عام

الفيروسات المعدلة تمنع الموت من الأمراض المعدية

أنواع كثيرة من البكتيريا التي تهدد الحياةمحصن ضد المضادات الحيوية ، ولهذا السبب ، يموت حوالي 700000 شخص كل عام. بالطبع ، يحاول الباحثون من جميع أنحاء العالم تطوير عقاقير جديدة ، لكن العملية مستمرة منذ فترة طويلة ، في حين أن لديهم طريقة أخرى أقل إثباتًا لعلاج العدوى - استخدام الفيروسات التي تأكل البكتيريا. في الآونة الأخيرة ، ساعدت طريقة تجريبية وخطيرة للغاية في إنقاذ حياة فتاة ، كان احتمال بقائها أقل من واحد في المائة. كيف كان العلاج؟

أصبحت الفتاة التي نجت من الموت الوشيكسبعة عشر إيزابيل كارنيل هولداي. حتى عندما كانت طفلة ، عانت من التهاب مزمن في الميكوباكتريا خراج والتليف الكيسي ، وهو مرض وراثي ، يرافقه تلف في الغدد الصماء واختلال وظيفي في الجهاز التنفسي. خضعت لعملية زرع رئة ، وبعدها ساءت حالتها إلى حد كبير: تم تنشيط العدوى بقوة مضاعفة ، وزاد حجم الكبد وأصيب جرح ما بعد الجراحة بشدة.

حل يائس

لم العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية لا تعطي النتائج ،لذلك ، طلبت والدة المريض من الأطباء إجراء علاج تجريبي بمساعدة البكتيريا ، الفيروسات التي تصيب الخلايا البكتيرية. لحسن الحظ ، اكتشف باحثون من جامعة بيتسبرغ بسرعة فيروسات في مجموعتهم الضخمة التي يمكن أن تقاوم بشكل فعال سلالة بكتيريا M.Abscessus GD01 المعزولة من المريض.

أفضل المتنافسين للاستخدام فيلقد أصبحت البكتيريا Muddy و ZoeJ و BPs أهدافًا علاجية. كان الاثنان الآخران أقل فعالية أولاً ، لكن الباحثين طبقوا طريقة الهندسة الوراثية وزادوا قوتهم العلاجية. تم إعطاء خليط من ثلاثة فيروسات إلى جسم المريض لمدة 32 أسبوعًا كل 12 ساعة - خلال الإجراء ، أصيبت إليزابيث بمضات ساخنة ، ولكن لم يتم العثور على أي آثار جانبية أخرى.

كان لدي افتراض أن مجموعتناوقال عالم الأحياء المجهرية جراهام هتفول إن البكتيريا يمكن أن تكون قوية للغاية لحل جميع أنواع الأسئلة في علم الأحياء ، لكنني لا أعتقد أننا سنصل إلى استخدامها العلاجي.

بعد ستة أشهر من بدء العلاج ، والحالةتحسن المرضى بشكل ملحوظ ، ويمكن ملاحظة ذلك في الصور المقطعية أدناه. تحت الرقم 1 يشير إلى تلف الأنسجة اللينة ، يشير الرقم 2 إلى العقد اللمفاوية ، والرقم 3 - العقيدات الجلدية. الفرق بين الصورتين بفرق نصف سنوي ملحوظ للغاية ، الآفات والالتهابات تقلصت إلى حد كبير. ونتيجة لذلك ، بدأت الفتاة في زيادة الوزن ، وتوقفت البكتيريا المتفطرة الخراجية عن ظهورها في البلغم.

وفقا للباحثين ، وهذا هو الأول في التاريخ.حالة استخدام البكتيريا المعدلة وراثيا لعلاج مرض بشري خطير. في الوقت نفسه ، يدركون أن سبب التحسن في حالة الفتاة يمكن أن يكون آخر من طرق العلاج التي أجريت في وقت واحد - نجاح سريري واحد لا يثبت بعد فعالية 100 ٪ من هذه الطريقة. ومع ذلك ، عند إجراء العلاج مع المرضى الآخرين ، سيتعين على الباحثين إعادة تحديد البكتيريا المناسبة ، لأن Muddy و ZoeJ و BPs غير قادرين على تدمير البكتيريا الأخرى.

إذا كنت تريد معرفة المزيد عن البكتيريا وفهم كيف يمكنهم إنقاذ البشرية - نوصيك بقراءة موادنا حول هذا الموضوع بالذات. لا تنسَ أيضًا كتابة التعليقات والاشتراك في قناة Telegram لدينا مع الإعلانات والمحتوى الترفيهي!

General

Modified viruses prevent death from infectious disease

Many types of life-threatening bacteriaimmune to antibiotics, and because of this, about 700,000 people die every year. Of course, researchers from all over the world are trying to develop new drugs, but the process has been going on for quite a while, while they have another, less proven method of treating infections - the use of viruses that eat bacteria. Recently, an experimental and extremely risky method has helped save the life of a girl, whose probability of survival was less than one percent. How was the treatment?

The girl who escaped imminent death becameseventeen Isabel Carnell Holday. Even as a child, she suffered from chronic infection with Mycobacterium abscessus and from cystic fibrosis, a hereditary disease accompanied by damage to the endocrine glands and dysfunction of the respiratory system. She underwent a lung transplantation, after which her condition worsened greatly: the infection was activated with double force, the liver increased in size, and the postoperative wound became severely inflamed.

Desperate solution

Antibiotic treatment did not give results,therefore, the patient's mother asked the doctors to conduct experimental treatment with the help of bacteriophages, viruses that infect bacterial cells. Fortunately, researchers from the University of Pittsburgh rather quickly found viruses in their huge collection that could effectively fight M.Abscessus GD01 bacteria strain isolated from the patient.

The best contenders for use inBacteriophages Muddy, ZoeJ and BPs have become therapeutic targets. A couple of the latter were less effective first, but the researchers applied the method of genetic engineering and increased their therapeutic power. A mixture of three viruses was administered to the patient's body for 32 weeks every 12 hours — during the procedure, Elizabeth had hot flashes, but no other side effects were found.

I had an assumption that our collectionbacteriophages could be extremely powerful for solving all sorts of questions in biology, but I didn’t think we would get to their therapeutic use, ”said microbiologist Graham Hatful.

Six months after the start of treatment, the conditionPatients improved markedly, and this can be seen in the tomographic images below. Under the number 1 indicates damage to the soft tissues, the number 2 indicates the lymph nodes, and the number 3 - skin nodules. The difference between the two images with a semi-annual difference is very noticeable, the lesions and inflammations have greatly diminished. As a result, the girl began to gain weight, and the bacteria Mycobacterium abscessus ceased to appear in her sputum.

According to researchers, this is the first in history.case of using genetically engineered bacteriophages to treat a dangerous infectious human disease. At the same time, they recognize that the reason for the improvement in the condition of the girl could be another of the simultaneously conducted treatment methods - one clinical success does not yet prove the 100% effectiveness of the method. However, when conducting therapy with other patients, researchers will have to re-select suitable bacteriophages, because Muddy, ZoeJ and BPs are not able to destroy other bacteria.

If you want to learn more about bacteriophages andunderstand how they can save humanity - we recommend you read our material on this particular topic. Also do not forget to write comments and subscribe to our Telegram channel with announcements and entertaining content!