عام

إن مستقبل الهندسة الوراثية أقرب مما تعتقد.

في نوفمبر من العام الماضي ، كان هناك أخبار ذلكأن العالم الصيني غيّر سرا جينات الأجنة لزوجين من التوائم الصينية ، وهز العالم بأسره. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من أن استخدام التقنيات المتقدمة لتغيير مجموعة الجينات البشرية كان سابقًا لأوانه ، فقد أصبح مقدمةً لكيفية تغيير علم الوراثة لرعايتنا الصحية وموقفنا تجاه الأطفال ، وفي نهاية المطاف ، موقفنا تجاه أنفسنا ونحو جنسنا البشري. لقد بدأت الثورة الجينية بالفعل ، لكننا لسنا مستعدين لتحمل هذه التقنيات الحديثة مسؤولية.

بعد تحديد بنية الحمض النووي في الخمسينيات ،أظهر كريك وويلكنز وفرانكلين أن كتاب الحياة مكتوب في حلزون الدنا المزدوج. عندما تم الانتهاء من مشروع الجينوم البشري في عام 2003 ، رأينا كيفية إعادة كتابة هذا الكتاب عن حياة الإنسان. بدأت الأبحاث المضنية في تركيبة مع الخوارزميات الحسابية المتقدمة في اكتشاف المزيد والمزيد من ما تفعله الجينات وكيفية قراءة كتاب الحياة الوراثية.

الآن ، وذلك بفضل ظهور أدوات دقيقةتحرير الجينات - مثل كريسبر (اقرأ ما هو عليه) - لقد فهمنا أن كتاب الحياة ، وحتى الأحياء كلها يمكن إعادة كتابتها. أصبحت البيولوجيا شكلاً آخر من أشكال تكنولوجيا المعلومات التي يتم قراءتها وكتابتها وتشققها ، والتي نقوم بتشفيرها نحن البشر.

تأثير هذا التحول هو في المقام الأولشعرت في المجال الصحي. العلاج الجيني ، الذي يتضمن استخراج وتعديل وإعادة إدخال خلايا الإنسان الخاصة به ، تم تحسينه لمحاربة السرطان ، على سبيل المثال ، يعمل بالفعل على العجائب في التجارب السريرية. تم بالفعل تقديم آلاف الطلبات إلى جهات تنظيمية حول العالم لاختبارها باستخدام العلاج الجيني لعلاج العديد من الأمراض الأخرى.

منذ وقت ليس ببعيد ، بدأ التعديل الأول.جينات الخلايا داخل الجسم البشري لعلاج بسيط نسبيا من حيث الوراثة من اضطراب التمثيل الغذائي - متلازمة هنتر. تطبيقات أخرى سوف تتبع قريبا. هذه الأمثلة هي حرفيًا الخطوات الأولى في انتقالنا من النظام الحالي للطب المعمم ، استنادًا إلى متوسط ​​عدد السكان ، إلى الطب الدقيق ، استنادًا إلى البيولوجيا الفردية لكل مريض ، والطب النذير ، استنادًا إلى تقديرات الذكاء الاصطناعي الناتجة عن صحة الإنسان في المستقبل.

هذا التحول في الرعاية الصحية لدينا يضمنأن الملايين ، ومن ثم المليارات من الناس ، سوف تسلسل جينوماتهم ، وبالتالي إرساء الأساس لعلاجهم. ستساعد تحليلات البيانات الضخمة في زيادة الأنماط الوراثية البشرية (ما تقوله الجينات) باستخدام الأنماط الظاهرية (كيف يتم التعبير عن الجينات طوال الحياة).

مجموعات ضخمة من الوراثية والطبيةستتجاوز المعلومات التحليل الجيني الحديث البسيط وتفهم الأمراض والسمات البشرية المعقدة التي تتأثر بالمئات أو الآلاف من الجينات. إن فهمنا لهذا النظام الوراثي المعقد في النظام البيئي الشاسع لجسمنا وبيئتنا سيحول الرعاية الصحية للأفضل ويساعدنا على علاج الأمراض الرهيبة التي عذب أسلافنا لآلاف السنين.

