بحث

أصبح كريسبر أكثر قوة ، وذلك بفضل "التبديل"

مع كل قدراتها المدهشةتحرير الجينات ، يشبه كريسبر ميكانيكيًا أداة الطاقة مع مفتاح مكسور. فكر فقط: آلية CRISPR بأكملها مبنية في أنبوب اختبار ، وبعد الانتهاء ، تكون دائمًا نشطة ، قيد التشغيل ، وتعمل. بعد التعرف على الحيوانات أو الأشخاص ، يبدأ كريسبر بالتجول في جميع أنحاء الجسم بحثًا عن الجين المستهدف ، الذي يجب تحريره أو إتلافه ، حتى يفقد قوته ويمتصه الجسم.

إضعاف التحكم الجزيئيمن الواضح أن أداة القوة ليست هي الحل الأمثل: يمكنها أن تطغى عليها وتكسر الجينات غير المستهدفة. وإذا حدث خطأ ما ، فلا توجد طريقة فورية لإيقاف تشغيل الآلية قبل أن تتسبب في حدوث ضرر.

في بداية هذا الشهر فريق من ولاية كاليفورنياحاولت جامعة بيركلي ترويض الوحش كريسبر. باستخدام تقنية التقليب الدائري ، قام الفريق بإعادة تنظيم كريسبر في أداة قابلة للبرمجة ProCas9 ، والتي يتم إخفاؤها بهدوء في الخلايا حتى تستيقظ العوامل الخارجية - على سبيل المثال ، العدوى الفيروسية.

يقول مؤلف الدراسة الدكتور ديفيد سافاج إن "المستوى الإضافي من الأمان" يقصر مهارات تحرير كريسبر على مجموعة فرعية من الخلايا "للقطع الدقيق".

وعلاوة على ذلك ، يمكن ProCas9 يحتملالرد على المدخلات المنطقية ، مثل "و" أو "لا" ، مما يعني أنه سيتم تفعيلها فقط إذا كنت تتبع مجموعة محددة من التعليمات - على سبيل المثال ، "هذه الخلية سرطانية" أو "هذه الخلية مصابة" سيؤدي إلى إجابة "تبرع خلية" الذي ينشط كريسبر ويأمره بقطع الجينات اللازمة للبقاء. تم نشر الدراسة في مجلة Cell المرموقة.

السيطرة على كريسبر

دعونا تحديثه قليلا: كريسبر ، كأداة لتحرير الجينات ، هو في الواقع ديو جزيئي. الجزء الأول ، توجيه الحمض النووي الريبي ، هو كلاب دامية صغيرة تبحث عن جين مستهدف.

بمجرد التقاط الجين ، المكون الثاني - Cas9- تفعيلها للقطع. على عكس توجيه الحمض النووي الريبي ، الذي يتكون من حروف وراثية ، فإن Cas9 هو بروتين. مع هذا المكون قرر علماء من بيركلي اللعب.

يقول سافاج: "الغرض العام من عملنا هو ترويض الناس واستخدامهم وإزالة الأشياء غير الضرورية التي لا تتعلق بتحرير الجينوم".

ما الذي يمكن عمله مع البروتين؟ تخيل سلسلة طويلة جدًا من الكرات المرقمة (الأحماض الأمينية) التي تنهار في بنية معقدة ثلاثية الأبعاد. قم بقص السلسلة وتمكّن من إعادة تنظيم الخرزات بحيث يختلف موضعها على الخيط عن الأصل ، ثم ضعها في عقدة أو اثنتين عند إعادة توصيل خيط البروتين.

هذا هو ، في جوهره ، وفعل الفريق. تسمى هذه الخدعة "التقليب الدائري" وتحول البروتين الأصلي بحيث يكون له بداية ونهاية جديدة - ويتطور إلى شكل مختلف. هذه عملية جزيئية ضخمة تقضي عادةً على وظيفة البروتين.

يقول المؤلفون أنهم لم يكونوا متأكدين من أنها ستعمل مع شيء معقد مثل Cas9.

المثير للدهشة ، كان Cas9 اختبار تقريبا. حاول الفريق تقطيعه إلى نقاط متعددة قبل أن يجد جروحًا احتفظت بوظيفة البروتين ، ولكن في 10٪ من الحالات ، عمل Cas9 المعاد تجميعه بنفس الطريقة الأصلية.

هناك نقطة ذكية واحدة هنا: عند إعادة توصيل الخيوط البروتينية ، انزلق الفريق إلى "البوابة" الجزيئية - رابط صغير - مما أعاق قدرة القطع لـ Cas9 إذا لم يتم كسر الرابط نفسه.

ما حطم السلاسل؟ مجموعة من الانزيمات تسمى البروتياز.

