عام

قائمة انتظار الأنواع المنقرضة للقيامة

لم تعد عودة الأنواع المنقرضة إلى الحياةهو الخيال العلمي ، حتى لو كانت التكنولوجيا ليست جاهزة تماما لذلك. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، أثار الضجة حول هذا الموضوع من خلال استئناف المحاولات المستمرة لإعادة الماموث صوفي إلى الأرض. وليس هذا فقط. منذ وقت ليس ببعيد ، قال عالم الوراثة بجامعة هارفارد جورج تشرش إن فريقه سيكون قادرًا على تقديم جنين هجين خلال عامين. سيتم إنشاء الفيل الآسيوي وراثيا ، وسيتم نقل بعض ميزات الماموث إلى هذا النوع الجديد.

فكرة للعودة إلى كوكبنا ولدينا تنقرض بحلولليس فقط خطأ أبعد ما يكون عن الجديد. تم إجراء أول محاولة لاستعادة الأنواع المفقودة ، الماعز الجبلي البري في بوكاردو ، في عام 2003 ، بعد ثلاث سنوات من اختفاء هذا النوع. نما جنين بوكاردو المستنسخ (الجديرية الأيبيرية) في المختبر ثم أدخل إلى بطن الماعز لتحمله. تمكن من العيش بضع دقائق فقط بسبب عيب في الرئة.

محاولات لإحياء صوفي العملاقة - أو نسخة معدلة وراثيا ل- تعود في كثير من الأحيان.

حاول العلماء اليابانيين استنساخ صوفيالماموث لأكثر من 15 سنة. ما زالوا غير قادرين على القيام بذلك. يعتقد علماء مثل تشيرش أنه من الضروري إنشاء نسخة متجانسة وليست مثالية ، وذلك باستخدام طريقة تحرير الجينات تسمى CRISPR / Cas9.

المحتوى

  • 1 الأداة المناسبة لهذا المنصب
  • 2 بحاجة إلى المادة الوراثية الصحيحة
  • 3 القيامة وسعر الحفظ
  • 4 خط القيامة

الأداة المناسبة لهذا المنصب

يسمح لك CRISPR / Cas9 بتحرير جينوم أيكائن حي. اكتسب شهرة في عام 2012 وبدأ في وصفه كعلاج ممكن للسرطان وعدد من الأمراض الوراثية ، من بين استخدامات أخرى مدهشة. كان أساس هذه التقنية هو آلية حماية البكتيريا من الفيروسات.

في الواقع أداة تحرير الجيناتيسمح للعلماء بإعادة كتابة "تاريخ" التكوين الجيني للجسم. إن بساطتها ودقتها في قطع المواد الجينية ولصقها يجعلها متعددة الاستخدامات للغاية ، مما يتيح لك استبدال قطع صغيرة من الحمض النووي.

منذ عام 2015 ، ساهم العلماء بقيادة الكنيسة45 "تصحيحات" في جينوم فيل آسيوي. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، كانوا مهتمين بخصائص الماموث الصوفي - مثل الدهون تحت الجلد والشعر الطويل - مما جعلها تتكيف بشكل جيد مع البرد قبل أن تنقرض أخيرًا قبل حوالي 4000 عام.

بحاجة إلى المادة الوراثية الصحيحة

اتضح أن ليس كل الحمض النووي من الماموث صوفيمناسبة لإحياء نظرة. ذكرت دراسة نشرت هذا الشهر في PLOS Genetics أنه قبل انقراض فترة وجيزة ، نجت واحدة من آخر مجموعات الماموث الصوفي من "أزمة وراثية" ، مما أدى إلى العديد من الطفرات الوراثية غير السارة في جينومها.

قارنت الدراسة الجينومعملاق صوفي البر الرئيسي ، الذي عاش قبل 45000 سنة عندما كان هناك العديد من الحيوانات ، مع جينوم الماموث في جزيرة معزولة في المحيط المتجمد الشمالي ، حيث يعيش حوالي 300 حيوان قبل حوالي 4300 سنة. وفقا لهذا العمل ، فقد سكان جزيرة صغيرة العديد من المستقبلات الشمية ، وكذلك بروتينات البول ، والتي يمكن أن تؤثر على الوضع الاجتماعي واختيار الشريك.

وفقًا للباحثين ، يوفر هذا العمل معلومات قيمة حول ما يحدث وراثياً مع السكان عندما يتناقص.

"نعتقد أن الجينوم يتأثر بالجينومالأزمة ، سوف يؤدي إلى عواقب طويلة الأجل من شأنها أن تعوق استعادة السكان ، "يكتب الباحثون. بمعنى آخر ، قد تكون الجهود المبذولة للحفاظ على السكان الصغار والمعزولين غير كافية ، متأخرة بسبب الطفرات الضارة. يقول المؤلفون أيضًا أن المهتمين بـ "قيامة" الحيوانات يجب أن يتوقعوا أن جينومات بعض الماموث يمكن أن تكون طفرات سلبية وأحيانًا رهيبة.

