الفضاء

سيكون "محرك هالو" قادرًا على تسريع المركبة الفضائية تقريبًا بسرعة الضوء

مرة أخرى في عام 2016 ، عالم الفيزياء ستيفن هوكينغ والمليارديركشف يوري ميلنر عن خطة للسفر إلى النجوم. مشروع ما يسمى Breakthrough Starshot هو برنامج قيمته 100 مليون دولار لتطوير وإظهار التقنيات اللازمة لزيارة أقرب نظام نجوم. الأهداف المحتملة تشمل Proxima Centauri ، وهو نظام يقع على بعد حوالي أربع سنوات ضوئية ، مع العديد من الكواكب الخارجية ، أحدها يشبه الأرض.

مشروع اختراق نجوم

كانت خطة هوكينج وميلنر هي:قم ببناء آلاف المركبات الفضائية الصغيرة الحجم التي تستخدم الرقاقة الدقيقة واستخدام الضوء لتسريعها إلى السرعة النسبية - أي بالقرب من سرعة الضوء. يزيد الأسطول الكبير من فرص وصول واحد منهم على الأقل بأمان. يتم إرفاق كل "رقاقة نجوم" بإبحار خفيف بحجم ملعب تنس الريشة ، ثم يتم تشعيعه بأشعة الليزر القوية للغاية القائمة على الأرض.

حركة الليزر لديها العديد من المزايا. الشيء الأكثر أهمية هو أن المركبة الفضائية لا تحتاج إلى أي وقود ، وبالتالي يجب ألا تأخذ وزنًا إضافيًا معها. أيضًا ، بمساعدة تسارع الشراع الضوئي ، يمكنك تسريع السفينة حتى 20٪ من سرعة الضوء. في هذا السيناريو ، سيصل الأسطول إلى Proxima Centauri في أقل من 30 عامًا.

ستكون أشعة الليزر القوية للغاية اللازمة لمثل هذه المهمة صعبة ومكلفة للغاية في التطور. وُلد سؤال واضح: هل هناك طريقة أخرى لتحقيق السرعات النسبية؟

اليوم لدينا نوع من الإجابة ، شكراعمل ديفيد كيبينغ ، عالم فلك من جامعة كولومبيا في نيويورك. توصل Kipping إلى شكل جديد من مقلاع الجاذبية ، وهو نفس التكنولوجيا التي استخدمتها ناسا لإرسالها ، على سبيل المثال ، إلى سفينة الفضاء غاليليو إلى كوكب المشتري. والفكرة هي تسريع المركبة الفضائية ، وإرسالها بجانب جسم ضخم مثل كوكب. وبالتالي ، سوف تأخذ المركبة الفضائية بعيدا جزء من سرعة الكوكب ، وتسريع بمساعدتها.

المقلاع الجاذبية تعمل كبيرة لهيئات ضخمة. في الستينيات ، حسب الفيزيائي فريمان دايسون أن الثقب الأسود يمكن أن يسرع مركبة فضائية إلى السرعات النسبية. لكن القوى الموجودة على مركبة فضائية تقترب من مثل هذا الجسم ستدمره على الأرجح.

لذلك ، عرضت Kipping بديلا ذكيا. فكرته هي توجيه الفوتونات حول الثقب الأسود ثم استخدام الطاقة الإضافية التي يتلقونها لتسريع تبحر الضوء. يقول كيبينغ: "تنتقل الطاقة الحركية لثقب أسود إلى شعاع الضوء كإزاحة زرقاء ، وعند العودة ، لا تسرع الفوتونات في مركبة الفضاء فحسب ، بل تضيف إليها أيضًا طاقة".

تعتمد هذه العملية على حقل جاذبية قوي للغاية حول ثقب أسود. نظرًا لأن الفوتونات لها كتلة صغيرة ولكن لا تزال مريحة ، فإن هذا الحقل قادر على حجز الضوء في مدار دائري.

ويستند عمل Kipping على مختلف قليلاالمدار ، توجيه الفوتونات التي تنبعث من المركبة الفضائية ، حول الثقب الأسود والظهر - نوع من بوميرانج المدار. أثناء السفر ، ستتلقى الفوتونات الموجودة على ذراع الرافعة طاقة حركية من حركة الثقب الأسود.

هذه هي الطاقة التي يمكن أن تسرع الكونيةسفينة مجهزة الشراع ضوء المقابلة. Kipping يدعو فكرته "محرك هالة". ينقل محرك هالة الطاقة الحركية لثقب أسود متحرك إلى مركبة فضائية باستخدام الجاذبية. في هذه الحالة ، لا تستهلك المركبة الفضائية أيًا من الوقود الخاص بها في هذه العملية.

لأن محرك هالة يستخدم الحركةالثقب الأسود ، يتم تطبيقه بشكل أفضل على الأنظمة الثنائية التي تدور فيها الثقب الأسود حول كائن آخر. ثم تحصل الفوتونات على الطاقة من حركة الثقب الأسود عند النقاط المقابلة في مدارها.

