عام

أغلى علاج في العالم سيكلف 2،125،000 دولار. ما هذا؟

ولادة طفل. مع تشخيص قاتل. وسرعان ما يعالجها بديل الجين لمرة واحدة في الأسابيع الأولى من الحياة. التكلفة؟ أنت الأفضل أن لا تعرف. العلاج الجيني سيصل قريبا إلى معلم هام. غدًا ، تتوقع شركة الأدوية العملاقة نوفارتيس الحصول على موافقة لإطلاق ما سيصبح ، حسب قوله ، أول "علاج" لاستبدال الجينات. A blockbuster هو أي دواء يحقق مبيعات تزيد عن مليار دولار في السنة.

أغلى علاج في العالم

العلاج الذي يدعى Zolgensma يمكن أن ينقذ الأطفال المولودين ضمور العضلات الشوكي (SMA) النوع 1 ، وهو مرض التنكسية التيعادة ما يقتل في غضون عامين. لكنها مكلفة أيضًا بشكل مذهل: من 1.5 إلى 2 مليون دولار. سيكون أغلى عقار يستخدم مرة واحدة على الإطلاق. في يوم الجمعة ، حصلت نوفارتيس على موافقة لاستخدام الدواء وحددت السعر عند 2.125 مليون دولار.

يستخدم العلاج الجيني فيروسات للحقنجينات صحية في خلايا المريض ، لكن النجاح المتزايد لهذا المفهوم قد يهز صناعة الرعاية الصحية في الولايات المتحدة. تتوقع إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير أنه بحلول عام 2025 ، ستدخل السوق ما بين 10 و 20 علاجًا خلويًا أو خلويًا إلى السوق كل عام ، مما قد يهز سوق التأمين الأمريكي إذا تمت الموافقة على علاجات باهظة الثمن لعلاج الهيموفيليا والحثل العضلي.

"المشكلة مع العديد من هذه الأدوية هييقول مايكل شيرمان ، المدير الطبي لشركة التأمين هارفارد بيلجريم هيلث كير ، التي تتفاوض مع شركة نوفارتيس ، إنها غالية الثمن ، لكنها تغير حياة أولئك الذين يحتاجون إليها. "في هذه الحالة وغيرها من علاجات الجينات التي ستأتي ، فإن النقطة لا تكمن في قول لا ، ولكن كيف تقول نعم ، إنها لا تفلس النظام".

يقول التنفيذيون في شركة Novartisسيتضمن الدواء من AGR برامج لمساعدة شركات التأمين على الدفع ، بما في ذلك خطة لسداد جزء بسيط من تكلفة الدواء إذا مات المرضى أو انتهى بهم المطاف في جهاز التنفس الصناعي.

يقول شيرمان: "نود أن ندفع تدريجياً" وأن نتوقف عن الدفع إذا توقف عن العمل. مع هذه الأسعار المتزايدة باستمرار ، أعتقد أنه من العدل أن نسأل ".

يقول شيرمان مفاهيم الدفع الجديدة هذهلا يمكن تنفيذها بالكامل حتى توافق شركات التأمين على قبول فواتير المرضى غير المدفوعة عند تغيير الخطط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن القاعدة التي تضمن "أفضل سعر" لجميع الأدوية للوكالات الصحية الحكومية تعني أن نوفارتيس لا يمكنها تقديم ضمان كامل لاسترداد الأموال.

تم تطوير العلاج من قبل فريق من ولاية أوهايو ،حيث اختبره العلماء والأطباء من المستشفى الوطني للأطفال على الأطفال بنتائج رائعة. تم حقن الأطفال مع تريليونات من الفيروسات التي تحمل النسخة الصحيحة من جين يسمى SMN1. يتسبب الشكل المتحور لهذا الجين في فقدان الخلايا العصبية الحركية في الحبل الشوكي.

