بحث

ثلاثة مشاريع للهندسة الجيولوجية يمكنها إصلاح أو تحطيم الأرض

من زراعة الغابات مع مساحة من القارة إلىبدعوة من المطر ، بدأ العلماء في اقتراح واختبار وحتى تنفيذ مشاريع واسعة النطاق للهندسة الجيولوجية لتحويل الكوكب جذريًا. تم تصميم هذه المشاريع لمعالجة مشاكل مثل نمو الصحاري أو الجفاف أو ثاني أكسيد الكربون الزائد في الجو - كل ذلك من أجل مكافحة تغير المناخ. بعد كل شيء ، إن لم يكن نحن ، فمن؟ الطبيعة ستخلفها وتدمرنا.

ما هي الهندسة الجيولوجية الخطرة؟

تأثير تغير المناخ غير المنضبطيكلف البلدان مئات المليارات من الدولارات سنويًا ، لأن وتيرة الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة آخذة في الازدياد ، والعائدات آخذة في الانخفاض ، دون حساب النتائج الأخرى. كل هذا يؤدي إلى الحاجة إلى تقديم حلول جذرية. ومع ذلك ، واجهت الهندسة الجيولوجية ، على وجه الخصوص ، مقاومة كبيرة.

يجادل المعارضون بأن الناس لا يفهمون بما فيه الكفاية تعقيدات الدورات الطبيعية العالمية ، وأن محاولة تغييرها سوف تسبب مشاكل أكثر مما تحل.

جدران خضراء كبيرة

أحد المشاريع التي يتم تنفيذها بالفعل فيالبعض ، تم إنشاء جدران خضراء على أجزاء كبيرة من الكوكب. وهي تتألف من نباتات محلية وأرض على حافة الصحراء لوقف تصحر المناطق المحيطة بها. والحقيقة هي أن الأرض الواقعة على حافة الصحراء معرضة بالفعل للجفاف وتثقل كاهلها المجتمعات التي تعيش هناك ، مما يخلق حلقة مفرغة ويجعل السكان يقاتلون من أجل البقاء. الجدران الخضراء والظروف الداعمة مصممة لتجديد الأرض ، مما يجعل مساحات واسعة من الكوكب أكثر ملاءمة للعيش.

أكبر جدارين هما برنامج المأوى.في ثلاث غابات شمالية "في الصين ، بطولها 4500 كيلومتر ، تهدف إلى وقف انتشار صحراء جوبي ، وسور الصين الأخضر الكبير الذي يبلغ طوله 8000 كيلومتر للحد من الصحراء.

نجاح هذه الجدران يعتمد على تتبع.تغييرات طويلة الأجل في الغطاء النباتي ، وتحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، سيعتمد العلماء على صور الأقمار الصناعية العشرية وخوارزميات التفسير البصري المعزز لتحليل الصور. أنشأ موقع Earth Earth ، وهو مشروع مشترك بين Google والشعبة الزراعية بالأمم المتحدة ، واجهة مفتوحة المصدر تتيح للباحثين الوصول إلى جميع هذه البيانات.

كتلة الشمس

في العام الماضي ، أجرى علماء هارفارد اختبارالتي تضمنت إرسال كميات ضئيلة من الهباء الجوي - غير كافية لإحداث أي تأثير كبير - في الستراتوسفير الأرضي ، على ارتفاع حوالي 20 كم. يحتوي الهباء على مركبات كبريتات ، والتي يمكن أن تعكس ضوء الشمس الوارد وتقلل من درجة الحرارة العالمية.

في مقال نشر في عام 2017 في المجلةالكيمياء والفيزياء الجوية ، يقال إن حقن الهباء الجوي في الجو ، في الواقع ، يحاكي عمود الرماد من ثوران بركاني. ومثل أعمدة الرماد ، التي يتم إدخالها في الغلاف الجوي ، ينتشر الهباء الجوي بسرعة ويؤثر على مناطق واسعة من الكوكب.

