بحث

الأسلاك الفائقة الموصلية تخطط لاستخدامها في البحث عن المادة المظلمة

واحدة من أعظم البحث العلمي في عصرنا- هذا هو البحث عن المادة المظلمة. يعتقد الفيزيائيون أن هذه المادة تملأ الكون وتعتقد أنهم يمكنهم رؤية دليل على ذلك في كيفية دوران المجرات. والحقيقة هي أن المجرات تدور بسرعة كبيرة بحيث كان لا بد من تمزيقها ، ولكن من الواضح (أو غير مرئية) أن هناك بعض الكتلة المخفية التي لديها قوة الجاذبية الكافية للحفاظ عليها معا.

أجبر هذا علماء الفيزياء على البحث عن المادة المظلمةالأرض. بنوا العشرات من المراصد ، معظمها يقع في كهوف تحت الأرض في أعماق السطح ، حيث الضوضاء في الخلفية منخفضة. الشهرة العلمية على المحك ، وأولئك الذين يجدون المادة المظلمة سيُكافأون بثراء.

لماذا لا يمكن العثور على المادة المظلمة؟

حتى الآن ، لم يعثر الفيزيائيون على أي شيء. إذا كانت المادة المظلمة موجودة ، فهي مخفية للغاية. أحد الاحتمالات هو أن جزيئات المادة المظلمة صغيرة جدًا بحيث لا يمكن العثور عليها في التجارب الجارية. يريد الفيزيائيون بشدة إيجاد طريقة أكثر حساسية للبحث عن مواد مماثلة.

يونيت Hochberg من الجامعة العبرية فيطورت القدس في إسرائيل وزملاؤها مستشعرًا جديدًا واعداً يعتمد على أسلاك فائقة التوصيل. النموذج الأولي للفريق يظهر بالفعل إمكانات مثل هذا النهج.

أساس الجهاز الجديد هو مبدأ بسيط. تبريد بعض المعادن تحت درجة الحرارة الحرجة وأنها ستوصل الكهرباء دون مقاومة. ولكن بمجرد ارتفاع درجة الحرارة فوق هذا الحد ، يختفي سلوك الموصلية الفائقة.

يعلم الفيزيائيون أن جزيئات المادة المظلمة لا تستطيع ذلكالتفاعل بقوة مع المواد المرئية ؛ وإلا كانوا قد رأوهم. لكن جزيئات المادة المظلمة يمكن أن تصطدم بالجزيئات العادية.

هذا الاصطدام نادر الحدوث بسببالمادة العادية هي في الغالب مساحة فارغة ، ويمكن أن تمر جزيئات المادة المظلمة من خلالها. لكن عندما تصطدم بنواة ذرية أو إلكترون في الشبكة ، على سبيل المثال ، يؤدي التصادم إلى حدوث اهتزازات في الشبكة ، مما يزيد من درجة حرارته.

هذا هو ارتفاع درجة الحرارة وهذا أمر جيد.تم الكشف عن أسلاك التوصيل الفائق. يؤدي التسخين إلى حقيقة أن جزءًا صغيرًا من الأسلاك يتوقف عن التوصيل فائقًا ، وهذا بدوره يخلق نبضًا من الجهد يسهل قياسه. علاوة على ذلك ، ينتج هذا الجهاز عددًا من الإيجابيات الخاطئة ، إن وجدت.

اختبر Hochberg وزملاؤه فكرتهم من خلال الإبداعالنموذج. يتكون هذا الجهاز من مجموعة أسلاك نحاسية من التنغستن بعرض 140 نانومتر فقط (للمقارنة ، يبلغ عرض شعرة الإنسان حوالي 100000 نانومتر) و 400 ميكرومتر. الجهاز بأكمله هو فقط بضعة ملليغرا فوق الصفر المطلق ، بحيث تصبح أسلاك السيليسيد التنغستن موصلات فائقة.

ثم شاهد الفريق نبضات الجهدوالتي يمكن أن تكشف عن تصادم المادة المظلمة. مع التدريع المناسب ، لم يكتشفوا أي نبضات في غضون 10000 ثانية من القياسات.

هذا يفرض قيودا مهمة على نوع الظلامالمسألة التي يمكن أن توجد وكثافتها. كما أنه يفرض قيودًا على أنواع أخرى من الجزيئات التي يفترض الفيزيائيون وجودها.

