الفضاء

العثور على روفر الفضول علامات غير مباشرة للحياة

مستويات عالية بشكل غير عادي وجدت على سطح المريخالميثان ، الذي قد يشير إلى الحياة على كوكب الأرض ، تقارير صحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، نقلا عن وكالة الفضاء ناسا. لم يحدث بعد الإعلان الرسمي الصادر عن ناسا ، لكن وفقًا للمصدر ، قام خبراء وكالة الفضاء الأمريكية بتحليل البيانات التي تم جمعها هذا الأسبوع يوم الخميس والتي جمعها روفر كوريوسيتي ووجدوا كمية كبيرة من الميثان في الغلاف الجوي للمريخ ، والتي يتم إنتاجها عادة على قيد الحياة على الأرض من الكائنات الحية.

"النظر في كيف كانت مذهلةالنتائج ، قمنا بإعادة هيكلة جدولنا الزمني لإجراء تجربة في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع ، والتي ستؤكد أو تدحض ملاحظاتنا "، كتب ضابط المهمة إيسوين ر. فاساوادا في رسالة بريد إلكتروني إلى التايمز.

يوم الجمعة ، طلب فريق المهمة على الأرضيوفر المريخ بيانات إضافية للتحقق ومعرفة ما إذا كان صحيحًا أنه يمكن أن توجد كائنات حية حية على المريخ قادرة على إنتاج الميثان. من المتوقع نتائج البحوث يوم الاثنين ، 24 يونيو.

هل الميثان علامة على الحياة؟

الناس منذ فترة طويلة مفتونة هذا الاحتمالوجود الحياة على سطح المريخ. ومع ذلك ، فإن مركبة الفضاء فايكنغ التابعة لناسا والتي هبطت على سطح الكوكب الأحمر في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، لم تجد أحداً ، بعد أن صورت منظرًا صحراويًا فقط. بعد عقدين من الزمن ، تكهن العلماء أنه قبل حوالي 4 مليارات سنة ، عندما كان المريخ صغيرًا جدًا ، كان الكوكب أكثر دفئًا ورطوبةً وسكنًا. في الوقت الحاضر ، هناك اقتراحات بأن الحياة يمكن أن توجد مرة واحدة على سطح المريخ ، لكنها في وقت لاحق هاجرت أعمق تحت السطح ، هربًا من الظروف غير المواتية التي جاءت من الأعلى.

وجود الميثان في جو غريب الأطوارالمريخ الحالي مهم للغاية لأن إشعاع الشمس والتفاعلات الكيميائية يمكن أن تدمر جزيئاتها في بضعة قرون فقط. يشير اكتشاف الميثان الآن إلى أنه دخل الغلاف الجوي مؤخرًا.

على الأرض ، يتم إنتاج الميثان بواسطة الميكروبات.الميثانوجينات التي تعيش في الأماكن التي يوجد فيها نقص في الأكسجين ، على سبيل المثال ، تحت الأرض العميق ، في المسالك الهضمية للحيوانات (بما في ذلك البشر) - الميثان هو نتاج ثانوي لعملية الأيض لديهم. ومع ذلك ، يمكن إنتاج الميثان بكميات معينة نتيجة لتفاعلات الطاقة الحرارية الأرضية ، حيث لا يوجد أي سؤال في علم الأحياء. من الممكن أن يكون الجو المريخ ، سقط من رواسب تحت الأرض من خلال الشقوق الصغيرة في الأرض. لذلك ، لاستخلاص استنتاجات نهائية حول طبيعتها في ناسا ليست جاهزة بعد ، وبالتالي الحديث عن الحدث باعتباره "النتائج العلمية المبكرة".

في اشارة الى ممثل الوكالة ، نيويوركتشير التايمز إلى أن فريق البعثة سيواصل تحليل البيانات للحفاظ على المصداقية العلمية وسيكون قادرًا على الإدلاء ببيان رسمي بعد ذلك.

