بحث

سيتم محاولة العلاج الجيني للوقاية من مرض الزهايمر.

لا أحد يعرف على وجه اليقين ما الذي يسبب المرض.مرض الزهايمر. لكن حقيقة واحدة حول هذا المرض اكتسبت حالة لا يمكن دحضها تقريبًا. اعتمادًا على إصدار جين APOE الذي ترثه ، قد يكون خطر الإصابة بأمراض الدماغ أقل مرتين من المتوسط ​​- أو أعلى 12 مرة. يُطلق على APOE أحيانًا "جين النسيان" ، ويحتوي على ثلاثة إصدارات: 2 و 3 و 4. الإصدار 2 يقلل من المخاطر على البشر ؛ 3 - متوسط ​​؛ 4 - يزيد من خطر جذري.

الخطر كبير لدرجة أن الأطباء يتجنبون التحقق من حالة APOE ، لأن النتيجة السيئة يمكن أن تزعج الشخص - ولا يمكن فعل شيء حيال ذلك. لا يوجد علاج ، ولا يمكن تغيير الجينات.

أو يمكن ذلك؟

هل يمكن علاج مرض الزهايمر وراثياً؟

في حين أنه من المستحيل. لكن الأطباء من نيويورك يقولون إنهم سيبدأون في شهر أيار / مايو اختبار العلاج الجيني الجديد الذي سيحصل فيه الأشخاص الذين لديهم أكثر من جينات APOE المؤسفة على جرعة كبيرة من نسخة للحد من المخاطر.

إذا كان ذلك يساعد على إبطاء الإرهاق البطيء.مرض الدماغ للأشخاص الذين يعانون بالفعل من مرض الزهايمر ، وهذا سيؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى إمكانية الوقاية من المرض. تمثل التجارب السريرية التي قادها رونالد كريستال من طب وايل كورنيل في مانهاتن تكتيكًا جديدًا ضد الخرف ، بالإضافة إلى تطور جديد في العلاج الجيني. تهدف معظم الجهود لاستبدال الجينات التي تعتمد على الفيروسات التي تحمل تعليمات الحمض النووي إلى الخلايا البشرية إلى القضاء على الأمراض النادرة ، مثل الهيموفيليا ، عن طريق استبدال جين واحد معيب.

لكن الأمراض الشائعة ليس لديها مثل هذاأسباب وحيدة ، لذلك لم يكن العلاج الجيني واعداً بشكل خاص. تدعي المجموعة التجارية Alliance for Regenerative Medicine أنه لا يوجد علاج جيني حاليًا لمرضى الزهايمر.

"يبدو أن الطريق إلى التجارب السريريةيقول كيران موسونورو ، الأستاذ في كلية الطب بجامعة بنسلفانيا: "سيكون الأمر طويلاً في الأماكن العامة ، لكن هناك حاجة ماسة لأي علاج". إنه يدرس الطرق الوراثية لعلاج أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ويقول إن التجربة المزمع إجراؤها في نيويورك تمثل فئة جديدة من العلاج الجيني ، والغرض منها ليس العلاج ، ولكن تقليل خطر الإصابة بمرض مستقبلي لدى الأشخاص الأصحاء.

يقول كريستال إن خطته تتجاوز أيضًاجانب من النقاش حول السبب الحقيقي لمرض الزهايمر ، الذي أصبح مجالًا للمعجزات مع دوران بمليارات الدولارات ، والذي تخسره كل من شركات الأدوية والمرضى. في يناير ، أوقفت روش دراستين كبيرتين للأجسام المضادة التي كان من المفترض أن توضح خصائص لويحات بيتا اميلويد ، وهي أحدث نظرية ادعت أن هذه اللوحات حول الخلايا العصبية تؤدي إلى مرض الزهايمر.

"هناك الكثيرون في المنطقة يعتقدون اعتقادا راسخايقول كريستال: "إن إميلويد هو السبب". يعتقد البعض الآخر أن هناك بروتينًا آخر يقع على عاتقه - التاو - الذي تم العثور على تشابكه في الخلايا العصبية القاتلة. ربما سيكون من الصعب العثور على الإجابة. يتجاهل النهج الذي اخترناه كل هذا وينظر في الموقف من وجهة نظر وراثية. "

في الوقت نفسه ، يعتمد فريق Crystal على اللاعب البالغ من العمر 25 عامًاالاكتشاف. في التسعينيات ، كان علماء من جامعة ديوك يبحثون عن بروتينات يمكن ربطها بلوحات الأميلويد. ووجدوا apolipoprotein-e ، والذي تم ترميزه بواسطة جين APOE. تسلسل هذا الجين في 121 مريضا ، وجدوا أن نسخة منفصلة - APOE4 - تم توزيعها بشكل غير مفهوم بين أولئك الذين يعانون من هذا المرض.

