عام

أشعة الليزر تنشيط الغرائز القاتل في الفئران.

لقد اكتشف العلماء مفتاحًا ينشطفي الفئران ، الغرائز المفترسة. عندما يتم تحفيز بعض أجزاء من الدماغ القوارض مع الضوء ، تظهر الفئران مجموعة واسعة من مهارات الصيد. السلوك المفترس ، كل هذا "الاستيلاء" و "العض" ، الذي نعرفه ودراسته جيدًا ، يترك وراءه لغزًا: ليس من الواضح ما هي دارات المخ التي تشارك فيه.

وقد أظهرت الدراسات السابقة ذلكتم تنشيط اللوزة المركزية ، وهي منطقة على شكل لوز من الدماغ تشارك في إنتاج العواطف ، بما في ذلك الخوف ، عندما تم اصطياد الفئران. أراد العلماء معرفة ما إذا كانت اللوزة يمكنها التحكم في سلوك الصيد من تلقاء نفسها - وتقول دراسة نُشرت في الخلية في 12 يناير إن بإمكانها ذلك.

لتفعيل اللوزتين المركزيتين في الفئران إيفاناستخدم دي أروجو ، عالم الأعصاب في جامعة ييل في نيو هافن ، كونيتيكت ، وزملاؤه تقنية تسمى علم البصريات الوراثي. أولاً ، لقد أصابوا الفئران بفيروس جعل الخلايا العصبية في الدماغ حساسة للضوء الأزرق. ثم استخدم الباحثون ألياف ضوئية صغيرة لإلقاء اللوزة الزرقاء بالليزر الأزرق. هذا دفع الحيوانات إلى فتح فكيها وتوتر عضلات رقبتها. لم يظهر هذا السلوك عندما حفز العلماء أجزاء أخرى من الدماغ.

عندما تم تشغيل الليزر ، بحثت الفئران عن كل ذلككانوا في طريقهم ، من الصراصير الصالحة للأكل إلى أغطية زجاجات غير صالح للأكل. لاحظ الباحثون نفس النشاط تمامًا عندما قاموا بتنشيط اللوزة بمساعدة علم الوراثة الكيميائي ، وهي طريقة مماثلة لتحفيز الخلايا العصبية ذات الجزيئات بدلاً من الضوء. ظهر سلوك الصياد والتغذية حتى عندما لم يكن هناك شيء يصطادونه. عندما كانت الفئران في أقفاص فارغة أثناء تنشيط اللوزتين ، توقفوا عن فعل ما كانوا يقومون به ، ووضعوا أقدامهم الأمامية كما لو كانوا يحتجزون الطعام ويتحركون في أفواههم كما لو كانوا يمضغون.

الغذاء أو الأصدقاء

كل هذا لا يعني أن الباحثيناكتشف دارة عصبية من الفئران المتعطشة للدماء ، كما يقول دي أروجو. أول ما فكرنا فيه هو: ربما كان هذا مجرد عدوان معمم. أو يمكننا أن نجعل الفئران جائعة للغاية. "

لذلك ، قرر الفريق التحقق من ذلك. على الرغم من اصطياد الفئران المحفزة للضوء أكثر من سليمة ، إلا أن المجموعتين تناولتا نفس الكمية. ولا يزال بإمكان الفئران التي تعمل بالليزر رسم خط بين صديق والطعام. يقول دي أراوخو: "عندما كانوا مع فأرة مختلفة ، تصرفوا بفضول أكبر ، لكن لم تقع هجمات". لذلك ، فإن العلماء مقتنعون أخيرًا أن التجارب بدأت الافتراس ، وليس الجوع أو العدوان.

هذا مهم لأنهيقول كاي تاي ، عالم الأعصاب بمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في كامبريدج ، إن الافتراس سلوك معقد. "هذا ليس فيزيولوجيًا فحسب ، بل هو الصيد والعض والخروج والأكل. تتطلب هذه التتابعات الحركية الكثير من المعلومات ، لذلك من غير المعتاد أن يحدث هذا السلوك المعقد بمثل هذا التلاعب القاسي ".

