عام

كيف بسرعة استعادة الحياة بعد انقراض جماعي؟

سوف يستغرق ما لا يقل عن 10 مليون سنةمن أجل التعافي الكامل للحياة من الانقراض الجماعي ، فإن هذا القيد يضع الطبيعة على استعادة تنوع الأنواع. في محاولة لشرح هذه القاعدة ، يجذب الكثير منها العوامل البيئية. لكن دراسة أجراها باحثون في جامعة تكساس في أوستن تربط هذا التأخير بشيء آخر: التطور.

بطء التئام الجروح

الحد من معدل الاسترداد لوحظعبر تاريخ الحفريات: من الانقراض الكبير الذي دمر حياة المحيط بأكملها منذ 252 مليون عام تقريبًا ، إلى التأثير القوي للكويكب الذي قتل جميع الديناصورات غير الطيور. تركز الدراسة ، التي نشرت في 8 أبريل في مجلة Nature Ecology & Evolution ، على المثال الأخير. يروي كيف تم استعادة الحياة بعد انقراض آخر كتلة على الأرض ، والتي قضت على الديناصورات قبل 66 مليون سنة. تأثير الكويكب ، الذي تسبب في الانقراض ، هو الحدث الوحيد في تاريخ الأرض الذي أدى إلى تغيرات عالمية أسرع من تغير المناخ الحالي ، لذلك ذكر المؤلفون أن الدراسة يمكن أن توفر معلومات مهمة حول التعافي من أحداث الانقراض الحالية التي كان الإنسان مسؤولاً عنها.

فكرة أن التطور يمكن أن يكون السببتم اقتراح قيود على سرعة استرداد تنوع الأنواع بعد الانقراض - أي مقدار ما تحتاجه الأنواع الباقية على قيد الحياة لاستنباط الصفات التي تساعدها على ملء منافذ بيئية مفتوحة أو إنشاء أنواع جديدة - تم اقتراحها منذ 20 عامًا. ولكن الآن يقول العلماء أنهم وجدوا أدلة لأول مرة.

كان الفريق يتعقب التعافي مع مرور الوقت.الوقت باستخدام الحفريات من نوع من العوالق تسمى foraminifera. قارن العلماء بين تنوع المنخربات وتعقيداتها الجسدية. ووجدوا أن التعقيد الكلي تم استعادته بشكل أسرع من عدد الأنواع. يوحي هذا الاكتشاف أن هناك حاجة إلى مستوى معين من التعقيد البيئي قبل بدء التنويع.

بمعنى آخر ، الانقراض الجماعي تدمرمستودع الابتكارات التطورية للماضي. يرتبط الحد الأقصى للسرعة بالوقت الذي يستغرقه إنشاء قائمة جرد جديدة للسمات التي يمكن أن تنتج أنواعًا جديدة بسرعة مماثلة لتلك التي قبل الانقراض.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي كريستوفر لوري إن العلاقة الوثيقة بين تعقيد المورمينيفيرا والحد الأقصى للسرعة في الانتعاش تشير إلى التطور كعنصر تحكم في السرعة.

أظهرت دراسات سابقة أن استعادة الحياة تستغرق ملايين السنين ، على الرغم من حقيقة أن العديد من المناطق أصبحت مأهولة مرة أخرى بعد وقت قصير من انقراض الكتلة الأخير.

اتضح أنه على الرغم من تدمير الكويكبتنوع foraminifera بشكل عام ، الأنواع التي نجت ، عادت بسرعة لملء المنافذ الموجودة. ولكن بعد هذا الانتعاش الأولي ، كان من المفترض أن تنتظر المزيد من القفزات في تنوع الأنواع تطور سمات جديدة. كما تنبأ بحد أقصى للسرعة ، بعد انقراض 10 ملايين بعد الانقراض ، عاد التنوع الكلي للفورمينيفيرا إلى المستويات قبل الانقراض. تتواجد الرواسب الأحفورية وفيرة في رواسب المحيطات حول العالم ، مما يسمح للعلماء بمراقبة تنوع الأنواع عن كثب دون وجود فجوات كبيرة في الوقت المناسب.

ربما ستساعدنا هذه الدراسةخطة عمل في حالة الانقراض الحديث الذي يحدث بالفعل - بسبب تغير المناخ ، وفقدان الموائل ، والأنواع الغازية وعوامل أخرى.

هل تشعر بالأسف على الديناصورات؟ أخبرنا في الدردشة في Telegram.

General

How quickly life is restored after a mass extinction?

It will take at least 10 million yearsin order for life to fully recover from mass extinction, it is such a restriction that nature places on the restoration of species diversity. Trying to explain this rule, many attract environmental factors. But a study by researchers at the University of Texas at Austin links this delay with something else: evolution.

Slow wound healing

Recovery rate limit observedthroughout the history of the fossils: from the Great Extinction that destroyed almost the entire ocean life 252 million years ago, to the powerful impact of an asteroid that killed all non-bird dinosaurs. The study, published April 8 in the journal Nature Ecology & Evolution, focuses on the latter example. It tells how life was restored after the last mass extinction on Earth, which wiped out dinosaurs 66 million years ago. The impact of the asteroid, which caused extinction, is the only event in the history of the Earth that led to global changes faster than current climate change, so the authors stated that the study can provide important information about the recovery from current extinction events that people have caused.

The idea that evolution could be the causeLimitations on the speed of recovery of species diversity after extinction — that is, how much a surviving species needs to deduce traits that help it fill open ecological niches or create new ones — was proposed 20 years ago. But now scientists say they have found evidence for the first time.

The team has been tracking recovery over time.time using fossils from a type of plankton called foraminifera. Scientists have compared the diversity of foraminifera with their physical complexity. And they found that the overall complexity was restored faster than the number of species. This discovery suggests that a certain level of environmental complexity is needed before diversification begins.

In other words, mass extinctions destroyrepository of evolutionary innovations of the past. The speed limit is associated with the time it takes to create a new inventory of traits that can produce new species at a speed comparable to that before extinction.

Lead author Christopher Lowry says that the close connection between the complexity of foraminifera and the speed limit of recovery indicates evolution as a speed control.

Earlier studies have shown that the restoration of life takes millions of years, despite the fact that many areas again became inhabited soon after the last mass extinction.

It turned out that although the asteroid destroyedthe variety of foraminifera in general, the species that survived, quickly returned to fill the existing niches. But after this initial recovery, further leaps in species diversity should have awaited the development of new traits. As predicted by the speed limit, 10 million after extinction, the total diversity of foraminifera returned to levels before extinction. Fossil foraminifera are abundant in ocean sediments around the world, which allows scientists to closely monitor species diversity without large gaps in time.

Perhaps this study will help us makea plan of action in the event of a modern extinction that is already happening - due to climate change, habitat loss, invasive species and other factors.

Do you feel sorry for dinosaurs? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.