بحث

سوف الجلد الثاني للفواكه والخضروات مضاعفة العمر الافتراضي

نحن رمي حوالي ثلث جميع الفواكه والخضروات. تريد شركة Apeel ومقرها كاليفورنيا تغيير ذلك بطبقة طبيعية تسمح للمنتجات بالبقاء طازجة مرتين. السبب بسيط: حوالي ثلث الأغذية التي يتم إنتاجها في البلدان المتقدمة لا تقع أبدًا على طاولة الطعام. هذا مليارات الدولارات. وكقاعدة عامة ، نرمي الفواكه والخضروات التي تبدو غير جذابة. تقدم Apeel تغطيتها بألوان عديمة الرائحة ومناسبة للأكل ، مما يضاعف مرتين أو ثلاثة أضعاف العمر الافتراضي للفواكه والخضروات.

كيفية الحفاظ على الفاكهة طازجة لفترة أطول

تتكون الطبقة الرقيقة من اللب والقشر والبذور.الفواكه والخضروات الأخرى. يتحولون إلى مسحوق ، يتم خلطه بعد ذلك بالماء ويوضع على المنتج عن طريق الرش أو السحب أو الاحتكاك ، ثم يجف بعد ذلك. يعمل هذا "الجلد الثاني" كحاجز ، ويبطئ فقدان الماء والتعرض للهواء ، وهي العوامل الرئيسية التي تؤدي إلى تلف الطعام. الليمون ، الذي يمكن أن يبقى طازجًا لمدة شهر واحد ، يمكن أن يظل طازجًا مرتين إلى ثلاث مرات بعد علاج Apeel. ونظرًا لأن القشرة تتكون من الفواكه والنباتات الأخرى ، فهي صالحة للأكل أيضًا.

وفقا للمؤسس والرئيس التنفيذيأبيل من قبل جيمس روجرز ، وقد عالجت الشركة بالفعل 8 ملايين الأفوكادو. تدعي الشركة أنه في الإصدارات التجريبية من تجار التجزئة للمواد الغذائية والموردين ، كان من الممكن تقليل كمية النفايات الغذائية بأكثر من 50 ٪ ، بفضل هذه التغطية. كما جمعت الشركة 110 ملايين دولار من مستثمرين ، بما في ذلك مؤسسة بيل وميليندا غيتس ، وهي على وشك إطلاق برنامج في أوروبا.

"نحن لسنا بحاجة إلى التحدث عن ذلكيقول روجرز: "لقد كانوا مدركين لهذا الأمر منذ أكثر من عشر سنوات". الآن ، يجب أن يصل الأفوكادو ، الذي عالجته شركة Apeel ، إلى بعض المتاجر في ألمانيا والدنمارك والسويد والنرويج بحلول منتصف العام ، رهنا بموافقة الاتحاد الأوروبي. من المحتمل أن تظهر ثمار أخرى قريبًا ، على الرغم من أن Apeel لا يشير إلى الثمار.

وفقًا لرئيس المركز التحليلي للغذاءسيكون Tank Daniel Nirenberg ، التحدي الأكبر أمام Apeel ، هو إجبار المصنعين وتجار التجزئة والمستهلكين على معالجة المنتجات بهذه الطريقة. لا يقبل المستهلكون دائمًا الابتكارات المتعلقة بالأغذية - تذكر المنتجات المعدلة وراثياً (الكائنات المعدلة وراثيًا). لكنها تعتقد أنه إذا أمكن التغلب على هذه العقبة ، فسوف تساعد Apeel الناس على اكتساب الثقة في شراء الفواكه والخضروات ، لأن احتمال وصولهم إلى سلة المهملات أقل احتمالًا.

روجرز واثق من أن المكونات المعتادة للطلاء ستساعد في إقناع الناس. سيتم الإعلان عن التعامل مع المنتج بهذه الطريقة على العبوة.

هل شراء المنتجات المصنعة بهذه الطريقة؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Research

Second skin for fruits and vegetables will double their shelf life

We throw out about a third of all fruits andvegetables. California-based Apeel wants to change this with a natural coating that will allow products to stay fresh twice as long. The reason is simple: about a third of all food that is produced in developed countries never falls on the dining table. This is billions of dollars. And we, as a rule, throw away fruits and vegetables that look unattractive. Apeel offers to cover them with a colorless, odorless, fitable skin that will double or triple the shelf life of fruits and vegetables.

How to keep the fruit fresh longer

The thin coating consists of pulp, peel and seeds.other fruits and vegetables. They turn into a powder, which is then mixed with water and applied to the product by spraying, boning or rubbing, after which it dries. This “second skin” acts as a barrier, slowing down water loss and exposure to air, the main factors that lead to food spoilage. Lemon, which can remain fresh for one month, can remain fresh two to three times more after Apeel treatment. And since the shell is made up of fruits and other plants, it is also edible.

According to the founder and CEOApeel by James Rogers, the company has already processed 8 million avocados. The company claims that in pilot versions, the amount of food waste in retailers and suppliers was reduced by more than 50%, thanks to this coverage. The company also raised $ 110 million from investors, including the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, and is about to launch a program in Europe.

“We didn’t need to talk about itretailers - they have known this for more than ten years, ”says Rogers. Now, avocados, processed by Apeel, must arrive in some stores in Germany, Denmark, Sweden and Norway by the middle of the year, subject to approval from the European Union. Other fruits are likely to appear soon, although Apeel does not indicate which ones.

According to the president of the analytical center FoodTank Daniel Nirenberg, the biggest challenge for Apeel will be to force manufacturers, retailers and consumers to process products in this way. Consumers do not always accept food-related innovations - remember genetically modified products (GMOs). But if this obstacle can be overcome, she believes, Apeel will help people gain confidence in the purchase of fruits and vegetables, because those are less likely to go to the trash.

Rogers is confident that the usual ingredients of the coating will help to convince people. Product handling in this way will be announced on the packaging.

Would you buy products processed this way? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!