن وجود زر يمكن أن يعيدك بالأمس ينتهك قانون السببية أو السبب والنتيجة. عندما يحدث شيء ما في الكون ، يولد الحدث سلسلة جديدة من الأحداث التي لا نهاية لها. يولد السبب دائما قبل التحقيق. فقط تخيل عالما تموت فيه الضحية قبل أن تصيب الرصاصة رأسها. هذا انتهاك للواقع ، لكن على الرغم من ذلك ، لا يستبعد الكثير من العلماء إمكانية السفر إلى الماضي.

على سبيل المثال ، يعتقد أن الحركة أسرع من السرعة.يمكن أن ترسل الضوء مرة أخرى إلى الماضي. إذا تباطأ الوقت مع اقتراب جسم ما من سرعة الضوء ، فهل يمكن للتغلب على هذا الحاجز أن يعيد عقارب الساعة إلى الوراء؟ بالطبع ، عندما تقترب سرعة الضوء ، تنمو الكتلة النسبية للكائن ، أي أنها تقارب اللانهاية. تسريع كتلة لانهائية يبدو مستحيلا. من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن أن تشوه سرعة الاعوجاج ، أي تشويه السرعة على هذا النحو ، لخداع القانون العالمي ، ولكن حتى هذا سيتطلب تكاليف الطاقة الهائلة.

ولكن ماذا لو كان الزمن يسير في المستقبل والماضي لا يعتمد كثيرًا على معرفتنا الأساسية بالفضاء ، بل يعتمد أكثر على الظواهر الكونية الموجودة؟ دعونا نلقي نظرة على الثقب الأسود.

الثقوب السوداء وحلقات كير


تدور حول الثقب الأسود لفترة كافية ، وتمدد الوقت الجاذبية سوف يرميك في المستقبل. ولكن ماذا لو وقعت مباشرة في فكي هذا الوحش الفضائي؟ لقد كتبنا بالفعل عما سيحدث عندما نغوص في ثقب أسود ، لكننا لم نذكر مجموعة متنوعة غريبة من الثقوب السوداء مثل حلقة كير. أو ثقب كير الأسود.

في عام 1963 ، عالم الرياضيات في نيوزيلندا روي كيراقترح النظرية الواقعية الأولى للثقب الأسود الدورية. يشمل المفهوم نجوم نيوترونية - على سبيل المثال ، النجوم المنهارة الضخمة بحجم سان بطرسبرغ ، ولكن مع كتلة شمس الأرض. لقد قمنا بإدراج ثقوب نيوترونية في قائمة أكثر الكائنات الغامضة في الكون ، والتي أطلقنا عليها اسم المغناطيس. اقترح كير أنه إذا انهار نجم يموت في حلقة دوارة من نجوم النيوترون ، فإن قوتهم بالطرد المركزي ستمنعهم من التحول إلى تفرد. وبما أن الثقب الأسود لن يكون له نقطة تفرد ، فقد قرر كير أنه سيكون من الممكن الدخول إلى الداخل دون خوف من تمزيقه بسبب الجاذبية في الوسط.

إذا كانت ثقوب كير السوداء موجودة ، يمكننا ذلكاذهب من خلالهم واخرج إلى الثقب الأبيض. انها مثل أنبوب العادم من ثقب أسود. بدلاً من امتصاص كل ما هو ممكن ، ستؤدي الفتحة البيضاء ، على العكس من ذلك ، إلى التخلص من كل ما هو ممكن. ربما حتى في زمن آخر أو في عالم آخر.

تبقى ثقوب كير السوداء نظرية ، لكن إذا كانت كذلكتوجد بالفعل ، فهي نوع من البوابات التي تقدم رحلة باتجاه واحد إلى المستقبل أو الماضي. وعلى الرغم من أن حضارة متطورة للغاية يمكن أن تتطور بهذه الطريقة وتتحرك في الوقت المناسب ، لا أحد يعرف متى ستختفي الثقب الأسود "الوحشي" لكير.

دودة


حلقات كير النظرية ليست كذلكالطريقة الوحيدة الممكنة "تقصير" مسارات إلى الماضي أو المستقبل. في أفلام الخيال العلمي ، من ستار تريك إلى دوني داركو ، غالبًا ما يتم اعتبار جسر آينشتاين-روزن النظري. هذه الجسور معروفة لك بشكل أفضل باسم الثقوب.

