تكنولوجيا

إنشاء أول ذراع آلية في العالم يحركها القوة

المهندسين من جامعة كارنيجي ميلون فيحقق التعاون مع المتخصصين من جامعة مينيسوتا طفرة حقيقية في تطوير أساليب غير الغازية للسيطرة على جهاز روبوتي. باستخدام واجهة الحواسيب العصبية غير الغازية (BCI) ، ابتكر العلماء أول ذراع آلي في العالم ، يتحكم فيه الدماغ البشري ولديه القدرة على متابعة اتجاه مؤشر الماوس على شاشة الكمبيوتر. كما لاحظت بوابة Tech Explore ، التي تقدم تقريراً عن التطوير ، فإن إمكانية استخدام طريقة غير غازية للتحكم في الأجهزة الآلية سيكون لها نطاق واسع من التطبيقات. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تكون هذه التكنولوجيا مفيدة للغاية للأشخاص المصابين بالشلل.

عيوب واجهات الحواسيب العصبية الحديثة

في الماضي ، واجهات الكمبيوتر العصبي لديها بالفعلأظهر دقة عالية جدًا في التحكم في الأجسام الآلية ، ولكن لهذا الغرض تم استخدام غرسات خاصة تم زرعها في الدماغ البشري وتتبع الإشارات اللازمة. إدخال هذه يزرع هي مهمة معقدة للغاية وخطيرة إلى حد ما تتطلب التدخل الجراحي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هذه الأجهزة غالية الثمن ، ولكن في الواقع يمكن أن تكون محدودة للغاية في قدراتها. لذلك ، يتم استخدام هذه الآليات في حالات نادرة جدًا.

واحدة من المهام الرئيسية للتنمية الحاليةواجهات الحواسيب العصبية هي ابتكار تقنيات أقل غزوًا ، وأفضل تمامًا غير الغازية التي تسمح للأشخاص المصابين بالشلل بالتحكم في محيطهم أو أطرافهم الآلية بقوة أفكارهم ، مما سيساعد ملايين الأشخاص حول العالم على تحسين نوعية حياتهم.

المشكلة هي أن الاستخدامتترافق واجهات الحواسيب العصبية غير الغازية التي تجمع المعلومات حول إشارات الدماغ من خلال أقطاب كهربائية خارجية ، بدلاً من زرعها في رقائق الدماغ ، عن طريق نقل إشارات الدماغ معًا إلى مقدار "الضوضاء" ، مما يقلل من دقة التحكم. لذلك ، فإن الأساليب غير الغازية للتحكم العقلي للأجهزة الآلية تفقد بشكل كبير التقنيات التي تستخدم الغرسات. على الرغم من ذلك ، لا يستسلم المطورون ويحاولون إنشاء طرق إدارة أكثر دقة لا تتطلب إجراء عملية جراحية.

ويبدو أن رئيس قسم الهندسة الطبية الحيوية بجامعة كارنيجي ميلون ، نجح البروفيسور بن هيه.

"في تطوير الأجهزة الآلية معلقد تحقق نجاح كبير من خلال التحكم في قوة التفكير من خلال عمليات زرع دماغية خاصة. انها حقا. ومع ذلك ، فإن الهدف الرئيسي لمثل هذه التطورات هو إنشاء أساليب غير الغازية. إن التقدم في فك الترميز العصبي والفائدة العملية للسيطرة غير الغازية بالأذرع الآلية سيكون له تأثير حاسم على تطور المضادات الحيوية العصبية غير الغازية.

القوة الأولى في العالم من الفكر الذراع الروبوتية

باستخدام أساليب جديدة للتكنولوجيا الحسية وتعلم الآلة Xe ، مع فريقه ، تمكنوا من الوصول إلى إشارات الدماغ العميقة ، مما حقق تحكمًا عالي الدقة في roboruki. بفضل التصوير العصبي غير الجراحي ونموذج جديد من المتابعة المستمرة ، تعلم النظام التغلب على إشارات EEG الصاخبة ، مما أدى إلى تحسن كبير في فك التشفير العصبي وسهل التحكم المستمر في الأجهزة الآلية في الوقت الحقيقي.

باستخدام BCI غير الغازية للسيطرةمع اليد الآلية التي تتعقب المؤشر على شاشة الكمبيوتر ، أثبت Xe مع الفريق لأول مرة أنه بإمكان المتلاعب الآن متابعة المؤشر بشكل مستمر. في السابق ، كانت هذه الأجهزة تتبع حركة المؤشر بحركات حادة منفصلة ، كما لو كانوا يحاولون "اللحاق" بأوامر من الدماغ - الآن يتبع الطرف المؤشر بسلاسة وبشكل مستمر.

في مقال نشر في مجلة العلوميصف فريق Robotics إنشاء منصة جديدة تهدف إلى تحسين مكونات الدماغ والحاسوب في BCI من خلال زيادة مشاركة المستخدم والتعلم ، وكذلك تحسين الدقة المكانية للبيانات العصبية غير الغازية من خلال تصور مصادر EEG.

تنص المقالة على أن النهج الفريد للفريق هوأدى حل هذه المشكلة إلى تحسين نظام التدريب BCI بنسبة 60 في المائة تقريبًا لمهام التمركز التقليدية ، كما حسّن من جودة التتبع المستمر لمؤشر الكمبيوتر بأكثر من 500 في المائة.