رابط البروتياز الحساسة

تخيل البروتياز كما مقص صغير لالسناجب التي تسبح في الجسم. جميع أفراد الأسرة: الصالحون يساعدوننا على هضم شرائح اللحم والفاصوليا. ولكن هناك سيئة. على سبيل المثال ، تقوم الخلايا السرطانية بضخ البروتياز "الشرير" الخاص بها ، الذي يؤدي إلى تمزيق الأنسجة المحيطة ، مما يعزز نموها. يمكن أن تفرز الفيروسات أيضًا البروتياز الفيروسي ، وهو أمر ضروري غالبًا لاختراقه في خلايا وأنسجة متعددة. زيكا وحمى الضنك من بين أولئك الذين يستخدمون البروتياز كأسلحتهم ، والبروتياز من الفيروسات التي تصيب النباتات تساعد في تدنيس البطاطا وغيرها من المحاصيل.

لكن البروتياز لا تقطع في الإرادة. بدلاً من ذلك ، تم تصميم كل واحدة منها فقط لعدد صغير من تسلسل الأحماض الأمينية - "الرموز البريدية" ، والتي تتعرف عليها وتقطعها.

وهذا يعني أنه يمكن للفريق وضعرمز بريدي معين يقابل بروتياز معين - على سبيل المثال ، من الخلايا السرطانية - إلى بروتين Cas9 المعاد تنظيمه كرابط. وبالتالي ، سيتم قطع الرابط فقط في الخلايا التي تحتوي على هذا البروتياز المحدد ، وبالتالي سيتم تضمينه فقط في هذه الخلايا. اعتمادًا على دليل الحمض النووي الريبي (RNA) ، يمكن للفريق تصميم كريسبر نشط لتنشيط الجينات اللازمة للبقاء - وبالتالي قتل الخلايا السرطانية.

بهذا المعنى ، تتحول بروتينات Cas9 الجديدة ، المسماة ProCas9 ("pro" بسبب "البروتياز") ، إلى أجهزة تجسس صغيرة تصبح قاتلة بعد التنشيط.

القاتل الإيثار

لاختبار هذا المفهوم ، قدم العلماء الخلايا المصابة بـ Zika إلى ProCas9 الجديد ، المجهز بأدلة الحمض النووي الريبي (RNA) ، المدربين على العثور على الجينات التي تدعم حياة الخلية.

في غضون أسبوع واحد فقط ، قام نظام كريسبر الجديد بتدمير الخلايا المصابة باعتبارها "دفاعًا عن الإيثار". ظلت الخلايا السليمة حية وسليمة.

هذا أظهر أن النظام بقي هادئًا في وقت السلم ، وبالتالي الحد من الأضرار الجينية للمضيف ، كما يقول المؤلفون.

في بعض التجارب ، عملت ProCas9 بنفس القدر من التضحية بالخلايا المصابة بفيروس النيل الغربي.

"على الرغم من أن هذا تأكيد مبكر للمفهوم ،يقول مؤلف الدراسة بنيامين أوكس ، إنه يوضح فكرة أنه يمكن أن يكون جهازًا مناعيًا صناعيًا. "لقد أنشأنا بروتينًا يكتشف تهديدًا خفيًا يمكن برمجته لأي شيء."

من غير المرجح أن يتداخل نظام كريسبر الجديد معالجهاز المناعي. ميزة أخرى لإعادة ترتيب البروتين هي أن نهاياته الجديدة تحمل أحمالًا أفضل ، مثل الإنزيمات الأخرى المعدلة للحمض النووي أو المؤشرات المتوهجة في الظلام.

كما لو Cas9 حصلت على قوة عظمى جديدة ، والتييسمح لنا بتتبع مكان وجود البروتين في الخلية ، أو تغيير التعبير عن جينات معينة بدلاً من إفساد مادتنا الوراثية مباشرة.

قدم فريق بيركلي بالفعل عددًا قليلاًحالات الاستخدام. سيكون ProCas9 مفيدًا في الفحص الجزيئي أو اكتشاف الدواء. أو ، قد يقصر قطع الحمض النووي على خلايا معينة "بعد التسليم الكلي لمجمع التحرير على الأنسجة أو العضو المستهدف" ، مما سيزيد بشكل كبير من سلامة الملف الخاص بالأداة ، خاصة في الإعدادات السريرية.

ولكن الشيء الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام حول كل هذا هو أننا لا نفعل ذلكترتبط آلية كريسبر أن الطبيعة قد وهبت لنا. يقول سافاج إنه يمكن تحسين هذه البروتينات بعناية ووضعها في سقالات غير موجودة في الطبيعة ، ولكن لها الخصائص اللازمة لاستخدامها في الخلايا البشرية أو البحث أو العلاج.

وما الاستخدامات التي تراها للأداة الجديدة؟ أخبرنا عن ذلك في الدردشة الخاصة بنا. في برقية.

Research

CRISPR has become more powerful, thanks to the "switch"

With all its amazing capabilitiesgene editing, mechanically CRISPR resembles a power tool with a broken switch. Just think: the whole CRISPR mechanism is built up in a test tube, and after completion it is always active, turned on, and working. After being introduced to animals or people, CRISPR begins to wander all over the body in search of the target gene, which must be edited or destroyed until it loses its strength and is absorbed by the body.