ولكن مهما كانت هذه المهمة ثوريةالطب ، عواقب الثورة الوراثية في الرعاية الصحية ليست سوى محطات إعادة الشحن في طريقها إلى وجهتها النهائية: تحول عميق وأساسي من جنسنا.

التغيير في الأنواع البشرية

أول لمحة عن المستقبل الذي نتحرك فيه ،يمكن أن ينظر إليه في صناعة الاختبارات الجينية الموجهة نحو المستهلك. أرسل العديد من الأشخاص حول العالم مسحاتهم من داخل الخدين إلى شركات - مثل 23andMe - لتحليلها. المعلومات التي سيتم توفيرها لهم ستخبر عن الخصائص الوراثية البسيطة نسبيًا: حالة الأمراض المرتبطة بتحور جيني واحد ، ولون العين ، وما إذا كان طعم الكزبرة البيضاء يشبه ، ولكن ستظل صامتة حول الميزات المعقدة: الاستعداد الرياضي ، والذكاء ، والشخصية.

لن يكون الأمر كذلك دائمًا. مع زيادة مجمعات البيانات الوراثية والصحية ، فإن تحليل عدد كبير من الجينومات المتسلسلة سيمكن من التنبؤ بالمخاطر الوراثية المعقدة للغاية للأمراض والصفات الجينية مثل الطول والذكاء والمزاج وأسلوب الشخصية. لقد تم بالفعل تنفيذ هذه العملية ، التي تُعرف باسم "حساب تعدد الجينات" ، من قبل العديد من الشركات ، وستصبح في المستقبل جزءًا أكثر أهمية في حياتنا.

النتيجة الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام من كل هذا سوف تظهرفي ولادة أطفالنا. قبل اتخاذ قرار بشأن أي من البيض المخصب لزراعته ، يمكن للمرأة في عملية التلقيح الاصطناعي اليوم اختيار من عدد صغير من الخلايا التي تم استخراجها من الأجنة المزروعة سابقا وتسلسل الجينوم. تتيح لك التقنيات الحديثة رؤية طفرات الجينات الفردية والاضطرابات البسيطة نسبيًا. سوف يتيح لك العد المتعدِّد قريبًا رؤية الأجنة في المراحل المبكرة من التطور وتقييم خطر الإصابة بأمراض وراثية معقدة أو حتى إمكانية وراثة سمات بشرية معقدة. ستخضع العناصر الحميمة للوجود الإنساني قريبًا للاختيار الصارم من قبل الآباء.

تكنولوجيا الخلايا الجذعية البالغة ،من المرجح أن ينتج المئات أو الآلاف من بيض المرأة من عينة دمها أو الكسب غير المشروع. هذا سيفتح الباب أمام فرص الإنجاب ويسمح للآباء باختيار أجنة ذات إمكانات استثنائية من مجموعة واسعة من الخيارات.

تعقيد بيولوجيا الإنسان يفرضبعض القيود المفروضة على مدى تحرير الجينات ممكنة ، ولكن كل علم الأحياء ، بما في ذلك منطقتنا ، مرن للغاية. كيف حدث كل هذا التنوع البيولوجي من خلية واحدة قبل أربعة مليارات سنة؟ ستكون حدود خيالنا أكبر العقبات أمام علم الأحياء.

لكن ما دمت نحن البشر نسعى جاهدين من أجل قوة الآلهة ، فنحن لسنا جاهزين على الإطلاق لاستخدامها.

ألعاب مع علم الأحياء الخاص

نفس الأدوات التي سوف تساعدنا.التغلب على أسوأ إدماننا ، وإنقاذ أطفالنا ، ومساعدتنا على العيش حياة أطول وصحية ، كما أنها تفتح الباب وسوء المعاملة. يمكن للوالدين الحكيمين ذوي النوايا الحسنة أو الدول ذات الهياكل التنظيمية الضعيفة أو الأفكار العدوانية الذين يرغبون في زيادة القدرة التنافسية للأمة أن يغرقونا في سباق وراثي من شأنه أن يقوض تنوعنا الكبير ، ويقسم المجتمع بشكل خطير ، ويؤدي إلى صراعات خطيرة ومزعزعة للاستقرار وحتى قاتلة بيننا. تعرض للخطر البشرية جمعاء.