افتح الباب

ذات مرة يعتقد العلماء أن الدور المركزيكان سلوك اللوزة محدودًا بالخوف. ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهرت الأبحاث الآن أن هذه المنطقة من الدماغ تشارك أيضًا في عدد من السلوكيات المعقدة ، مثل الخطوبة. يعتقد Ty أن الافتراس يمكن أن يكون أحد أمثلة السلوك الذي يكمن في اللوزة.

منذ اللوزه الوسطى وتشارك فيوتقول إن السلوك المختلف هو إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث لتحديد الدوائر العصبية الدقيقة التي تشارك في عملية البحث. "اللوزة المركزية كانت مرتبطة بالرحلة والطيران - لكن هذا شيء آخر." تشرح قائلة إن حيوان الصيد يبحث عن شيء ما كمكافأة.

يريد Ty أن يعرف مدى تقاطعهم.المخططات التي تتحكم في هذين السلوكين. إنها تعتقد أن اللوزة يمكن أن تكون بمثابة "بوابة" ، مما يعيق العديد من البرامج التي تعمل باستمرار في خلفية الدماغ. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فربما يكون دي أراوخو وزملاؤه قد فتحوا الباب الذي يبدأ منه المفترس.

General

Lasers activate killer instincts in mice.

Scientists have discovered a switch that activatesin mice, predatory instincts. When some parts of the rodent's brain are stimulated with light, mice demonstrate a wide range of hunting skills. Predatory behavior, all this “grabbing” and “biting”, which we know and study well, leaves behind a riddle: it is not clear which brain circuits are involved in it.

Previous studies have shown thatthe central amygdala, the almond-shaped region of the brain involved in the production of emotions, including fear, was activated when rats were hunted. Scientists wanted to find out if the amygdala can control hunting behavior on its own - and a study published in Cell on January 12 says that it can.

To activate the central tonsil in mice Ivande Araoujo, a neuroscientist at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, and his colleagues used a technique called optogenetics. First, they infected the mice with a virus that made the neurons of the brain sensitive to blue light. The researchers then used a tiny optical fiber to illuminate the amygdala with a blue laser. This prompted the animals to open their jaws and strain their neck muscles. This behavior did not appear when scientists stimulated other parts of the brain.

When the laser was turned on, the mice hunted for all thathad them in the way, from edible crickets to inedible bottle caps. The researchers observed exactly the same activity when they activated the amygdala with the help of chemogenetics, a similar method of stimulating neurons with molecules rather than light. The behavior of the hunter and feeding appeared even when there was nothing to hunt. When the mice were in empty cages during the activation of their tonsils, they stopped doing what they were doing, positioning their forelimbs as if they were holding food and moving their mouth as if chewing.

Food or friends

All this does not mean that researchersdiscovered a neural circuit of insatiable, bloodthirsty mice, says de Araoujo. “The first thing we thought about was: perhaps this is only generalized aggression. Or we could make mice very hungry. ”

Therefore, the team decided to check it out. Although light-stimulated mice hunted more than intact, both groups ate the same amount. And laser-activated mice could still draw the line between a friend and food. “When they were with a different mouse, they behaved more curiously, but there were no attacks,” says de Araoujo. Therefore, scientists finally convinced that the experiments launched predation, and not hunger or aggression.

This is important becausepredation is a complex behavior, says Kay Thai, a neuroscientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge. “This is not only physiological, it is hunting, biting, letting go and eating. These motor sequences require a lot of information, so it is unusual that such complex behavior can be triggered with such rough manipulation. ”

open the door

Once upon a time scientists believed that the central roleamygdala behavior was limited by fear. However, now research has shown that this area of ​​the brain is also involved in a number of complex behaviors, such as courtship. Ty believes that predation can be one of the examples of behavior that lies on the amygdala.

Since the central tonsil is involved in thedifferent behavior, she says, further research is to identify the exact neural circuits involved in the hunt. "The central amygdala was associated with flight and flight — but that is another thing." The hunting animal is looking for something as a reward, she explains.

Ty wants to know how strongly they intersect.schemes that control these two behaviors. She believes that the amygdala can act as a "gate", holding back many programs that are constantly running in the background of the brain. If so, then de Araoujo and his colleagues may have opened the door from which the predator begins.