وظيفة هذا الجين لا تزال غير مفهومة تماما.(يلعب دورًا في نقل الكوليسترول والدهون) ، لكن حالة عامل الخطر لديه لا تزال مخيفة. وفقا لجمعية الزهايمر ، حوالي 65 ٪ من المصابين بمرض الزهايمر لديهم نسخة واحدة على الأقل من الجين الخطير. بالنسبة للأشخاص المولودين مع نسختين شديدتي الخطورة ، واحدة من كل من الوالدين ، يصبح الخرف مضمونًا تقريبًا إذا كانوا يعيشون لفترة كافية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض الناس يرثون نسخة واحدة منخفضة المخاطر من الجين 4 و 1. هؤلاء الأشخاص لديهم خطر أقرب إلى المتوسط ​​، مما يشير إلى أن النسخة الواقية من الجين تعوض عن الخطورة.

هذا هو التأثير الذي سيحاول أطباء Weill Cornell.لنسخ. يبحث المركز حاليًا عن أشخاص لديهم نسختين من الجين شديد الخطورة الذي فقد بالفعل الذاكرة أو حتى حصل على مرض الزهايمر. وفقًا لكريستال ، في غضون شهر تقريبًا ، سيتلقى المتطوعون الأوائل ضخ في النخاع الشوكي من مليار فيروس يحمل الجين 2.

بناء على اختبارات القرد ، كريستالتتوقع أن تنشر الفيروسات "الجين السعيد" في الخلايا في جميع أنحاء الدماغ. تم علاج الفئران بالطريقة نفسها ، وتراكمت القوارض أقل اميلويد في المخ.

هذه الاستراتيجية ، وفقا للباحث ، ليست كذلكيعتمد على معرفة كل شيء عن ما يسبب المرض حقا. "في مرض الزهايمر ، تنجذبنا الوبائيات الوراثية الواضحة" ، كما يقول. "إذن فالاستراتيجية هي ، هل يمكننا استرداد المخ في E2؟" لدينا بنية أساسية لهذا ، لذلك فكرنا ، لماذا لا؟ هذا يحل مشكلة آلية المرض. "

"المفهوم عقلاني" ، يضيف كريستال. "ما إذا كان سيعمل مع شخص ما هو سؤال آخر."

ستكون دراسة نيويورك أولية. يقول كريستال إن فريقه يحتاج إلى تحديد ما إذا كان الجين المضاف يعمل على المستوى الذي يمكن اكتشافه فيه. يأخذ الأطباء السائل النخاعي من المرضى ويتحققون من احتوائه على المزيج المتوقع من البروتينات - وهو النوع المتوقع 4 ، لكن الآن به نفس المزيج أو أكثر 2.

بحلول الوقت الذي يبدأ الناس في نسيانأسماء وحيث مفاتيح السيارة ، والتغيرات في الدماغ كانت عشرات السنين. هذا يعني أن المرضى الذين ينضمون إلى الدراسة لا يمكنهم الاعتماد على الكثير. سيكون بعد فوات الأوان بالنسبة لهم.

على الرغم من هذا ، فإن الصندوق لإيجاد علاج لأعطى مرض الزهايمر كريستال 3 ملايين دولار للبحوث. في النهاية ، هناك أمل في أن يتمكن الأشخاص في منتصف العمر الذين لديهم جينات معرضة للخطر من الخضوع لحن وراثي واحد. حتى انخفاض بسيط في معدل حدوث التغييرات في الدماغ يمكن أن يغير الوضع بمرور الوقت.

حسنا ، دعونا نأمل أن يعمل كل شيء. نحن نقدم لمتابعة الأخبار على قناة الأخبار لدينا.

Research

Gene therapy will be attempted to prevent Alzheimer's disease.

No one knows for sure what causes the disease.Alzheimer's But one fact about this disease has gained almost irrefutable status. Depending on which version of the APOE gene you inherit, the risk of brain disease may be two times lower than the average - or 12 times higher. APOE is sometimes called the “forgetfulness gene”, and it has three versions: 2, 3, and 4. Version 2 reduces the risk to humans; 3 - average; 4 - increases the risk radically.

