بحث

كان معدل توسع الكون أعلى من المتوقع.

نتائج الدراسة الأمريكية الجديدةيشير علماء الفلك ، الذين نُشروا في مجلة Journal of Astrophysical Journal Letters ، إلى أن الكون يتسع بنحو 10 في المائة بشكل أسرع مما كان متوقعًا استنادًا إلى ملاحظات من تليسكوب بلانك الفضائي ، مما قد يوحي بالحاجة إلى فهم أفضل للفضاء و الظواهر التي تحدث في ذلك ، تقارير Space.com. يمكن العثور على مطبوعات العمل بحرية في مستودع المقالات العلمية على الإنترنت arXiv.org.

يلاحظ العلماء أن احتمال أن يكون هذا التناقض مجرد صدفة قد انخفض من ثلاثة آلاف إلى ألف.

"وصل هذا التناقض إلى نقطة يجب الاتصال بهاعلق آدم ريس ، أستاذ الفيزياء وعلم الفلك بجامعة جونز هوبكنز في بالتيمور ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، الذي يدرس الدراسة:

"هذا ليس ما توقعناه" ، يضيفحصل رييز ، الذي حصل في عام 2011 (مع الفيزيائيين الآخرين براين شميدت وشاول بيرلماتر) على جائزة نوبل في الفيزياء لإثبات التوسع المتسارع للكون وتطوير أساليب فائقة الدقة لقياس المسافات.

لا يزال العلماء لا يستطيعون فهم بالضبطيزيد من معدل تمدد الكون ، ولكن العديد من علماء الفلك يشيرون إلى أن الجاني هو قوة بغيضة غامضة تسمى الطاقة المظلمة.

هذا التوضيح يظهر الثلاثة الرئيسيةالخطوات التي يستخدمها علماء الفلك لحساب معدل تمدد الكون مع مرور الوقت. وتسمى هذه القيمة هابل الدائمة. تشمل جميع الخطوات بناء خطوات "سلم مسافة الفضاء" ، بدءًا من قياس المسافات الدقيقة لأقرب المجرات ، ثم الانتقال إلى أبعد ثم إلى المجرات. هذا "السلم" هو سلسلة من القياسات لأنواع مختلفة من الأجسام الفلكية مع مؤشرات اللمعان الخاصة بهم ، والتي يمكن استخدامها لحساب المسافات.

في الدراسة الجديدة ، ريس مع الزملاءالبيانات المستخدمة من تليسكوب هابل الفضائي ، والتي تحتوي على معلومات حول عمليات رصد 70 سبيدس (نجوم ذات سطوع متغير) في السحابة الكبيرة ماجلاني ، وهي مجرة ​​مجاورة لطريقة درب التبانة. بالنسبة للفلكيين ، السيفيدس نوع من المنارة ، وذلك بفضل لمعان فترة الاعتماد ، يتم استخدام السيفيدس كمعايير لمعان عند تحديد المسافات إلى كائنات بعيدة.

"دليل" آخر لحسابات السرعةقد تكون امتدادات الكون من النوع In supernovae ، حيث يمتد ضوءها مع اتساع المساحة التي تتغلب عليها. ومع ذلك ، تكمن المشكلة الرئيسية في تحديد المسافة الدقيقة لهذه النجوم. دراسة هذه النجوم ومراقبتها بدقة سمحت لـ Riss و Schmidt و Permutter بالحصول على جائزة نوبل.

Riesz مع الفريق المدرجة أيضا في حساباتهم ،تم الحصول عليها خلال مشروع Araucaria ، الذي أبدى فيه علماء من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وأوروبا وشيلي ملاحظات حول النظم النجمية الثنائية لمجرة السحابة الكبيرة Magellanic Cloud ، مشيرين إلى "كسوف" النجوم التي حدثت عندما مر نجم واحد أمام جاره. زوّد هذا العمل Riesz وزملاؤه بمعلومات إضافية حول المسافات إلى النجوم ، مع تزويد العلماء بالمساعدة في فهم السطوع الداخلي للسيفيدس.

المسلحة مع البيانات ، استخدم الباحثونلهم لحساب المعدل الحالي للتوسع في الكون - القيمة ، والتي تسمى ثابت هابل. حصلت على اسمها تكريما للفلكي الأمريكي الشهير إدوين هابل في العشرينات من القرن الماضي. ونتيجة لذلك ، تلقى الباحثون ثابتًا جديدًا من نوع Hubble يبلغ 74.03 كيلومترًا في الثانية لكل megaparsec (1 megaparsec تساوي حوالي 3.26 مليون سنة ضوئية) ، وهو أكثر من الثابت المستمد من ملاحظات إشعاع الخلفية ويساوي 67 كيلومترًا في الثانية لكل megaparsec. هذا يعني أن سرعة فصل المجرات عنا تزيد بحوالي 74 كيلو متر في الثانية ، وليس ب 67 ، كما كان من قبل. العائق هو أن القيمة السابقة تؤخذ في الاعتبار في جميع النماذج لدينا ، والتي تصف كل من عمر الكون وتكوينه ، وكذلك القوانين الأساسية للفيزياء.