تعترف نظرية أينشتاين العامة للنسبيةوجود الثقوب الدودية ، حيث أن نظرية الفيزيائي الكبير تقوم على انحناء الزمكان تحت تأثير الكتلة. لفهم هذا الانحناء ، تخيل نسيج الزمكان في شكل ورقة بيضاء وثنيها إلى نصفين. ستبقى مساحة الورقة كما هي ، ولن يتم تشويهها بنفسها ، لكن من الواضح أن المسافة بين نقطتي التلامس ستكون أصغر مما لو كانت الورقة ملقاة على سطح مستو.

في هذا المثال المبسط ، الفضاءتم تصويره في شكل طائرة ثنائية الأبعاد ، وليس على مستوى رباعي الأبعاد ، وهو بالفعل (أذكر البعد الرابع - الوقت). الثقوب الافتراضية تعمل بالمثل.

سريع إلى الأمام إلى الفضاء. يمكن أن يؤدي تركيز الكتلة في جزأين مختلفين من الكون إلى إنشاء نوع من النفق في الزمكان. من الناحية النظرية ، فإن هذا النفق سيربط بين شطرين مختلفين من استمرارية الزمان والمكان مع بعضهما البعض. بالطبع ، من الممكن تمامًا أن تمنع بعض الخصائص الفيزيائية أو الكمومية مثل هذه الثقوب من التفريخ بمفردها. حسنًا ، أو يولدون ويموتون فورًا ، غير مستقرين.

وفقا لستيفن هوكينج ، يمكن أن الثقوبتوجد في رغوة الكم - أصغر وسيلة في الكون. يولد الأنفاق الصغيرة وتمزق باستمرار ، وربط الأماكن الفردية والوقت للحظات قصيرة.

قد تكون الثقوب صغيرة جدا وعلى المدى القصير لنقل شخص ما ، ولكن فجأة في يوم من الأيام سنكون قادرين على العثور عليه ، والاحتفاظ ، وتحقيق الاستقرار وزيادة. شريطة ، كما يلاحظ هوكينج ، أنك ستكون جاهزًا للتعليقات. إذا كنا نريد تثبيت نفق الزمان والمكان بشكل مصطنع ، فإن الإشعاعات الناتجة عن أفعالنا يمكن أن تدمره ، لأن مسار الصوت العكسي يمكن أن يلحق الضرر بالسماعة.

سلاسل الكونية


نحاول الضغط من خلال الثقوب السوداء والثقوب ، ولكن ربما هناك طريقة أخرى للسفر عبر الزمن باستخدام ظاهرة كونية نظرية؟ بهذه الأفكار ننتقل إلى الفيزيائي جيه. ريتشارد جوت ، الذي أوجز فكرة السلسلة الكونية في عام 1991. كما يوحي الاسم ، هذه كائنات افتراضية يمكن أن تكون قد تشكلت في المراحل المبكرة من تطور الكون.

هذه الأوتار تعم الكون بأسرهأرق من الذرة وتحت ضغط قوي. وبطبيعة الحال ، يستنتج من ذلك أنها تعطي قوة دفع ثقيلة لكل شيء يمر بالقرب منها ، مما يعني أن الأجسام المرتبطة بالسلسلة الكونية يمكن أن تنتقل في الوقت المحدد بسرعة مذهلة. إذا قمت بسحب سلسلتين فلكيتين أقرب إلى بعضهما البعض أو ضع أحدهما بجانب ثقب أسود ، يمكنك إنشاء ما يسمى بمنحنى مغلق يشبه الوقت.

باستخدام الجاذبية التي تنتجها اثنينمع سلاسل كونية (أو سلسلة وثقب أسود) ، يمكن للمركبة الفضائية أن ترسل نفسها نظريًا إلى الماضي. لهذا سيكون من الضروري عمل حلقة حول الأوتار الكونية.

بالمناسبة ، سلاسل الكم هي الآن جدانقاش ساخن. قال غوت إنه لكي تعود إلى الوراء في الوقت المناسب ، فإنك تحتاج إلى حلقة حول سلسلة تحتوي على نصف الطاقة الكلية لمجرة بأكملها. بمعنى آخر ، يجب استخدام نصف الذرات في المجرة كوقود لآلة وقتك. حسنًا ، وكما يعلم الجميع ، من المستحيل العودة في وقت مبكر قبل إنشاء الجهاز نفسه.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك مفارقات مؤقتة.

مفارقة السفر عبر الزمن


كما قلنا ، فكرة السفر إلى الماضيغائم قليلا من الجزء الثاني من قانون السببية. السبب يتبع التحقيق ، على الأقل في عالمنا ، مما يعني أنه يمكن أن يفسد حتى خطط السفر الأكثر تفصيلا في الوقت المناسب.

