بحث

محرك الفضاء الأسطوري يجتاز أخيرًا الاختبار الحقيقي

منذ ولادة العصر الكوني ، حلمتم الاحتفاظ بالرحلة إلى نظام شمسي آخر في "ضبط صاروخي" ، مما يحد بشدة من سرعة وحجم المركبة الفضائية التي نطلقها في الفضاء. يقدر العلماء أنه حتى باستخدام أقوى محركات الصواريخ اليوم ، سيستغرق الأمر حوالي 50000 عام للوصول إلى أقرب جار بين النجوم ، ألفا سنتوري. إذا كان الناس يأملون في رؤية شروق الشمس الغريبة ، فيجب تقليل وقت العبور بشكل كبير.

هل يعمل محرك EmDrive المستحيل؟

من بين المفاهيم المتقدمة للمحرك التي يمكنللحصول على كل شيء على أرض الواقع ، تسبب عدد قليل جدًا من الإثارة والتناقض مثل EmDrive. تم وصفه لأول مرة منذ ما يقرب من عشرين عامًا ، يعمل EmDrive عن طريق تحويل الكهرباء إلى أفران ميكروويف وتوجيه هذا الإشعاع الكهرومغناطيسي عبر غرفة مخروطية. من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن للميكروويف ممارسة الضغط على جدران الحجرة وخلق قوة دفع كافية لتحريك مركبة فضائية في الفضاء. ومع ذلك ، في الوقت الحالي ، لا يوجد EmDrive إلا كنموذج أولي للمختبر ، ولا يزال من غير الواضح ما إذا كان يمكنه توليد قوة جر على الإطلاق. إذا خلقت ، فإن القوى التي ليست قوية بما يكفي ليتم رؤيتها بالعين المجردة ، ناهيك عن تحريك الجهاز.

ومع ذلك ، على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية عدةوقد ادعى العلماء ، بما في ذلك ناسا ، أنهم نجحوا في إنتاج الرغبة الشديدة مع EmDrive. إذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، فنحن ننتظر أحد أكبر الاختراقات في تاريخ استكشاف الفضاء. المشكلة هي أن التوجه الذي لوحظ في هذه التجارب صغير جدًا لدرجة أنه يصعب القول ما إذا كان موجودًا على الإطلاق.

الحل هو تطوير أداةالذي يمكن قياس هذه المظاهر الطفيفة من التوجه. لذلك ، قرر فريق من علماء الفيزياء من الجامعة التقنية الألمانية درسدن إنشاء جهاز من شأنه أن يحل هذه المشكلة. يهدف مشروع SpaceDrive ، الذي يقوده الفيزيائي مارتن تيمار ، إلى إنشاء أداة حساسة للغاية ومحصنة ضد التداخل ، مما يضع حداً للمناقشة نهائيًا. في أكتوبر ، قدم تيمار وفريقه مجموعتهم الثانية من القياسات التجريبية لـ EmDrive في المؤتمر الدولي للملاحة الفضائية ، وسيتم نشر نتائجهم في أكتا أسترونوتيكا في أغسطس. استنادًا إلى نتائج التجارب ، يقول تيمار إن دقة الملحمة مع EmDrive تنتظرنا في غضون شهرين.

كثير من العلماء والمهندسين لا يؤمنون بـ EmDrive ،لأنه ينتهك قوانين الفيزياء. يبدو أن الموجات الدقيقة التي تدفع جدران غرفة EmDrive تولد قوة دفع نيهيلو ، أي من أي شيء يتعارض مع الحفاظ على الدافع - أي عمل ولا مقاومة. يبحث أنصار EmDrive ، بدورهم ، عن إجابات في التفسيرات الذكية لميكانيكا الكم ، في محاولة لفهم كيف يمكن أن يعمل EmDrive دون انتهاك الفيزياء النيوتونية. يقول تيمار: "من وجهة نظر نظرية ، لا أحد يأخذ الأمر على محمل الجد". إذا كانت EmDrive قادرة على توليد الرغبة الشديدة ، كما تزعم بعض المجموعات ، "لا أحد لديه أي فكرة عن مصدرها". عندما يكون للعلم فجوة نظرية بهذا الحجم ، يرى تيمار طريقة واحدة فقط لإغلاقه: تجريبية.