يستكشف العلماء أيضًا إمكانية البدءمظلة عملاقة في الفضاء للتحكم في كمية الإشعاع الشمسي الذي يصل إلى الأرض. كانت هذه الفكرة واقفة على قدميها لعقود من الزمان ، ولكنها لم تتلق دفعة جديدة للتنمية إلا مؤخرًا.

على سبيل المثال ، في أعمال 2018 من مجلةتصف تكنولوجيا وإدارة الطيران والفضاء إطلاق ما يسمى بـ HSS أو Huge Space Shield. تتمثل الخطة في وضع طبقة رقيقة من ألياف الكربون في نقطة لاغرانج ، وهي نقطة مستقرة نسبيًا في الجاذبية المعقدة للأرض والقمر والشمس. سوف تحظر هذه الورقة جزءًا صغيرًا فقط من الإشعاع الشمسي ، لكن هذا قد يكون كافياً لخفض درجات الحرارة العالمية إلى ما دون الحد الأدنى البالغ 1.5 درجة مئوية ، كما حددها الفريق الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ.

البعض الآخر يريد أن يحجب الشمس عن طريق التحفيزتشكيل السحابة هي عملية تعرف باسم البذر السحابي. من أجل سقوط المطر ، يجب أن تتكثف الرطوبة في الهواء ، مما يعني أن مفهوم النواة (النوكليونات) أمرًا ضروريًا لإسقاط الحرارة وتكثيفها. في الطبيعة ، تتشكل قطرات الماء حول جزيئات الغبار أو حبوب اللقاح أو ملح البحر أو حتى البكتيريا ، لكن العلماء أكدوا أن مركبات مثل يوديد الفضة أو الثلج الجاف يمكن أن تعمل أيضًا. تتمثل الخطة في إدخال هذه المواد في الغلاف الجوي فوق المناطق المعرضة للجفاف ، وبالتالي زيادة الغيوم والهطول.

إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الغلاف الجوي

التقاط الهواء المباشر (DAC) هوكوكتيل من المواد الكيميائية المرتبطة بثاني أكسيد الكربون ولكنه خامل للغازات الأخرى. عندما يمر الهواء عبر آلات DAC ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم الأشجار الاصطناعية ، يتمسك ثاني أكسيد الكربون بالمواد الكيميائية ويتم إطلاقه مرة أخرى مع زيادة الطاقة ، مما يسمح له بالتقاطها وتخزينها ومعالجتها أو إعادة استخدامها. قامت شركة Climeworks السويسرية ببناء مصنع تجاري واحد مخصص لالتقاط ثاني أكسيد الكربون وإعادة بيعه. هدفها هو التقاط واحد في المئة من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون العالمية بحلول عام 2025.

يمكن إجراء إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو.أيضا عن طريق زرع المحيطات ، والتي هي واحدة من المصارف الكربون الرئيسية على هذا الكوكب ، المسؤولة عن إزالة حوالي 30 ٪ من ثاني أكسيد الكربون. أفضل طريقتين للقيام بذلك تشمل الحديد والجير. تم تصميم الأسمدة الحديدية لتحفيز نمو العوالق النباتية ، التي تمتص ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو وتساعد على وضعها في قاع البحر.

في مقال كوري نشر في عام 2018 ،استعرض المؤلفون تجارب زراعة الحديد على مدى السنوات الـ 25 الماضية ، وخلصوا إلى أن هذا قد يكون حلاً قابلاً للتطبيق. ومع ذلك ، فإنها تدرك أن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الاختبارات. تؤدي إضافة الجير إلى تفاعل مع ثاني أكسيد الكربون المذاب بالفعل في المحيط ، وتحويله إلى أيونات بيكربونات ، مما يقلل من حموضة المحيطات ويجعلها عرضة لامتصاص المزيد من ثاني أكسيد الكربون.