أولاً ، تخيل: إذا رجعت 200 عام ، فستظهر قبل فترة طويلة من ولادتك. فكر في الأمر لثانية واحدة. لبعض الوقت ، سيكون التأثير (أنت) موجودًا قبل السبب (ميلادك).

لفهم أفضل لما نتعامل معه ،النظر في مفارقة الجد الشهير. أنت قاتل الوقت ، هدفك هو جدك. تخترق أقرب حفرة دوامة وتقترب من النسخة البالغة من العمر 18 عامًا لأبي والدك. تلتقط البندقية ، لكن ماذا يحدث عندما تسحب الزناد؟

فكر في الأمر. أنت لم تولد بعد. حتى والدك لم يولد بعد. إذا قتلت جدك ، فلن يكون له ابن. لن ينجبك هذا الابن مطلقًا ، ولن تتمكن من العودة في الوقت المناسب ، لإكمال مهمة دموية. وغيابك لن يسحب الزناد بأي شكل من الأشكال ، وبالتالي ينكر سلسلة الأحداث بأكملها. نحن نسمي هذا حلقة من الأسباب غير المتوافقة.

بدلاً من ذلك ، يمكنك التفكير في الفكرةحلقة سببية متتابعة. على الرغم من أنه يجعلك تفكر ، فإنه يزيل نظريًا مفارقات الوقت. وفقًا للفيزيائي بول ديفيس ، فإن مثل هذه الحلقة تبدو كما يلي: أستاذ الرياضيات ينطلق للمستقبل ويسرق نظرية الرياضيات الأكثر تعقيدًا. بعد ذلك ، تعطيه للطالب اللامع. بعد ذلك ، ينمو ويتعلم الطالب الواعد ليصبح يومًا ما شخصًا سرق أستاذه ذات مرة نظرية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك نموذج سفر آخر فيالوقت ، والذي يتضمن تشويه الاحتمال عند الاقتراب من احتمال وقوع حدث متناقض. ماذا يعني هذا؟ دعنا نعود إلى جلد جدك القاتل. يمكن أن يقتل نموذج السفر عبر الزمن جدك تقريبًا. يمكنك سحب الزناد ، لكن البندقية لن تعمل. سوف تغرد الطائر في الوقت المناسب أو سيحدث شيء آخر: لن يسمح تقلب الكم بوقوع موقف متناقض.

وأخيرا ، الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام. المستقبل أو الماضي الذي تتجه إليه يمكن أن يوجد ببساطة في عالم موازٍ. تخيل هذا بمثابة مفارقة الانفصال. يمكنك تدمير أي شيء تريده ، لكنه لن يؤثر على عالم منزلك. سوف تقتل جدك ، لكن لن تختفي - ربما ستختفي "أنت" أخرى في العالم الموازي ، حسناً ، أو سيتبع النص مخططات المفارقة التي سبق أن بحثناها. ومع ذلك ، فمن الممكن أن يكون هذا السفر عبر الزمن لمرة واحدة ولا يمكنك العودة إلى الوطن أبدًا.

الخلط تماما؟ مرحبا بكم في عالم السفر عبر الزمن.

General

What else do we not know about time travel?

What is time? St. Augustine said: "I know what time is, until I think about it." According to the standard model of physics, time is the fourth dimension, in addition to the three spatial dimensions. So you can go through it. For many years, science fiction writers have relished the possibilities of time travel in a wide variety of details. With each century, we master more and more new technologies, discover new aspects of science. What do we have to learn about time travel before we begin to translate them into reality?

You probably noticed that we are constantlymoving in time. We move through it. At the basic level of the concept, time is the rate of change of the Universe, and regardless of whether we like it or not, we are subject to constant changes. As we age, planets move around the sun, things are destroyed.

We measure the passage of time in seconds, minutes,for hours and years, but this does not mean at all that time flows at a constant speed. Like water in a river, time goes differently in different places. In short, time is relative.

But what causes temporary fluctuations on the way fromcradle to the grave? It all comes down to the relationship between time and space. A person is able to perceive in three dimensions - length, width and depth. Time complements this party as the most important fourth dimension. Time does not exist without space; space does not exist outside of time. And this couple is connected into a space-time continuum. Any event occurring in the Universe must involve space and time.

In this article we will consider the most real andeveryday possibilities of traveling through time in our Universe, as well as less accessible, but no less possible ways through the fourth dimension.

