بحث

كريسبر كرياتور: خلال 5 سنوات ، سنتناول جميعًا طعامًا يحتوي على جينات محررة

في خمس سنوات سوف نأكل الطعامتعديل بواسطة كريسبر ، وقال عالم الوراثة الذي كان له يد في اختراع هذه التكنولوجيا لا يصدق لتحرير الجينات. بينما يناقش الأخلاقيون استخدام كريسبر في مجال صحة الإنسان ، يعتقد منشئ هذه الأداة أنه سيجد أفضل استخدام في تحسين طعامنا. يقول جينيفر دودنا ، عالم الوراثة بجامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، الذي اخترع كريسبر خلال تجاربه على البكتيريا في عام 2012: "أعتقد أنه في السنوات الخمس المقبلة ، سيحدث أعمق شيء سنراه من حيث تأثير كريسبر على الحياة اليومية في القطاع الزراعي". العام.

كيف سيغير كريسبر ما نأكله

كريسبر لديها العشرات من الاستخدامات المحتملة ، منعلاج أمراض مثل فقر الدم المنجلي ، حتى يتم القضاء على بعض أشكال وراثية من العمى. منذ وقت ليس ببعيد ، علم عدد كبير من الناس بعيدًا عن العلوم بهذه الأداة: عندما قام عالم صيني بمساعدته بتحرير الحمض النووي لفتاتين توأم. وذهب إلى السجن لذلك. علاوة على ذلك ، أعربت دودنا عن نفسها ، بعبارة ملطفة ، مرفوضة ، كتابة عمود حول هذا الموضوع في الزمن.

هناك أيضًا تطبيقات عملية لـ "كريسبر" - والتي سنكون قادرين على رؤيتها في محلات البقالة وفي الحقول الزراعية خلال عشر سنوات ، كما قال دودنا.

جاذبية كريسبر في قطاع الأغذيةأمر بسيط: إنه أرخص وأبسط من أساليب التربية التقليدية ، بما في ذلك تلك المستخدمة لإنتاج المحاصيل المعدلة وراثياً (وهي كائنات معدلة وراثياً) في الوقت الحالي. كريسبر هو أكثر دقة بكثير. حيث تقطع تقنيات التربية التقليدية الجينوم الثقافي بسكين حاد ، تعمل كريسبر بدقة وبدقة من مشرط.

نريد الفطر ليست البني؟ الذرة ، والتي تعطي المزيد من العائد لكل متر مربع؟ هذه المنتجات موجودة بالفعل ، على الرغم من أنها لم تصل بعد إلى لوحات المستهلكين. ماذا عن الفراولة ذات العمر الافتراضي الطويل أو الطماطم التي يتم تخزينها بشكل أفضل في علبة العرض؟

يقول دودنا: "أعتقد أن كل هذا سوف يظهر سريعًا نسبيًا".

استمر العمل في CRISPR منذ أكثر من خمس سنوات ، لكن مؤخرًا فقط قام المنظمون الأمريكيون برسم مسار واثق لطرح منتجات CRISRP في السوق.

مرة أخرى في عام 2016 ، علماء من جامعة الدولةاستخدمت ولاية بنسلفانيا هذه الأداة لجعل الفطر ليس لونه بني ، ولكن بلون مختلف. في الربيع الماضي ، جذبت شركة Pairwise الناشئة 125 مليون دولار من شركة Monsanto الزراعية العملاقة للعمل على منتجات معدلة باستخدام CRISPR وإحضارها إلى المتاجر على مدار عقود. بعد شهر واحد ، قام ستيفان يانسون ، رئيس قسم فسيولوجيا النبات في أوميو ، السويد ، بتناول وتناول أول كريب-كرنب في العالم (مجموعة متنوعة).

في الآونة الأخيرة ، بدأت العديد من الشركات الناشئة في سيليكون فالي في تجربة مع كريسبر لإنتاج "في المختبر".

ممفيس اللحوم ، بدء التشغيل بدعم من هذا القبيلشخصيات مشهورة مثل بيل غيتس وريتشارد برانسون ، الذين صنعوا عصي دجاج حقيقية ونماذج أولية من كرات اللحم من خلايا الحيوانات (دون قتل حيوان واحد) ، يستخدمون هذه الأداة أيضًا. مثل New Age Meats ، شركة ناشئة أخرى في سان فرانسيسكو تحاول صنع لحم حقيقي دون ذبح.

