بحث

ماذا كان شكل الكنغر الذي يسكنه أستراليا منذ آلاف السنين؟

أتذكر في مقال عن أكبر الطيور فيقصص كتبنا أن جميع الحيوانات الموجودة اليوم هي نسخ أصغر من عمالقة ما قبل التاريخ. ليست الكنغر التي تعيش في أستراليا الحديثة استثناءً ولديها أيضًا أسلاف قديمون تجاوز وزن جسمهم 200 كيلوجرام. في الآونة الأخيرة ، ابتكر العلماء الأستراليون نموذج كمبيوتر لجمجمة أحد أسلاف الكنغر الحديث واكتشفوا ما أكلوه وما هي الحيوانات الحديثة الأخرى.

كان الكنغر الحديثة الأجداد العملاقة

تسبب اهتمام العلماء في الجمجمة من أنواع الكنغر القديمةSimosthenurus occidentalis ، الذي توفي قبل حوالي 42 ألف سنة. يزن سكان المنطقة الجراحية الحديثة في أستراليا حوالي 90 كيلوجرام ، في حين يبلغ وزن قريبهم القديم حوالي 118 كيلوجرام. من الموسوعات والأفلام الوثائقية ، نعلم جميعًا منذ الطفولة أن الكنغر له وجه ممدود. ومع ذلك ، منذ آلاف السنين ، كانت كمامة أسلافهم قصيرة جدًا ، وجعل الفك من الممكن مضغ الطعام الصلب مثل الأوراق الناضجة والفروع.

جمجمة الكنغر من فصيلة Simosthenurus occidentalis

أي الحيوانات لديها أقوى الفك؟

عن طريق إنشاء نموذج الكمبيوتر من جمجمة قديمةالكنغر ، توصل العلماء إلى استنتاج مفاده أن الباندا والكوالا فقط هي التي لديها مثل هذا الفك القوي اليوم. شكلت العظام على الجزء العلوي من الجمجمة قوسًا منع عضلات الفك القوية من التواء. العضلات ، بدورها ، تحمي الفك من الخلع بينما تمضغ الطعام الصلب.

إعادة بناء أنواع الكنغر المنقرضة

وفقا للباحثين ، marsupials القديمةحصلت على فك قوي وبدأت في تناول الطعام الصلب من أجل البقاء. الحقيقة هي أنه خلال التاريخ كان على العديد من الحيوانات أن تقاتل حرفيًا من أجل الغذاء بسبب افتقاره. بينما كان الجميع يقاتلون من أجل الغطاء النباتي الناعم ، يمكن أن يتغذى الكنغر بهدوء على الأوراق الصلبة والفروع الخشنة التي لا تهم أي شخص. مع مرور الوقت ، اختفى نقص الغذاء ، لذا فإن أحفادهم اليوم قد أصيبوا بطعن ممدود وأكلوا الأعشاب والزهور والطحالب.

حجم المخلوقات القديمة مثير للإعجاب ، لكن ما رأيك بها؟ شارك انطباعاتك في دردشة Telegram.

ما الحيوانات التي تعيش في أستراليا؟

ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض العلماء لا يريدون تسميةالكنغر الحديثة هي أحفاد مباشرة من Simosthenurus occidentalis. تشترك الثدييات الجرابية الصغيرة ، المعروفة باسم أرانب الولب المخططة ، بشكل أكبر مع العمالقة القدامى. واليوم يعيشون فقط على جزيرتين على الساحل الغربي لأستراليا ، حيث لا توجد حيوانات مفترسة. كيف تبدو تظهر في الفيديو أدناه.

</ p>

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن صوغه على جهاز كمبيوترالكنغر القديم ليس هو الأكبر من نوعه. منذ ملايين السنين ، عاش أكبر ممثلي عائلة الكنغر في أستراليا. خذ على سبيل المثال الأنواع Procoptodon goliah ، التي يزن بعضها أكثر من 244 كيلوغراماً. بعد هذه الحقيقة ، على الأرجح ، لم يكن لدى أحد أي شكوك في أن العمالقة الحقيقيين عاشوا في كوكبنا في عصر ما قبل التاريخ.

من الأنواع القديمة من أنواع الكنغر Procoptodon goliah

إذا كنت لا تزال لديك شكوك ، فحينئذٍ نيابة عنيأوصي بقراءة مقالتنا حول الببغاوات الضخمة التي عاشت قبل حوالي 20 مليون سنة في عصر الميوسين. كان نمو هذه الطيور حوالي 1 متر ، وبلغ الوزن 7 كيلوغرامات.

Research

What did the kangaroos that inhabited Australia look like thousands of years ago?

I remember in an article about the biggest bird instories we wrote that all animals existing today are smaller copies of prehistoric giants. The kangaroos that inhabit modern Australia are no exception and they also have ancient ancestors whose body weight exceeded 200 kilograms. Recently, Australian scientists created a computer model of the skull of one of the ancestors of modern kangaroos and found out what they ate and what other modern animals looked like.

Modern kangaroos had giant ancestors

The interest of scientists caused the skull of an ancient kangaroo speciesSimosthenurus occidentalis, which died out about 42 thousand years ago. Modern marsupial inhabitants of Australia weigh on average about 90 kilograms, but the weight of their ancient relative was about 118 kilograms. From encyclopedias and documentaries, we all know from childhood that kangaroos have an elongated face. However, thousands of years ago, the muzzle of their ancestors was quite short, and the jaw made it possible to chew solid food like mature leaves and branches.

Kangaroo skull of the species Simosthenurus occidentalis

Which animals have the strongest jaw?

By creating a computer model of the skull of an ancientKangaroo, scientists came to the conclusion that only pandas and koalas have such a strong jaw today. The bones on the top of the skull formed an arch that prevented the strong jaw muscles from twisting. Muscles, in turn, protected the jaw from dislocation while chewing solid food.

Reconstruction of an extinct kangaroo species

According to researchers, ancient marsupialsacquired a powerful jaw and began to eat solid food in order to survive. The fact is that during the course of history many animals had to literally fight for food because of its lack. While everyone else fought for soft vegetation, kangaroos could calmly feed on hard leaves and coarse branches that were of no interest to anyone. Over time, food shortages disappeared, so their descendants today have got elongated snouts and eat grasses, flowers and moss.

The size of the ancient creatures is impressive, but what do you think of them? Share your impressions in our Telegram chat.

What animals live in Australia?

However, some scientists do not want to namemodern kangaroos are direct descendants of Simosthenurus occidentalis. Tiny marsupial mammals, known as the striped wallaby hares, have more in common with the ancient giants. Today they live only on two islands of the western coast of Australia, where there are no predatory animals. How they look is shown in the video below.

</ p>

It is worth noting that recreated on a computerthe ancient kangaroo is not the largest of its kind. Millions of years ago, larger representatives of the kangaroo family lived in Australia. Take, for example, the species Procoptodon goliah, some of which weighed more than 244 kilograms. After this fact, probably, no one had any doubts that in prehistoric times real giants lived on our planet.

An ancient species of kangaroo species Procoptodon goliah

If you still have doubts, then on my own behalfI recommend reading our article about the huge parrots that lived about 20 million years ago in the Miocene era. The growth of these birds was about 1 meter, and the weight reached 7 kilograms.