تكنولوجيا

اقترح الفلكي تحويل الأرض إلى منظار عملاق. كيف والأهم لماذا؟

تاريخيا ، مع الزيادةنمت أحجام التلسكوبات التي يستخدمها علماء الفلك للبحث عن المجرات والنجوم والكواكب البعيدة ومراقبتها باطراد وتكلفة إنشائها. قطر التلسكوبات الأرضية الحديثة يصل إلى 30 وحتى 40 مترا. كلف بناء هذه المنشآت مئات الملايين وحتى مليارات الدولارات. لا يقف التقدم صامدًا ، وسنتوفر قريبًا على التلسكوبات الأرضية ذات الحجم الأكبر. ومن الواضح أن إنشائها سيتطلب استثمارات أكبر. على سبيل المثال ، سيتكلف بناء تلسكوب طوله 100 متر 35 مليار دولار. أنها مكلفة للغاية. ومع ذلك ، وفقًا لعالم الفيزياء الفلكية الأمريكي ديفيد كيبينج من جامعة كولومبيا ، يمكننا حل هذه المشكلة.

ليس فقط المركبات الأرضية تنمو في الحجم ،المستخدمة في المراصد ، ولكن أيضا التلسكوبات الفضائية ، ويلاحظ Kipping. خذ على الأقل نفس "James Webb" ، الذي لا ينتهيه الجميع من البناء. لكنها أنفقت بالفعل أكثر من 10 مليارات دولار. لقد تم تأجيل إطلاقه عدة مرات ، في كل مرة يؤدي إلى تضخيم الميزانية.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أيضًا: أن التلسكوب الفضائي الجديد لناسا سيكون أكثر كفاءة بنسبة 100 مرة من هابل

وفقا ل Kipping ، لبناء أرض كبيرة والتلسكوبات الفضائية ليست ضرورية على الإطلاق. بعد كل شيء ، يمكن تحويل الأرض نفسها إلى تلسكوب عملاق. وتسمى فكرة الصك الجديد الذي اقترحه التراسكوب. وفقًا لحسابات المؤلف المنشورة على arXiv.org ، يمكن أن يكون هذا المنظار أكثر فاعلية بآلاف المرات من جميع التلسكوبات الأرضية والفضائية الموجودة ، وفي الوقت نفسه سيكلف مالًا أقل بكثير في الإنشاءات.

المحتوى

  • 1 كيف ينكسر الضوء؟
  • 2 كيفية بناء أكبر تلسكوب؟
  • 3 ما هي كفاءة التلسكوب بحجم الأرض
  • 4 عيوب فكرة عدسة الكواكب

كيف ينكسر الضوء؟

أن الضوء المنبعث من الأجسام الفضائيةقادر على الانكسار (تغيير اتجاهه) تحت تأثير مصدر الثقل الشديد (النجوم ، والثقوب السوداء ، والمجرات ، والمجموعات المجرة ، وما إلى ذلك) ، كما تعلم العلماء في بداية القرن الماضي. هذا التأثير يسمى عدسة الجاذبية. هذه الظاهرة تشبه إلى حد بعيد كيف تنحني العدسة التقليدية عن اتجاه حركة أشعة الضوء ، ومن هنا جاءت تسميتها. كثيرا ما يلجأ علماء الفلك الحديثون إلى استخدام طريقة العدسات الجاذبية. بعد كل شيء ، فإنه يسمح لك باكتشاف كائنات على مسافات كبيرة جداً تقع خلف عدسة الجاذبية ، والتي لا يمكن اكتشافها عن طريق طرق المراقبة التقليدية. حتى قبل 30 عامًا ، أثبت David Kipping أن الجاذبية ليست هي المصدر الوحيد لانكسار الضوء.

كيفية بناء أكبر تلسكوب؟

كثيفة يمكن أن تغير اتجاه الضوءيقول كوكينج إن جو الكوكب ، مثل كوكبنا. يمكن استخدام هذا لتحويل الأرض إلى عدسة كوكبية. عند الوصول إلى الغلاف الجوي العلوي لكوكبنا ، يمكن أن ينكسر ضوء النجم أو المجرة التقليدية بزاوية صغيرة ولا ينغمس على السطح ، ولكن يمر في الفضاء ، مع التركيز في نقطة معينة في منطقة الفضاء. يحسب Kipping بالضبط كيف ينكسر ، حيث يتركز هذا الضوء تمامًا ويحكي كيفية استخدامه.