يحتوي المريخ على نسبة عالية جدًا من الميثان.

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي الباحثينوجدت آثار الميثان على المريخ ، ولكن في الوقت الحالي وجد في أعلى تركيز. منذ حوالي 15 عامًا ، عثر عليها بواسطة مركبة الفضاء التابعة لوكالة الفضاء الأوروبية (Mars Express European Space Agency). ومع ذلك ، في ذلك الوقت ، كان مستوى أدائها منخفضًا جدًا لدرجة أن العديد من العلماء أخطأوا في فهمه خطأً بسيطًا في بيانات حسابات المسبار.

ذهب على الكوكب الأحمر في عام 2012 ، روفرقام "الفضول" بتحليل عينات التربة بجد بحثًا عن الميثان ، مما قد يشير أيضًا إلى وجود حياة على المريخ ، ولكنه لم يجد شيئًا. ثم في عام 2013 ، اكتشف روفر زيادة غير متوقعة في تركيز الميثان بنسبة 7 أجزاء لكل مليار ، والتي استمرت عدة أشهر على الأقل. ثم اختفى الميثان.

كجزء من أحدث القياسات ، "الفضول" "رائحة" 21 جزيئات الميثان لكل مليار ، وهو ما يزيد ثلاث مرات عن عام 2013. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا الاكتشاف لا يؤكد أي شيء حتى الآن.

لقد تطور فريق مهمة الفضولطريقة خاصة تسمح للجهاز بالتقاط حتى تركيز صغير من الغاز في الجو باستخدام الأدوات المتوفرة على متن الطائرة. وبفضل هذا ، اكتشف العلماء أن الميثان يظهر في جو المريخ بشكل موسمي. وأكدت بيانات جديدة من مدار المريخ اكسبرس هذه الملاحظات ، ودفعت العلماء أيضًا إلى التفكير في المكان الذي يمكن أن يؤخذ منه الميثان بالضبط. ومع ذلك ، فإن المركبة الفضائية Trace Gas Orbiter ، التي أطلقتها وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية في عام 2016 ، والتي لم تكن أكثر حداثة ومجهزة بأدوات علمية أكثر حساسية ، لم تتمكن من اكتشاف تركيز الغاز في الغلاف الجوي للكوكب.

وفقًا لماركو يورانا من Nationalمن معهد الفيزياء الفلكية في إيطاليا ، الذي يرأس برنامج لقياس الميثان في الغلاف الجوي للمريخ باستخدام جهاز Mars Express ، يقوم فريق Curiosity و Mars Express و Trace Gas Orbiter بمناقشة أحدث اكتشاف للمركبة الأمريكية. وأكد لمصدر الخبر أنه تم إبلاغه بمؤشر 21 جزءًا في المليار ، لكنه أضاف أن هذه لا تزال نتائج أولية.

وأضاف جورانا ذلك أيضًا في نفس اليومحصلت المركبة "Curiosity" على البيانات الحالية بجوار فوهة Gale التي يبلغ قطرها 154 كيلومتراً فوق نفس المنطقة التي مرت على المسبار المداري الأوروبي Mars Express. وفقًا لـ Juranna ، لدى العلماء أيضًا بيانات تم جمعها قبل ملاحظات "الفضول" ، وكذلك في وقت لاحق ، بما في ذلك البيانات التي تم الحصول عليها من Trace Gas Orbiter.

"علينا التحقق من الكثير من البيانات. وأوضح جورانا أن بعض النتائج الأولية ستكون في بداية الأسبوع المقبل.

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Space

The rover Curiosity found indirect signs of life

Unusually high levels found on Marsmethane, which may indicate life on the planet, reports The New York Times, citing the NASA aerospace agency. The official announcement from NASA has not yet happened, but according to the source, the US space agency experts analyzed data collected this week on Thursday collected by the rover Curiosity and found a significant amount of methane in the atmosphere of Mars, which is usually produced alive on Earth by organisms.