ولكن إذا تطور التكنولوجيا الوراثيةحتما ، يمكن السيطرة على الطريقة التي تتكشف بها كل هذه الأمور. إذا كنا لا نريد أن تدمر الثورة الوراثية جنسنا البشري أو تؤدي إلى صراعات مميتة بين امتلاك الجينات الصحيحة والفقراء ، أو بين تكييفها اجتماعيًا وعدم تكييفها اجتماعيًا ، فيجب علينا الآن اتخاذ قرارات ذكية ، بدءًا من أفضل قيمنا الفردية والجماعية. على الرغم من أن التقنيات التي تروج للثورة الوراثية جديدة ، فإن نظام القيم الذي سنحتاجه لتحسين الفوائد وتقليل الضرر في عملية التحول الشامل هذه قد تم تطويره لآلاف السنين.

وعلى الرغم من بعض العلماء الأذكياء وذوي النوايا الحسنةكانوا في طريقهم بالفعل لمناقشة ما سيحدث بعد ذلك ؛ فحتى الأنبياء الأكثر حكمة لا يكفيون لاتخاذ قرارات بشأن مستقبل جنسنا البشري. سيكون من الضروري قيادة عملية تشكيلها على المستوى الوطني وحتى الدولي.

كل دولة سوف تضطر إلى تطوير بلدهاالمبادئ التوجيهية التنظيمية للهندسة الوراثية البشرية على أساس أفضل الممارسات الدولية والتقاليد والقيم الفريدة للبلد. ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا واحدًا ، فسيتعين علينا في النهاية وضع مبادئ توجيهية تنطبق علينا جميعًا.

تقاطع الجينوم والذكاء الاصطناعيقد يبدو مثل الخيال العلمي ، لكنه أقرب مما تعتقد. في وقت أبكر بكثير مما يدرك معظم الناس ، ستؤدي الفوائد التي توفرها التقنيات الجديدة والمنافسة بيننا إلى استجابة سريعة. قبل أن تضيء هذه الشرارة ، لدينا القليل من الوقت للالتقاء كأنواع ، لصياغة وترجمة المستقبل الذي سنراه معًا إلى حقيقة واقعة.

هل توافق على التغيرات الجينية أم لا؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

General

The future of genetic engineering is closer than you think.

In November last year, there was news thatthat the Chinese scientist secretly changed the genes of embryos of a pair of Chinese twins, and shook the whole world. However, although the use of advanced technologies to change the human gene pool was premature, it became a precursor of how genetics will change our health care, attitude towards children and, ultimately, our attitude towards ourselves and towards our species. The genetic revolution has already begun, but we are not ready to take these promethean technologies responsibly.

Having determined the structure of DNA in the 1950s, Watson,Crick, Wilkins and Franklin showed that the book of life is written in the DNA double helix. When the human genome project was completed in 2003, we saw how to rewrite this book about human life. Painstaking research in combination with advanced computational algorithms began to discover more and more what genes are doing and how to read the genetic book of life.

Now, thanks to the emergence of precise toolsgene editing - like CRISPR (read what it is) - we understood that the book of life, and even the whole biology can be rewritten. Biology has become another form of information technology that is read, writeable and cracked, which we humans encode.

The impact of this transformation is primarilyfelt in the health field. Gene therapy, which includes extracting, modifying, and re-introducing one's own human cells, improved to fight cancer, for example, already works wonders in clinical trials. Thousands of applications have already been filed with regulators around the world for testing using gene therapy to treat many other diseases.

Not so long ago, the first editing was started.cell genes inside the human body for the treatment of relatively simple in terms of the genetics of metabolic disorder - Hunter syndrome. Other applications will follow soon. These examples are literally the very first steps in our transition from the existing system of generalized medicine, based on the average population figures, to exact medicine, based on the individual biology of each patient, and prognostic medicine, based on artificial intelligence generated estimates of the future human health.