حتى الآن ، تم اختبار النظام معبمشاركة 68 شخصًا يتمتعون بالكفاءة (ما يصل إلى 10 جلسات لكل منهم) ، والأشخاص (حتى 10 جلسات لكل موضوع) ، بما في ذلك إدارة جهاز افتراضي والسيطرة على ذراع آلية للسعي المستمر. التجارب السريرية للتكنولوجيا بمشاركة هؤلاء المرضى ، يخطط العلماء لبدء إجراء في المستقبل القريب جدا.

</ p>

فيديو لأحد المشاركين في التجربة ،استخدام مؤشر افتراضي باستخدام واجهة كمبيوتر عصبي ، وكذلك ذراع آلية ، تتحكم فيها قوة التفكير للقيام بمهمة المراقبة المستمرة لهدف متحرك عشوائيًا

"على الرغم من المشاكل التقنية معيقول هيه: "باستخدام الإشارات غير الغازية ، نحن ملتزمون تمامًا بتقديم هذه التكنولوجيا الآمنة والفعالة من حيث التكلفة للأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة منها".

"هذا العمل هو خطوة مهمة فيتطوير واجهات دماغية غير غازية - تقنية يمكن أن تصبح يومًا ما نظامًا عالميًا يساعد الأشخاص الذين يحبون الهواتف الذكية ".

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Technology

Created the world's first force-driven robotic arm

Engineers from Carnegie Mellon University incollaboration with specialists from the University of Minnesota made a real breakthrough in the development of non-invasive methods for controlling a robotic device. Using a non-invasive neurocomputer interface (BCI), scientists created the world's first robotic arm, controlled by the human brain and with the ability to track the mouse cursor on a computer screen. As noted by Tech Explore portal, which reports on the development, the possibility of using a non-invasive method of controlling robotic devices will have a wide range of applications. For example, this technology can be very useful for paralyzed people.

The disadvantages of modern neurocomputer interfaces

In the past, neurocomputer interfaces have alreadyshowed a very high accuracy of control of robotic objects, but for this purpose special implants were used, which were implanted into the human brain and tracked the necessary signals. The introduction of these implants is a very complicated and rather dangerous task requiring surgical intervention. In addition, such devices are very expensive, but in fact can be very limited in their capabilities. Therefore, such mechanisms are used in very rare cases.

One of the main current development tasksNeurocomputer interfaces are the creation of less invasive, and better completely non-invasive technologies that allow paralyzed people to control their surroundings or robotic limbs with the power of their thoughts, which will help millions of people around the world improve their quality of life.

The problem is that the usenon-invasive neurocomputer interfaces that collect information about brain signals through external electrodes, rather than through implanted into the brain chips, are accompanied by transmitting together the brain signals the amount of "noise", which reduces control accuracy. Therefore, non-invasive methods of mental control of robotic devices are losing heavily to technologies using implants. Despite this, developers are not giving up and are trying to create more accurate management methods that will not require surgery.

And it seems that the head of the department of biomedical engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, Professor Bin Heh succeeded.

“In the development of robotic devices withconsiderable success has been achieved by controlling the power of thought through special brain implants. It really is. However, the key goal of such developments is the creation of non-invasive methods. The advances in neural decoding and the practical utility of non-invasive control with robotic arms will have a crucial impact on the development of non-invasive neurobiotics, ”he comments.

The world's first power of thought robotic arm

Using new methods of sensory technology andmachine learning Xe, along with his team, was able to gain access to the deep brain signals, achieving high precision control of roboruki. Thanks to non-invasive neuroimaging and a new paradigm of continuous pursuit, the system learned to overcome noisy EEG signals, which led to a significant improvement in neural decoding and facilitated the continuous control of robotic devices in real time.

Using non-invasive BCI to controlwith a robotic hand that tracks the cursor on a computer screen, Xe with the team for the first time demonstrated that the manipulator can now continuously follow the cursor. Previously, such devices followed the movement of the cursor with sharp, discrete movements, as if they were trying to “catch up” with commands from the brain — now the limb follows the cursor smoothly and continuously.

In an article published in the journal ScienceRobotics, the team describes the creation of a new platform that aims to improve the brain and computer components of BCI by increasing user involvement and learning, as well as improving the spatial resolution of non-invasive neural data by visualizing EEG sources.

The article states that the team’s unique approach toSolving this problem has improved the BCI training system by almost 60 percent for traditional centering tasks, and also improved the quality of continuous tracking of the computer cursor by more than 500 percent.

To date, the system has been tested withthe participation of 68 able-bodied people (up to 10 sessions for each), people (up to 10 sessions for each subject), including virtual device control and robotic arm control for continuous pursuit. Clinical trials of technology with the participation of these patients, scientists plan to start conducting in the very near future.

</ p>

Video of one of the experiment participants,using a virtual cursor using a neurocomputer interface, as well as a robotic arm, controlled by the power of thought to perform the task of continuously monitoring a randomly moving target

“Despite technical problems withUsing non-invasive signals, we are fully committed to bringing this safe and cost-effective technology to people who can benefit from it, ”says Heh.

“This work is an important step inthe development of non-invasive computer-brain interfaces - a technology that can someday become a universal assistive system that helps people like smartphones. ”

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!