بحث

كيف يؤثر الهواء الملوث على الدماغ

وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية ،تلوث الهواء من حولنا يسبب أكثر من 4 ملايين حالة وفاة مبكرة كل عام. أدخنة العادم البسيطة والمألوفة إلى حد كبير (خاصة بالنسبة للمدن الكبيرة) وجزيئات الغبار المجهرية وغيرها من العوامل الملوثة تؤثر سلبًا على صحتنا. ولكن كيف تؤثر على الدماغ؟ في الآونة الأخيرة ، تمكنت مجموعة من العلماء من جامعة ماريلاند من اكتشاف ذلك.

لماذا يؤثر الهواء الملوث على الدماغ

مكونات الهواء الملوثهي خليط من الجزيئات ، لا يتجاوز حجم كل منها 2.5 ميكرومتر في القطر. بمجرد دخول الرئتين ، تستقر هذه الجسيمات بشكل أساسي هناك ، لكنها صغيرة جدًا بحيث يمكنها اختراق مجرى الدم وانتشارها بفضل نظام متطور من الأوعية الدموية في جميع أعضاءنا وأنسجتنا. كما تعلمون ، يتم تحديث جميع الخلايا في الجسم تقريبًا باستمرار ، وبالتالي فإن التأثير على معظم الأعضاء يتم تسويته إلى حد ما.

بمجرد استنشاق الهواء الملوث ، أنتيقول أحد مؤلفي الدراسة ، الدكتور ديفون باين ستورجيس ، إنه يعرض نفسك للخطر. جزيئات الملوثات صغيرة بما يكفي لعبور حاجز الدم في الدماغ بحرية (ملاحظة افتتاحية - هذا حاجز يمنع البكتيريا والسموم من دخول المخ). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، عند استنشاق الأنف ، يمكن لجزيئات صغيرة الدخول إلى المخ من خلال العصب الشمي في تجويف الأنف.

لكن في المخ يوجد نظام "للتطهير منالتلوث. " هذه هي الخلايا المناعية للجهاز العصبي تسمى الخلايا الدبقية الصغيرة. تمتص الخلايا الدبقية الصغيرة الجزيئات الضارة ، ومن ثم "تعطلها". ومع ذلك ، الخلايا الدبقية الصغيرة لا يمكن إزالة جميع الجزيئات. ومع مرور الوقت ، تتراكم في الدماغ. يمكن أن تسبب هذه الجسيمات التهابًا في المستقبل ، مما قد يؤدي إلى اضطرابات خطيرة في الدماغ. علاوة على ذلك ، نظرًا لأننا نتعرض للهواء الملوث منذ الطفولة المبكرة ، يمكن تسجيل بعض مظاهر هذه العمليات بالفعل في الأطفال.

كيف يؤثر الهواء الملوث على الأطفال

في دراسة حديثة ، قام فريق من العلماءبحثت كيف يمكن أن تؤثر آثار تلوث الهواء على نمو المخ والصحة العقلية للأطفال. قام الخبراء بتحليل 145 عملية تصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للأطفال الذين يبلغون من العمر 12 عامًا واستخدموا عناوينهم السكنية لتقييم مقدار إقامتهم في منطقة بها هواء ملوث. كما أخذ الباحثون في الاعتبار العوامل الديموغرافية والعرقية وغيرها من العوامل من أجل التأكد من عدم ارتباط هذه الأشياء بالظواهر المدروسة.

اقرأ أيضا: نشأت آثار جانبية خطيرة في السيطرة على تلوث الهواء في الصين

نتيجة لذلك ، اتضح أن هناك مباشرةالعلاقة بين التعرض للهواء الملوث وأعراض اضطرابات القلق. كان الأطفال الذين يعيشون في المناطق ذات الهواء الملوث أكثر عرضةً لأعراض اضطراب القلق العام. علاوة على ذلك ، كان لدى هؤلاء الأطفال تركيز متزايد لمادة تدعى myo-inositol في منطقة الدماغ المسؤولة عن الحالة العاطفية. عادة ، هذه المادة موجودة في أجسامنا في كمية صغيرة ، ويعزو بعض الخبراء الزيادة في تركيزه إلى تطوير اضطرابات القلق وضعف الوظائف الإدراكية.

يمكنك العثور على مزيد من المعلومات المثيرة للاهتمام في قناة أخبارنا في Telegram.

Research

How polluted air affects the brain

According to the World Health Organization,Air pollution around us causes more than 4 million premature deaths each year. Minor and largely familiar (especially for large cities) exhaust fumes, microscopic dust particles and other polluting agents undoubtedly negatively affect our health. But how do they affect the brain? More recently, a group of scientists from the University of Maryland managed to find out.

Why polluted air affects the brain

Components of polluted airare a mixture of particles, each of which in size does not exceed 2.5 micrometers in diameter. Once in the lungs, these particles mainly settle there, but they are so small that they can penetrate the bloodstream and spread thanks to a developed system of blood vessels in all our organs and tissues. As you know, almost all the cells in our body are constantly being updated, so the effect on most organs is leveled to some extent.

As soon as you inhale polluted air, youendanger yourself, says one of the study's authors, Dr. Devon Payne-Sturges. Contaminant particles are small enough to freely cross the blood-brain barrier (editorial note - this is a barrier that prevents bacteria and toxins from entering the brain). In addition, when inhaled through the nose, small particles can enter the brain through the olfactory nerve in the nasal cavity.

But in the brain there is a system for “cleansing frompollution. " These are immune cells of the nervous system called microglia. Microglia cells absorb harmful particles, thereby “deactivating” them. However, microglia cannot remove all particles. And over time, they accumulate in the brain. These particles can cause inflammation in the future, which can lead to serious brain disorders. Moreover, since we are exposed to polluted air from early childhood, some manifestations of these processes can be recorded already in children.

How polluted air affects children

In a recent study, a team of scientistsexamined how the effects of air pollution can affect the developing brain and mental health of children. Experts analyzed 145 MRI scans of 12-year-old children and used their residential addresses to assess how much they live in an area with polluted air. Researchers also took into account demographic, racial and other factors in order to make sure that such things are not related to the phenomena studied.

Read also: Dangerous side effect arose in China's air pollution control

As a result, it turned out that there is a directrelationship between exposure to polluted air and symptoms of anxiety disorders. Children living in areas with more polluted air were more likely to have symptoms of generalized anxiety disorder. Moreover, these children had an increased concentration of a substance called myo-inositol in the area of ​​the brain that is responsible for the emotional state. Normally, this substance is present in our body in a small amount, and some experts attribute the increase in its concentration to the development of anxiety disorders and impaired cognitive functions.

You can find even more interesting information in our news channel in Telegram.