Content

  • 1 Temporary Travels to the Future
  • 2 Temporary travels in the past
  • 3 Black holes and Kerr rings
  • 4 Wormholes (wormholes)
  • 5 Cosmic Strings
  • 6 The Paradoxes of Time Travel

Temporary Travels to the Future


If you want to live a couple of years a little faster,than anyone else, you need to cope with space-time. Global positioning satellites do this every day, overtaking the natural course of time by three billionths of a second. In orbit, time flows faster because the satellites are far from the mass of the Earth. And on the surface, the mass of the planet carries time along with it and slows it down on a relatively small scale.

This effect is called gravitational slowdown.time. According to Einstein's general theory of relativity, gravity bends space-time, and astronomers use this corollary when they study light passing near massive objects.

But what does this have to do with time? Remember - any event occurring in the Universe involves both space and time. Gravity not only pulls together space, but also time.

Being in the flow of time, you hardly noticechange in its course. But quite massive objects - like the supermassive black hole Sagittarius alpha located in the center of our galaxy - will seriously distort the fabric of time. The mass of its singularity point is 4 million suns. Such a mass slows down time by half. Five years in the orbit of a black hole (without falling into it) is ten years on Earth.

Speed ​​also plays an important role inthe speed of our time. The closer you get to the maximum speed - the speed of light - the slower the time. The clock in a fast-moving train will “be late” by one billionth of a second by the end of the journey. If the train reaches a speed of 99.999% light, in one year in a train car, you can travel two hundred twenty-three years into the future.

In fact, hypothetical travels to the future in the future are based on this idea, sorry for the tautology. But what about the past? Is it possible to turn back the clock?

Temporary travels to the past


We found that the journey to the future is taking placeall the time. Scientists have proven this experimentally, and this idea underlies Einstein's theory of relativity, which marks 100 years this year. It is quite possible to move into the future, the question remains only “how fast”? As for travel to the past, to answer this question you need to look into the night sky.

Milky Way galaxy approximately 100,000 widelight years, which means light from distant stars needs to be overcome thousands and thousands of years before it reaches Earth. Catch this light, and, in fact, you just look at the past. When astronomers measure cosmic microwave radiation, they look into the cosmos, which it was 10 billion years ago. But that's not all.

Einstein’s theory of relativity is nothingwhich would exclude the possibility of a journey into the past, but the very possible existence of a button that could bring you back yesterday violates the law of causality, or cause and effect. When something happens in the Universe, an event generates a new endless chain of events. The cause is always born before the investigation. Just imagine a world where the victim would die before the bullet hits her head. This is a violation of reality, but, despite this, many scientists do not exclude the possibility of travel to the past.

For example, it is believed that motion is faster than speed.light can send back to the past. If time slows down as an object approaches the speed of light, can overcoming this barrier turn the clock back? Of course, when approaching the speed of light, the relativistic mass of the object grows, that is, it approaches infinity. Accelerating an infinite mass seems impossible. Theoretically, warp speed, that is, deformation of speed as such, can deceive the universal law, but even this will require enormous energy costs.

But what if time travels into the future and the past depend not so much on our basic knowledge of space, but more on existing cosmic phenomena? Let's take a look at the black hole.

Black holes and Kerr rings


Spin around the black hole long enough, andgravitational time dilation will throw you into the future. But what if you fall right into the jaws of this space monster? We already wrote about what will happen when we dive into a black hole, but did not mention such an exotic variety of black holes as the Kerr ring. Or Kerr’s black hole.

In 1963, New Zealand mathematician Roy Kerrproposed the first realistic theory of a rotating black hole. The concept includes neutron stars - massive collapsing stars the size of St. Petersburg, for example, but with the mass of the Earth's sun. We included neutron holes in the list of the most mysterious objects in the Universe, calling them magnetars. Kerr suggested that if a dying star collapses into a rotating ring of neutron stars, their centrifugal force will prevent them from turning into a singularity. And since the black hole will not have a point of singularity, Kerr considered that it would be possible to get inside without fear of being torn apart by gravity in the center.

If Kerr's black holes exist, we couldgo through them and go out into the white hole. It's like the exhaust pipe of a black hole. Instead of sucking in everything that is possible, a white hole will, on the contrary, throw out everything that is possible. Perhaps even in another time or another universe.

Kerr's black holes remain theory, but if theyreally exist, they are a kind of portals offering a one-way journey into the future or past. And although an extremely developed civilization could develop in this way and move in time, no one knows when Kerr’s “wild” black hole will disappear.

Wormhole (Wormhole)


Kerr's theoretical rings are notthe only way possible "shortened" paths to the past or future. In science fiction films, from Star Trek to Donnie Darko, the theoretical Einstein-Rosen bridge is often considered. These bridges are better known to you under the name of wormholes.