The risk is so great that doctors avoid checking the status of APOE, because a bad result can upset a person - and nothing can be done about it. There is no cure, and the genes cannot be changed.

Or can it?

Can Alzheimer's be cured genetically?

While it is impossible. But doctors from New York have been saying that, starting in May, they will begin testing a new gene therapy in which people with the most unfortunate APOE genes will be given a huge dose of the risk reducing version.

If it helps slow slow exhaustionbrain disease to people who already have Alzheimer's, ultimately this will lead to the possibility of preventing the disease. The clinical trials led by Ronald Crystal from Weill Cornell Medicine in Manhattan represent a new tactic against dementia, as well as a new twist on gene therapy. Most of the efforts to replace genes that rely on viruses that carry DNA instructions into human cells are aimed at eliminating rare diseases, such as hemophilia, by replacing one defective gene.

But common diseases have no suchsingle causes, so gene therapy has never been particularly promising. The trade group Alliance for Regenerative Medicine claims that currently no gene therapy is being performed on Alzheimer's patients.

"It seems that the path to clinical trialsit will be long in public, but there is an urgent need for any treatment, ”says Kiran Musunuru, a professor at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He studies genetic methods for treating cardiovascular diseases and says that the experiment planned in New York represents a new category of gene therapy, the purpose of which is not to cure, but to reduce the risk of a future disease in healthy people.

Crystal says his plan also bypassesside of the discussion about the true cause of Alzheimer's disease, which has become a field of miracles with a multi-billion dollar turnover, in which both pharmaceutical companies and patients lose. In January, Roche stopped two large studies of antibodies that were supposed to clarify the properties of beta-amyloid plaques, the latest theory that claimed that these plaques around neurons lead to Alzheimer's.

"There are many in the area who firmly believe thatamyloid is to blame, ”says Crystal. Others believe that another protein is to blame - the tau - whose tangles were found in dying neurons. “The answer is likely to be hard to find. The approach we have chosen ignores all this and considers the situation from a genetic point of view. ”

At the same time, the Crystal team relies on the 25-year-oldopening. In the 1990s, scientists from Duke University were looking for proteins that could be attached to amyloid plaques. And they found apolipoprotein-e, which is encoded by the APOE gene. By sequencing this gene in 121 patients, they found that a separate version - APOE4 - was inexplicably distributed among those suffering from this disease.

The function of this gene is still not fully understood.(he plays a role in cholesterol and fat transport), but his risk factor status remains daunting. According to the Alzheimer's Association, about 65% of people with Alzheimer's disease have at least one copy of a dangerous gene. For people born with two high-risk copies, one from each parent, dementia becomes almost guaranteed if they live long enough.

However, some people inherit one 4 and one 2, low-risk version of the gene. These people have a closer to average risk, which suggests that the protective version of the gene compensates for the risky one.

This is the effect that Weill Cornell doctors will try.to copy. Currently, the center is looking for people with two copies of a high-risk gene that has already lost memory or even acquired Alzheimer's. According to Krystal, in about a month, the first volunteers will receive an infusion into the spinal cord from a billion viruses carrying gene 2.

Based on monkey tests, Crystalexpects viruses to spread the "happy gene" in cells throughout the patient's brain. Mice were treated the same way, and rodents accumulated less amyloid in the brain.

This strategy, according to the researcher, is notdepends on knowing everything about what really causes the disease. “In Alzheimer's, we are attracted by the obvious genetic epidemiology,” he says. “So the strategy is, can we redeem the brain in E2? We have the infrastructure for this, so we thought, why not? This solves the problem of the disease mechanism. ”

"The concept is rational," adds Crystal. “Whether it will work with a person is another question.”

The New York study will be preliminary. Crystal says that his team needs to determine if the added gene is functioning at the level at which it can be detected. Doctors take the cerebrospinal fluid from patients and check whether it contains the expected mixture of proteins - the expected type 4, but now with an equal or more mixed 2.

By the time people start to forgetnames and where the keys to the car, the changes in the brain have been a dozen years. This means that patients who join the study may not count on much. It will be too late for them.

Despite this, the fund is searching for drugs fromAlzheimer's gave Crystal $ 3 million for research. In the end, there is hope that middle-aged people with genes at risk will be able to undergo a single genetic tune. Even a small decrease in the rate at which changes in the brain occur can change the situation over time.

Well, let's hope everything works out. We offer to follow the news on our news channel.