الفضاء

وجدت طريقة لتحويل غبار القمر إلى أكسجين

القمر ليس المكان الأكثر مضياف للأبناء: إن غياب الغلاف الجوي ودرجة الحرارة المستقرة على سطح القمر الصناعي والهواء يجعل هذه الكرة البيضاء الرمادية فوق رؤوسنا مكانًا غير مناسب تمامًا للعيش. في الوقت نفسه ، توصل العلماء إلى تكنولوجيا جديدة لاستخراج الأكسجين الذي نحتاجه مباشرة من التربة القمرية - إعادة الصياغة.

تحتوي التربة القمرية على كمية كبيرة من الأكسجين

هل يوجد أكسجين على القمر؟

رغم حقيقة أن الأكسجين في أنحف القمرلا يوجد جو على الإطلاق ، يوجد جزء كبير منه في غبار القمر ، والذي يغطي سطح القمر الصناعي الطبيعي الخاص بنا تمامًا. تشير الدراسات إلى أن حوالي 40-50 ٪ من regolith هو الأكسجين على وجه التحديد ، والتي يمكن إطلاقها عند التعرض للتيار الكهربائي. التيار قادر على فصل ذرات الأكسجين من جزيئات الأكسيد ، وحل على الفور مهمتين مهمتين: من ناحية ، نحصل على كمية كبيرة من الأكسجين الحر ، ومن ناحية أخرى لدينا مجموعة كاملة من السبائك المعدنية التي ستكون مفيدة للغاية في بناء القواعد والمستعمرات القمرية المستقبلية .

انظر أيضًا: لماذا أطعم علماء ناسا الحيوانات في التربة القمرية

لاختبار نظريتك ،استخدم باحثون من جامعة كامبريدج عينات من regolith القمرية المقدمة من خبراء ناسا. أثناء تجربة الحصول على الأكسجين من التربة القمرية ، تبين أنه من بين ثلاثة أطنان من الريجوليت ، يمكن الحصول على ما يقرب من طن من الأكسجين في حالة استخدام مفاعلات كهروكيميائية خاصة ، يبلغ ارتفاع كل منها حوالي متر. ينوي المتخصصون ، بسبب عملهم الكامل ، استخدام الألواح الشمسية التي يمكنها تجميع الطاقة الشمسية خلال يوم قمري. للحصول على طاقة أكثر استقرارًا دون انقطاع للمستعمرة المستقبلية ، قد يكون من الضروري أيضًا بناء مفاعل نووي صغير ، وفقًا للعلماء ، سيتم تثبيته على القمر الصناعي للأرض في المستقبل القريب نسبيًا.

هل ترغب في زيارة مرة واحدة في مستعمرة القمر الأولى ، والتي يمكن بناؤها بالفعل في عام 2030؟ شارك خططك لغزو القمر في دردشة Telegram.

رجولي القمري قبل التحليل الكهربائي (يسار) وبعد (يمين)

تم التأكيد عليه بالفعل رسميًا ،أن جميع المعادن المستخرجة كنوع من الآثار الجانبية للتحليل الكهربائي مناسبة تمامًا لمزيد من المعالجة والتشغيل. لذلك ، احتوى المنتج الثانوي على سبائك من الحديد والألومنيوم والسيليكون والكالسيوم ، بالإضافة إلى خلائط منها. هذا الاكتشاف يعني أن طريقة التحليل الكهربائي للتربة القمرية يمكن أن تكون ذات قيمة لا تصدق حتى لو اتضح أنه يمكن استخراج الأكسجين بطريقة ما من الاحتياطيات المزعومة لجليد الماء على القمر. في أي حال ، فإن استخدام التحليل الكهربائي للقمر القمري سيتيح للمستوطنين الأوائل الحصول على وصول ثابت إلى الأكسجين للحصول على الوقود وسبل العيش ، وكذلك مجموعة واسعة من تصنيع السبائك المعدنية للإنتاج حتى على مسافة كبيرة من الأرض.

Space

Found a method of converting moon dust into oxygen

The moon is not the most hospitable place for earthlings: the absence of atmosphere, stable temperature on the surface of our satellite and air makes this white-gray ball above our heads an absolutely unsuitable place for living. At the same time, scientists came up with a new technology for the extraction of oxygen so needed by us directly from the lunar soil - regolith.

Lunar soil contains a huge amount of oxygen

Is there oxygen on the moon?

Despite the fact that oxygen in the thinnest lunarthere is no atmosphere at all, a rather large amount of it is contained in moon dust, which completely covers the surface of our natural satellite. Studies show that approximately 40-50% of the regolith is precisely oxygen, which can be released when exposed to electric current. The current is able to detach oxygen atoms from oxide molecules, solving immediately 2 important tasks: on the one hand, we get a huge amount of free oxygen, and on the other we have a whole bunch of metal alloys that would be extremely useful in the construction of future lunar bases and colonies .

See also: Why NASA scientists fed animals lunar soil

To test your theory,Researchers from the University of Cambridge used samples of lunar regolith provided by NASA experts. During an experiment to obtain oxygen from lunar soil, it turned out that out of three tons of regolith, approximately a ton of oxygen can be obtained if special electrochemical reactors are used, each of which would be about a meter in height. For their full-fledged work, specialists intend to use solar panels that can accumulate solar energy during a lunar day. For a more stable and uninterrupted supply of energy to the future colony, it may also be necessary to build a nuclear mini-reactor, which, according to scientists, will be installed on the Earth’s satellite in the relatively near future.

Would you like to visit once in the first lunar colony, which can be built already in 2030? Share your plans for conquering the moon in our Telegram chat.

Lunar regolith before electrolysis (left) and after (right)

It’s already officially confirmed,that all metal extracted as a kind of side effect of electrolysis is fully suitable for further processing and operation. So, the by-product contained alloys of iron, aluminum, silicon and calcium, as well as mixtures thereof. This discovery means that the method of electrolysis of the lunar soil can be incredibly valuable even if it turns out that oxygen can be somehow extracted from the alleged reserves of water ice on the moon. In any case, the use of electrolysis of lunar regolith will allow the first settlers to get stable access to oxygen for fuel and livelihoods, as well as a wide range of manufacturing of metal alloys for production even at a great distance from the Earth.