عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

ساعد تلسكوب هابل علماء الفلك على اكتشاف "قتل" مذنب ضخم مع "قزم أبيض"

يستمر تلسكوب هابل الفضائياكتشاف مثيرة للاهتمام. قبل بضعة أيام ، تمكن من التقاط لحظة وفاة نجم يقع على بعد أكثر من 5000 سنة ضوئية من الأرض في كوكبة كورما ، وقد تمكن علماء الفلك بالأمس الذين يستخدمون نفس التلسكوب من رؤية كيف أن الأقزام البيضاء مزقت وامتصت مذنبًا كبيرًا وعشرات أضعاف حجم تلك التي لاحظوها في النظام الشمسي. نشر العلماء نتائج الدراسة في مجلة الفيزياء الفلكية.

عندما الأقزام البيضاء تمتص بعضالكائن ، يتم توزيع عناصره على السطح في طبقات ، بحيث تسقط العناصر الثقيلة تدريجياً ، على سبيل المثال ، ترتفع الغازات مثل الهيدروجين أو الهيليوم. وبسبب هذا ، لا يمكن رؤية العناصر الثقيلة إلا في الوقت الحالي حيث يمتص القزم الأبيض كوكبًا أو كويكبًا أو مذنبًا. اكتشف Si-Xu ، وهو عالم فلك في المرصد الجنوبي الأوروبي في Garching ، الواقع في ألمانيا ، باستخدام تلسكوب هابل ، هذا "الغداء" أثناء دراسة طيف النجم WD 1425 + 540 ، الذي يقع على بعد حوالي 170 سنة ضوئية من كوكبنا.

رأينا أولاً آثار النيتروجين في الطيف الأبيضقزم. يعتبر النيتروجين عنصرًا مهمًا للغاية بالنسبة لنا ، وهو أحد اللبنات الأساسية للحياة على الأرض. يحتوي هذا القزم الأبيض على كمية كبيرة جدًا من النيتروجين ، أكثر بكثير مما لاحظنا في أي جسم آخر في النظام الشمسي - - يقتبس من كلمات عالم الفلك Sy-i Sui RIA Novosti.

المذنب ، الذي قزمه البيض "يزن حوالي مائة مرة أكثر من مذنب هالي. بعد دراسة هذه الظاهرة عن كثب ، خلص علماء الفلك إلى أنهم كانوا قادرين على اكتشاف المذنب الرئيسي الأول الذي نجا من وفاة نجم.

General, Research, Technology

The Hubble telescope helped astronomers detect the "killing" of a mega-comet with a "white dwarf"

Hubble Space Telescope continuesdiscover interesting. A few days ago, he managed to capture the moment of the death of a star located more than 5,000 light-years from Earth in the constellation Korma, and yesterday astronomers using the same telescope were able to see how a white dwarf tore apart and absorbed a large comet, tens times the size of those that they observed in the solar system. Scientists published the results of the study in the Astrophysical Journal Letters.

When white dwarfs absorb somethe object, its elements are distributed on the surface in layers, so heavy elements gradually fall down, and, for example, gases like hydrogen or helium rise up. Because of this, heavy elements can be seen only at the moment a white dwarf absorbs a planet, an asteroid or comet. Si-Xu, an astronomer at the European Southern Observatory in Garching, located in Germany, using the Hubble telescope, discovered this “lunch” while studying the spectrum of the star WD 1425 + 540, located about 170 light-years from our planet.

We first saw traces of nitrogen in the spectrum of whitedwarf. Nitrogen is a very important element for us, one of the main building blocks of life on Earth. This white dwarf contains a very large amount of nitrogen, much more than we observed in any other object in the solar system, - quotes the words of the astronomer Sy-i Xu RIA Novosti.

The comet, which the white dwarf "feasted on",weighed about a hundred times more than Halley's comet. Having studied the phenomenon more closely, astronomers concluded that they were able to discover the first major comet that survived the death of a star.