العالم الذي صقل هذه الفكرة ، براينKaspar ، إنشاء بدء التشغيل AveXis. في العام الماضي ، اشترتها شركة نوفارتيس مقابل 8.7 مليار دولار. كما لعب عالِم آخر ، وهو آرثر بورغيس من جامعة ولاية أوهايو ، دورًا مهمًا من خلال إنشاء فأر مع AGR. أجرى الطبيب جيري مندل الدراسات الأولى في البشر.

نظرًا لأن 400 طفل فقط في الولايات المتحدة يولدون سنويًا في AGR ، فإن سعر الشراء يضمن سعرًا مرتفعًا للغاية للدواء. لن يعمل أحد مجانًا.

عندما يتلقى Zolgensma الضوء الأخضر المتوقع ،سيكون العلاج هو العلاج الجيني السادس المعتمد في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو أوروبا. لكن البعض منهم لا يمكن العثور على المرضى. سيتم إزالة أحد العلاجات - Glybera - من السوق لأنه تم شراؤه مرة واحدة فقط. الآخر ، Strimvelis ، الذي يعالج نقص المناعة ، تم استخدامه من قبل أكثر من عشرة عملاء يدفعون ، جزئياً لأنه يشمل عملية زرع نخاع العظم. الثالث ، Luxturna ، هو مرض يصيب العين ويصيب عددًا قليلًا جدًا من الأشخاص.

لكن معاملة SMA ، على عكس هذه القصص ، موجودة بالفعلفي الطلب الكبير. حتى الآن ، خضع 150 مريضًا للعلاج الجيني في التجارب السريرية أو في إطار برامج الوصول الخاصة ، كما يقول ديفيد لينون ، رئيس AveXis. في بعض الحالات ، يتم تقديم العلاج للأطفال حتى عمر ستة أسابيع ، وهو ما يؤكد مدى سرعة تصحيح جينات الطفل بعد الولادة.

أضافت بعض الدول مؤخرًا SMA إلى القائمة.الأمراض التي تحقق الأطفال في دور الولادة. نظرًا لأن الولايات الأخرى تتبع تقدم مينيسوتا وبنسلفانيا ، فمن المحتمل أن يضيف هذا عددًا ثابتًا من المرشحين الجدد للدواء.

وجاءت موافقة استبدال الجينات في ثلاثة فقطسنوات بعد طفرة أخرى ، حيث تم استخدام نوع من المخدرات الوراثية تسمى antisense. أدى إلى أول علاج فعال للغاية من SMA. يباع Biogen هذا الدواء Spinraza ويكلف 375000 دولار في السنة ، ولكن يجب أن يؤخذ في كل وقت ، سنة بعد سنة.

ومن المتوقع أن اثنين من الإجراءات المتنافسةسوف يجتمع في السوق. لكن شركات التأمين تتوقع أن تصحيح الجين لمرة واحدة قد يكون أرخص على المدى الطويل ، على الرغم من السعر المبدئي. وتستند جميع آمال وحسابات الآباء على افتراض أن التصحيح الجيني سوف يستمر لفترة طويلة. هذا صحيح حتى الآن: بعض الأطفال الذين عولجوا الآن في سن الخامسة ، ويشعرون بالرضا. لكن لا توجد ضمانات بأن العلاج لن "ينطلق" أو أنه لن يكون من الضروري إعطاء الدواء لاحقًا.

كما أنه من غير المعروف ما إذا كان الجين سوف يستمرالعلاج إلى البلدان الفقيرة التي لا تستطيع أنظمتها الطبية رعاية الأطفال الذين يعانون من SMA والذين لا يستطيعون تحمل تكاليف العلاج. لكن نوفارتيس ليس لديها خطط محددة لبيع العلاج في أفقر أنحاء العالم.

هنا لديك تجزئة العالم الحديث. ما رأيك ، هل هذا العلاج باهظ الثمن؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

General

The most expensive treatment in the world will cost $ 2,125,000. What is it for?

A baby is born. With a fatal diagnosis. And soon a one-time gene replacement treats it in the first weeks of life. Cost? You better not know. Gene therapy will soon reach an important milestone. Tomorrow, the pharmaceutical giant Novartis expects to receive approval for the launch of what, according to him, will become the first "blockbuster" of gene replacement therapy. A blockbuster is any drug that brings more than $ 1 billion in sales per year.

