بحث

الجيولوجيون يكشفون سر الزلازل الغامضة في البرتغال

مدينة لشبونة ، وهي عاصمة البرتغال ،هناك خطأ تكتوني نشط بعيد ، لذا فإن وقوع الزلازل على أراضيها أمر مستبعد للغاية. على الرغم من هذا ، حدثت هزات في هذه المنطقة ، وقد قتل أحدهم مئات الآلاف من الناس. درس الجيولوجي المحلي جواو دوارتي التاريخ الزلزالي لبلدته لعدة سنوات متتالية ويبدو أنه وجد سبب الزلازل.

واحدة من أسوأ الزلازل في لشبونةحدث في عام 1755 - تسببت في حدوث كارثة تسونامي دمرت المدينة وقتلت 100000 شخص. بعد بضعة قرون ، في عام 1969 ، تم تسجيل زلزال آخر ، والذي كان أضعف بكثير ولم يترك أي ضحايا. لا يزال الجيولوجيون غير قادرين على شرح أسبابهم ، لكن إصدار جواو دوارتي يبدو مقبولًا تمامًا.

وهو يعتقد أن سبب الزلازل يكمن فيعملية جيولوجية تسمى الثعبان. يحدث ذلك عندما يتم امتصاص الماء عن طريق الهياكل الصخرية ، مما يؤدي إلى حقيقة أن الغلاف الصخري المحيطي قبالة ساحل البرتغال ينقسم إلى قسمين. ويعتقد أن الشذوذ يحدث في قاع المحيط الأطلسي على طول شبه الجزيرة الأيبيرية على عمق 250 كيلومترا.

وقد تم اختبار هذه النظرية معمحاكاة الكمبيوتر ، ولكن لم يتم استعراض النتائج بعد. إذا كان الباحثون على حق ، فيمكن اعتبار ذلك أول اكتشاف لطبقة الغلاف الصخري المحيطي في التاريخ. ربما ، سيؤدي هذا النشاط في المستقبل إلى إنشاء منطقة اندماج جديدة ، حيث تغوص طبقة من قشرة الأرض تحت طبقة أخرى. نتيجة لذلك ، يمكن أن تصبح هذه الطبقة أساسًا لتشكيل قارة عظمى جديدة.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، تمكن العلماء من الكشف عن سر ظاهرة أخرى لم يتم تفسيرها من قبل - وهي تكوين ثقب غامض في القارة القطبية الجنوبية. يمكنك أن تقرأ عنها في مادتنا.

لمناقشة هذه الأخبار وغيرها من أخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، انضم إلى Telegram-chat ، حيث يمكنك دائمًا العثور على محاورين مثيرين للاهتمام!

Research

Geologists reveal the secret of mysterious earthquakes in Portugal

The city of Lisbon, which is the capital of Portugal,there is a rather distant active tectonic fault, therefore, the occurrence of earthquakes on its territory is extremely unlikely. Despite this, tremors in this area did happen, and one of them even killed hundreds of thousands of people. The local geologist João Duarte studied the seismic history of his hometown for several years in a row and seems to have found the cause of the earthquakes.

One of the worst earthquakes in Lisbonhappened in 1755 - it caused a tsunami that almost destroyed the city and killed 100,000 people. A few centuries later, in 1969, another quake was recorded, which was much weaker and left no victims behind. Geologists still could not explain their causes, but the version of João Duarte sounds quite plausible.

He believes that the cause of the earthquakes lurks ingeological process called serpentinization. It occurs when water is absorbed by rock structures, which leads to the fact that the oceanic lithosphere off the coast of Portugal falls into two. It is believed that the anomaly occurs at the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean along the Iberian Peninsula at a depth of 250 kilometers.

This theory has been tested withcomputer simulation, but the results have not yet been reviewed. If the researchers are right, then this can be considered the first detection of the stratification of the oceanic lithosphere in history. Perhaps, this activity in the future will create a new subduction zone, in which one layer of the Earth's crust will sink under another. As a result, this layering can become the basis for the formation of a new supercontinent.

Recently, scientists managed to uncover the mystery of yet another previously unexplained phenomenon - the formation of a mysterious hole in Antarctica. You can read about it in our material.

To discuss this and other news of science and technology, join our Telegram-chat, where you can always find interesting interlocutors!