بحث

لم تكن مجرتنا عبارة عن قرص مسطح ، كما كان يعتقد سابقًا.

نتائج دراسة المجموعة الدوليةيقول علماء الفلك ، المنشور في مجلة Nature Astronomy ، إن مجرتنا "درب التبانة" الأصلية لا تشبه على الإطلاق "فطيرة" مسطحة ، كما كان يعتبر سابقًا. أقرب إلى حواف المجرة يصبح أكثر "مضغوط" الأكورديون أو تكوم. يعتقد العلماء أن هذا الاكتشاف سيجبرنا على إعادة النظر في خرائط النجوم الحالية.

لأننا داخل درب التبانة ، نحنغير قادر على رؤية الشكل الكامل لمجرتنا. يقول العلماء إن الأمر يشبه الجلوس داخل غواصة ومحاولة معرفة حجم المحيط. لذلك ، غالباً ما نقارن مجرتنا بمجرة أندروميدا المجاورة. ربما يكون أندروميدا أكبر قليلاً من حجم مجرة ​​درب التبانة ، لكن كلتا المجرتين تنتمي إلى النوع اللولبي ، ويرى الفلكيون أنهما في نفس العمر تقريبًا.

خلال الدراسة الجديدة للفيزياء الفلكيةأكدت أن مجرتنا لا تشبه فطيرة مسطحة أو حتى الحرف S ، كما هو موضح مسبقًا خرائط لتوزيع الهيدروجين ، ولها شكل غريب ، حوافها مضفورة في دوامة غير مجعدة ومضغوطة.

ساعدت مراقبة عدة آلاف من النجوم الموجودة في مناطقها الخارجية على تأكيد الشكل غير العادي لمجرتنا.

"من الصعب جدا تحديد المسافة من الشمس إلى"الأجزاء الخارجية للقرص المجري من درب التبانة ، دون أن يكون لديها فكرة واضحة عن كيف يبدو هذا القرص بالفعل" ، يعلق شياوديان تشن من المرصد الفلكي الوطني للأكاديمية الصينية للعلوم.

طريقة واحدة تسمح بذلكالحسابات المرتبطة مراقبة النجوم السيف متغير. إن خصوصية السيفيدس هي أن سطوعها في البداية يزداد بسلاسة وتدريجية ، ثم يتناقص نتيجة للعمليات الداخلية داخل أعماقها. يعتمد تواتر وقوة هذه النبضات على السطوع المطلق للنجم ، والذي يسمح لعلماء الفلك باستخدامهم لقياس المسافات في الفضاء ، بما في ذلك دراسة مدى وجود أجزاء مختلفة من درب التبانة منا.

عدد السيفيدس المعروفة في الوسط والبعيدةأجزاء من درب التبانة صغيرة نسبياً ، مما يشجع علماء الفلك على البحث بنشاط عن مثل هذه النجوم على أمل فهم كيفية ترتيب قلب المجرة وأبعد المناطق. ولكن هذا أمر صعب بسبب التراكم الكثيف للغبار والغاز المحيطين بهذه المناطق من درب التبانة. ساعد تلسكوب WISE الفضائي بالأشعة تحت الحمراء في حل المشكلة.

"استخدمنا ملاحظات الأشعة تحت الحمراء ،التي أجرتها WISE مرصد الفضاء بالأشعة تحت الحمراء ، والتي ساعدت في "اختراق" الغبار والغاز وتحديد المسافة إلى السيفيد بدقة أقل من 3-5 في المئة ، والتي تمثل ، وفقا للقدرات الحالية ، مستوى غير مسبوق " .

باستخدام صور من تلسكوب وايز ، علماء الفلكحسبنا المسافة والموقع الدقيق لنحو ألف ونصف من النجوم المتغيرة واستخدمناها لتجميع خريطة ثلاثية الأبعاد أكثر دقة لأكمام درب التبانة. يقترح الباحثون أن الانحناء المكتشف عند حواف المجرة يمكن تفسيره من خلال حقيقة أن الجزء الداخلي من القرص ، يدور ، يسحب الحلقة الخارجية خلفه ، مما يسبب التواء.

يضيف العلماء أن "هارمونيكا" التي لوحظت على حواف درب التبانة لا يتم ملاحظتها في نفس أندروميدا ، ولكنها توجد بين بعض المجرات الحلزونية الأخرى التي اكتشفت في النصف الأخير من القرن.

اكتشاف شكل غير عادي مماثل من القرص لديناتشرح المجرة ، بحسب دي غريس وزملاؤه ، الكثير من الشذوذ في سلوك النجوم على هوامشها وسوف تساعد في توضيح موقعها وعمرها وغيرها من الممتلكات.

يمكنك مناقشة اكتشاف علماء الفلك في دردشة البرقية.

Research

Our galaxy was not a flat disk, as previously thought.

The results of an international group studyAstronomers, published in the journal Nature Astronomy, say that our own Milky Way galaxy is not at all like a flat “pancake”, as it was considered earlier. Closer to the edges of the galaxy becomes more compressed or crumpled "accordion". Scientists believe that this discovery will force us to reconsider our current star maps.

Since we are inside the Milky Way, weunable to see the full shape of our galaxy. It's like sitting inside a submarine and trying to figure out the size of the ocean, scientists say. Therefore, we often compare our galaxy with the neighboring Andromeda galaxy. Maybe Andromeda is a little bigger than our Milky Way in size, but both galaxies belong to the spiral type and, in the opinion, astronomers have almost the same age.

During the new study of astrophysicsconfirmed that our galaxy does not look like a flat pancake or even the letter S, as previously shown maps of the distribution of hydrogen, and has a bizarre shape, whose edges are braided in an unusual crumpled and compressed spiral.

The observation of several thousand stars located in its outer regions helped confirm the unusual shape of our galaxy.

"It is very difficult to determine the distance from the Sun tothe outer parts of the Milky Way galactic disk, without having a clear idea of ​​how this disk actually looks like, ”comments Xiaodian Chen from the National Astronomical Observatory of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

One of the methods to conduct suchcalculations associated with the observation of variable cepheid stars. The peculiarity of Cepheids is that their brightness first grows very smoothly and gradually, and then decreases as a result of internal processes inside their depths. The frequency and strength of these pulsations depend on the absolute brightness of the star, which allows astronomers to use them to measure distances in space, including how far different parts of the Milky Way are located from us.

The number of known Cepheids in the central and distantparts of the Milky Way are relatively small, which encourages astronomers to actively look for such stars in the hope of understanding how the core of the galaxy and the furthest regions are arranged. But this is difficult to do because of the dense accumulations of dust and gas surrounding these regions of the Milky Way. The WISE infrared space telescope helped solve the problem.

"We used infrared observations,conducted by the WISE Space Infrared Observatory, which helped “break through” dust and gas and determine the distance to Cepheids with an accuracy of less than 3-5 percent, which represents an unprecedented level according to current capabilities ” .

Using images from the WISE telescope, astronomerscalculated the exact distance and position of almost one and a half thousand variable stars and used them to compile a more accurate three-dimensional map of the sleeves of the Milky Way. The researchers suggest that the detected curvature at the edges of the galaxy can be explained by the fact that the inner part of the disk, rotating, pulls the outer ring behind it, which causes twisting.

Scientists add that the “harmonica” noted at the edges of the Milky Way is not observed in the same Andromeda, but is found among some other spiral galaxies discovered in the last half of the century.

The discovery of such an unusual form of our diskgalaxies, according to de grace and his colleagues, explains many oddities in the behavior of stars on its margins and will help to clarify their position, age and other properties.

You can discuss the discovery of astronomers in our Telegram-chat.