في نهاية عام 2016 ، تيمار و 25 من علماء الفيزياء الآخريناجتمعوا في إستس بارك ، كولورادو ، لأول مؤتمر EmDrive وأنظمة المحركات الغريبة ذات الصلة. ألقى بول مارش ، أحد علماء الخطب الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام ، في الفيزياء في مختبر ناساوركس التابع لناسا ، حيث اختبر هو وزميله هارولد وايت نماذج مختلفة من EmDrive. وفقًا لعرض مارش والتقرير اللاحق المنشور في مجلة الدفع والقوة ، لاحظ هو و وايت عشرات من micronewons من الدفع في النموذج الأولي لـ EmDrive. للمقارنة ، ينتج محرك سبيس إكس ميرلين حوالي 845000 نيوتن من الدفع عند مستوى سطح البحر. ومع ذلك ، كانت مشكلة Marsh و White تتمثل في أن إعدادهما التجريبي اشتمل على عدة مصادر للتداخل ، لذا لم يتمكنوا من تحديد ما تسبب في التوجه أو التداخل المحدد.

Tymamar ومجموعة دريسدن تستخدم دقيقةنسخة من النموذج الأولي EmDrive المستخدمة في مختبر ناسا. إنه مخروط نحاس مقطوع - مع رأس مقطوع - أقل قليلاً من قدم في الطول. جاء هذا التصميم مع مهندس آخر ، روجر شوير ، الذي وصف EmDrive لأول مرة في عام 2001. أثناء الاختبار ، يتم وضع مخروط EmDrive في غرفة مفرغة. خارج الكاميرا ، يولد الجهاز إشارة ميكروويف تنتقل عبر الكابلات المحورية إلى هوائيات داخل المخروط.

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يقوم فيها فريق في درسدنمحاولة لقياس قوة غير محسوسة تقريبا. قاموا بإنشاء أجهزة مماثلة للعمل على محركات الأيونات ، والتي تستخدم لوضع الأقمار الصناعية بدقة في الفضاء. تساعد محركات ميكرونوتون هذه الأقمار الصناعية على اكتشاف الظواهر الضعيفة ، مثل موجات الجاذبية. ولكن لدراسة EmDrive ومحركات مماثلة دون وقود ، مطلوب قرار nanonewton.

كان نهج جديد لتطبيق الالتواءالمقاييس ، نوع توازن البندول ، والذي يقيس مقدار عزم الدوران المطبق على محور البندول. تم أيضًا استخدام نسخة أقل حساسية من هذا الرصيد من قبل فريق NASA عندما قرروا أن EmDrive ينتج الرغبة الشديدة. لقياس هذه القوة الصغيرة بدقة ، استخدم فريق دريسدن مقياس تداخل ليزر لقياس الإزاحة المادية لأوزان الميزان التي تنتجها EmDrive. وفقًا لتيمارا ، تتميز مقاييس التواء لديهم بقرص نانويوتوني وتدعم أجهزة الدفع التي تزن عدة كيلوغرامات ، مما يجعل هذه المقاييس الأكثر حساسية من تلك الموجودة.

لكن جداول الدفع الحساسة حقًا غير مرجحةسيكون مفيدًا إذا لم تتمكن من تحديد ما إذا كانت القوة المكتشفة ، وليس مظهرًا من مظاهر التدخل الخارجي. وهناك العديد من التفسيرات البديلة لملاحظات مارش والأبيض. لتحديد ما إذا كان EmDrive ينتج فعليًا قوة دفع ، يجب أن يكون العلماء قادرين على حماية الجهاز من تداخل الحقول المغناطيسية للأرض ، والاهتزازات السيزمية البيئية والتوسع الحراري في EmDrive المرتبط بتسخين الموجات الصغرية.

