بحث

خريطة جديدة توضح الأماكن الأكثر تضررا من تغير المناخ

من المفيد أحيانًا النظر إلى الصورة الكبيرة ،خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالآثار العالمية لتغير المناخ. في ورقة علمية نشرت أمس في مجلة Nature ، قدم الباحثون مؤشر حساسية النبات ، وهو مقياس يستخدم لقياس حساسية النظام البيئي (وخاصة الحياة النباتية) لتغير المناخ. وكانت النتيجة خريطة توضح أجزاء العالم الأكثر تضرراً من تغير المناخ.

الباحثون إنشاء هذه الخريطةبيانات الأقمار الصناعية المستخدمة التي تم جمعها بين عامي 2000 و 2013. قام الباحثون بحساب مؤشر الحساسية من خلال دراسة كيفية تغير الغطاء النباتي اعتمادًا على ثلاثة عوامل (درجة حرارة الهواء ، وتوافر المياه ، والغطاء السحابي) وكيف تتغير هذه العوامل. لقد قام الباحثون بهذا في كل مساحة 5 كيلومترات مربعة. تم تصنيف بعض المناطق ، مثل القارة القطبية الجنوبية أو صحراء الصحراء ، على أنها جرداء أو مغطاة بالجليد ، ولكن تم فرز بقية سطح الأرض من الأقل إلى الأكثر حساسية لتغير المناخ على مدار الـ 14 عامًا الماضية.

بعد ذلك ، أوقع الباحثون المجموعةمعلومات على خريطة الأرض. يشير اللون الأخضر إلى حساسية منخفضة - مثل هذه المناطق تتكيف بشكل جيد مع تغير المناخ. تحولت المناطق الحمراء إلى أنها شديدة الحساسية للتغيرات المناخية. يأمل العلماء في مواصلة أبحاثهم لتحديد ما إذا كانت التغييرات المكتشفة في الغطاء النباتي مؤقتة أم جزء من تغيير عالمي أكبر.

Research

New map shows places most affected by climate change

Sometimes it’s useful to look at the big picture,especially when it comes to the global effects of climate change. In a scientific paper published yesterday in the journal Nature, researchers introduced the Vegetation Sensitivity Index, a metric used to measure the sensitivity of an ecosystem (and especially its plant life) to climate change. The result was a map showing which parts of the world would be hardest hit by climate change.

Researchers create this mapused satellite data collected between 2000 and 2013. Researchers calculated the sensitivity index by studying how vegetation changes depending on three factors (air temperature, water availability, and cloud cover) and how these factors change. Researchers have done this for each land area of ​​5 square kilometers. Some regions, such as Antarctica or the Sahara Desert, have been classified as barren or ice-covered, but the rest of the earth’s surface has been sorted from the least to the most sensitive to climate change over the past 14 years.

After that, the researchers inflicted the collectedinformation on a map of the earth. Green indicates low sensitivity - such areas are well adapted to climate change. The red areas turned out to be highly sensitive to climatic changes. Scientists hope to continue their research to determine whether the detected changes in vegetation are temporary or part of a larger global change.