Weakening of molecular controlA power tool is obviously not the perfect solution: it can overdo it and break non-target genes. And if something goes wrong, there is no immediate way to turn off the mechanism before it causes damage.

At the beginning of this month a team from CaliforniaUniversity of Berkeley tried to tame the beast CRISPR. Using a circular permutation technique, the team reorganized CRISPR into the ProCas9 programmable tool, which is quietly hidden in the cells until external factors awaken it — for example, a viral infection.

This “extra level of security” limits CRISPR editing skills to a subset of cells “for precise cutting,” says study author Dr. David Savage.

Moreover, ProCas9 can potentiallyrespond to logical inputs, such as “and” or “no,” which means that it will be activated only if you follow a specific set of instructions — for example, “this cell is cancerous” or “this cell is infected” will lead to the answer “donate a cell” , which activates CRISPR and instructs it to cut the genes necessary for survival. The study was published in the prestigious journal Cell.

Take control of CRISPR

Let's refresh it a little: CRISPR, as a gene editing tool, is actually a molecular duet. The first part, directing RNA, is tiny bloody hounds that are looking for a target gene.

As soon as the gene is captured, the second component - Cas9- activated for cutting. Unlike guiding RNAs, which consist of genetic letters, Cas9 is a protein. It was with this component that scientists from Berkeley decided to play.

"The broad purpose of our work is to tame and for people to use and to remove unnecessary things that are not related to editing the genome," says Savage.

What can be done with protein? Imagine a very long chain of numbered balls (amino acids) crumpled into a complex three-dimensional structure. Cut the chain and be able to reorganize the beads so that their position on the thread is different from the original one, and put them in a knot or two when you reconnect the protein thread.

That is, in essence, the team did. This trick is called a “circular permutation” and transforms the original protein so that it has a new beginning and end - and it develops into another form. This is a huge molecular-level operation that usually destroys the function of the protein.

The authors say that they were not sure that it would work with something as complex as Cas9.

Surprisingly, Cas9 was almost a test. The team attempted to cut it into multiple points before finding cuts that retained the function of the protein, but in 10% of the cases, the reassembled Cas9 worked almost the same as the original.

There is one smart point here: when reconnecting the protein threads, the team slipped into the molecular “gate” - a small linker - which blocked the cutting ability of Cas9 if the linker itself was not broken.

What broke the chains? A set of enzymes called proteases.

Protease-sensitive linker

Imagine proteases as tiny scissors forsquirrels that swim in the body. Their whole family: good ones help us digest steaks and beans. But there are bad. Cancer cells, for example, pump out their own "evil" proteases, which tear up the surrounding tissues, promoting their growth. Viruses can also secrete viral proteases, which is often necessary for their penetration into multiple cells and tissues. Zika and dengue are among those who use proteases as their weapons, and proteases from plant-infecting viruses help desecrate potatoes and other crops.

But proteases are not cut at will. Rather, each of them is intended only for a small number of amino acid sequences - “zip codes”, which it recognizes and cuts.

This means that the team can puta specific zip code corresponding to a specific protease — for example, from cancer cells — to reorganized Cas9 protein as a linker. Thus, the linker will be cut only in cells that have this specific protease, and therefore will be included only in these cells. Depending on the guide RNA, the team can design an activated CRISPR to cut the genes necessary for survival - and thus kill the cancer cell.

In this sense, the new Cas9 proteins, called ProCas9 (“pro” because of “protease”), turn into tiny spy machines that become deadly after activation.

Altruist Killer

To test the concept, scientists presented Zika-infected cells to their new ProCas9, equipped with RNA guides, trained to find genes that support cell life.

In just a week, the new CRISPR system destroyed infected cells as an “altruistic defense.” Healthy cells remained alive and intact.

This showed that the system remained calm in peacetime, thus limiting the genomic damage to the host, the authors say.

In some experiments, ProCas9 worked just as well, sacrificing cells infected with West Nile virus.

“Although this is a very early confirmation of the concept,it demonstrates the idea that it could be a synthetic immune system, ”says study author Benjamin Oaks. "We created a protein that detects a hidden threat that can be programmed for anything."

The new CRISPR system is unlikely to interfere with ourimmune system. Another advantage of protein rearrangement is that its new ends carry loads better, such as other DNA-modifying enzymes or indicators glowing in the dark.

As if Cas9 got a new superpower, whichallows us to track where the protein is in the cell, or to change the expression of certain genes instead of directly spoiling our genetic material.

The team from Berkeley has already provided for a fewuse cases. ProCas9 will be useful for molecular screening or drug discovery. Or, it may limit DNA cutting to certain cells “after the total delivery of the editing complex to the target tissue or organ”, which will significantly increase the safety profile of the instrument, especially in a clinical setting.

But the most interesting thing about all this is that we don’tare tied to the CRISPR mechanism that nature has endowed us with. These proteins can be carefully optimized and placed in scaffolds that are not found in nature, but have the necessary properties for use in human cells, research or treatment, says Savage.

And what uses do you see for the new tool? Tell us about it in our chat. in Telegram.