الفضاء

كيف "البرية" يجب أن نترك النظام الشمسي؟

الكون كبير ، كما قال كاتب مشهور.دوغلاس آدمز. بالمقارنة مع حدود كوكبنا ، فإن مساحة النظام الشمسي كبيرة بشكل سخيف. فكرة أننا يمكن أن تستنزف احتياطياتها الهائلة تبدو سخيفة تقريبا. تطرق الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة أمازون جيف بيزوس إلى هذا الموضوع يوم 9 مايو خلال عرض تقديمي عن القمر الأزرق ، وحدة الهبوط على سطح القمر لشركته الفضائية. وقال الملياردير "إذا ذهبنا إلى النظام الشمسي ، فسوف نحصل على موارد غير محدودة لجميع الأغراض العملية".

كم عدد الموارد في النظام الشمسي؟

وحتى الآن ، واحدة من أحدث الأبحاثيوضح أنه بمعدلات النمو الحالية ، يمكن للبشرية أن تستنفذ عمليا معظم الثروة المتوفرة في منطقتنا النجمية في أقل من خمسة قرون. من أجل الحيلولة دون حدوث أزمة كونية بين الكواكب ، يشير مؤلفو الدراسة المشاركون إلى أن حضارتنا يجب أن تطور بطريقة أو بأخرى ممارسات مستقرة لاستكشاف الفضاء ، وتسليط الضوء من الناحية النظرية على أكثر من سبعة أثمان نظام النجوم لدينا باعتبارها "منطقة محمية". تم نشر نتائج أعمالهم في مجلة Acta Astronautica.

شارك في تأليف الباحث مارتن إلفيس ، عالم منتساءل مركز الفيزياء الفلكية في جامعة هارفارد ومعهد سميثسونيان قبل بضع سنوات عن مقدار الموارد المعدنية التي يمكن استخراجها من حزام الكويكبات بين كوكب المشتري والمريخ. على الرغم من صعوبة الوصول إلى الكويكبات ، إلا أنها تبدو في كثير من النواحي مصادر مثالية للحديد والمعادن الثقيلة الأخرى ، حيث تحتوي العبوات الصغيرة سهلة التعدين من الأحجار الكونية على كميات كبيرة إلى حد ما من الخام. تشير تقديرات إلفيس إلى أن هذا الحزام يحتوي على احتياطي من الحديد يزيد بمقدار مليون مرة عما هو متاح على الأرض.

والسؤال الوحيد هو كم من الوقت سيستغرق استخدام كل هذه الثروة. "كنت آمل أن تكون الإجابة حوالي 10000 عام. يقول إلفيس:

المشكلة هي النمو الأسي. كما لو كان في عدد السكان من الأرانب الوفيرة ، ارتفع معدل الاستهلاك البشري بسرعة عدة مرات على مدى فترات زمنية قصيرة. على افتراض أن اقتصاد الفضاء سيحافظ على معدل نمو سنوي قدره 3.5 في المائة - مماثلاً لزيادة استخدام الحديد بعد الثورة الصناعية - يمكن افتراض أن ثُمن موارد حزام الكويكبات سوف تستنفد في أربعة قرون.

الجزء الثامن قد لا يبدو كذلككبيرة ، لكن إلفيس وزميله توني ميليجان يعتبران هذه نقطة تحول. بعد التغلب على هذه العتبة ، سوف تتضاعف احتياجات البشر المحتملة للمعادن كل 20 عامًا. وهذا يعني أنه سيتم استخدام الاحتياطي بالكامل في حزام الكويكبات في الربع الأول ، ثم النصف ، ثم في العقود الستة المقبلة فقط.

بالطبع ، مفهوم التوسع غير المنضبطكانت تستخدم من قبل ، بمساعدة من أبناء الأرض ، وقد وعدت ثروة هائلة في المستقبل ، من وقت توماس روبرت مالتوس. في عام 1894 ، تشير توقعات تستند إلى عدد الخيول اللازمة لنقل سكان لندن خلال خمسة عقود إلى أن كل شارع في المدينة سيتم دفنه في نهاية المطاف تحت تسعة أرطال من السماد. ومع ذلك ، فإن ظهور السيارات جعلت هذه التوقعات القاتمة مثيرة للجدل.

إلفيس وميليغان غير مهتمينتصبح رواد الحديث من الكوارث Malthusian. ولكن حتى لو كانت التنبؤات القائمة على مؤشر الأس أس ساذجة ، فإن الحجة الأوسع للعلماء هي أن الموارد الموجودة في السطر الأخير ، كما هو الحال في أماكن أخرى ، لها حدودها. يشير ميليجان إلى أن المساحة الواسعة والثروة في قارة أمريكا الشمالية بدت غير مستنفدة لشعوب القرن التاسع عشر.

