بحث

تطلب ناسا المساعدة من المجتمع عبر الإنترنت في تنفيذ مهمة OSIRIS-REx

قرر علماء من وكالة الفضاء ناساأناشد عشاق الفضاء المساعدة في وضع خريطة مفصلة لسطح الكويكب بينو. يريد اختصاصيو الوكالة من مستخدمي الإنترنت مساعدتهم في تحديد جميع الأحجار الموجودة على سطح الكائن على خريطة خاصة ، بحيث يمكنك في المستقبل اختيار النقطة الأكثر ملاءمة لجمع عينات التربة في الكويكب ، وفقًا لتقرير موقع Space.com.

المصدر يشير إلى أن الخبراء من ناسالن يستغرق الأمر سوى ستة أسابيع من اللحظة التي يستكمل فيها جهاز أبحاث الفضاء OSIRIS-REx ، الموجود في مدار كويكب بينو ، مهمة إنشاء صورة مفصلة عن سطح الكائن ، حتى اللحظة التي يكون من الضروري فيها تحديد موقع التربة أخيرًا من سطحه. مع كل هذه الرغبة ، لا يكفي عدد الأشخاص الذين تم تخصيصهم لهذه المهمة لحل مشكلة وضع خريطة تفصيلية لخصائص سطح الكويكب.

"المهمة هي تعيين كل صخرة علىتوضح كارينا بينيت ، المشاركة في المشروع ، أن سطح الكويكب طموح حقًا ، وبصراحة ، لم نجد ببساطة طريقة أخرى للقيام بذلك في الوقت المتاح.

ويضيف العالم: "نحن حقًا بحاجة إلى مساعدة من الخارج".

خريطة تفصيلية لصخور علماء الكويكب بينوضروري للتأكد من أن عملية جمع عينات التربة لا تلحق الضرر بالمناولة الآلية المزودة بجهاز هوائي خاص. إذا كنت تعرف الموقع الدقيق للحجارة ، فسيكون بإمكان العلماء اختيار المكان الأمثل لتقليل الجهاز وإجراء العملية المخططة. وتزداد المشكلة تعقيدًا بسبب حقيقة أن سطح Bennu اتضح أنه غير متساوٍ أكثر مما كان يقصده الباحثون في البداية.

"بينت الصخور والصخور أكثر بكثير مما توقعنا" ، تشرح بينيت.

لقطة عالية الجودة لسطح الكويكبينشر خبراء ناسا على موقع خاص في أواخر أبريل - أوائل مايو. من هذه اللحظة ، سيبدأ تقرير مدته ستة أسابيع ، ويتعين على عشاق الفضاء النظر بعناية في الصور ، ووضع علامات على حدود الصخور على سطح الجسم.

"أعتقد أن العنصر الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام فيستكون هذه الوظيفة أنه يمكنك بالفعل المساهمة في القرار اللاحق. بعد ذلك ، ستتمكن من معرفة كيف سنأخذ العينة ، وربما سترى المنطقة ذاتها التي قمت فيها بتمييز الصخور.

المركبة الفضائية OSIRIS-REX ، مصممةلاستكشاف الكويكب Bennu وجمع عينات التربة من سطحه ، تم إطلاقه في سبتمبر 2016. الجهاز مزود بالعديد من الأدوات العلمية ، بما في ذلك: الكاميرات ، الطيف ، ومقاييس الليزر. في نهاية ديسمبر 2018 ، دخلت OSIRIS-REx مدار الكويكب ، وتنتظر حاليًا المرحلة التالية من المهمة - المجموعة الفعلية لعينات التربة من سطحها.

ومن المقرر أن العملية في منتصف عام 2020. وسيتم تنفيذها باستخدام مناور خاص مع آلية تعمل بالهواء المضغوط. يتوقع فريق المهمة الحصول على ما مجموعه 60 جرامًا إلى 2 كيلوغرام من عينات التربة سيعاد الجهاز إلى المنزل في خريف عام 2023. سيتم إسقاط العينات الموضوعة في كبسولة خاصة على الأرض.

يبلغ قطر الكويكب بينو حوالي 550متر. إنه ينتمي إلى مجموعة Apollo - الأجسام التي يتقاطع مدارها مع مدار الأرض. وفقًا لتقديرات تقريبية ، فإن احتمال تصادم بينو مع الأرض يتراوح من 1 إلى 4000. إذا سقطت حقًا على كوكبنا ، فإن الطاقة المنبعثة عندما يسقط الجسم إلى السطح ستكون مكافئة في القوة لتفجير قنبلة 2700 ميجاوات.

هل ستساعد ناسا؟ يمكنك مشاركة أفكارك في دردشة Telegram.

Research

NASA is asking for help from the online community in carrying out the OSIRIS-REx mission

Scientists from the aerospace agency NASA decidedappeal to space enthusiasts for help in preparing a detailed map of the surface of the asteroid Bennu. The agency’s specialists want the Internet users to help them mark all the stones on the surface of the object on a special map so that in the future you can choose the most suitable point for the operation to collect asteroid soil samples, reports the Space.com portal.

The source notes that the experts from NASAIt will be only six weeks from the moment when the space research device OSIRIS-REx, located in the orbit of the Bennu asteroid, completes the task of creating a detailed image of the object's surface, until the moment when it is necessary to finally determine the place of the soil intake from its surface. With all the desire, the number of people that was allocated for this mission is not enough to solve the problem of drawing up a detailed map of the features of the surface of the asteroid.

"The task is to map each boulder onthe surface of the asteroid is really large-scale, and we, frankly, simply did not find another way to do it within the time available, ”explains project participant Karina Bennett.

“We really really need help from the outside,” the scientist adds.

Detailed map of the boulders of the asteroid Bennu scientistsnecessary to ensure that during the operation of collecting soil samples does not damage the robotic manipulator, equipped with a special pneumatic device. If you know the exact location of the stones, scientists will be able to choose the most optimal place to reduce the apparatus and conduct the planned operation. The problem is further complicated by the fact that the Bennu surface turned out to be much more uneven than the researchers initially intended.

“It has a lot more rocks and boulders than we expected,” explains Bennett.

High quality image of the asteroid's surfaceNASA experts are going to publish on a special site in late April - early May. From this moment, a six-week report will begin, for which space enthusiasts will have to carefully consider the images, marking the boundaries of the boulders on the surface of the object.

“I think that the most interesting component inThis job will consist in the fact that you can actually contribute to the subsequent decision. You will then be able to see how we will take the sample, and perhaps you will see the very area where you yourself marked the boulders, ”says Bennet.

Spacecraft OSIRIS-REx, designedTo explore the Bennu asteroid and collect soil samples from its surface, it was launched in September 2016. The device is equipped with several scientific instruments, including: cameras, spectrometers, and laser altimeters. At the end of December 2018, OSIRIS-REx entered the asteroid orbit, and is currently awaiting the next phase of the mission - the actual collection of soil samples from its surface.

The operation is scheduled for mid-2020. It will be carried out using a special manipulator with a pneumatic mechanism. The mission team expects to receive a total of from 60 grams to 2 kilograms of soil samples. The device will be returned home in the autumn of 2023. Samples placed in a special capsule will be dropped to the ground.

Bennu asteroid has a diameter of about 550meters It belongs to the Apollo group - objects whose orbit intersects the orbit of the Earth. According to rough estimates, the probability of Bennu colliding with the Earth is 1 to 4000. If it really falls on our planet, the energy released when the body falls to the surface will be equivalent in power to an explosion of a 2700 megaton bomb.

Will you help NASA? You can share your thoughts in our Telegram-chat.