This shift in our healthcare ensuresthat millions and then billions of people will sequence their genomes, thus laying the foundation for their treatment. Big data analytics will help scale up human genotypes (what genes say) with phenotypes (how genes are expressed throughout life).

Massive sets of genetic and medicalinformation will go beyond simple modern genetic analysis and understand much more complex human diseases and traits that are affected by hundreds or thousands of genes. Our understanding of this complex genetic system in the vast ecosystem of our body and our environment will transform health care for the better and help us to cure the terrible diseases that have tormented our ancestors for thousands of years.

But however revolutionary this task is formedicine, the consequences of the genetic revolution in health care are only transshipment stations on the way to their final destination: a deep and fundamental transformation of our species.

Change in human species

The first glimpses of the future into which we move,can be seen in the consumer-oriented genetic testing industry. Many people around the world sent their swabs from the inside of their cheeks to companies - like 23andMe - for analysis. The information that will be provided to them will tell about relatively simple genetic features: the status of diseases associated with a single gene mutation, eye color, whether cilantro taste is like, but will keep silent about complex features: sports predisposition, intelligence, personality.

It will not always be so. As the pools of genetic and health data increase, an analysis of a large number of sequenced genomes will make it possible to predict very complex genetic risks of diseases and genetic features such as height, IQ, temperament, and personality style. This process, called “polygenic counting,” has already been carried out by several companies, and in the future will become a more important part of our life.

The most interesting consequence of all this will manifestin our birth of children. Before deciding which of the fertilized eggs to implant, women in the IVF process today can choose from a small number of cells that were extracted from previously implanted embryos and sequence the genome. Modern technologies allow you to see the mutations of individual genes and relatively simple disorders. Polygenic counting will soon allow you to see embryos in the early stages of development and assess the risk of developing complex genetic diseases or even the possibility of inheriting complex human traits. The most intimate elements of human existence will soon be subject to strict selection by parents.

Adult stem cell technology,are likely to produce hundreds or thousands of a woman’s own eggs from her blood sample or skin graft. This will open the door to reproductive opportunities and allow parents to choose embryos with exceptional potential from a much wider range of options.

The complexity of human biology imposessome restrictions on the extent of gene editing possible, but all biology, including our own, is extremely flexible. How else did all this biodiversity come from a single cell four billion years ago? The limitations of our imagination will be the biggest obstacles to our biology.

But as long as we humans strive for the power of the gods, we are not at all ready to use it.

Games with own biology

The same tools that will help us.overcome our worst addictions, save our children, help us live a longer and healthy life, they also open the door and abuse. Prudent, well-intentioned parents or states with weak regulatory structures or aggressive ideas who wish to increase the competitiveness of a nation can plunge us into a genetic race that will undermine our significant diversity, dangerously divide society, lead to dangerous, destabilizing and even fatal conflicts between us. put at risk all of humanity.

But if the development of genetic technologyinevitably, the way all this unfolds can and must be controlled. If we don’t want the genetic revolution to destroy our species or lead to fatal conflicts between having the right genes and the poor, or between socially adapted and socially unadapted, right now we need to make smart decisions, starting from our best individual and collective values. Although the technologies that promote the genetic revolution are new, the value system that we will need to optimize the benefits and minimize the damage in this process of mass transformation has been developed for thousands of years.

And although some clever and well-intentioned scientiststhey were already going to discuss what would happen next; even the wisest prophets are not enough to make decisions about the future of our species. It will be necessary to lead the process of its formation at the national and even international level.

Each country will have to develop its ownregulatory guidelines for human genetic engineering based on both international best practices and unique traditions and values ​​of the country. However, since we are all one species, in the end we will have to develop guidelines that apply to all of us.

The intersection of genomics and artificial intelligencemay seem like science fiction, but it's closer than you think. Much earlier than most people recognize, the benefits that new technologies offer, and the competition between us, will trigger a quick response. Before this spark lights up, we have quite a bit of time to come together as a species, to formulate and translate into reality the future that we will see together.

Do you approve of genetic changes or not? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.