بحث

الهندسة الجيولوجية الشمسية ليست فكرة سيئة لمكافحة ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري.

إذا كانت الإنسانية تريد تجنب تماما أكثرالآثار الرهيبة لتغير المناخ العالمي ، نحتاج إلى التوقف عن استخدام الوقود الأحفوري والانتقال إلى مصادر طاقة بديلة أكثر صداقة للبيئة. التقدم في هذا الاتجاه موجود بالفعل ، لكنه يسير ببطء شديد. في الوقت نفسه ، هناك مجموعات من المتخصصين الذين يعرضون الانتباه إلى حل أكثر تكنولوجية يمكن أن تساعدنا في مكافحة ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري - الهندسة الجيولوجية.

واحدة من العوامل التي إذا لم يكن يزيد ، ثمعلى الأقل تحفيز نمو متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة على سطح الكوكب ، هو أشعة الشمس. في وقت سابق ، تم الافتراض بأن خفض كمية الضوء الوارد قد يسهم في تبريد الكوكب. كيف نفعل هذا؟ مع مساعدة من الهباء الجوي الخاص رش في الغلاف الجوي.

باحثون من جامعة هارفاردقرر معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وجامعة برينستون اكتشاف الآثار السلبية التي يمكن أن تنجم عن الانبعاثات المتعمدة للهباء الجوي في الغلاف الجوي من أجل عكس ضوء الشمس وتقليل نمو الاحتباس الحراري.

لهذا ، فقد طور الخبراء المناخنموذج لهطول الأمطار الشديد والأعاصير المدارية لتحديد تأثير الهندسة الجيولوجية في مناطق مختلفة من الأرض. بمساعدة نموذج جديد ، تمكن العلماء من تحديد القيم القصوى لدرجة الحرارة وهطول الأمطار ، ومستويات توافر المياه العذبة ، وكذلك مؤشر على شدة الكوارث الطبيعية ، وخاصة الأعاصير. نتائج بحث مفصلة نشرت في مجلة Nature Climate Change.

اتضح أن الحد من نمو عالميستؤدي درجات الحرارة إلى النصف بسبب الإطلاق المتعمد للهباء إلى تبريد الكوكب ، وتخفيف التغيرات في مستويات إمدادات المياه وهطول الأمطار في العديد من الأماكن ، وتعويض الزيادة في الكوارث الطبيعية بأكثر من 85 في المائة. في الوقت نفسه ، لاحظ الباحثون أن النتائج السلبية لاستخدام الهندسة الجيولوجية ستلاحظ فقط بنسبة 0.5 في المئة من مساحة الكوكب.

وفقا للخبراء ، نتائج عملهمدحض الرأي القائل بأن الهباء الجوي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم الوضع المناخي بشكل كبير ويؤدي إلى عواقب أكثر خطورة في المناطق الأكثر تعرضًا للكوكب. يتفق الباحثون على أن الانبعاثات الأكثر جذرية للهباء الجوي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مشاكل أكثر خطورة. ولكن لتجنب هذا أو التقليل إلى أدنى حد من احتمال حدوث آثار سلبية سوف يساعد في حساب الصحيح للكميات المسموح بها من انبعاثات الهباء الجوي في الغلاف الجوي.

كما ذكر أعلاه ، وسيلة أخرى لتجنب الآثار الكارثية لتغير المناخ ، هو الحد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة على الفور. ومع ذلك ، يعتقد العديد من العلماء أن البشرية ليس لديها أي فرصة تقريبًا لتفادي كارثة مناخية ناجمة عن زيادة متوسط ​​درجة حرارة الأرض بأكثر من 1.5 درجة. حتى هندسة الطاقة الشمسية لن تساعد في وقف الاحترار على الكوكب بالكامل. إنها حقًا قادرة على الحد من آثارها السلبية ، ولكن لا يمكن حل المشكلة أخيرًا إلا في حالة حدوث سيناريو غير مرجح للغاية - التخلي التام عن تشغيل جميع محطات الطاقة والمصانع وحتى السيارات.

يمكنك مناقشة نتائج الدراسة في دردشة البرقية.

Research

Solar geo-engineering is not such a bad idea to fight global warming.

If humanity wants to completely avoid the mostthe terrible effects of global climate change, we need to stop using fossil fuels and move to more environmentally friendly alternative energy sources. Progress in this direction is already there, but it is going very slowly. At the same time, there are groups of specialists who offer to pay attention to a more technological solution that can help us in the fight against global warming - geo-engineering.

One of the factors that if not increases, thenat least stimulate the growth of the average temperature on the surface of the planet, is sunlight. Earlier, assumptions were made that reducing the amount of incoming light may contribute to the cooling of the planet. How to do it? With the help of special aerosols sprayed in the atmosphere.

Researchers from harvard universityMassachusetts Institute of Technology and Princeton University decided to find out what negative consequences can result from intentional emission of aerosols into the atmosphere to reflect sunlight and reduce the growth of global warming.

For this, experts have developed a climatemodel of extreme rainfall and tropical cyclones to determine the effect of geoengineering in different regions of the Earth. With the help of a new model, scientists were able to determine the extreme values ​​of temperature and precipitation, the availability levels of fresh water, as well as an indicator of the intensity of natural disasters, in particular hurricanes. Detailed research results published in the journal Nature Climate Change.

It turned out that reducing the growth of globaltemperatures in half due to the intentional release of aerosols will cool the planet, mitigate changes in water supply and precipitation levels in many places, and also offset more than 85 percent increase in natural disasters. At the same time, the negative consequences of the use of geoengineering will be observed only by 0.5 percent of the planet’s territory, the researchers note.

According to experts, the results of their workrefute the view that aerosols can significantly worsen the climate situation and lead to even more serious consequences in the most exposed regions of the planet. Researchers agree that more radical emissions of aerosols can lead to even more serious problems. But to avoid this or minimize the likelihood of negative effects will help correct calculation of permissible volumes of emissions of aerosols into the atmosphere.

As noted above, another way toavoid catastrophic effects of climate change, is to immediately reduce greenhouse gas emissions. However, many scientists believe that humanity has almost no chance to avoid a climate catastrophe caused by the increase in the average temperature of the Earth by more than 1.5 degrees. Even solar engineering will not help to completely stop the warming on the planet. It is really capable of reducing its negative effects, but the problem can be finally solved only in the case of an extremely unlikely scenario - the complete abandonment of the operation of all power plants, factories and even cars.

You can discuss the findings of the study in our Telegram-chat.