وفقا لتيمار ، وإجراء تغييرات علىتصميم توازن التواء - للتحكم بشكل أفضل في مزود الطاقة EmDrive وحمايته من الحقول المغناطيسية - سوف يحل عددًا من مشكلات التداخل. كان من الصعب للغاية حل مشكلة "الانجراف الحراري". عندما يتم توفير الطاقة إلى EmDrive ، يتم تسخين وتوسيع المخروط النحاسي ، الأمر الذي يغير مركز ثقله لدرجة أن توازن الالتواء يسجل قوة يمكن أن يخطئ في قوة الدفع. تأمل تيمان وفريقه في أن يساعد تغيير اتجاه المحرك في حل هذه المشكلة.

في خلال 55 تجربة تمار وزملاؤهسجلت ما معدله 3.4 ميكرونوتون القوة من EmDrive ، والتي كانت مشابهة جدا لما وجدوه في ناسا. للأسف ، هذه القوى ، على ما يبدو ، لم تأتِ من اختبار النزوح الحراري. كانوا أكثر تميزا من التمدد الحراري من الاتجاه.

ولكن بالنسبة إلى EmDrive ، لم نفقد الأمل. يعمل Tymar وزملاؤه أيضًا على تطوير نوعين إضافيين من أوزان الدفع ، بما في ذلك توازن التوصيل الفائق ، والذي سيساعد في القضاء على الإنذارات الكاذبة التي تسببها الانجراف الحراري. إذا وجدوا قوة من EmDrive على هذه المقاييس ، فهناك احتمال كبير أن يكون هذا بمثابة دفعة حقيقية. ولكن إذا لم يتم اكتشاف أي موازين ، فهذا يعني أن جميع الملاحظات السابقة لـ EmDrive كانت إيجابية خاطئة. تأمل شركة Tymar في الحصول على حكم نهائي قبل نهاية العام.

ولكن حتى النتائج السلبية لنيعني الجملة ل EmDrive. هناك العديد من أنواع المحركات الأخرى بدون وقود. وإذا طور العلماء شكلاً جديدًا من أشكال الحركة على عبء ضعيف ، فإن مقاييس الجر شديدة الحساسية ستساعد على فصل الخيال عن الواقع.

هل تعتقد أن يعمل EmDrive؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Research

The mythical space engine finally passes the real test

Since the birth of the cosmic age, the dream ofthe trip to another solar system was kept in a "rocket restraint", which severely limits the speed and size of the spacecraft that we launch into space. Scientists estimate that even using the most powerful rocket engines today will take about 50,000 years to reach our nearest interstellar neighbor, Alpha Centauri. If people ever hope to see the sunrise of the alien sun, the transit time should be significantly reduced.

Does an impossible EmDrive engine work?

Among the advanced concepts of the engine that couldto get it all off the ground, very few caused as much excitement - and contradiction - as EmDrive. First described almost twenty years ago, EmDrive works by converting electricity into microwaves and directing this electromagnetic radiation through a conical chamber. In theory, microwaves can exert pressure on the chamber walls and create sufficient thrust to move a spacecraft in space. At the moment, however, EmDrive exists only as a laboratory prototype, and it is still unclear whether it can generate traction at all. If it creates, then the forces that are not strong enough to be seen with the naked eye, not to mention moving the device.

However, over the past few years severalscientists, including NASA, have claimed that they have successfully produced cravings with EmDrive. If this is true, we are waiting for one of the biggest breakthroughs in the history of space exploration. The problem is that the thrust observed in these experiments is so small that it is difficult to say whether it exists at all.

The solution is to develop a toolwho can measure these minor manifestations of thrust. Therefore, a team of physicists from the German Technische Universität Dresden decided to create a device that would solve this problem. The SpaceDrive project, led by physicist Martin Tymar, is to create a tool so sensitive and immune to interference that it will put an end to the discussion once and for all. In October, Tymar and his team presented their second set of experimental measurements of EmDrive at the International Astronautical Congress, and their results will be published in Acta Astronautica this August. Based on the results of experiments, Tymar says that the resolution of the saga with EmDrive is waiting for us in a couple of months.