يقول: "لقد شاهدنا هذا الفيلم ، ولم نرغب في النهائي". "في البداية ، يبدو كل شيء كبيرًا ، لكن بعد فترة قصيرة ، لم يكن حجمه كبيرًا."

يقول العلماء أنه إذا تم الوصول إلى الحد الأقصىثامناً ، ستكون محاولة إعادة توجيه اقتصاد أكبر بملايين المرات من الاقتصاد الدنيوي الحالي ، لنحو نصف قرن ، صعبة للغاية - لا سيما إذا كانت الشركات وغيرها من أصحاب المصلحة في الشركات تجني أرباحاً هائلة. قد يكون النهج الأكثر منطقية هو تجنب الوصول إلى هذه النقطة ، وربما إعلان الغالبية العظمى من النظام الشمسي لا يمكن الوصول إليها منذ البداية.

يمكن إعادة تدوير المواد تمديد الوقتضروري لاستنفاد الثروة المعدنية للنظام الشمسي ، لكنه لا يمكن أن يستمر إلى الأبد. في كلمته ، خصص بيزوس تريليونات من الأشخاص الذين يعيشون ويعملون في محطات فضائية عملاقة - O'Neal الموائل. عند إضافة المعدن إلى هذه الهياكل ، ستحتج أطقم هذه البؤر الاستيطانية على أي محاولات لتفكيك منازلهم بحثًا عن الخردة.

تجسيد للمبدأ المقترح من قبل العلماء فيالتدابير العملية لا تزال قيد التطوير. أولاً ، حسب إلفيس ، نحتاج إلى إجراء تقييم دقيق لعدد الموارد المفيدة التي يحتويها النظام الشمسي. هل من الضروري أن تأخذ في الاعتبار المساحة الكلية للمريخ والقمر؟ ماذا عن احتياطيات الغاز الضخمة (أو النوى الغنية بالمعادن) في عوالم مثل كوكب المشتري ونبتون؟ ربما تكون الأماكن ذات الروعة الطبيعية الرائعة أو العلوم المثيرة للاهتمام ، مثل وادي Valles Marineris العملاق على المريخ ، مغلقة دائمًا. وبالمثل ، سيكون من العار النظر في احتياطيات الجليد المائي في حلقات زحل الجميلة المفتوحة للاستكشاف.

اتقان حلقات زحل؟

يريد إلفيس وميليغان أن تكون أفكارهمامفاضلات مرنة وشاملة. إذا لم تتوج خطط الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة SpaceX Ilona Mask لجلب المستوطنين إلى المريخ بالنجاح ، فربما يوافق المستوطنون الأوائل على عدم لمس معظم العالم. ولكن إذا كانت هذه المستعمرة لا تزال مبنية ، فسيتعين على السكان التقاط أكثر من ثُمن الكوكب. ربما تحصل نسبة كبيرة من حزام الكويكبات - أو بعض الممتلكات الأخرى المرغوبة والقيمة للنظام الشمسي - على حالة محمية.

يجب أن يكون الاقتصاديون أول من ينضم إلى النقاش.والسياسيين. يجادل خبراء من المجتمع المغلق لرحلة الفضاء حول موضوع نتائج العلماء. يقول البعض إنه من المبكر للغاية مناقشته.

في أي حال ، فإن مبادئ جيل واحد ليست كذلكيتصورها دائمًا أشخاص من الجيل التالي ، وحتى إذا قال ميليغان إنه سيفاجأ إذا عاش الناس لقرن أو قرنين وفقًا للمعتقدات الحديثة. في الوقت نفسه ، تم نشر العديد من المشاريع العظيمة في تاريخ البشرية عبر أجيال عديدة.

لقد حان الوقت للبدء في التفكير في كيفية ذلكتقديم نتيجة عادلة لأولئك الذين سيعيشون من بعدنا. هذا منطقي. في رؤيته المتفائلة ، جادل بيزوس بأن وعد الثروة القريبة من النظام الشمسي سيوفر لنا مستقبلًا أكثر إشراقًا من الركود الذي يحدث إذا ظللنا مرتبطين بأرضنا المحدودة. لكن بيزوس قد يكون خطأ. لأنه حتى في اللانهاية نحتاج إلى ممارسة ضبط النفس.

هل توافق اكتشفت؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Space

How “wild” should we leave the solar system?

Cosmos is big, as a famous writer put it.Douglas Adams. Compared to the boundaries of our own planet, the space of the solar system is absurdly large. The idea that we can deplete her enormous reserves seems almost ridiculous. Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos touched on this topic on May 9 during a presentation on Blue Moon, the lunar landing module of his space company. “If we go to the solar system, we will get unlimited resources for all practical purposes,” said the billionaire.

