بحث

العلماء: مجرتنا تشبه الحرف الإنجليزي S

كل من فهمنا الحديث لشكلنااستندت مجرات درب التبانة إلى ملاحظات المجرات الأخرى ، وكذلك حسابات المسافة إلى الكائنات الموجودة فيها. لذلك ، اعتقد العلماء منذ فترة طويلة أن مجرتنا تشبه غيرها ولها شكل قرص مسطح. ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهرت دراسة استغرقت ست سنوات من علماء الفلك البولندي أن مجرتنا ليست مسطحة على الإطلاق. له شكل منحن ومنحنى مشابه للحرف الإنجليزي S. لقد أثبت العلماء هذا من خلال إنشاء نموذج ثلاثي الأبعاد أكثر دقة وأوسع نطاق من درب التبانة.

كيف ينشئ العلماء خريطة لمجرتنا؟

لإنشاء أدق ثلاثي الأبعادصنع علماء الفلك البولنديون من جامعة وارسو نموذجًا لمجرتنا مستخدمين التلسكوبات لعدة سنوات لمراقبة فئة خاصة من النجوم المتغيرة داخل درب التبانة. يطلق عليهم السيفيدس. هذه نجوم صغار جدًا أكبر من شمسنا بعدة مرات وتسطع بآلاف وعشرات آلاف المرات أكثر إشراقًا من نجومنا المضيئة.

انظر أيضًا: 10 اكتشافات مذهلة تتعلق بمجرة درب التبانة

السيفيدس لديه ميزة واحدة مثيرة للاهتمام -يغيرون سطوعهم (وميض) في فاصل ثابت. بفضل هذا ، يسميهم علماء الفلك منارات المجرة ويستخدمونها كمعالم مميزة. يشرح العلماء أن المعلومات المتعلقة بتكرار وميض النجم يمكن أن تخبرهم عن مقدار الضوء الذي ينبعث بشكل عام وكم من هذا الضوء يصل إلى الأرض. بناءً على هذه البيانات ، يمكن لعلماء الفلك تحديد مدى حاجة ضوء النجم للسفر للوصول إلينا.

كيف تبدو مجرتنا؟


يوضح إطار طراز الكمبيوتر أن قرص مجرتنا قد انحنى بالقرب من الحواف (منظر جانبي)

يقول العلماء محاولات سابقة لإنشاءكانت خريطة درب التبانة غير دقيقة وغير كاملة لأنها تم إنشاؤها على أساس ملاحظات محدودة. خلال بحثهم ، تمكن العلماء البولنديون من حساب المسافة إلى أكثر من 2400 من هذه النجوم المتغيرة المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء مجرتنا. بناءً على البيانات المتعلقة بالمسافات إلى هذه الكائنات ، تمكن علماء الفيزياء الفلكية من إنشاء نموذج كمبيوتر ثلاثي الأبعاد لمجرتنا.

نموذج الكمبيوتر ثلاثي الأبعاد من مجرتنا. النقاط علامة النجوم المتغيرة السيفيدس. نقطة صفراء كبيرة ومشرقة - شمسنا

تبين خريطتنا أن قرص درب التبانةليس على الإطلاق شقة. لها شكل منحني ، منحني. للمرة الأولى ، وبفضل الأجسام السماوية الفردية داخل مجرتنا ، يمكننا إظهار ذلك على نموذج ثلاثي الأبعاد ، "يقول أحد مؤلفي الدراسة ، Przhemek Mroz.

ما حجم مجرتنا؟

لا يمكن للعلماء بعد الإجابة بالضبط ماحدث أو ظاهرة يمكن أن تخلق مثل هذا الانحناء لمجرتنا. ولكن هناك العديد من الافتراضات حول هذا الموضوع. ربما أدى ذلك إلى تصادم درب التبانة مع مجرة ​​أخرى في الماضي البعيد. وفقًا لافتراضات أخرى ، قد ترتبط الإجابة بما يسمى بالمادة المظلمة الغامضة وخطورتها. الدراسات الفلكية الأخرى سوف تحدد السبب الدقيق للظاهرة الملاحظة.

هذا مثير للاهتمام: كيف يستعمر الناس مجرتنا؟

تقول آخر حسابات العلماء أن الحجمدرب التبانة 150،000 سنة ضوئية. في مجرتنا يمكن أن يكون من 200 إلى 400 مليار نجم مختلف وما لا يقل عن 100 مليار كواكب مختلفة. بشكل عام ، العمل البحثي - لا نهاية. من خلال اكتشاف نجوم سفيود جديدة ، سيتمكن العلماء من تحديد مجرتنا بدقة أكبر.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، فقم بالاشتراك في قناتنا في ياندكس. ستجد هناك مواد لم يتم نشرها على الموقع.

Research

Scientists: Our galaxy is like the English letter S

All of our modern understanding of our formMilky Way galaxies were based on observations of other galaxies, as well as calculations of the distance to the objects that are in them. Therefore, scientists have long believed that our galaxy is similar to others and has the shape of a flat disk. However, the completed six-year study of Polish astronomers has shown that our galaxy is not at all flat. It has a curved and curved shape similar to the English letter S. Scientists have proved this by creating the most accurate and large-scale three-dimensional model of the Milky Way.

How do scientists create a map of our galaxy?

To create the most accurate three-dimensionalPolish astronomers from the University of Warsaw made a model of our galaxy using telescopes for several years to observe a special class of variable stars inside our Milky Way. They are called Cepheids. These are very young stars several times larger than our Sun and shining thousands and tens of thousands of times brighter than our luminary.

See also: 10 amazing discoveries related to the Milky Way galaxy

Cepheids have one interesting feature -they change their brightness (flicker) at a constant interval. Thanks to this, astronomers call them the beacons of the galaxy and use them as peculiar landmarks. Scientists explain that information about the frequency of the twinkling of a star can tell them how much light it emits in general and how much of this light reaches the Earth. Based on this data, astronomers can determine how far the star's light needed to travel to reach us.

What does our galaxy look like?


The frame of the computer model shows that the disk of our galaxy is bent closer to the edges (side view)

Scientists say earlier attempts to createthe Milky Way map was very inaccurate and incomplete because it was created on the basis of limited observations. In the course of their research, Polish scientists were able to calculate the distance to more than 2,400 such variable stars scattered throughout our galaxy. Based on the data on the distances to these objects, astrophysicists were able to create a three-dimensional computer model of our galaxy.

Three-dimensional computer model of our galaxy. Dots mark variable stars Cepheids. Big and bright yellow dot - our Sun

Our map shows that the Milky Way discnot at all flat. It has a curved, curved shape. For the first time, thanks to individual celestial bodies inside our galaxy, we can show this on a three-dimensional model, ”says one of the authors of the study, Przhemek Mroz.

How big is our galaxy?

Scientists can not yet answer exactly whatan event or phenomenon could create such a curvature of our galaxy. But there are several assumptions about this. Perhaps this led to the collision of the Milky Way with another galaxy in the distant past. According to other assumptions, the answer may be associated with the so-called mysterious dark matter and its gravity. Further astronomical studies will establish the exact cause of the observed phenomenon.

This is interesting: How do people colonize our galaxy?

The latest calculations of scientists say that the sizeOur Milky Way is 150,000 light-years. In our galaxy can be from 200 to 400 billion different stars and at least 100 billion different planets. In general, research work - no end. By discovering new cepheid stars, scientists will be able to more accurately map our own galaxy.

If you are interested in the news of science and technology, subscribe to our channel in Yandex. Dzen. There you will find materials that have not been published on the site.