تكنولوجيا

واجهة عصبية جديدة من Facebook تقرأ الأفكار دون أي تأخير تقريبًا

في هذه اللحظة ، نمت التكنولوجيا بالفعل إلىاللحظة التي تستطيع فيها خوارزميات الكمبيوتر جنبًا إلى جنب مع أجهزة استشعار محددة قراءة نشاط الدماغ واستخدامه كأوامر للتحكم. ببساطة ، من الممكن بالفعل إنشاء واجهات عصبية للتحكم في الأجهزة الإلكترونية من خلال قوة التفكير. يبدو الأمر رائعًا ، فقط إذا كنا نتحدث عن الأجهزة المعقدة ، ثم واجهت مشكلة واحدة حتى اليوم: تأخير كبير في تشغيل الأجهزة. لماذا كان؟ لأن العلماء تمكنوا من تطوير واجهة عصبية تعمل دون تأخير تقريبا.

الذي خلق واجهة العصبية

المهندسون وراء تطور الواجهة العصبيةتسمى أقسام Facebook Reality Labs والعلماء في جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان فرانسيسكو. منذ عام 2017 ، تعمل Reality Labs في تصميم وإنشاء واجهات لواجهة الدماغ بين الكمبيوتر (الدماغ - واجهة الكمبيوتر - BCI). إمكانات التكنولوجيا هائلة. من الكتابة (حتى دون قول ذلك بصوت عالٍ) للتحكم في الآلات والإلكترونيات المختلفة. ووفقًا لمنشور Nature Communications ، كان فريق الخبراء هو الذي قام بفك رموز وترجمة الأفكار الإنسانية إلى نص.

كيف تعمل الواجهة العصبية

ظهر النموذج الأولي للجهاز في البداية2019 سنة. في الوقت نفسه ، مرت المراحل الأولى من الاختبار. في بداية العام ، يمكن لجهاز من العلماء في جامعة كاليفورنيا بالفعل ترجمة الأفكار الإنسانية إلى خطاب. واتضح أن لديه مفصل ومختص للغاية. كان لديه عيب "صغير" واحد فقط: استغرق الأمر عدة أسابيع لفك تشفير ومعالجة الإشارة. هذا هو المكان الذي أصبحت فيه تجربة اللاعبين من Facebook مفيدة.

انظر أيضًا: عرض Facebook نموذجًا أوليًا لسوار VR مع تعليقات.

كان لديهم فقط خوارزميات للعمل معهاواجهات عصبية ، ولكن لم تكن هناك نماذج مناسبة لتحسين الكود. تبدو الواجهة العصبية نفسها بسيطة للغاية: على السطح الداخلي لخوذة خاصة توجد سلسلة من الأقطاب الكهربائية الحساسة للغاية التي تقرأ نشاط الدماغ. علاوة على ذلك ، تدخل خوارزميات فك التشفير في الاعتبار.

بالطبع ، من أجل التشغيل الصحيح للخوارزمية التي تحتاج إليهااختباره على شخص ما. قام العلماء بتجنيد مجموعة من الأشخاص الذين قرأوا نشاط الدماغ بطرح أسئلة بسيطة مثل "ما هو شعورك؟" أو "ما نوع الموسيقى التي تفضلها؟". في هذه الحالة ، لا يمكن أن يخترع الجواب. تم إعداد بعض الإجابات لكل سؤال (24 قطعة في المجموع).


أقطاب لقراءة نشاط الدماغ

نتيجة لذلك ، تعلمت الخوارزمية تحديد إجابات الأشخاص.بدقة 61-76 ٪ (اعتمادا على الجواب) ، وهي نتيجة جيدة جدا جدا. علاوة على ذلك ، تبين أن التأخير في التعرف ليس كبيرًا على الإطلاق وتم قياسه بعدة مللي ثانية. بفضل التكنولوجيا الجديدة ، سيكون بمقدور العديد من الأشخاص التحكم بقوة أي شيء تقريبًا بدءًا من مؤشر الماوس بالكمبيوتر إلى الكرسي المتحرك أو حتى الطائرة العسكرية.

لكن الخوارزمية لديها في الوقت الحالي وعيوبها. الآن يقتصر على البيانات المدخلة مقدما. وهذا هو ، استجابة مرتجلة ببساطة لا يفهم الشبكة العصبية. ومع ذلك ، وفقًا للعلماء ، هذا قابل للتثبيت ، لأنه لتصحيح هذا القصور ، يكفي دمج خيارات التعلم الذاتي والتعرف على الكلام في الخوارزمية.

المزيد من الأخبار يمكنك قراءتها في أخبارنا قناة برقية.

Technology

New neurointerface from Facebook reads thoughts with almost no delays

At the moment, technology has already grown tothe moment when computer algorithms together with specific sensors can read brain activity and use it as commands for control. Simply put, it is already possible to create neural interfaces for controlling electronic devices by the power of thought. It sounds fantastic, only if we are talking about complex devices, then until today they had one problem: a big delay in the operation of devices. Why was? Because scientists have managed to develop a neural interface that works almost without delay.

Who created the neural interface

Engineers are behind the development of the neurointerfaceFacebook divisions called Reality Labs and scientists at the University of California at San Francisco. Since 2017, Reality Labs has been engaged in designing and creating interfaces of the brain-computer interface (brain – computer interface - BCI). The potential for technology is enormous. From typing (even without saying it out loud) to control machines and various electronics. And, according to the publication Nature Communications, it was the team of experts who deciphered and translated human thoughts into text.

How the neural interface works

The first prototype of the device appeared in the beginning2019 year. At the same time, the first stages of testing passed. At the beginning of the year, a device from scientists at the University of California could already translate human thoughts into speech. And it turned out he had a very detailed and competent. He had only one “small” flaw: it took several weeks to decode and process the signal. This is where the experience of the guys from Facebook came in handy.

See also: Facebook showed a prototype of a VR bracelet with feedback.

They just had algorithms to work withneural interfaces, but there were no suitable models to optimize your code. The neurointerface itself looks quite simple: on the inner surface of a special helmet there is a series of highly sensitive electrodes that read brain activity. Further, decryption algorithms come into play.

Of course, for the correct operation of the algorithm you needtest it on someone. Scientists recruited a group of people who read brain activity by asking them simple questions like “How do you feel?” Or “What kind of music do you prefer?”. In this case, the answer could not "invent". Certain answers were prepared for each question (24 pieces in total).


Electrodes for reading brain activity

As a result, the algorithm has learned to determine the answers of people.with an accuracy of 61-76% (depending on the answer), which is a very, very good result. Moreover, the delay in recognition turned out to be not significant at all and was measured in several milliseconds. Thanks to the new technology, many people will be able to control with the power of thought almost anything from a computer mouse cursor to a wheelchair or even a military aircraft.

But the algorithm has at the moment and disadvantages. Now it is limited to the data entered in advance. That is, an impromptu response simply does not understand the neural network. However, according to scientists, this is fixable, because to correct this shortcoming, it is enough to integrate self-learning and speech recognition options into the algorithm.

More news you can read in our news Telegram channel.