جهود الإنعاش من قبل الكنيسة ويعتمد علماء آخرون على الحمض النووي المستخرج من كرات الشعر العملاقة الموجودة في سيبيريا. ويعتقد أن هذه الأنواع القارية انقرضت منذ حوالي 10،000 سنة بسبب الاحترار المناخي والأنشطة البشرية.

القيامة وسعر الحفظ

الأخلاقيات الحيوية يمكن أن تجادل حول الأخلاق لفترة طويلةعواقب إنعاش الأنواع المنقرضة. قد تدعم دراسة جديدة نشرت في Nature Ecology and Evolution الحجة ضدها. يجادل العلماء في عملهم أن محاولات إحياء الماموث يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مزيد من فقدان التنوع البيولوجي ، لأن تكلفة إنعاش الأنواع الميتة أعلى بكثير من محاولة الحفاظ على الأنواع الموجودة.

لقد حسب العلماء ذلك لكل منقرضةنوع قد يتم إحياءه في نيوزيلندا ، ستؤدي هذه الجهود إلى التضحية بخلاص ثلاثة أنواع موجودة أو حية. هذه النسبة أسوأ في نيو ساوث ويلز وأستراليا ، حيث يمكن استخدام الموارد اللازمة لإعادة الأنواع المنقرضة الخمسة للحفاظ على 42 نوعًا حيًا.

"بالنظر إلى الإمكانات الكبيرة للخسارةيقول هيو بوسينغام ، الأستاذ بجامعة كوينزلاند: "لا يمكن تبرير الفرص والمخاطر المرتبطة بحقيقة أن الأنواع المتجددة يمكن أن تملأ مكانتها في النظام البيئي من خلال الحفظ الحالي للتنوع البيولوجي".

"قد يكون الإنعاش مفيدًا في الإلهامالعلم الجديد وللحفظ ، إذا تأكدنا من أنه لا يقلل الموارد المخصصة للحفاظ على الطبيعة الحالية ، "ويضيف. "ومع ذلك ، بشكل عام ، سيكون من الأفضل إذا ركزنا على الأنواع الكثيرة التي تحتاج إلى مساعدتنا الآن."

قائمة انتظار القيامة

الماموث الصوفي ليس هو المرشح الوحيد للعودة.

مجموعة تسمى Revise واستعادة الخيوطالعمل على العديد من المشاريع لمعالجة آثار الانقراض ، وكذلك مبادرات لإنقاذ الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. مشروعها الرئيسي هو استعادة حمامة تجولت ، والتي انقرضت في بداية القرن العشرين نتيجة للصيد الذي لا يعرف الكلل وتدمير البيئة من قبل القوات البشرية.

وضعت المجموعة قائمة مرجعية للمعايير.لتحديد ما إذا كانت الأنواع ستكون مرشح جيد للعودة. تنقسم المعايير إلى ثلاث فئات تقريبًا: هل من الممكن إحياء أحد الأنواع من وجهة نظر علمية بشكل عام؟ هل يمكن أن تعيش الأنواع التي أُعيدت الحياة وتزدهر في البرية؟ ما هي فوائد إعادة الأنواع إلى الحياة؟

في حالة الحمامة المتجولة ، الهدف هواستعادة دورات التجديد في غابات أمريكا الشرقية لجعلها أكثر تنوعًا وإنتاجية. تتطلب استعادة الغابات اضطرابات دورية ، مثل حرائق الغابات. لقد كانت الحمام المتجول تاريخياً لاعباً رئيسياً في أعمال الشغب في الغابات الطبيعية.

وقالت المجموعة في بيان "باستعادة الدور البيئي للحمام المتجول ، يمكننا بطبيعة الحال استعادة واستدامة دورات إعادة التحريج".

من بين المرشحين الآخرين للقيامة بوكاردو ، تيلاسين (ذئب جرابي) ، وضفادع راياتاثراخوس ، وأسد الكهوف ، والحوت الرمادي الأطلسي ، وبالطبع الماموث الصوفي.

يبدو وكأنه مجرد الإجابة على السؤال ما هي الأنواع تستحقالعودة من الموتى ، لا. أصبح العالم أكثر دفئًا ، والموائل تختفي ، وأصبحت البيئة أقذر ، وأزمة التنوع البيولوجي تزداد عمقًا. عودة الأنواع إلى الحياة ، على الرغم من تعقيد هذه المهمة ، يمكن أن تساعدنا في استعادة النظم الإيكولوجية المريضة.

General

Extinct species queue for resurrection

The return of extinct species to life is no longeris science fiction, even if the technology is not quite ready for it. For the most part, the hype on this topic was raised by the resumption of constant attempts to return woolly mammoths to the earth. And not only. Not so long ago, Harvard geneticist George Church said that his team will be able to present a hybrid embryo in two years. The Asian elephant will be genetically created, and some features of the mammoth will be transferred to this new species.