هل الدواء أسوأ من المرض؟

على الرغم من أن هذه الأفكار تبدو واعدة ، هناكمجموعة من الآثار الضارة المحتملة. في عام 2008 ، وافق 191 بلداً على حظر الأمم المتحدة لتخصيب المحيطات بسبب المخاوف من آثار جانبية غير معروفة ، مثل تغيير السلسلة الغذائية أو إنشاء مناطق ذات تركيزات منخفضة من الأكسجين. أقرت الجمعية التشريعية في رود آيلاند قانون الهندسة الجيولوجية لعام 2017 ، والذي ينص على أن "الهندسة الجيولوجية تشمل العديد من التقنيات والأساليب المتعلقة بالأنشطة الخطرة التي يمكن أن تضر بصحة وسلامة الناس والبيئة والاقتصاد في ولاية الجزيرة. "

رغم المقاومة ، بعض الشركاتتضغط الحكومات من أجل السماح للمهندسين الجيولوجيين بالعمل ، ويستمر العلماء في تطوير وتجربة أفكار جديدة. بعض الفوائد المزعومة لهذه الخطط يتم استجوابها. ينص مقال نُشر مؤخرًا في مجلة Nature على أن تقليل كمية الإشعاع الشمسي الذي يصل إلى سطح الأرض لن يساعد كثيرًا في إيقاف الآثار الضارة لتغير المناخ على المحاصيل.

والسؤال الوحيد هو ، هل نعرف ما يكفي لهل الهندسة الجيولوجية؟ ماذا لو ، على سبيل المثال ، غيّرت البذر على نطاق واسع التدفق وتباطأ موسم الرياح الموسمية في جنوب شرق آسيا؟ كيف سيهدد هذا محاصيل الأرز؟ أو ماذا لو كان إلقاء أطنان من الغمر في المحيط يدمر مجموعة من الأسماك على طول ساحل تشيلي؟

لا أحد يعرف على وجه اليقين العواقب التي ستترتب على مشاريع الهندسة الجيولوجية هذه - لكن من الممكن أيضًا أن تصبح الحلول التي كنا نبحث عنها.

ما رايك شاركنا رأيك في قناة التلغراف الخاصة بنا.

Research

Three geoengineering projects that can repair or break the Earth

From the cultivation of forests with an area from the continent tocalling for rain, scientists began to propose, test, and even implement large-scale geoengineering projects to radically transform the planet. These projects are designed to solve problems such as the growth of deserts, droughts or an excess of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere — all for the sake of fighting climate change. After all, if not us, then who? Nature will take its toll and destroy us.

What is dangerous geo-engineering?

Impact of uncontrolled climate changecosts countries hundreds of billions of dollars a year, because the frequency of extreme weather events is growing, and yields are declining, not counting other consequences. All this leads to the need to introduce radical solutions. However, geoengineering, in particular, faced considerable resistance.

Opponents argue that people do not sufficiently understand the complexity of global natural cycles, and trying to change them will cause more problems than it solves.

Large green walls

One of the projects that are already being implemented inSome, was the creation of green walls on large parts of the planet. They consist of native vegetation and land on the edge of the desert to stop desertification of the surrounding areas. The fact is that the land on the edge of the desert is already subject to drought and is overloaded with the communities living there, which creates a vicious circle and makes the residents fight for survival. Green walls and supporting conditions are designed to rejuvenate the earth, making large areas of the planet more livable.

The two largest walls are the Shelter program.in three northern forests "in China, the length of which is 4,500 km, aimed at stopping the spread of the Gobi Desert, and the 8000 km Great Green Wall of Africa to reduce the Sahara.

The success of these walls depends on tracking.long-term changes in vegetation, and to this end, scientists will rely on decadal satellite imagery and augmented visual interpretation algorithms for image analysis. Collect Earth, a joint project of Google and the UN's agricultural division, has created an open source interface that allows researchers to access all this data.

Sun block

Last year, Harvard scientists conducted a testwhich included sending trace amounts of aerosol — insufficient to have any significant effect — into the Earth’s stratosphere, at an altitude of about 20 km. Aerosols contained sulfate compounds, which can reflect incoming sunlight and reduce global temperature.

