عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

انفجارات أشعة جاما يمكن أن تدمر الحياة خارج كوكب الأرض

دراسة جديدة تشير إلى ذلكيمكن لمضات الإشعاع القوية أن تدمر الحياة على الكواكب الأخرى وأصبحت سبب الانقراض الجماعي على الأرض. وقد حسب الفيزيائيون أن انفجارات أشعة جاما التي لوحظت في الكون تمنع تطور أشكال الحياة المعقدة في 90 في المئة من المجرات. هذا ما يفسر البحث الطويل عن الذكاء الخارجي.

إشعاع شديد الطاقة العالية ،ومن المعروف أن هذه الانفجارات الناتجة عن هذه الانفجارات قاتلة حتى بالنسبة لمعظم الكائنات الحية الأكثر مقاومة للإشعاع. يمكن أن يساعد البحث في تفسير السبب في أننا ما زلنا لم نعثر على أي علامات لحياة معقدة في مكان آخر في مجرتنا. ويترتب على ذلك أن إيجاد حياة خارج كوكب الأرض سيكون أصعب بكثير مما يعتقد الكثير من الناس.

لقد اكتشف العلماء أنه في الماضي تعرضت الأرض لرشقات أشعة جاما. كانت قوته كافية للتسبب في الانقراض الجماعي للأنواع على كوكبنا.

ووجد الباحثون أن فرص ذلكوقع انفجار قاتل منذ حوالي 500 مليون سنة ، وهو ما يمثل 50 في المئة. تظهر الحسابات الأخيرة لرشقات أشعة جاما أن معظم مجرتنا - درب التبانة - قد تصبح غير مناسبة للحياة.

في درب التبانة ، احتمال حدوثأشعة غاما القاتلة انفجرت أكثر من ذلك بكثير. هذا يخلق ظروف معيشية سيئة. يقول البروفيسور تسفي بيران من الجامعة العبرية في القدس ، الذي قاد الدراسة مع زملائه من جامعة برشلونة (إسبانيا) ، إن الاحتمال يتناقص فقط في ضواحي المجرة ، على مسافة 32616 سنة ضوئية من مركزها.

وفقا للخبير ، يمكن العثور على الحياة فقط في10 في المئة من المجرات. تحدث رشقات أشعة جاما يوميًا تقريبًا ، ويمكن ملاحظتها باستخدام التلسكوبات التي تم ضبطها لاكتشاف رشقات الطاقة القوية والمشرقة.

يمكن أن تستمر رشقات أشعة جاما من بضع ثوانٍ إلى دقائق. وهي مرتبطة بانفجارات المستعرات الأعظمية نتيجة انهيار نجم دوار بسرعة في ثقب أسود.

كسر فلاش الإشعاع متعددةيمكن للثواني بالقرب من الأرض أن تلحق الضرر بطبقة الأوزون الرقيقة من الكوكب ، مما يحمي سطحه من آثار الأشعة فوق البنفسجية من الشمس. تؤدي أشعة جاما إلى سلسلة من التفاعلات الكيميائية التي تؤدي إلى ربط الأكسجين والنيتروجين بمادة مستنفدة للأوزون - أكسيد النيتريك.

وفقا للعلماء ، ومضة مع سطوع حوالي 100كيلوجول لكل متر مربع يمكن أن تدمر 91 في المئة من الأوزون في شهر واحد. هذا يكفي للانقراض الجماعي للأنواع. من المفترض أن شيئًا مماثلاً حدث على الأرض قبل حوالي 450 مليون عام ، عندما تم تدمير أكثر من 80 في المئة من الأنواع - ثاني أكبر انقراض في تاريخ كوكبنا. في ذلك الوقت ، سيطرت الرخويات والمفصليات على الأرض ، وبدأت الفقاريات الأولى في الظهور.

تم نشر نتائج الدراسة في مجلة Physical Review Letters.

General, Research, Technology

Gamma-ray bursts could destroy extraterrestrial life

A new study suggests thatpowerful flashes of radiation could destroy life on other planets and became the cause of mass extinction on Earth. Physicists have calculated that the gamma-ray bursts observed in the Universe inhibit the development of complex life forms in 90 percent of galaxies. This explains the long search for extraterrestrial intelligence.

Intense high energy radiation,released as a result of such explosions is known to be fatal even for most of the most radiation-resistant organisms. Research can help explain why we still have not found any signs of a complex life elsewhere in our galaxy. It follows that finding extraterrestrial life will be much more difficult than many people think.

Scientists have discovered that in the past the Earth was exposed to gamma-ray bursts. His strength was enough to cause the mass extinction of species on our planet.

The researchers found that the chances of sucha fatal explosion occurred about 500 million years ago, accounting for 50 percent. Recent calculations of gamma-ray bursts show that most of our galaxy - the Milky Way - may become unsuitable for life.

In the Milky Way, the probability of occurrencelethal gamma-ray burst much more. This creates adverse living conditions. The probability decreases only on the outskirts of the galaxy, at a distance of 32,616 light-years from its center, ”says Professor Zvi Piran of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, who led the study with colleagues from the University of Barcelona (Spain).

According to the expert, life can only be found in10 percent of galaxies. Gamma-ray bursts occur almost daily, and they can be observed using telescopes tuned to detect powerful and bright bursts of energy.

Gamma-ray bursts can last from a few seconds to minutes. They are associated with supernova explosions as a result of the collapse of a rapidly rotating star into a black hole.

Multiple fraction flash radiationseconds near the Earth can damage the thin ozone layer of the planet, protecting its surface from the effects of ultraviolet radiation from the Sun. Gamma rays trigger a chain of chemical reactions that lead to the binding of oxygen and nitrogen to an ozone-depleting substance - nitric oxide.

According to scientists, a flash with a brightness of about 100kilojoules per square meter can destroy 91 percent of ozone in a month. This is enough for the mass extinction of species. Presumably, something similar happened on Earth about 450 million years ago, when more than 80 percent of the species were destroyed - the second largest extinction in the history of our planet. At that time, mollusks and arthropods dominated the Earth, and the first vertebrates were just beginning to appear.

The results of the study were published in the journal Physical Review Letters.