أحد هذه الأنواع - "الفوتون المظلم" ، في الواقع ،أي ما يعادل الفوتون المادة المعتادة العادية. إن وجدت ، فإن الكاشف الجديد لم يكشف عن أحد. يقول هوشبرج: "إن النتائج التي تم الحصول عليها باستخدام هذا الجهاز وضعت بالفعل حدودًا كبيرة لتفاعل المادة المظلمة مع الإلكترونات ، بما في ذلك أقوى حدود الأرض لامتصاص هذه الفوتونات بأقل من الجهد الكهربي" ، كما يقول هوشبرج.

العمل مثير للإعجاب ، بالنظر إلى أن الكتلةأسلاك متناهية الصغر ليست سوى بضع نانوجرام. ستكون الخطوة التالية تصنيعها على نطاق أوسع. يقول Hochberg وزملاؤه أن التكنولوجيا ناضجة نسبيًا ، لذلك يمكن اختبارها في وقت قصير. وفقًا لتقديراتهم ، سيتمكن المختبر العلمي من إنتاج ألف جهاز كشف 200 نانومتر بكتلة إجمالية قدرها 1.3 جرام في عام واحد فقط. لذلك ، قد يكون كاشف الكيلوغرام ممكنًا في المستقبل القريب.

ربما في يوم من الأيام ، ستكتشف الأسلاك النانوية فائقة التوصيل المادة المظلمة ، إن وجدت. ما رأيك موجود؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Research

Superconducting nanowires are planning to use to search for dark matter

One of the greatest scientific search of our time- this is the hunt for dark matter. Physicists believe that this substance fills the universe and think they can see evidence of this in how galaxies rotate. The fact is that galaxies rotate so fast that they had to be torn apart, but apparently (or invisibility) there is some hidden mass that has enough gravitational force to hold them together.

This forced physicists to search for dark matter onEarth They built dozens of observatories, most of which are located in underground caves deep below the surface, where the background noise is low. Scientific fame is at stake, and those who find dark matter will be richly rewarded.

Why can't dark matter be found?

So far, physicists have not found anything. If dark matter exists, it is extremely well hidden. One possibility is that dark matter particles are too small to be found in ongoing experiments. Physicists desperately want to find a more sensitive way to search for similar substances.

Yonit Hochberg from Hebrew University inJerusalem in Israel and its colleagues have developed a promising new sensor based on tiny superconducting wires. The team prototype already shows the potential of such an approach.

The basis of the new device is a simple principle. Cool certain metals below the critical temperature and they will conduct electricity without resistance. But as soon as their temperature rises above this threshold, the superconducting behavior disappears.

Physicists know that dark matter particles cannotinteract strongly with visible matter; otherwise they would have seen them. But dark matter particles can collide with ordinary particles.

This collision is rare becauseordinary matter is mostly empty space, and particles of dark matter can pass right through it. But when they collide with an atomic nucleus or an electron in a lattice, for example, a collision causes vibrations in the lattice, thereby increasing its temperature.

It is this temperature rise that is good.superconducting nanowires are detected. Heating leads to the fact that a small part of the wires ceases to be superconducting, and this, in turn, creates a voltage pulse that is easy to measure. Moreover, such a device produces few false positives, if any.

Hochberg and colleagues tested their idea by creatingprototype. This device consists of a set of tungsten silicide nanowires only 140 nanometers wide (for comparison, the width of a human hair is about 100 000 nanometers) and 400 micrometers long. The entire apparatus is only a few milligrads above absolute zero, so that tungsten silicide wires become superconductors.

The team then watched voltage pulses,which could reveal the collision of dark matter. With appropriate shielding, they did not detect any pulses within 10,000 seconds of measurements.

This imposes important restrictions on the type of darkmatter, which could exist, and its density. It also imposes restrictions on other types of particles that physicists assume may exist.

One of these types - “dark photon”, in fact,the equivalent of an ordinary dark matter photon. If any, the new detector has not detected one. “The results obtained with this device already set significant limits for the interaction of dark matter with electrons, including the strongest terrestrial boundaries for absorbing such photons at less than eV,” says Hochberg.

The work is impressive, given that the massnanowires is just a few nanograms. The next step will be their manufacture on a larger scale. Hochberg and colleagues say that the technology is relatively mature, so it can be tested in a short time. According to their estimates, the scientific laboratory will be able to produce one thousand 200-nanometer detectors with a total mass of 1.3 grams in just one year. Therefore, a kilogram detector may well be feasible in the near future.

Maybe one day, superconducting nanowires will detect dark matter, if it exists. What do you think exists? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.