عام

تحت سطح القطب الشمالي للمريخ اكتشف احتياطيات ضخمة من جليد الماء

تقرير علماء الفلك الأمريكيمخبأ جديد مع احتياطيات كبيرة من جليد الماء ، ويحدث على عمق حوالي كيلومتر ونصف تحت سطح القطب الشمالي للمريخ. يعتقد العلماء أن هذا الجليد هو بقايا الصفائح الجليدية القطبية القديمة وهو أكبر تجمع للمياه على سطح المريخ. أبلغ الباحثون عن اكتشافهم في مقال نُشر في مجلة Geophysical Research Letters.

جعل اكتشاف لمجموعة من العلماء من ولاية تكساس وتمت مساعدة جامعات أريزونا بواسطة رادار SHARAD (رادار تحت سطح الأرض الضحل) المثبت على مركبة الفضاء المدارية الكوكبية المدارية لناسا ناسا ، والتي تقع على الكوكب الأحمر منذ عام 2006 وأكملت 60 ألف تحليق مداري لجارتنا الكوكبية حتى الآن. يعمل الرادار في النطاق الراديوي عالي التردد من 15 إلى 25 ميغاهرتز وهو قادر على جمع البيانات عن هيكل أعماق المريخ على عمق يزيد عن 2.5 كيلومتر. تم تطوير الجهاز من قبل علماء من وكالة الفضاء الإيطالية. وأظهر أنه في بعض الطبقات تحت القطب الشمالي ، يصل محتوى الجليد إلى 90٪. تم تحليل الملاحظات الرادارية والتحقق منها من خلال دراسة مستقلة باستخدام بيانات الجاذبية.

لم نتوقع العثور على الكثير من جليد الماء هنا. هذا ربما يجعلها ثالث أكبر مجموعة من المياه على سطح المريخ بعد القمم الجليدية القطبية ، "علق على اكتشاف المؤلف الرئيسي ستيفانو نيروزي من معهد الجيوفيزياء بجامعة تكساس.

الاحتياطيات ضخمة حقا ، كما يقول العلماء. يشرحون أنه إذا ذاب هذا الجليد ، فسيتم تغطية المريخ بالكامل بطبقة من المياه ، بعمق متر ونصف.

اقترح الباحثون أن الطبقاتتشكلت عندما تراكمت الجليد في أقطاب المريخ خلال العصور الجليدية الأخيرة منذ ملايين السنين. في كل مرة يتم فيها تسخين الكوكب ، يتم تغطية بقايا القمم الجليدية بالرمال ، والتي تحمي الجليد من الإشعاع الشمسي وتمنعه ​​من الانتشار في الغلاف الجوي.

لقد عرف العلماء منذ زمن طويل أن تاريخ المريختحدث الفترات الجليدية بشكل دوري بسبب التغيرات في مدارها وإمالة المحور. كل 50 ألف سنة تقريبًا ، يميل الكوكب نحو الشمس ، ثم يعود تدريجيًا إلى موقعه المستقيم. عندما يكون محور دوران الكوكب عموديًا ، تكون المناطق الاستوائية أقرب إلى الشمس ، ويمكن أن يتراكم الجليد عند القطبين. عندما ينحني المريخ ، تنخفض القمم الجليدية تدريجيا وقد تختفي تمامًا. ولكن حتى الآن كان يعتقد أنه لم يتم الحفاظ على أي دليل على وجود تجمعات جليدية سابقة.

لاحظ الباحثون أن دراسة الهيكل وسوف يساعد تكوين هذه الرواسب الجليدية في تحديد ما كان عليه مناخ المريخ في الماضي البعيد ، بالإضافة إلى عمل خرائط أكثر اكتمالا لموارد الكوكب المائية. قد تكون هذه المعلومات مهمة للغاية ليس فقط لأنه في المستقبل تخطط الإنسانية لاستعمار هذا الكوكب ، ولكن أيضًا لأن وجود الماء يمكن أن يشير إلى وجود آثار للحياة على الكوكب الأحمر.

"إذا كنا نريد استخراج المياه على المريخ مرة واحدة ،من المهم للغاية بالنسبة لنا أن نفهم ما كانت احتياطياته في الماضي متاحة على هذا الكوكب على نطاق عالمي ، وكم يمكن حفظه في المناطق القطبية. يقول نيروزي: "يمكن أن يكون لديك كل الظروف المواتية لوجود الحياة ، لكن إذا كانت الاحتياطيات الرئيسية للمياه مركزة في القطبين ، ثم للحياة ، التي يمكن أن توجد بالقرب من خط الاستواء ، فقد يكون هناك نقص في المياه".

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

General

Under the surface of the north pole of Mars discovered huge reserves of water ice

American astronomers report findinga new cache with significant reserves of water ice, occurring at a depth of about one and a half kilometers below the surface of the north pole of Mars. Scientists believe that this ice is the remains of ancient polar ice sheets and is the largest accumulation of water on Mars. Researchers reported about their discovery in an article published in the journal Geophysical Research Letters.

Make a discovery to a group of scientists from Texas andArizona Universities was assisted by the SHARAD (Shallow Subsurface Radar) radar installed on the NASA Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter orbital interplanetary spacecraft, which is located on the Red Planet since 2006 and has completed 60,000 orbital overflights of our planetary neighbor by now. The radar operates in the high-frequency radio band from 15 to 25 MHz and is capable of collecting data on the structure of the Martian depths to a depth of more than 2.5 kilometers. The device was developed by scientists from the Italian Space Agency. He showed that in some layers under the North Pole the ice content reaches 90%. Radar observations were analyzed and verified through an independent study using gravity data.

“We did not expect to find so much water ice here. This probably makes it the third largest cluster of water on Mars after polar ice caps, ”commented the discovery by study lead author Stefano Nerozzi from the University of Texas Geophysics Institute.

The reserves are really huge, scientists say. They explain that if this ice melts, then the whole of Mars will be covered with a layer of water, one and a half meters deep.

Researchers suggest that the layersformed when ice accumulated at the poles of Mars during the last ice ages millions of years ago. Each time the planet was heated, the remains of ice caps were covered with sand, which protected the ice from solar radiation and prevented it from dispersing into the atmosphere.

Scientists have long known that the history of Marsglacial periods occur periodically due to changes in its orbit and axis tilt. Approximately every 50 thousand years, the planet leans towards the Sun, and then gradually returns to its upright position. When the axis of rotation of the planet is vertical, equatorial areas are closest to the Sun, and ice can accumulate at the poles. When Mars bends, the ice caps gradually decrease and may disappear completely. But until now it was believed that no evidence of previous glaciations has been preserved.

Researchers note that studying the structure andThe composition of these ice deposits will help determine what the climate of Mars was in the distant past, as well as make more complete maps of the planet’s water resources. This information may be extremely important not only because in the future humanity plans to colonize this planet, but also because the presence of water can indicate the presence of traces of life on the Red Planet.

"If we want to extract water on Mars once,it is very important for us to understand what its reserves in the past were available on the planet on a global scale, and how much of it could be preserved in its polar regions. You can have all the favorable conditions for the existence of life, but if the main reserves of water are concentrated at the poles, then for life, which could exist closer to the equator, there may be a shortage of water, ”says Nerozzi.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.