وفقا لفريق Riesz ، والحد الأقصى للخطأحساباتهم يمكن أن تصل إلى 1.9 في المئة - وهو أدنى مستوى في الوقت الراهن. على سبيل المثال ، في الدراسات الاستقصائية لعام 2001 ، كان خطأ الحساب حوالي 10 في المائة ، بينما تشير بيانات عام 2009 إلى حدوث خطأ بنسبة 5 في المائة.

تقدير جديد لمعدل توسع الكون بقوةيتناقض مع قيمة ثابت هابل ، الذي تم الحصول عليه بواسطة تلسكوب بلانك التابع لوكالة الفضاء الأوروبية ، والذي أجرى دراسات حول إشعاع الخلفية الكونية التي خلفها الانفجار الكبير ، الذي أدى وفقًا للرأي العلمي الأكثر شعبية إلى ظهور عالمنا منذ حوالي 13.82 مليار عام.

هذه ليست مجرد تجربتين غير متناسقتين. نقيس شيئا مختلفا جذريا. في الحالة الأولى ، نتحدث عن قياس مدى سرعة توسع الكون المرئي اليوم ، وفي الحالة الثانية ، هو تنبؤ قائم على فيزياء الكون المبكر وبيانات حول مدى سرعة توسعه. إذا لم تتطابق هذه القيم ، فهناك احتمال كبير بأننا نفتقد شيئًا ما في النموذج الكوسمولوجي الذي يربط بين حقبتين ، "يخلص ريس.

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Research

The rate of expansion of the universe was higher than expected.

The results of the new American studyastronomers, published in the Astrophysical Journal Letters, indicate that the universe is expanding about 10 percent faster than expected based on observations from the Planck space telescope, which may suggest a need for a new space phenomena occurring in it, reports Space.com. The preprint of the work can be freely found in the online repository of scientific articles arXiv.org.

The probability that this discrepancy is a mere coincidence has been reduced from one three thousandth to one thousandth, scientists note.

"This discrepancy has reached a point when to callit can no longer be accidental, ”commented Adam Riess, a professor of physics and astronomy at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore (USA), who studies the study.

“This is not what we expected,” addsRiesz, who in 2011 (together with other physicists Brian Schmidt and Saul Perlmutter) received the Nobel Prize in Physics for proving the accelerated expansion of the Universe and the development of ultra-precise methods for measuring distances.

Scientists still cannot understand what exactlyincreases the rate of expansion of the universe, but many astronomers suggest that the culprit is a mysterious repulsive force called dark energy.

This illustration shows the three mainsteps that astronomers use to calculate the rate of expansion of the universe over time. This value is called the Hubble Permanent. All steps include the construction of the steps of the “space distance ladder”, starting with the measurement of exact distances to the nearest galaxies, and then moving farther and farther towards the galaxies. This “ladder” is a series of measurements of various types of astronomical objects with their luminosity indices, which can be used to calculate distances.

In the new study, Riess with colleaguesused data from the Hubble Space Telescope, containing information about observations of 70 Cepheids (stars with variable brightness) in the Large Magellanic Cloud, a galaxy adjacent to our Milky Way. For astronomers, Cepheids are a kind of beacon, thanks to the dependence period-luminosity, Cepheids are used as luminosity standards when determining distances to distant objects.

Another “guide” for speed calculationsextensions of the Universe may be type Ia supernovae, whose light is stretched as the space it overcomes expands. However, the main problem lies in determining the exact distance to these stars. Studying and observing precisely these stars allowed Riss, Schmidt and Permutter to receive the Nobel Prize.

Riesz with the team also included in their calculations,obtained during the Araucaria project, in which scientists from the USA, Europe and Chile made observations on the binary stellar systems of the Large Magellanic Cloud galaxy, noting the “eclipses” of stars that occurred when one star passed before its neighbor. This work provided Riesz and his colleagues with additional information about the distances to the stars, providing scientists with assistance in understanding the internal brightness of Cepheids.

Armed with data, the researchers usedthem to calculate the current rate of expansion of the universe - the value, which is called the Hubble constant. It received its name in honor of the famous American astronomer Edwin Hubble in the 20s of the last century. As a result, researchers received a new Hubble constant of 74.03 kilometers per second per megaparsec (1 megaparsec is equal to about 3.26 million light years), which is more than the constant derived from observations of the background radiation and equal to 67 kilometers per second per megaparsec. This means that the speed of separation of galaxies from us increases by almost 74 kilometers per second, and not by 67, as it was considered before. The hitch is that the previous value is taken into account in all our models, which describe both the age of the Universe and its composition, as well as the fundamental laws of physics.

According to the Riesz team, the maximum errorTheir calculations can be as low as 1.9 percent - the lowest at the moment. For example, in the 2001 surveys, the calculation error was about 10 percent, while the data for 2009 indicated an error of 5 percent.

New estimate of the expansion rate of the universecontrary to the value of the Hubble constant, obtained by the Planck telescope of the European Space Agency, which conducted studies of cosmic background radiation left after the Big Bang, which according to the most popular scientific opinion, spawned our Universe about 13.82 billion years ago.

“These are not just two inconsistent experiments. We measure something fundamentally different. In the first case, we are talking about measuring how quickly the Universe visible today is expanding, and in the second, it is a prediction based on the physics of the early Universe and data on how fast it should expand. If these values ​​do not match, there is a very high probability that we are missing something in the cosmological model that connects two epochs, ”concludes Riess.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.