"Considering how amazing wereresults, we restructured our schedule to conduct an experiment at the weekend, which will confirm or refute our observations, ”mission officer Eswin R. Vasawada wrote in a Times email.

On Friday, the mission team on Earth requestedMars rover additional data to check and find out if it is true that there can be live microorganisms on Mars capable of producing methane. Research results are expected on Monday, June 24th.

Is methane a sign of life?

People have long been fascinated by the probabilitythe existence of life on mars. However, NASA’s Viking spacecraft, which landed on the surface of the Red Planet in the 1970s, did not find anyone, having photographed only a desert landscape. Two decades later, scientists speculated that about 4 billion years ago, when Mars was very young, the planet was warmer, more humid and more habitable. At present, there are suggestions that life could once have existed on the surface of Mars, but later it migrated deeper beneath the surface, fleeing from the unfavorable conditions that came from above.

The presence of methane in a very thin atmospherepresent Mars is very important because the radiation of the Sun and chemical reactions can destroy its molecules in just a few centuries. The discovery of methane now suggests that it has recently entered the atmosphere.

On Earth, methane is produced by microbes.methanogens that live in places where there is a lack of oxygen, for example, deep underground, in the digestive tracts of animals (including humans) - methane is a by-product of their metabolism. However, methane can be produced in certain quantities as a result of geothermal reactions, where there is no question of biology. It is possible that the atmosphere of Mars, he fell from underground deposits through small cracks in the ground. Therefore, to draw final conclusions about its nature in NASA is not yet ready and therefore speak of the event as the "early scientific results."

Referring to agency representative, The New YorkThe Times indicates that the mission’s team will continue to analyze the data to maintain scientific credibility and will be able to make an official statement after that.

Mars has a very high concentration of methane.

This is not the first time that researchersfound traces of methane on Mars, but at the moment it was found in the highest concentration. About 15 years ago, it was found by the Mars Express European Space Agency spacecraft. However, at that time, its level of performance was so low that many scientists mistakenly mistaken it for a simple error in the data of the probe calculations.

Gone on the Red Planet in 2012, the rover“Curiosity” diligently analyzed soil samples in search of methane, which could also indicate the existence of life on Mars, but found nothing. Then in 2013, the rover discovered an unexpected surge of methane concentration in the ratio of 7 parts per billion, which lasted at least several months. Then the methane disappeared.

As part of the latest measurements, “Curiosity” “smelled” 21 methane particles per billion, which is three times more than in 2013. However, this discovery does not confirm anything yet.

The mission team of Curiosity has developeda special method that allows the device to capture even a small concentration of gas in the atmosphere using the tools available on board. Thanks to this, scientists found out that methane appears to appear in the atmosphere of Mars seasonally. New data from the Mars Express orbiter confirmed these observations, and also prompted scientists to think about exactly where methane can be taken from. However, the more modern and equipped with more sensitive scientific instruments the Trace Gas Orbiter spacecraft, launched by the European Space Agency in 2016, could not detect the concentration of gas in the planet’s atmosphere.

According to Marco Juranna from the Nationalthe Institute of Astrophysics in Italy, who heads the program for measuring methane in the atmosphere of Mars using the Mars Express apparatus, the team of Curiosity, Mars Express and Trace Gas Orbiter are already discussing the latest finding of the American rover. He confirmed to the news source that he had been informed about the indicator of 21 parts per billion, but added that this is still preliminary results.

Juranna also added that on the same dayThe rover “Curiosity” obtained current data next to the Gale crater with a diameter of 154 kilometers over the same territory passed the European orbital probe Mars Express. According to Juranna, scientists also have at their hands data that was collected prior to the observations of the “Curiosity”, as well as later, including data obtained from the Trace Gas Orbiter.

“We have to check a lot of data. But some preliminary results will be at the beginning of the next week, ”explained Juranna.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!