بحث

حيرة الجليد "الممر" على القمر الصناعي لزحل حيرة العلماء

تيتان ، أكبر قمر صناعي للغاززحل ، يخفي العديد من الألغاز. لفترة طويلة ، خلف الضباب الكثيف للغلاف الجوي النيتروجيني الكثيف ، اختبأت ميزة جيولوجية مثيرة للاهتمام عن أعين الباحثين ، التي اكتُشفت الآن فقط. يفيد مقال نُشر في مجلة Nature Astronomy عن وجود "ممر" جليدي ضخم على سطح هذا القمر الصناعي ، يمتد إلى 6.3 ألف كيلومتر ، أي ما يعادل تقريبًا 40 من محيط هذا الجسم الكوني.

على تيتان ، كما على الأرض ، تمطر وهناكالبحار السائلة كلها ، لكنها لا تمتلئ بالماء ، ولكن مع الميثان. في محاولة لفهم مصدرها ، اكتشفت جامعة أريزونا كايتلين جريفيث وفريقها من الباحثين شيئًا لا يصدق - صفيحة جليدية طويلة تقع في المنطقة الاستوائية من القمر الصناعي وتغطي نصف تيتان تقريبًا. يقع "الممر" بين 30 درجة شرقاً و 15 درجة شمالاً و 110 درجة شرقاً و 15 درجة جنوباً ويبلغ طوله حوالي 6.3 ألف كم.

تم وضع علامة "الممر" على الجليد باللون الأزرق.

ساعدت عدة آلاف من الصور في التعرف عليه.الطبقة العليا من سطح القمر الصناعي ، التي تم الحصول عليها بواسطة مطياف رسم الخرائط المرئي والأشعة تحت الحمراء للمركبة الفضائية كاسيني بفضله ، تمكن العلماء من اكتشاف علامات السطح الضعيفة للمواد العضوية على سطح Titan.

"هذا الممر الجليدي محير لأنه لا يرتبط بأي ميزات سطح أو قياسات تحت السطحية" ، علق غريفيث.

يشير الباحثون إلى أنهم مندهشون للغايةوجود مثل هذه الميزة على سطح القمر الصناعي. في Titan ، يتم تقسيم جزيئات الميثان في الغلاف الجوي باستمرار بواسطة أشعة الشمس. يستقر الضباب الناتج في الغلاف الجوي على السطح ويتراكم في شكل رواسب عضوية ، مما يؤدي إلى نفاد الميثان في الغلاف الجوي بسرعة.

لا يمكن للعلماء فهم كيف في هذا غريب ،البيئة الرطبة والملوثة ، والتي يصفها غريفيث بأنها "نسخة غير عادية للغاية من الأرض" ، يمكن أن تنسجم مع ميزة جيولوجية مماثلة ، لذلك يشتبه في أنه في هذه الحالة "بقايا حقبة أخرى من القمر الصناعي المجمدة في الوقت المناسب".

"من الممكن أن نرى بعضالميزة الجيولوجية التي ظهرت على القمر الصناعي في وقت كان مختلفًا تمامًا. يقول غريفيث: "بالنظر إلى البيئة الحالية لتيتان ، لا يمكننا تفسير ما نراه".

وفقا لفرضية واحدة من الباحثين ، هذاقد يكون التركيب الجيولوجي هو إرث البراكين الجليدية التي حدثت على تيتان في الماضي. على القمر الصناعي ، قد يكون هناك براكين جليدية أو ماء أو الأمونيا أو الميثان المنبعثة في الغلاف الجوي ، وليس الصهارة كما لدينا على الأرض. بدأ فريق جريفيث في دراسة تكوين سطح تايتان ، معربًا عن أمله في العثور على مرشحين صغيري الرقيق صغيري البرودة. ولكن بعد تحليل نصف سطح القمر الصناعي ، لم يعثروا على أي شيء.

"بالنظر إلى أن بحثنا والعمل الماضيتبين أن Titan غير نشط حاليًا في الوقت الحالي ، وربما يكون ممر الممر من بقايا الماضي. نجد هذه الميزة على المنحدرات شديدة الانحدار ، ولكن ليس على جميع المنحدرات. هذا يشير إلى أن ممر الجليد يتآكل في الوقت الحالي ، مما قد يكشف عن وجود طبقات الجليد والعضوية ، "يوضح غريفيث.

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Research

Giant ice "corridor" on the satellite of Saturn puzzled scientists

Titan, the largest satellite of the gas giantSaturn, hides many riddles. For a long time, behind the thick haze of its dense nitrogenous atmosphere, one very interesting geological feature hid from the eyes of researchers, which was discovered only now. An article published in the journal Nature Astronomy reports on the presence on the surface of this satellite of a huge ice "corridor", which extends to 6.3 thousand kilometers, which is equal to about 40 circumference of this cosmic body.

On Titan, as on Earth, it rains and there iswhole liquid seas, but they are not filled with water, but methane. Trying to understand its source, the University of Arizona Caitlin Griffith and her team of researchers discovered something incredible — a long ice sheet located in the equatorial region of the satellite and covering almost half of Titan. The “corridor” is located between 30 ° E, 15 ° north latitude and 110 ° E, 15 ° south latitude and has a length of about 6.3 thousand km.

The ice "corridor" is marked in blue.

Many thousands of images helped to identify it.the top layer of the satellite surface, obtained by visible and infrared cartographic spectrometer of the Cassini spacecraft. Thanks to him, scientists were able to detect faint surface signs of organic matter on the surface of Titan.

“This ice corridor is puzzling because it does not correlate with any surface features or subsurface measurements,” commented Griffith.

Researchers point out that they are very surprisedthe existence of such a feature on the satellite surface. At Titan, molecules of atmospheric methane are constantly split by sunlight. The resulting atmospheric haze settles to the surface and accumulates in the form of organic sediments, quickly depleting atmospheric methane.

Scientists can not understand how in this strange,wet and polluted environment, which Griffith describes as “a very unusual version of the Earth”, can fit into a similar geological feature, so they are suspected that in this case it is a “relic of another era of a satellite frozen in time”.

"It is possible that we see somethe geological feature that appeared on the satellite at a time when it was completely different. Given the current environment of Titan, we cannot explain what we see, ”says Griffith.

According to one hypothesis of the researchers, thisThe geologic structure may be the legacy of cryovolcanism occurring on Titan in the past. On the satellite there could be ice volcanoes, water, ammonia or methane emitted into the atmosphere, and not magma as we have on Earth. The Griffith team began to study the composition of the surface of Titan, partly hoping to find thin small cryovolcano candidates. But after analyzing half the surface of the satellite, they did not find anything.

“Considering that our research and past workshow that Titan is currently not volcanically active, the trail of the corridor is probably a remnant of the past. We find this feature on steep slopes, but not on all slopes. This suggests that the ice corridor is currently eroding, potentially revealing the presence of ice and organic layers, ”explains Griffith.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.