تمثيل تخطيطي لانكسار أشعة الضوء حول الأرض

ضوء النجوم البعيدة التي تمر عبر الغلاف الجويتنكسر الأرض بزاوية درجة واحدة فقط بالنسبة لسطحها. درجة واحدة يبدو قليلا. ولكن هذا يسمح لك بتركيز الضوء إلى نقطة في الفضاء الخارجي تقع على مسافة حوالي أربعة مسافات بين الأرض والقمر ، كما يوضح الفيزيائي الفلكي.

Kipping يقترح وضع في هذا المكانالتركيز ضوء مركبة فضائية صغيرة - أن نفس الطين. وسوف تلعب دور جهاز الكشف عن موجات الضوء المنكسرة من خلال الغلاف الجوي للأرض. وفقًا لعلماء الفيزياء الفلكية ، فإن استخدام terrascope لن يسمح لك فقط بالابتعاد عن الحاجة إلى إنفاق الكثير من المال على بناء التلسكوبات الكبيرة ، ولكنه سيكون مفيدًا أيضًا من الناحية العلمية.

ما هي كفاءة التلسكوب بحجم الأرض

وفقا لحسابات العالم ، إذا كنت مكانإذا كان تلسكوب هابل الفضائي هو حجم التلسكوب (2.4 متر) في النقطة المثلى في مدار كوكبنا ، فيمكن تحويله إلى نظير تلسكوب أرضي أو تلسكوب فضائي ، سيزداد دقةه بمقدار 22.5-45 ألف.

وفقا ل Kipping ، تلسكوب من هذه القوةسيسمح الفلكيين ليس فقط لمراقبة المجرات والنجوم البعيدة ، ولكن أيضًا لدراسة الكواكب التي تدور حول النجوم الغريبة ، وكذلك أقمارها ، في التفاصيل (حتى البحث عن علامات على الحياة).

عيوب فكرة عدسة الكواكب

يعترف العالم أنه في فكرته هناكالعيوب والعديد من النقاط التي لم تحل. في النهاية ، هذا مجرد مفهوم. على سبيل المثال ، يوافق Kipping على أن عدسة الكواكب لن تنقل جميع أنواع الأشعة تحت الحمراء والضوء المرئي إلى الكاشف. سيتم امتصاص جزء منها عن طريق السحب وجزيئات الماء الموجودة فيها ، وكذلك الغبار والجزيئات الأخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن لأشعة ضوء شمسنا أن تؤثر على دقة الملاحظات.


التمثيل الفني للمركبة الفضائية لاستخدامها في كاشف الموجة الخفيفة

لحل جزئي للمشكلة ، يقترحضع كاشف الموجة الضوئية في المكان الذي توجد فيه حدود جاذبية الأرض. في هذه الحالة ، سيكون من الممكن مراقبة موجات الضوء التي ستنكسر في الغلاف الجوي للكوكب على ارتفاع حوالي 14 كم. على هذا الارتفاع ، يمكن تجنب معظم هذا التداخل. حسب Kipping ، فإن مستوى فقدان الموجات الضوئية للنجوم التي تدخل التلسكوب في هذه الحالة سيكون حوالي 8 بالمائة فقط.

انظر أيضا: مستقبل التلسكوبات الفضائية

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يلاحظ الفيزيائي الفلكي أنه أجرىحساباتهم هي فقط لل terrascopes البصرية والأشعة تحت الحمراء. إذا قمت بإنشاء جهاز يعمل فقط مع موجات الراديو ، فإن السحب وغيرها من أنواع التداخل بالنسبة له لن تشكل أي مشكلة.

عيب آخر من التراسكوب ، كما يقول المؤلفالأفكار ، هو الحد من الملاحظات في وقت واحد. بمساعدة من الطين ، سيكون من الممكن مراقبة ضوء النجوم التي ستكون في وقت واحد أو آخر وراء كوكبنا. سيكون من الممكن حل المشكلة باستخدام العديد من أجهزة الكشف عن الموجات الضوئية الفضائية المدمجة حول الكوكب.

</ p>

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، فتأكد من الاشتراك في قناتنا في ياندكس. ستجد هناك مواد لم يتم نشرها على الموقع!

إشعار Facebook للاتحاد الأوروبي! تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول لعرض ونشر تعليقات الفيسبوك!

Technology

The astronomer proposed to turn the Earth into a giant telescope. How and most importantly why?

Historically, with the increaseThe sizes of telescopes that astronomers use to search for and observe distant galaxies, stars and planets grew exponentially and the cost of their creation. The diameter of modern ground-based telescopes reaches 30 and even 40 meters. The construction of these facilities cost hundreds of millions and even billions of dollars. Progress does not stand still and soon we will have ground-based telescopes of even larger size. And it is clear that their creation will require even greater investments. For example, the construction of a 100-meter telescope will cost $ 35 billion. It is very expensive. However, according to American astrophysicist David Kipping of Columbia University, we can solve this problem.

