تكنولوجيا

يسمح بالموجات فوق الصوتية الجديدة لسماع حركات البكتيريا

كان معروفا وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية لفترة طويلة. على مدى عقود ، ساعدت التكنولوجيا الغواصات على التنقل في الفضاء ، والأطباء - لفحص المرضى دون جراحة. أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية الحديثة لها قيود على الطاقة ، لكن الباحثين من جامعة كوينزلاند اكتشفوا كيفية زيادة قوتهم مائة مرة تقريبًا. يزعمون أن الجهاز الجديد قادر على التقاط صوت حركة جزيئات الهواء وحتى اهتزازات الخلايا الفردية.

أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية عادة تتكون منالمتلقي والباعث مصنوعة من بلورات كهرضغطية. عندما يتأثرون بالتيار الكهربائي ، فإنهم يهتزون ويخلقون أصواتًا عالية التردد تفوق 20.000 هيرتز - كما تعلمون ، لا يتم إدراكها بواسطة الأذن البشرية. تمر الموجات الصوتية المشعة عبر الهواء والماء والأنسجة الرخوة وترتد على الأسطح الصلبة بسرعات مختلفة. عندما يعودون إلى البلورات ، يحدث العكس - تخلق الاهتزازات تيارًا كهربائيًا يسمح للكمبيوتر بالتعرف على شكل الكائن الذي دفعت منه الأمواج. وهكذا ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكنك رؤية الجنين في الرحم.

لزيادة قوة الجهاز ، والباحثيناستخدام تصميم آخر: يتكون جهاز الاستقبال من قرص كوارتز صغير بعرض 148 ميكرون وسمك 1.8 ميكرون. خلفه ليزر يقرأ على الفور أصغر تشويه على القرص ناتج عن موجات الصوت المنعكسة. تسمح لك الحساسية المتزايدة بالحصول على معلومات أكثر تفصيلاً وحتى سماع كيف تتحرك البكتيريا.

ويستند التكنولوجيا على فرصة جديدة أنلقد قمنا بتطوير استخدام ضوء الليزر لقياس الحركة الميكانيكية في المقياس النانوي ، على مستوى المقاييس (الألف من عرض النواة الذرية). تم تطوير هذه الميزة لتنفيذ تقنيات الكم الجديدة - هنا نستخدمها بدلاً من السبر بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تسبب الموجات فوق الصوتية التذبذبات الميكانيكية لهيكل مجهرى على رقاقة السيليكون ، والتي نقرأها بعد ذلك باستخدام ضوء الليزر.

وارويك بوين ، مؤلف الدراسة

التكنولوجيا يمكن استخدامها لالاستماع إلى الخلايا الفردية والبكتيريا. بفضلها ، يمكن للباحثين اكتشاف ليس فقط ما إذا كانت الخلايا حية ، ولكن أيضًا ما إذا كانت طبيعية أو سرطانية. سيكونون أيضًا قادرين على معرفة المزيد حول العمليات التي تحدث داخل ومتابعة حركة البكتيريا. استخدام التكنولوجيا في التكنولوجيا يمكن أن يحسن دقة المركبات تحت الماء وتحسين المعدات الطبية.

نذكرك أنه يمكن العثور على المزيد من أخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا على قناتنا في Yandex.Dzen. اشترك في لا تفوت المواد الجديدة التي ليست على الموقع!

Technology

New ultrasound allowed to hear the movements of bacteria

The existence of ultrasound has been known for a long time. For decades, technology has helped submarines navigate in space, and doctors - to examine patients without surgery. Modern ultrasound devices have power limitations, but researchers from the University of Queensland have figured out how to increase their power almost a hundred times. They claim that the new device is able to catch the sound of the movement of air molecules and even the vibrations of individual cells.

Usually ultrasound devices consist ofreceiver and emitter made from piezoelectric crystals. When an electric current acts on them, they vibrate and create high-frequency sounds above 20,000 hertz - as you know, they are not perceived by the human ear. Radiated sound waves pass through the air, water, and soft tissue, and bounce off hard surfaces at different speeds. When they return to the crystals, the reverse occurs - the vibrations create an electrical current that allows the computer to recognize the shape of the object from which the waves have pushed. Thus, for example, you can see the embryo in the womb.

To increase the power of the device, researchersused another design: the receiver consists of a tiny quartz disk with a width of 148 microns and a thickness of 1.8 microns. Behind it is a laser that instantly reads the smallest distortion on the disk caused by reflected sound waves. Increased sensitivity allows you to get more detailed information and even hear how bacteria move.

The technology is based on a new opportunity thatwe have developed using laser light to measure mechanical movement at the nanoscale, at the level of attometers (one thousandth of the width of the atomic nucleus). This feature was designed to implement new quantum technologies - here we use it instead of ultrasonic sounding. An ultrasonic wave causes mechanical oscillations of a microscale structure on a silicon chip, which we then read with laser light.

Warwick Bowen, study author

Technology can be used tolistening to individual cells and bacteria. Thanks to her, researchers can find out not only whether the cells are alive, but also normal or cancerous. They will also be able to learn more about the processes occurring inside and follow the movement of bacteria. The use of technology in technology can improve the accuracy of underwater vehicles and improve medical equipment.

We remind you that more news of science and technology can be found on our channel in Yandex.Dzen. Subscribe to not miss new materials that are not on the site!