How many resources in the solar system?

And yet, one of the latest researchshows that at current growth rates, humanity can practically exhaust most of the available wealth in our stellar region in less than five centuries. In order to prevent an interplanetary cosmic crisis, the study's co-authors suggest that our civilization must somehow develop stable space exploration practices, in theory highlighting more than seven-eighths of our star system as a “reserve zone”. The results of their work were published in the journal Acta Astronautica.

Research co-author Martin Elvis, a scientist fromThe Center for Astrophysics at Harvard University and the Smithsonian Institution a few years ago wondered how much metallic resources could be extracted from the asteroid belt between Jupiter and Mars. Although asteroids are difficult to access, in many other respects they seem to be ideal sources of iron and other heavy metals, since small, easily mined packages of cosmic stones contain fairly large amounts of ore. Elvis estimates that this belt contains a million times more reserves of iron than is available on Earth.

The only question is how long it will take to use all this wealth. “I was hoping that the answer would be something like 10,000 years. Turned out to be 400, ”says Elvis.

The problem is exponential growth. As if in a population of prolific rabbits, the rate of human consumption quickly increased many times over short periods of time. Assuming that the space economy will maintain an annual growth rate of 3.5 percent — analogous to an increase in iron use after the industrial revolution — we can assume that one-eighth of the asteroid belt resources will be depleted in four centuries.

The eighth part may not seem sobig, but Elvis and his colleague Tony Milligan consider this a turning point. After overcoming this threshold, the potentially insatiable needs of mankind in metals will double every 20 years. This means that first a quarter, then half, and finally, the entire reserve in the asteroid belt will be used - in just the next six decades.

Of course, the concept of uncontrolled expansionused before, with its help, earthlings were promised tremendous wealth in the future, from the time of Thomas Robert Malthus. In 1894, a forecast based on the number of horses needed to move the population of London in five decades suggested that every street in the city would end up buried under nine pounds of manure. However, the advent of cars has made this gloomy forecast controversial.

Elvis and Milligan are not interested inbecome modern forerunners of Malthusian catastrophes. But even if the predictions based on the exponential index will be naive, the wider argument of the scientists is that the resources at the last line, as elsewhere, have their limitations. Milligan points out that the vast territory and wealth of the North American continent also seemed inexhaustible to the people of the 19th century.

“We saw this film, and we didn’t like the final,” he says. "At first, everything seems big, but after a while it turns out to be not so big."

Scientists say that if the limit is reachedone eighth, an attempt to reorient an economy that is millions of times larger than the current Earthly one, for some half a century, will be extremely difficult - especially if corporations and other corporate stakeholders shovel huge profits. A more sensible approach would be to avoid reaching this point, perhaps proclaiming the vast majority of the solar system to be inaccessible from the outset.

Recycling materials can extend the timenecessary to exhaust the metallic wealth of the solar system, but it cannot last forever. In his speech, Bezos designated trillions of people living and working on giant rotating space stations - O’Neal habitat. As the metal is added to these structures, the crews of these outposts will protest against any attempts to dismantle their homes for scrap.

The embodiment of the principle proposed by scientists inpractical measures are still under development. First of all, says Elvis, we need to accurately assess how many useful resources the solar system contains. Is it necessary to take into account the total surface area of ​​Mars and the Moon? What about the huge gas reserves (or metal-rich nuclei) of worlds like Jupiter and Neptune? Perhaps places with great natural splendor or interesting science, such as the giant Valles Marineris canyon on Mars, will always be closed. Similarly, it would be a shame to consider the reserves of water ice in the beautiful rings of Saturn open to exploration.

Mastering the rings of Saturn?

Elvis and Milligan want their ideas to beflexible and included tradeoffs. If the plans of SpaceX CEO Ilona Mask to bring the settlers to Mars are not crowned with success, perhaps the first settlers would agree not to touch most of this world. But if the colony is still built, residents will have to capture more than one-eighth of the planet. Perhaps a large proportion of the asteroid belt - or some other, more desirable and valuable property of the solar system - could gain protected status.

Economists should be the first to join the debate.and politicians. Experts from the closed society of space flight also argue on the topic of the findings of scientists. Some say it’s too early to discuss it.

In any case, the principles of one generation are notalways perceived by people from the next generation, and even if Milligan says he would be surprised if people lived for a century or two in accordance with modern beliefs. At the same time, many great projects in the history of mankind have been spread over many generations.

Now is the time to start thinking about howprovide a fair outcome for those who will live after us. That makes sense. In his optimistic vision, Bezos argued that the promise of the near-bottom wealth of the solar system would provide us with a brighter future than the stagnation that comes if we remain attached to our limited Earth. But Bezos could be wrong. Because even in infinity we need to practice self-control.

Do you agree? Learned? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.