In an article published in 2017 in the journalAtmospheric Chemistry and Physics, it is argued that the injection of aerosol into the atmosphere, in fact, simulates the ash plume from a volcanic eruption. And, like the ash plume, being introduced into the atmosphere, the aerosol spreads rapidly and affects large areas of the planet.

Scientists are also exploring the possibility of startinggiant umbrella in space to control the amount of solar radiation that reaches the Earth. This idea was afloat for decades, but only recently received an impetus to development.

For example, in the work of 2018 from the Journal ofAerospace Technology and Management describes the launch of the so-called HSS, or the Huge Space Shield. The plan is to place a thin, wide carbon fiber sheet at the Lagrange point, which is a relatively stable point in the complex gravitational pull of the Earth, the Moon, and the Sun. This sheet will block only a small portion of the solar radiation, but this may be enough to reduce global temperatures below the limit of 1.5 degrees Celsius, as established by the International Panel on Climate Change.

Others want to block the sun by stimulatingcloud formation is a process known as cloud seeding. In order for rain to fall, the moisture in the air must condense, which means that an interesting concept of nucleation (nucleation) will be required for the temperature drop and condensation. In nature, water droplets form around particles of dust, pollen, sea salt, or even bacteria, but scientists have confirmed that compounds like silver iodide or dry ice can also work. The plan is to introduce these substances into the atmosphere over drought-prone areas, thereby increasing cloudiness and precipitation.

CO2 removal from the atmosphere

Direct Air Capture (DAC) isa cocktail of chemicals that are bound to CO2 but inert to other gases. When the air passes through DAC machines, also known as artificial trees, CO2 sticks to chemicals and is released again with increasing energy, which allows it to be captured, stored and processed, or reused. The Swiss company Climeworks has built a single commercial plant dedicated to capturing and resale of carbon dioxide. Its goal is to capture one percent of global carbon dioxide emissions by 2025.

CO2 removal from the atmosphere can be carried out.also by seeding the oceans, which are one of the main carbon sinks on the planet, responsible for removing about 30% of carbon dioxide. The best two ways to do this include iron and lime. Iron fertilizer is designed to stimulate the growth of phytoplankton, which sucks carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and helps put it on the seabed.

In a Korean article published in 2018,The authors reviewed iron sowing experiments over the past 25 years, and concluded that this may be a viable solution. However, they recognize that much more testing is needed. Adding lime will cause a reaction with carbon dioxide already dissolved in the ocean, and turn it into bicarbonate ions, thereby reducing the acidity of the oceans and making them susceptible to absorbing more carbon dioxide.

Is the medicine worse than the disease?

Although these ideas seem promising, there isa range of potentially harmful effects. In 2008, 191 countries approved a UN ban on the fertilization of the oceans due to fears of unknown side effects, such as changing the food chain or creating regions with low oxygen concentrations. The Legislative Assembly of Rhode Island passed the 2017 Geo-Engineering Act, which stated that “Geo-engineering includes many technologies and methods related to hazardous activities that can harm the health and safety of people, the environment and the economy of the State of Island. "

Despite resistance, some companiesGovernments are lobbying for geo-engineers to work, and scientists are continuing to develop and experiment with new ideas. Some of the alleged benefits of such plans are being questioned. A recently published article in the journal Nature states that reducing the amount of solar radiation that reaches the surface of the earth will not help much to stop the harmful effects of climate change on crops.

The only question is, do we know enough todo geo-engineering? What if, for example, large-scale cloud sowing changes the flow and slows down the monsoon season in Southeast Asia? How will this threaten rice crops? Or what if dumping tons of eze into the ocean destroys a population of fish along the coast of Chile?

No one knows for sure what consequences such geoengineering projects will have - but it is also possible that they will become the solutions we were looking for.

What do you think? Share your opinion in our Telegraph channel.