Many scientists and engineers do not believe in EmDrive,because it violates the laws of physics. The microwaves pushing the walls of the EmDrive chamber appear to generate ex nihilo thrust, that is, from nothing, which goes against the preservation of the impulse - action and no counteraction. The supporters of EmDrive, in turn, are looking for answers in clever interpretations of quantum mechanics, trying to understand how EmDrive could work without violating Newtonian physics. “From a theoretical point of view, no one takes it seriously,” says Tymar. If EmDrive is capable of generating cravings, as some groups claim, “no one has any idea where it comes from.” When science has a theoretical gap of this magnitude, Tymar sees only one way to close it: experimental.

At the end of 2016, Tymar and 25 other physicistsgathered in Estes Park, Colorado, for the first EmDrive conference and related exotic motor systems. One of the most interesting speeches was made by Paul Marsh, a physicist at NASA Eagleworks laboratory, in which he and his colleague Harold White tested various EmDrive prototypes. According to Marsh’s presentation and the subsequent report published in the Journal of Propulsion and Power, he and White observed several dozen micronewons of thrust in their EmDrive prototype. For comparison, a single SpaceX Merlin engine produces about 845,000 newtons of thrust at sea level. However, the problem for Marsh and White was that their experimental setup included several sources of interference, so they could not say for sure what caused the thrust or specific interference.

Tymamar and the Dresden group used accuratea copy of the prototype EmDrive used in the NASA lab. It is a truncated copper cone — with a cut off top — a little less than a foot in length. This design came up with another engineer, Roger Scheuer, who first described EmDrive in 2001. During testing, the EmDrive cone is placed in a vacuum chamber. Outside the camera, the device generates a microwave signal that is transmitted over coaxial cables to antennas inside the cone.

This is not the first time that a team in Dresdentrying to measure an almost imperceptible force. They created similar devices to work on ion engines, which are used to accurately position satellites in space. These micronewton engines help satellites detect weak phenomena, such as gravitational waves. But to study EmDrive and similar engines without fuel, nanonewton resolution is required.

A new approach was to apply torsionscales, pendulum balance type, which measures the amount of torque applied to the axis of the pendulum. A less sensitive version of this balance was also used by the NASA team when they decided that EmDrive was producing cravings. To accurately measure this small force, the Dresden team used a laser interferometer to measure the physical displacement of the balance weights produced by the EmDrive. According to Taymara, their torsion scales have nanonewton resolution and support thrusters weighing several kilograms, which makes these scales the most sensitive of the existing ones.

But really sensitive thrust scales are unlikelywill be useful if you can not determine whether the detected force, and not a manifestation of external intervention. And there are many alternative explanations for the observations of Marsh and White. In order to determine whether EmDrive actually produces thrust, scientists must be able to shield the device from interference of the Earth’s magnetic fields, environmental seismic vibrations and EmDrive thermal expansion associated with microwave heating.

According to Taymar, making changes tothe torsion balance design - to better control the EmDrive power supply and protect it from magnetic fields - will solve a number of interference problems. It was much harder to solve the problem of “thermal drift”. When power is supplied to the EmDrive, the copper cone heats and expands, which shifts its center of gravity so much that the torsion balance registers a force that can be mistaken for a thrust force. Taiman and his team hoped that changing the orientation of the engine would help solve this problem.

In the course of 55 experiments Tymar and his colleaguesregistered an average of 3.4 micronewton strengths from EmDrive, which was very similar to what they found in NASA. Alas, these forces, apparently, did not come the test of thermal displacement. They were more characteristic of thermal expansion than thrust.

But for EmDrive, hope is not lost. Tymar and his colleagues are also developing two additional types of thrust weights, including superconducting balance, which will help eliminate false alarms caused by heat drift. If they find strength from EmDrive on these scales, there is a high probability that this is really a push. But if no scales are detected, it will mean that all previous observations of EmDrive were false positive. Tymar hopes to get a final verdict before the end of the year.

But even negative results will notmean sentence for EmDrive. There are many other types of engines without fuel. And if scientists ever develop a new form of motion on a weak burden, supersensitive traction scales will help to separate fiction from fact.

Do you believe that EmDrive works? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.