الفضاء

سوف يساعد الميثان في أعماق البحار في فهم كيف ولدت الحياة على الأرض.

الميثان هو مادة عديمة اللون ، عديم الرائحة والمذاق ،على نطاق واسع داخل النظام الشمسي ، حيث يوجد بكميات كبيرة في جو كوكب المشتري وزحل ، ويشكل البحار والبحيرات بأكملها على تيتان ، وربما يغطي سطح كوكب قزم بعيد سيدنا. على كوكب الأرض ، يستخدم هذا الغاز في الغالب في الصناعة ، على سبيل المثال ، لتصنيع وقود الصواريخ. ماذا يمكن أن يكون مثيرا للاهتمام لهذه المادة ولماذا يعتقد العلماء أن الميثان يمكن أن يكشف سر أصل الحياة على هذا الكوكب؟

كيف يتم تشكيل الميثان؟

لقد لاحظ الباحثون منذ فترة طويلة الميثان ،يقف من فتحات أعماق البحار. ولكن بينما يزخر الغاز في الغلاف الجوي حيث يتم إنتاجه عن طريق الكائنات الحية ، فإن مصدر الميثان في قاع البحر كان لغزًا.

تمكن العلماء من تحليل أكثر من 160 عينةصخور موجودة في قاع المحيطات. تحتوي كل عينة تقريبًا على آثار الميثان ، مما ساعد الباحثين على إثبات حقيقة أن حجم الرواسب المحيطية للمواد العضوية أعلى كثيرًا من كمية الميثان الموجودة في الغلاف الجوي للكوكب.

لكن كيف يمكن أن يتشكل الميثان بمثل هذه الكمية في قاع المحيط؟

قد توجد بركة ميثان ضخمة في قاع المحيط

على الرغم من أن الميثان يعتبر عضويًاالمادة ، يميز العلماء 4 طرق مختلفة تماما من أصلها في الطبيعة. لذلك ، يتشكل الميثان الحيوي خلال التحول الكيميائي للمادة العضوية ، ويتشكل الميثان غير العضوي نتيجة للتفاعلات الكيميائية بين أي مركبات غير عضوية ، ويظهر الميثان الجرثومي كنتيجة لنشاط الكائنات الحية الدقيقة ، ويتكون المولد الحراري في الطبيعة نتيجة للعمليات الكيميائية الحرارية.

قد يعجبك ذلك: لقد وجدت سيارة "Curiosity Mars rover" "مركبات عضوية قديمة" وأكدت على انبعاثات الميثان الموسمية

من أجل حل لغز أصل خزانات الميثان الضخمة تحت المحيط ، قام العلماء بتحليل الصخور الموجودة على عمق عدة كيلومترات باستخدام التحليل الطيفي رامان.

رامان الطيفي هوهذه طريقة لدراسة مادة يتم فيها تمرير حزمة ضوئية مبعثرة من خلال ملامسة صخرة من خلال عينة ضرورية للدراسة. يتم جمع الأشعة التي تم الحصول عليها أثناء التجربة في حزمة واحدة مشتركة وتمريرها من خلال مرشح خاص يفصل الأشعة الضعيفة عن الأشعة القوية. إنها أشعة ضعيفة تسمى أشعة رامان ، والتي تجعل من الممكن الحكم على بنية مادة معينة.

الصورة التي اتخذت في www.szl.ru

نتيجة للتجربة ، اتضح ذلك بشكل عاماحتوت عينات من صخور أعماق البحار على عدد كبير من المعادن والغازات المختلفة ، والتي تشكلت بسبب حركة مياه البحر في فخ أوليفين ساخن (أو صهارة). عندما يصلب الزبرجد الزيتوني ، يتحول الماء إلى هيدروجين وميثان نتيجة للثعبان.

بمعنى آخر ، لا تتشكل أحواض الميثان الضخمة الموجودة في قاع المحيطات عن طريق الكائنات الحية ، ولكن نتيجة للعمليات الجيولوجية.