Einstein's general theory of relativity admitsthe existence of wormholes, since the theory of the great physicist is based on the curvature of space-time under the influence of mass. To understand this curvature, imagine a space-time fabric in the form of a white sheet and bend it in half. The area of ​​the sheet will remain the same, it itself will not be deformed, but the distance between the two points of contact will obviously be smaller than when the sheet was lying on a flat surface.

In this simplified example, spaceIt is depicted in the form of a two-dimensional plane, and not a four-dimensional one, which it actually is (recall the fourth dimension - time). Hypothetical wormholes work similarly.

Fast forward to space. The concentration of mass in two different parts of the Universe could create a kind of tunnel in space-time. In theory, this tunnel would connect two different segments of the space-time continuum with each other. Of course, it is entirely possible that some physical or quantum properties prevent such wormholes from spawning on their own. Well, or they are born and immediately die, being unstable.

According to Stephen Hawking, wormholes canexist in quantum foam - the smallest medium in the universe. Tiny tunnels are constantly born and torn, linking individual places and time for short moments.

Wormholes may be too small andshort-term for moving a person, but suddenly one day we will be able to find, hold, stabilize and increase them? Provided, as Hawking notes, that you will be ready for feedback. If we want to artificially stabilize the space-time tunnel, radiation from our actions can destroy it, as the reverse sound path can damage the speaker.

Cosmic strings


We try to squeeze through black holes andwormholes, but maybe there is another way of time travel using a theoretical cosmic phenomenon? With these thoughts we turn to the physicist J. Richard Gott, who outlined the idea of ​​a cosmic string in 1991. As the name implies, these are hypothetical objects that could have formed in the early stages of the development of the universe.

These strings pervade the entire universe, beingthinner than an atom and under strong pressure. Naturally, it follows from this that they give gravitational thrust to everything that passes near them, which means that objects attached to a cosmic string can travel in time with incredible speed. If you pull two cosmic strings closer to each other or place one of them next to a black hole, you can create what is called a closed time-like curve.

Using gravity produced by twowith cosmic strings (or a string and a black hole), a spacecraft could theoretically send itself into the past. For this it would be necessary to make a loop around cosmic strings.

By the way, quantum strings are now veryhotly debated. Gott said that to travel back in time, you need to loop around a string containing half the mass-energy of an entire galaxy. In other words, half the atoms in the galaxy would have to be used as fuel for your time machine. Well, and, as everyone knows, it is impossible to return in time earlier than the machine itself was created.

In addition, there are temporary paradoxes.

Time Travel Paradoxes


As we said, the idea of ​​traveling to the pastslightly clouded by the second part of the law of causality. The reason follows the investigation, at least in our Universe, which means it can spoil even the most elaborate travel plans in time.

First, imagine: if you go back 200 years, you will appear long before you are born. Think about it for a second. For some time, the effect (you) will exist before the cause (your birth).

To better understand what we're dealing with,consider the famous grandfather paradox. You are a time-killer, your goal is your own grandfather. You penetrate the nearest wormhole and approach the lively 18-year-old version of your father’s father. You pick up the gun, but what happens when you pull the trigger?

Think about it. You have not been born yet. Even your father has not yet been born. If you kill your grandfather, he will not have a son. This son will never give birth to you, and you will not be able to go back in time, completing a bloody task. And your absence will not pull the trigger in any way, thereby denying the whole chain of events. We call this a loop of incompatible causes.

Alternatively, you can consider the ideasequential causal loop. It, although it makes you think, theoretically eliminates time paradoxes. According to physicist Paul Davis, such a loop looks like this: a professor of mathematics sets off for the future and steals the most complicated mathematical theorem. After that, she gives it to the most brilliant student. After that, a promising student grows and learns in order to one day become a person whose professor once stole a theorem.

In addition, there is another travel model intime, which includes a distortion of probability when approaching the possibility of a paradoxical event. What does this mean? Let's get back to your grandfather’s killer skin. This time travel model can kill your grandfather virtually. You can pull the trigger, but the gun will not work. The bird will tweet at the right time or something else will happen: quantum fluctuation will not allow a paradoxical situation to take place.

And finally, the most interesting. The future or the past you are heading into can simply exist in a parallel universe. Imagine this as a paradox of separation. You can destroy anything you want, but it will not affect your home world. You will kill your grandfather, but not disappear - perhaps another “you” in the parallel world will disappear, well, or the script will follow the paradox schemes we have already considered. However, it is possible that such a time travel will be one-time and you can never return home.

Totally confused? Welcome to the world of time travel.