The most expensive treatment in the world

A treatment called Zolgensma can save children born with spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) type 1, a degenerative disease thatusually kills within two years. But it is also shockingly expensive: from 1.5 to 2 million dollars. It will be the most expensive single-use drug ever sold. On Friday, Novartis received approval for the use of the drug and set the price at 2.125 million dollars.

Gene therapy uses viruses to injecthealthy genes in patient cells, but the growing success of the concept may shake the US healthcare industry. The FDA predicts that by 2025, between 10 and 20 gene or cell therapies will enter the market each year, which could shake the American insurance market if expensive treatments for hemophilia and muscular dystrophy are approved.

"The problem with many of these drugs isthat they are expensive, but they are changing the lives of those who need them, ”says Michael Sherman, chief medical director of the insurance company Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, which is negotiating with Novartis. “In the case of this and other gene therapies that will come, the point is not what to say no, but how to say yes, it does not bankrupt the system.”

Novartis executives say launchthe medication from AGR will include programs to help insurers pay, including a plan to reimburse a fraction of the cost of the drug, if patients die or end up on the ventilator.

“We would like to pay out gradually,” says Sherman, “and stop paying if it stops working. With such constantly rising prices, I think it’s fair to ask. ”

Sherman says such new payment conceptscannot be fully implemented until the insurers agree to accept unpaid patient bills when changing plans. In addition, the rule that guarantees the "best price" for all drugs to state health agencies means that Novartis cannot offer a full money back guarantee.

The treatment was developed by a team from Ohio,where scientists and doctors from the National Children's Hospital tested it on children with impressive results. Children were injected with trillions of viruses carrying the correct copy of a gene called SMN1. The mutated form of this gene causes a loss of motor neurons in the spinal cord.

The scientist who refined this idea, BrianKaspar, created a startup AveXis. Last year, Novartis bought it for $ 8.7 billion. Another scientist, Arthur Burges of Ohio State University, also played an important role by creating a mouse with AGR. Doctor Gerry Mendell conducted the first studies in humans.

Since in the US only 400 children per year are born with AGR, the purchase price guaranteed an incredibly high price for the drug. No one will work for free.

When Zolgensma receives the expected green light,treatment will be the sixth gene therapy approved in the USA or Europe. But some of them cannot find patients. One of the therapies - Glybera - will be removed from the market because it was bought only once. The other, Strimvelis, which treats immunodeficiency, has been used by less than a dozen paying customers, in part because it involves a bone marrow transplant. The third, Luxturna, is an eye disease that affects very few people.

But the treatment of SMA, unlike these stories, is alreadyis in great demand. To date, 150 patients have undergone gene therapy in clinical trials or under special access programs, says David Lennon, president of AveXis. In some cases, treatment is given to children as young as six weeks, which emphasizes how quickly the genes of the child can be corrected after birth.

Some states have recently added SMA to the list.diseases that check children in maternity homes. As other states follow the lead of Minnesota and Pennsylvania, this will likely add a constant number of new candidates for the drug.

Gene replacement approval came in only threeyears after another breakthrough, in which a type of genetic drug called antisense was used. He led to the first highly effective treatment of SMA. This drug Spinraza is sold by Biogen and costs $ 375,000 a year, but it must be taken all the time, year after year.

It is expected that two competing procedureswill meet in the market. But insurers expect that a one-time gene correction may be cheaper in the long run, despite the initial price tag. All hopes and calculations of the parents are based on the assumption that the genetic correction will last for a long time. So far this is true: some children who have been treated are now five years old, and they feel good. But there are no guarantees that the treatment will not “fly off” or that it will not be necessary to administer the drug later.

It is also not known whether gene will evertherapy to poor countries whose medical systems are unable to care for children with SMA who cannot afford treatment. But Novartis has no specific plans to sell treatment in the poorest parts of the world.

Here you have the fragmentation of the modern world. What do you think, is such an expensive treatment justified? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.