عام

كيف أثر الخيال العلمي و Star Trek على جيف بيزوس

جيف بيزوس هو معجب منذ فترة طويلة ومحبو العلمالخيال. عندما كان طفلاً ، قضى مؤسس شركة Amazon الصيف في قراءة Azimov و Heinlein. كما أنه معجب قوي بـ Star Trek. قال ذلك كريستيان دافنبورت ، الذي تحدث مع بيزوس.

"سمى كلبه كمال بعد واحد منشخصيات ، وأحد شركاته القابضة هي Zefram LLC ، التي سميت باسم شخصية Star Trek التي ابتكرت محرك الاعوجاج. حتى قام ببطولة فيلم النقش في أحد أفلام Star Trek.

ما الذي يلهم جيف بيزوس ، مؤسس موقع أمازون

لعب الخيال العلمي أيضًا دورًا في الإبداعBlue Origin ، شركة الصواريخ التي أسسها بيزوس في عام 2000. في العام السابق ، شاهد بيزوس فيلم أكتوبر سكاي عن مهندس ناسا هومر هيكام مع كاتب الخيال العلمي نيل ستيفنسون. بعد ذلك ناقشوا الفيلم.

"أخبر جيف نيل ستيفنسون: يقول دافنبورت: "كنت أرغب دائمًا في تأسيس شركة صواريخ ، لقد كان دائمًا حلمًا لي". "وأجاب نيل ستيفنسون: تفعل ذلك. افعلها اليوم ". بعد فترة وجيزة ، حدث كل شيء.

على الرغم من جدولها الضيق ، لا يزال بيزوسيجد الوقت لقراءة خيال علمي جديد من مؤلفين مثل أليستر رينولدز وإرنست كلاين وآندي وير. يقول دافنبورت: "لدي شعور بأن هذا مهم بالنسبة له ، إنه يغذي رأيه بطريقة أو بأخرى". "لذا فهو يحاول بالتأكيد مواكبة ذلك."

بدأ بيزوس أيضًا في اكتساب المزيد من العلومالخيال لتدفق خدمة الأمازون. روايات إيان بانكس ، ولاري نيفين ، ونيل ستيفنسون في طور الإعداد ، وفي الربيع الماضي ، تم إنقاذ أمازون بواسطة "الفضاء" بعد أن ألغتها Syfy.

"جيف لا يريد فقط النجاح في الفضاءيقول دافنبورت: "لصنع صواريخ قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام ، ولكن أيضًا لإحياء الاهتمام بالفضاء". "وأعتقد أن إنقاذ Expanse كان طريقة رائعة للقيام بذلك."

يقول دافنبورت "هذا ما لاحظته"مجتمع الاستثمار أصبح مهتما بشكل متزايد في الفضاء. أعتقد أنه في مرحلة مبكرة ، كان مستثمرو الفضاء من عشاق الفضاء ، وكانوا متحمسين ، وكانوا أكثر اهتمامًا بالحلم من ربحية الاستثمارات. لكن الآن نرى المزيد والمزيد من اللاعبين يدخلون هذا. استثمرت Google و Fidelity SpaceX مليار دولار. شركات مثل مورغان ستانلي تحدثت عن هذا. لقد اعتادوا أن يقولوا "إن أسرع طريقة لتصبح مليونيرا في الفضاء هي أن تبدأ الملياردير" ، لكن اليوم ، في اعتقادي ، بدأ الناس يعتقدون أنه يمكنك حقًا كسب المال في الفضاء.

يمكن الاطلاع على أحدث الأخبار من مجال استكشاف الفضاء ، والتي لن تجدها على الموقع ، هنا في Zen.

General

How science fiction and Star Trek influenced Jeff Bezos

Jeff Bezos is a longtime fan and fan of scientificfiction. As a child, the founder of Amazon spent the summer reading Azimov and Heinlein. And he is also a hardcore fan of Star Trek. This was told by Christian Davenport, who spoke with Bezos.

"He named his dog Kamal after one ofcharacters, and one of his holding companies is Zefram LLC, named after the Star Trek character who created the warp engine. He even starred in a cameo in one of the Star Trek movies.

What inspires Jeff Bezos, founder of Amazon

Science fiction also played a role in creatingBlue Origin, a rocket company that Bezos founded in 2000. The year before, Bezos watched the October Sky film about NASA engineer Homer Hickam with science fiction writer Neal Stevenson. After that, they discussed the film.

“Jeff told Neil Stephenson: I always wanted to start a rocket company, it has always been a dream of mine, ”says Davenport. “And Neil Stevenson replied: do it. Do it today. ” Soon after, it all happened.

Despite its tight schedule, Bezos is stillfinds time to read new science fiction from authors such as Alastair Reynolds, Ernest Klein and Andy Weir. “I have a feeling that this is important to him, it somehow feeds his mind,” says Davenport. "So he is definitely trying to keep up."

Bezos also began to acquire more scientificfiction for streaming service Amazon. The novels of Ian Banks, Larry Niven, and Neal Stevenson are in the pipeline, and last spring, Amazon was saved by the "Space" after Syfy canceled it.

"Jeff doesn't just want to succeed in space“To make reusable rockets, but also to revive interest in space,” says Davenport. "And I thought that saving The Expanse was a great way to do it."

“What I noticed,” says Davenport, “is thatthe investment community is becoming increasingly interested in space. I think that at an early stage, space investors were space fans, they were enthusiasts, they were more interested in the dream than the profitability of investments. But now we are seeing more and more players entering this. Google and Fidelity have invested SpaceX billion dollars. Companies like Morgan Stanley talked about this. They used to say that "the fastest way to become a millionaire in space is to start a billionaire," but today, I think, people are starting to believe that you can really make money in space.

The latest news from the field of space exploration, which you will not find on the site, can be found here in Zen.