The idea is to return to our planet extinct according to our andnot only fault is far from new. The first attempt to regain the lost species, the wild mountain goat of Bucardo, was made in 2003, three years after the disappearance of this species. The cloned Bucardo embryo (Iberian Capricorn) was grown in the laboratory and then introduced into the belly of the goat to bear it. He managed to live only a few minutes due to a lung defect.

Attempts to revive the woolly mammoth - or its genetically modified version - were made even more often.

Japanese scientists tried to clone woollymammoth for over 15 years. They still have not been able to do this. Scientists like Church believe it is necessary to create a hybrid, not an ideal clone, using a gene editing method called CRISPR / Cas9.

Content

  • 1 The right tool for the job
  • 2 Need the right genetic material
  • 3 Resurrection and the price of conservation
  • 4 The line of resurrection

The right tool for the job

CRISPR / Cas9 allows you to edit the genome of anyliving organism. He gained fame in 2012 and began to be touted as a possible cure for cancer and a number of genetic diseases, among other amazing uses. The basis of this technique was the mechanism for protecting bacteria from viruses.

Actually Gene Editing Toolallows scientists to rewrite the "history" of the genetic composition of the body. Its simplicity and accuracy in cutting and gluing genetic material makes it extremely versatile, allowing you to replace small pieces of DNA.

Since 2015, scientists led by Church have contributed45 "corrections" in the genome of an Asian elephant. For the most part, they were interested in the characteristics of the woolly mammoth - such as subcutaneous fat and long hair - which made them especially well adapted to the cold before they finally became extinct about 4000 years ago.

Need the right genetic material

It turned out that not every DNA of woolly mammothsSuitable for resurrecting the look. A study published this month in PLOS Genetics said that shortly before extinction, one of the last groups of woolly mammoths survived a “genetic crisis”, resulting in many unpleasant genetic mutations in its genome.

The study compared the genomethe mainland woolly mammoth, who lived 45,000 years ago when there were many animals, with the mammoth genome on an isolated island in the Arctic Ocean, where about 300 animals lived about 4300 years ago. According to the work, a small island population has lost many olfactory receptors, as well as urine proteins, which can affect social status and partner choice.

According to researchers, this work provides valuable information about what happens genetically with a population when it decreases.

"We believe that genomes affected by genomiccrisis, will lead to long-term consequences that will impede the restoration of the population, "the researchers write. In other words, efforts to conserve small and isolated populations may be inadequate, belated due to harmful mutations. The authors also say that those interested in the “resurrection” of animals should expect that the genomes of some mammoths can be negative, sometimes terrible mutations.

Resuscitation efforts by Church andother scientists are based on DNA extracted from giant hair balls found frozen in Siberia. It is believed that these continental species became extinct about 10,000 years ago due to climate warming and human activities.

Resurrection and price of conservation

Bioethics can argue about ethics for a long timeconsequences of resuscitation of extinct species. A new study published in Nature Ecology and Evolution may support the argument against. In their work, scientists argue that attempts to resurrect mammoths can lead to further loss of biodiversity, since the cost of resuscitation of dead species is much higher than an attempt to preserve the existing one.

Scientists have calculated that for every extincta species that may be resurrected in New Zealand, such efforts will result in the sacrifice of the salvation of as many as three existing or living species. This ratio is even worse in New South Wales and Australia, where the resources needed to return the five extinct species could be used to conserve 42 living species.

“Given the significant potential for lostopportunities and risks associated with the fact that a regenerated species can fill its niche in the ecosystem can hardly be justified by the current conservation of biodiversity, ”says Hugh Possingham, professor at the University of Queensland.

“Resuscitation may be useful to inspirea new science and for conservation, if we make sure that it does not reduce the resources that are allocated to preserve the existing nature, ”he adds. “However, in general, it would be better if we focus on the many species that need our help now.”

Resurrection Queue

The woolly mammoth is not the only candidate for return.

A group called Revise and Restore leadswork on several projects to address the effects of extinction, as well as initiatives to save endangered species. Her flagship project is the restoration of a wandering pigeon, which became extinct at the beginning of the 20th century as a result of indefatigable hunting and destruction of the habitat by human forces.

The group developed a checklist of criteria.to determine if the species would be a good candidate for return. The criteria fall into approximately three categories: is it possible to resurrect a species from a scientific point of view in general? Can a resurrected species survive and thrive in the wild? What are the benefits of bringing a species back to life?

In the case of a wandering dove, the goal isrestoring regeneration cycles in the forests of East America to make them more diverse and productive. Forest restoration requires periodic disturbances, such as forest fires. Historically wandering pigeons have been a major player in the riots of natural forests.

“By restoring the ecological role of wandering pigeons, we can naturally restore and perpetuate reforestation cycles,” the group said in a statement.

Other resurrection candidates include bucardo, tilacin (marsupial wolf), rheobathrachus frogs, cave lion, Atlantic gray whale and, of course, woolly mammoth.

It seems like just answering the question what species are worthreturn from the dead, no. The world is getting warmer, habitats are disappearing, the environment is becoming dirtier, and the crisis of biodiversity is deepening. The return of species to life, despite the complexity of this task, could help us restore diseased ecosystems.