ومثل هذا المحرك يجب أن تعمل مع أي كتلة ،وهو أقل بكثير من كتلة الثقب الأسود. يقول كيبينغ إن آليات حجم الكوكب ممكنة معه. وهكذا ، يمكن للحضارة المتطورة أن تنتقل بسرعات نسبية من جزء من المجرة إلى أخرى ، تقفز من نظام ثنائي من الثقوب السوداء إلى آخر. "يمكن أن تستخدم الحضارة المتقدمة مفهوم الشراع الخفيف لتحقيق سرعات نسبية وحركة فعالة للغاية" ، كما يقول.

نفس الآلية يمكن أن تبطئ أيضاسفينة الفضاء. لذا فإن هذه الحضارة المتقدمة ستبحث على الأرجح عن أزواج من الأنظمة الثنائية ذات الثقوب السوداء التي ستعمل كمسرعات ومخففات.

يحتوي درب التبانة على حوالي 10 ملياراتأنظمة الثقب الأسود الثنائي. لكن Kipping يشير إلى أنه من المرجح أن يكون هناك عدد محدود فقط من المسارات التي تربط بينها ، لذلك من المحتمل أن تكون هذه الطرق السريعة بين النجوم ذات قيمة كبيرة.

بالطبع ، التكنولوجيا اللازمة لاستخدام هذا المفهوم حاليًا بعيد عن متناول البشرية. لكن يجب أن يكون علماء الفلك قادرين على معرفة مواقع أفضل الطرق السريعة للنجوم ، وكذلك البحث عن توقيعات تقنية للحضارات التي يمكنها استغلالها.

حسنا ، ربما في يوم من الأيام يمكننا ركوبهم. هل تركب؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Space

"Halo-engine" will be able to accelerate the spacecraft almost to the speed of light

Back in 2016, physicist Stephen Hawking and billionaireYuri Milner revealed a plan for traveling to the stars. The so-called Breakthrough Starshot project is a $ 100 million program to develop and demonstrate the technologies needed to visit the nearest star system. Potential targets include Proxima Centauri, a system located about four light-years away, with several exoplanets, one of which resembles Earth.

Project Breakthrough Starshot

Hawking and Milner’s plan was toBuild thousands of tiny microchip-sized spacecraft and use light to accelerate them to relativistic speed — that is, close to the speed of light. A large fleet increases the chances that at least one of them will arrive safely. Each "star chip" is attached to a light sail the size of a badminton court, and then irradiated with extremely powerful ground-based lasers.

The laser movement has many advantages. The most important thing is that the spacecraft do not need any fuel, and therefore should not take extra weight with them. Also, with the help of acceleration of the light sail, you can accelerate the ship to 20% of the speed of light. In this scenario, the fleet will arrive at Proxima Centauri in less than 30 years.

The fantastically powerful lasers needed for such a mission will be particularly difficult and expensive to develop. An obvious question is born: is there another way to achieve relativistic velocities?

Today we have a kind of answer, thanksthe work of David Kipping, an astronomer from Columbia University in New York. Kipping came up with a new form of gravitational slingshot, the same technology that NASA used to send, for example, the Galileo spacecraft to Jupiter. The idea is to speed up the spacecraft, directing it next to a huge object, such as a planet. Thus, the spacecraft will take away part of the speed of the planet, accelerate with its help.

Gravitational slingshots work great formassive bodies. In the 1960s, physicist Freeman Dyson calculated that a black hole can accelerate a spacecraft to relativistic speeds. But forces on a spacecraft approaching such an object will most likely destroy it.

Therefore, Kipping offered a clever alternative. His idea is to direct the photons around the black hole and then use the extra energy they receive to accelerate the light sail. “The kinetic energy of a black hole is transmitted to the light beam as a blue displacement, and upon return, the photons not only accelerate the spacecraft, but also add energy to it,” says Kipping.

This process depends on an extremely powerful gravitational field around a black hole. Since the photons have a small, but still rest mass, this field is able to trap light in a circular orbit.

Kipping's work is based on a slightly differentThe orbit directing photons emitted by the spacecraft around the black hole and back is a kind of boomerang orbit. During travel, photons on the boomerang will receive kinetic energy from the movement of a black hole.

It is this energy that can accelerate the cosmicship equipped with a corresponding light sail. Kipping calls his idea "halo-engine". A halo engine transmits the kinetic energy of a moving black hole to a spacecraft using gravity. In this case, the spacecraft does not consume any of its own fuel in this process.

Because the halo engine uses motionblack hole, it is best applied to binary systems in which a black hole rotates around another object. Then the photons receive energy from the motion of the black hole at the corresponding points in its orbit.

And such an engine should work with any mass,which is significantly less than the mass of a black hole. Kipping says that mechanisms of the size of a planet are possible with him. Thus, a well-developed civilization can travel with relativistic speeds from one part of the galaxy to another, jumping from one binary system of black holes to another. “A developed civilization could use the concept of a light sail to achieve relativistic velocities and extremely effective motion,” he says.

The same mechanism can also slow downspaceship. So this advanced civilization will probably look for pairs of binary systems with black holes that will act as accelerators and decelerators.

The Milky Way contains about 10 billionbinary black hole systems. But Kipping notes that there will most likely be only a limited number of trajectories that link them together, so these interstellar highways are likely to be very valuable.

Of course, the technology needed toThe use of this concept is currently beyond the reach of humanity. But astronomers should be able to figure out where the best star highways are located, as well as search for techno-signatures of civilizations that can exploit them.

Well, maybe one day we can ride them. Would you ride? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.