تكنولوجيا

قدمت بالونات لون 4G الإنترنت دمرت بعد زلزال بيرو

في نهاية مايو 2019 في بيرو حدثزلزال مدمر بلغت قوته 8.0 درجات - في بعض المناطق ، تم قطع الاتصال بالإنترنت بشكل كامل ، في حين أن الآلاف من الناس بحاجة إلى معرفة حالة أحبائهم. لبناء شبكة ، تحولت الحكومة ومُشغل الاتصالات المحلي تيفونيكا إلى Loon (مثل Google ، وهي جزء من Alphabet Holding) للمساعدة في توزيع الإنترنت باستخدام البالونات الخاصة بهم. إصلاح الطوارئ فشلت الإنترنت في غضون 48 ساعة.

الهزات الارتدادية وقعت صباح يوم الاحد ، وبعد تلقي طلب للحصول على مساعدة ، قام Loon على الفور بإعادة توجيه بالوناته من بورتوريكو إلى بيرو. لتحريكها ، كالعادة ، تم استخدام طاقة الرياح - يمكن أن ترتفع وتنخفض البالونات وتلتقط تدفقات الرياح في الاتجاه الذي تحتاج إلى التحرك فيه. استغرق الأمر يومين لتجاوز الأجهزة أكثر من 3000 كيلومتر.

شركة لون استعادة الإنترنت في بيرو

وانتشرت بالونات لون في جميع أنحاءأراضي الجزء الشمالي من بيرو - تم تزويد كل منها بمنطقة 4G على الإنترنت تبلغ مساحتها 5000 كيلومتر مربع. ارتبط بالون واحد فقط بالمحطة الأرضية التي قامت بإيصال وإرسال الإشارات إلى الأجهزة الأخرى. في السابق ، أظهرت الشركة فقط القدرة على نقل الإشارات بين سبعة بالونات ، ولكن هذه المرة وصل عددها إلى عشرة.

موقع البالونات لون في بيرو

كانت الشركة قادرة على تزويد بيرو مع الأساسيةطقم الاتصال: الرسائل القصيرة والبريد الإلكتروني والوصول إلى الإنترنت مع الحد الأدنى للسرعة. بعد الاتصال بالشبكة ، يمكن للمستخدمين الوصول فقط إلى المعلومات النصية - الإنترنت ليس مخصصًا لإجراء المكالمات. خلال الساعات الـ 48 الأولى ، استخدم حوالي 20 ألف شخص الإنترنت من بالونات لون.

في أي دول تعمل الإنترنت بالونات؟

في هذه اللحظة ، لون رسميًاتتعاون فقط مع مزود إنترنت لاسلكي واحد ، المزود الكيني Telkom Kenya. ومع ذلك ، بعد الطوارئ ، قد تكون Telefonica مهتمة أيضًا بالخدمات التجارية للشركة. كقاعدة عامة ، يستغرق نشر الإنترنت على البالونات الكثير من الوقت بسبب الحاجة إلى إنشاء بنية تحتية أرضية ، والاندماج في شبكة مشغل الاتصالات والحصول على إذن من السلطات التنظيمية. ولكن ، في حالة بيرو ، قد يستغرق الأمر وقتًا أقل.

تم إثبات صعوبة نشر شبكة Loonعام 2017 ، عندما حاولوا تأسيسه في بورتوريكو بعد إعصار ماريا. لم تسمح هيئة الاتصالات الفيدرالية بإجراء اتصالات الطوارئ إلا بعد ثلاثة أسابيع من بدء الخدمة - وفي النهاية ، زودت الشبكة 100،000 شخص بالإنترنت. وفقا للممثلين ، في حالات الطوارئ ، والاستعداد أكثر أهمية من سرعة رد الفعل.

من الجدير بالذكر أنه في الماضي ، كان Loon هو التقسيم المعتاد لشركة الأبحاث غوغل X. يمكنك أن تقرأ عن "المختبر X" السري في مادتنا.

ناقش هذا ، وغير ذلك من أخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، من خلال Telegram-chat. هناك يمكنك متابعة أحدث المواد من موقعنا!

Technology

Loon balloons provided 4G-internet destroyed after Peru earthquake

At the end of May 2019 in Peru occurreda devastating earthquake with a magnitude of 8.0 - in some regions the Internet was completely disconnected, while thousands of people needed to know about the condition of their loved ones. To build a network, the government and local telecom operator Tefónica turned to Loon (like Google, which is part of Alphabet Holding) for help to distribute the Internet using their own balloons. Emergency repair the Internet failed within 48 hours.

The aftershocks occurred on Sunday morning, andafter receiving a request for help, Loon immediately rerouted its balloons from Puerto Rico to Peru. To move them, as usual, wind power was used - balloons can rise and fall and catch wind streams in the direction in which they need to move. It took two days for the devices to overcome more than 3000 kilometers.

Loon company restored internet in Peru

Loon balloons have spread throughoutthe territory of the northern part of Peru - each of them provided with a 4G-Internet zone with an area of ​​5000 square kilometers. Only one balloon was associated with the ground station, which communicated and transmitted signals to other devices. Previously, the company demonstrated only the ability to transmit signals between seven balloons, but this time their number reached ten.

The location of the balloons Loon in Peru

The company was able to provide Peruvians with basiccommunication kit: SMS, email and internet access with minimal speed. Having connected to the network, users have access only to text information - the Internet is not intended for making calls. During the first 48 hours, around 20,000 people used the Internet from Loon balloons.

In which countries does the Internet work with balloons?

At the moment, Loon is officiallyonly cooperates with one wireless internet provider, the Kenyan provider Telkom Kenya. However, after an emergency, Telefonica may also be interested in the company's commercial services. As a rule, the deployment of the Internet on balloons takes quite a lot of time due to the need to establish ground infrastructure, integrate into the network of a telecom operator and obtain permission from regulatory authorities. But, in the case of Peru, it may take less time.

The difficulty of deploying a Loon network has been proven in2017, when they tried to establish it in Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria. The Federal Communications Commission only authorized emergency communications three weeks after the start of the service - eventually the network provided 100,000 people with Internet. According to representatives, in an emergency, preparedness is more important than the speed of reaction.

It is noteworthy that in the past, Loon was the usual division of research company Google X. You can read about the secret “laboratory X” in our material.

Discuss this, and other news of science and technology, can be in our Telegram-chat. There you can follow the latest materials from our site!