بحث

قوة التيتانيوم ، وكثافة المياه: المهندسين خلقت "الخشب المعدني"

نوادي الجولف عالية الأداء والأجنحةالطائرات مصنوعة من التيتانيوم ، الذي هو أقوى من الفولاذ ، ولكن ضعف الضوء. تعتمد هذه الخصائص على الطريقة التي يتم بها وضع ذرات المعدن ، لكن العيوب العشوائية التي تنشأ أثناء عملية الإنتاج تعني أن هذه المواد يمكن أن تكون أقوى بكثير ، لكنها لن تفعل ذلك. يمكن للمهندس الذي يجمع المعادن من الذرات الفردية تصميم وبناء مواد جديدة من شأنها أن تحقق أفضل توازن بين القوة والوزن.

هل الشجرة المعدنية ممكنة؟

في دراسة جديدة نشرت في الطبيعةالتقارير العلمية ، قام بذلك باحثون من كلية الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية في جامعة بنسلفانيا وجامعة إلينوي وجامعة كامبريدج. قاموا بتجميع ورقة النيكل مع مسام النانو التي تجعلها دائمة مثل التيتانيوم ، ولكن أخف وزنا أربع إلى خمس مرات.

المساحة الفارغة للمسام وعملية التجميع الذاتي تجعل المعدن المسامي يبدو وكأنه مادة طبيعية ، مثل الخشب.

ومثل مسامية جذع الشجرةيؤدي الوظيفة البيولوجية لنقل الطاقة ، ويمكن ملء المساحة الفارغة في "الخشب المعدني" بمواد أخرى. سوف يسمح ملء الغابات باستخدام المواد الكاثودية والأنود للشجرة المعدنية أن تخدم غرضًا مزدوجًا: أن تكون جناحًا للطائرة أو ساقًا اصطناعية مزودة ببطارية.

قاد الدراسة جيمس بيكول ، أستاذ مشارك في قسم الهندسة الميكانيكية والميكانيكا التطبيقية في جامعة بنسلفانيا.

حتى أفضل المعادن الطبيعية معيبة.في ترتيب الذرات التي تحد من قوتها. كتلة من التيتانيوم ، حيث تتوافق كل ذرة مع جيرانها ، ستكون أقوى بعشر مرات مما يمكن إنتاجه الآن. حاول علماء المواد استخدام هذه الظاهرة من خلال تطبيق منهج معماري ، وتصميم هياكل ذات عناصر تحكم هندسية ضرورية لإلغاء قفل الخواص الميكانيكية التي تنشأ على مقياس النانو ، حيث يكون للعيوب تأثير أقل.

بيكول وزملاؤه مدينون بنجاحهم في الطبيعة.

"السبب نسميهيقول بيكول إن الشجرة المعدنية ليست فقط بكثافتها ، أي ما يعادل كثافة الخشب ، ولكن أيضًا في الطبيعة الخلوية. "المواد الخلوية مسامية ؛ إذا نظرت إلى حبة الخشب (نمط صفح الخشب النموذجي) ، ماذا ترى؟ الأجزاء السميكة والأكثر كثافة تحتفظ بالبنية ، وهناك حاجة إلى أجزاء أكثر مسامية للحفاظ على الوظائف البيولوجية ، مثل النقل من وإلى الخلية ".

"هيكلنا مشابه" ، كما يقول. "لدينا مناطق كثيفة وكثيفة ، ذات دعامات معدنية قوية ، ومناطق مسامية ، بها فجوات هوائية. نحن ببساطة نعمل على نطاقات الطول حيث تكون قوة الدعامات قريبة من الحد الأقصى النظري ".

الفواصل في الخشب المعدني واسعةحوالي 10 نانومتر ، أو 100 ذرة النيكل عبر. تشمل الأساليب الأخرى استخدام تقنيات مثل الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد لإنشاء غابات النانو بدقة 100 نانومتر ، ولكن من الصعب توسيع نطاق العملية البطيئة والمضنية إلى أحجام قابلة للاستخدام.

"كنا نعلم أن تقليل الأحجام سيجعلكأقوى لفترة من الوقت ، لكن الناس لم يتمكنوا من إنشاء هياكل كبيرة بما يكفي لهذه المواد المعمرة بحيث يمكنهم القيام بشيء مفيد. معظم الأمثلة المصنوعة من مواد متينة كانت حول حجم البراغيث الصغيرة ، ولكن مع النهج الذي نتبعه يمكننا أن نجعل عينات من الخشب المعدني أكبر من 400 مرة. "

تبدأ طريقة Pikul بالبلاستيك الصغيرالمجالات التي يبلغ قطرها عدة مئات من النانومتر معلقة في الماء. عندما يتبخر الماء ببطء ، تستقر الكرات وتنهار مثل كرات المدفع ، لتشكل هيكلًا بلوريًا منظمًا. باستخدام الطلاء الكهربائي ، بمساعدة من إضافة طبقة رقيقة من الكروم إلى الغطاء ، قام العلماء بعد ذلك بملء الكرات البلاستيكية بالنيكل. حالما يتم وضع النيكل في مكانه ، يتم حل الكرات البلاستيكية ، تاركة شبكة مفتوحة من الدعامات المعدنية.

"لقد صنعنا رقائق من هذه الشجرة المعدنيةيقول بيكول إن حجم ترتيب سنتيمتر مربع هو حافة النرد. "لإعطائك فكرة عن المقياس ، سأقول أنه في قطعة واحدة بهذا الحجم يوجد حوالي مليار دعامة نيكل."