عندما تصطدم الحمم والمياه ، يتم إطلاق مواد مثل الميثان والهيدروجين

لماذا الميثان علامة على الحياة؟

تسليط الضوء على علماء الفلك 4 علامات يحتملالكواكب الخارجية الصالحة للحياة. بالإضافة إلى وجود الميثان في الغلاف الجوي ، يبحث العلماء أيضًا عن الماء وثاني أكسيد الكربون والأكسجين. إذا كان كل شيء يمكن أن يكون أكثر وضوحًا مع الماء والأكسجين وثاني أكسيد الكربون ، فلماذا يحتاج العلماء إلى الميثان؟

الحقيقة هي أن الميثانوجينات كانت الأولىالكائنات الحية التي تطورت في المرق الأساسي للأرض. باستخدام مركبات الميثان للحصول على الطاقة ، مكّنت هذه الكائنات المجهرية سكان الأرض الآخرين من الظهور والتطور.

القراءة المطلوبة: 10 أشكال الحياة الممكنة

على الرغم من حقيقة أن وجود جميع علامات ليس بعدتم العثور على أي كوكب مفتوح ، وعي حقيقة أن الحياة على الأرض ولدت بسبب الميثان ، ويسمح للباحثين لإلقاء نظرة جديدة على مسألة إمكانية الحياة على كواكب أخرى.

إذا أعجبك هذا المقال ، انتقل إلى قناتنا في Yandex.Zen ، حيث يمكنك العثور على المزيد من المقالات حول العلوم والعالم من حولنا.

Space

Deep-sea methane will help to understand how life was born on Earth.

Methane is a colorless substance, odorless and tasteless,so widespread within the Solar System that it is found in large quantities in the atmosphere of Jupiter and Saturn, forms entire seas and lakes on Titan, and possibly covers the surface of the distant dwarf planet Sedna. On planet Earth, this gas is most often used in industry, for example, for the manufacture of rocket fuel. What else can be interesting for this substance and why do scientists believe that methane can reveal the secret of the origin of life on the planet?

How is methane formed?

Researchers have long noticed methane,standing out from deep-sea vents. But while gas abounds in the atmosphere where it is produced by living things, the source of methane on the seabed was a mystery.

Scientists were able to analyze more than 160 samplesrocks found at the bottom of the oceans. Almost every sample contained traces of methane, which helped researchers prove the fact that the scale of oceanic deposits of organic matter is many times higher than the amount of methane contained in the planet's atmosphere.

But how can methane in such an amount form at the bottom of the ocean?

A huge methane pool may exist on the ocean floor

Despite the fact that methane is considered organicsubstance, scientists distinguish 4 completely different ways of its origin in nature. So, biogenic methane is formed during the chemical transformation of organic matter, abiogenic methane is formed as a result of chemical reactions between any inorganic compounds, bacterial methane appears as a result of the activity of microorganisms, and thermogenic is formed in nature as a result of thermochemical processes.

You might like it: The Curiosity Mars rover has found "ancient organics" and confirmed the seasonality of methane emissions

In order to solve the mystery of the origin of huge methane reservoirs beneath the ocean, scientists analyzed the rocks found at a depth of many kilometers using Raman spectroscopy.

Raman spectroscopy isThis is a method of studying a substance in which a beam of light scattered through contact with a rock is passed through a sample necessary for study. The rays obtained during the experiment are collected in one common beam and passed through a special filter that separates weak rays from strong ones. It is weak rays that are called Raman rays, which make it possible to judge the structure of a particular substance.

Image taken at www.szl.ru

As a result of the experiment, it turned out that in allsamples of deep-sea rocks contained a large number of various minerals and gases, which are formed due to the movement of sea water in a trap of hot olivine (or magma). When olivine hardens, water is transformed into hydrogen and methane as a result of serpentinization.

In other words, huge methane pools on the ocean floor are formed not by living organisms, but as a result of geological processes.

When lava and water collide, substances such as methane and hydrogen are released

Why is methane a sign of life?

Astronomers highlight 4 markers potentiallyhabitable exoplanet. In addition to the presence of methane in the atmosphere, scientists are also looking for water, carbon dioxide and oxygen. If everything can be more or less clear with water, oxygen and carbon dioxide, then why did scientists need methane?

The fact is that methanogens were the firstliving organisms that developed in the primary broth of the Earth. Using methane compounds for energy, these microscopic organisms made it possible for other inhabitants of the planet to appear and evolve.

Required reading: 10 possible life forms

Despite the fact that the presence of all markers is not yetwas found on no open planet, the awareness of the fact that life on Earth was born due to methane, allows researchers to take a fresh look at the question of the possibility of life on other planets.

If you liked this article, go to our channel in Yandex.Zen, where you can find even more articles about science and the world around us.