Not only ground vehicles are growing in size,used in observatories, but also space telescopes, notes Kipping. Take at least the same "James Webb", which everyone does not finish building. But it has already spent more than 10 billion dollars. Its launch has already been postponed many times, each time inflating the budget.

Also interesting: NASA's new space telescope will be 100 times more efficient than Hubble

According to Kipping, to build large land andspace telescopes are not necessary at all. After all, the Earth itself can be turned into a giant telescope. The idea of ​​a new instrument that he proposed is called a terracoscope. According to the author’s calculations published on arXiv.org, this terracoscope can be much more effective than all the existing ground and space telescopes by thousands of times and at the same time will cost significantly less money in construction.

Content

  • 1 How is light refracted?
  • 2 How to build the largest telescope?
  • 3 What is the efficiency of a telescope the size of the Earth
  • 4 Disadvantages of the idea of ​​a planetary lens

How is the light refracted?

That the emitted light of space objectscapable of refracting (changing its direction) under the influence of a source of very powerful gravity (stars, black holes, galaxies, galactic clusters, etc.), scientists learned at the beginning of the last century. This effect is called the gravitational lens. The phenomenon is very similar to how a conventional lens bends the direction of movement of the rays of light, hence the name. Modern astronomers often resort to using the method of gravitational lensing. After all, it allows you to detect objects at very large distances located behind the gravitational lens, which cannot be detected by conventional methods of observation. Even 30 years ago, David Kipping proved that gravity is not the only source of light refraction.

How to build the largest telescope?

Dense can change the direction of lightthe planet’s atmosphere, like our Earth, says Kipping. This can be used to turn the Earth into a planetary lens. Getting into the upper atmosphere of our planet, the light of a conventional star or galaxy can be refracted at a small angle and not sink to the surface, but can pass further in space, focusing at a certain point in the space region. Kipping calculated exactly how it is refracted, where exactly this light is focused and told how to use it.


Schematic representation of the refraction of light rays around the Earth

The light of distant stars passing through the atmosphereEarth is refracted at an angle of just one degree relative to its surface. One degree sounds a bit. But this allows you to focus the light to a point in outer space located at a distance of about four distances between the Earth and the Moon, the astrophysicist explains.

Kipping suggests placing in this placefocusing light a small spacecraft - that same terracoscope. It will play the role of a detector of light waves refracted through the Earth’s atmosphere. According to astrophysicists, the use of a terrascope will not only allow you to move away from the need to spend a lot of money on the construction of large telescopes, but it will also be very beneficial from a scientific point of view.

What is the efficiency of a telescope the size of the Earth

According to the scientist’s calculations, if you placeIf the Hubble Space Telescope is the size of a telescope (2.4 meters) at the optimum point in the orbit of our planet, it can be turned into an analogue of a ground or space telescope, whose resolution will be increased by 22.5-45 thousand.

According to Kipping, a telescope of such powerIt will allow astronomers not only to observe the most distant galaxies and stars, but also to study planets orbiting alien stars, as well as their moons, in details (up to searching for signs of life).

The disadvantages of the idea of ​​a planetary lens

The scientist admits that in his idea there areflaws and many unresolved points. In the end, this is just a concept. For example, Kipping agrees that a planetary lens will not transmit all types of infrared and visible light to the detector. Part of them will be absorbed by the clouds and the water molecules contained in them, as well as dust and other particles. In addition, the rays of light of our Sun can affect the accuracy of observations.


Artistic representation of a spacecraft to be used as a light wave detector

For a partial solution to the problem, he proposesplace the light wave detector in the place where the boundary of the Earth's gravity is located. In this case, it will be possible to observe the light waves that will be refracted in the atmosphere of the planet at an altitude of about 14 kilometers. At this altitude, most of such interference can be avoided. According to Kipping, the level of loss of light waves of stars entering the telescope in this case will be only about 8 percent.

See also: The future of space telescopes

In addition, the astrophysicist notes that he conductedtheir calculations are only for optical and infrared terrascopes. If you create an apparatus that will work only with radio waves, then the clouds and other types of interference for him will no longer pose any problem.

Another drawback of the terracoscope, says the authorideas, is the limitation of simultaneous observations. With the help of a terracoscope, it will be possible to observe the light of stars that will be at one time or another behind our planet. It will be possible to solve the problem by using several compact space-based light wave detectors located around the planet.

</ p>

If you are interested in the news of science and technology, be sure to subscribe to our channel in Yandex. Dzen. There you will find materials that have not been published on the site!