منذ المواد الناتجة هي 70 ٪ تتكون منمساحة فارغة ، كثافة الخشب المعدني القائم على النيكل منخفضة للغاية بالنسبة لقوتها. عند كثافة تساوي كثافة الماء ، سوف يطفو لبنة من هذه المواد.

المهمة التالية هي اللعبعملية الإنتاج هذه على نطاق تجاري. على عكس التيتانيوم ، فإن أي من المواد المعنية نادر جدًا أو مكلف في حد ذاته ، ولكن البنية التحتية اللازمة للعمل في المقياس النانوي محدودة حاليًا. بمجرد تطويره ، فإن وفورات الحجم ستجعل إنتاج كميات كبيرة من الخشب المعدني أسرع وأرخص.

بمجرد أن الباحثين يمكن أن تنتجعينات من خشبهم المعدني بأحجام كبيرة ، سيكونون قادرين على إخضاعهم لاختبارات أكثر شمولاً. على سبيل المثال ، من المهم للغاية فهم خصائص الشد بشكل أفضل.

"نحن لا نعرف ، على سبيل المثال ، ما إذا كان لديناالانحناء شجرة معدنية مثل المعادن أو كسر مثل الزجاج. مثلما تحد العيوب العشوائية في التيتانيوم من قوتها الإجمالية ، نحتاج إلى فهم أفضل لكيفية تأثير العيوب في الدعامات المعدنية على خواصها الإجمالية ".

ما هي التطبيقات التي يمكن أن تظهر في شجرة حديدية؟ عرض في قناتنا في برقية.

Research

The strength of titanium, the density of water: engineers have created a "metallic wood"

High performance golf clubs and wingsAirplanes are made of titanium, which is stronger than steel, but twice as light. These properties depend on the way in which the metal atoms are laid, but random defects that arise during the production process mean that these materials can be much stronger, but they will not. An architect collecting metals from individual atoms could design and build new materials that would have the best balance of strength and weight.

Is a metal tree possible?

In a new study published in NatureScientific Reports, researchers from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Illinois and the University of Cambridge, did just that. They collected a nickel sheet with nanoscale pores that make it as durable as titanium, but four to five times lighter.

The empty space of the pores and the process of self-assembly make the porous metal look like a natural material, such as wood.

And just like the porosity of a tree trunkperforms the biological function of transporting energy, the empty space in the "metallic wood" can be filled with other materials. Filling forests with anode and cathode materials will allow the metal tree to serve a dual purpose: to be an airplane wing or a prosthetic leg with a battery.

The research was led by James Pikul, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics at the University of Pennsylvania.

Even the best natural metals are defective.in the arrangement of atoms that limit their strength. A block of titanium, where every atom would be perfectly aligned with its neighbors, would be ten times stronger than what can be produced now. Material scientists tried to use this phenomenon by applying an architectural approach, designing structures with geometric controls necessary to unlock the mechanical properties that arise on a nanoscale scale, where defects have a reduced impact.

Pikul and his colleagues owe their success to nature.

"The reason we call itmetal tree is not only in its density, which is equal to the density of wood, but also in its cellular nature, ”says Pikul. “Cellular materials are porous; If you look at wood grain (typical wood laminate pattern), what will you see? Thicker and denser parts hold the structure, and more porous parts are necessary to maintain biological functions, such as transport into and out of the cell. ”

“Our structure is similar,” he says. “We have areas that are thick and dense, with strong metal struts, and areas that are porous, with air gaps. We simply work on a scale of length, where the strength of the struts is close to the theoretical maximum. ”

Spacers in metallic wood are wideabout 10 nanometers, or 100 nickel atoms across. Other approaches include the use of technologies such as three-dimensional printing, to create nanoscale forests with an accuracy of 100 nanometers, but the slow and painstaking process is difficult to scale to usable sizes.

"We knew that reducing sizes would make youstronger for a while, but people could not make large enough structures of these durable materials so that they could do something useful. Most of the examples made from durable materials were about the size of a small flea, but with our approach we can make samples of metallic wood that are 400 times larger. ”

Pikul’s method starts with tiny plasticspheres with a diameter of several hundred nanometers suspended in water. When the water evaporates slowly, the spheres settle and fold up like cannonballs, forming an ordered, crystalline skeleton. Using electroplating, with the help of which they usually add a thin layer of chromium to the cap, the scientists then fill the plastic spheres with nickel. As soon as the nickel is in place, the plastic spheres dissolve, leaving an open net of metal struts.

"We made a foil of this metal treethe size of the order of a square centimeter is the verge of the dice, ”says Pikul. “To give you an idea of ​​the scale, I’ll say that in one piece of this size there are about 1 billion nickel struts.”

Since the resulting material is 70% composed ofempty space, the density of nickel-based metallic wood is extremely low relative to its strength. At a density equal to the density of water, the brick of such a material will float.

The next task is to playThis production process is on a commercial scale. Unlike titanium, none of the materials involved is particularly rare or expensive in itself, but the infrastructure required for working at nanoscale is currently limited. Once it is developed, economies of scale will make the production of significant quantities of metallic wood faster and cheaper.

As soon as researchers can producesamples of their metallic wood in large sizes, they will be able to subject them to more extensive tests. For example, it is very important to better understand their tensile properties.

"We do not know, for example, whether ourmetal tree bend like metal or break like glass. Just as random defects in titanium limit its overall strength, we need to better understand how defects in metal struts affect its overall properties. ”

What applications could appear in such an iron tree? Offer in our channel in Telegram.