في الربيع الماضي ، وزارة الزراعةأقرت الولايات المتحدة لائحة محاصيل جديدة تستثني عددًا من المحاصيل المعدلة بواسطة كريسبر من المراقبة ، والتي عادة ما تكون مصحوبة بالكائنات المعدلة وراثيا التقليدية. بينما يتم تحرير هذه الثقافات بواسطة كريسبر ، فإنها لا تخضع لأعباء تنظيمية إضافية.

مع هذا النهج ، تسعى وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية إلى السماح بذلكيقول وزير الزراعة سوني بيردوي: "لا يوجد خطر". أدوات تحرير الجينوم "ستساعد المزارعين على فعل ما نريد في وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية: فعل كل شيء بشكل صحيح وإطعام الجميع".

على الرغم من التعليقات المختلطة حول هذا الموضوعالمبادرات ، تؤمن دودنا بأن الطعام كريسبر يمكن أن تساعد في تبديد الخوف حول الكائنات المعدلة وراثيا وزيادة وعي الناس بدور العلم في الزراعة. في النهاية ، نحن بحاجة إلى إطعام مليارات الأشخاص.

هل أنت ضد منتجات كريسبر؟ شاركنا رأيك في الدردشة الخاصة بنا في Telegram.

Research

CRISPR Creator: in 5 years we will all eat food with edited genes

In five years we will eat foodmodified by CRISPR, said a geneticist who had a hand in inventing this incredible technology for editing genes. While ethicists are discussing the use of CRISPR in the field of human health, the creator of this tool believes that it will find the best use in improving our food. “I think that in the next five years, the deepest thing we will see in terms of the impact of CRISPR on everyday life will occur in the agricultural segment,” says Jennifer Dudna, a geneticist at the University of California at Berkeley, who invented CRISPR during experiments with bacteria in 2012 year

How CRISPR will change what we eat

CRISPR has dozens of potential uses, fromtreatment of diseases such as sickle cell anemia, until certain hereditary forms of blindness are eliminated. Not so long ago, a large number of people far from science learned about this tool: when a Chinese scientist with his help edited the DNA of two twin girls. And he went to prison for it. Moreover, Dudna herself expressed, to put it mildly, disapprovingly, writing a column about this in Time.

There are also practical applications of CRISPR - which we will be able to see in grocery stores and on farm fields in ten years, Dudna said.

The attractiveness of CRISPR in the food segmentis simple: it is cheaper and simpler than traditional breeding methods, including those used for the production of genetically modified crops (they are GMOs) at the present time. CRISPR is much more accurate. Where traditional breeding techniques cut the culture genome with a blunt knife, CRISPR works with precision and precision of a scalpel.

Want mushrooms that are not brown? Corn, which gives more yield per square meter? These products already exist, although they have not yet reached the plates of consumers. What about strawberries with a longer shelf life or tomatoes that are better stored in a display case?

“I think all this will appear relatively quickly,” says Dudna.

Work on CRISPR has been going on for more than five years, but only recently have American regulators charted a confident path to bring CRISRP products to market.

Back in 2016, scientists from the State UniversityPennsylvania used this tool to make mushrooms not brown, but of a different color. Last spring, start-up Pairwise attracted $ 125 million from agricultural giant Monsanto to work on products modified with CRISPR and bring them to stores for decades. A month later, Stephen Jansson, head of the department of plant physiology at Umeå, Sweden, raised and ate the world's first CRISPR-cabbage (kale variety).

More recently, several Silicon Valley startups have begun experimenting with CRISPR to produce "in vitro meat."

Memphis Meats, a startup with the support of suchFamous personalities like Bill Gates and Richard Branson, who made real chicken sticks and prototypes of meatballs from animal cells (without killing a single animal), also use this tool. Like New Age Meats, another San Francisco startup that is trying to create real meat without slaughter.

Last spring, the Ministry of AgricultureThe US has passed a new crop regulation that exempts a number of crops modified by CRISPR from surveillance, which is usually accompanied by conventional GMOs. While these cultures are edited by CRISPR, they are not subject to additional regulatory burdens.

“With this approach, the USDA seeks to allowinnovation when there is no risk, ”says Agriculture Minister Sonny Perdue. Genome editing tools “will help farmers do what we want in the USDA: do everything right and feed everyone”.

Despite the mixed comments on this topicInitiatives, Dudna believes that CRISPR food can help dispel fear around GMOs and increase people's awareness of the role of science in agriculture. In the end, we need to feed billions of people.

Are you against CRISPR products? Share your opinion in our chat in Telegram.