بحث

اختراقات في مجال الطب والتكنولوجيا الحيوية ، والتي ننتظرها في عام 2019

كان 2018 رائعًا جدًا للعلوم. من امرأة أنجبت رحمًا مزروعًا ، وفضيحة سيئة السمعة مع أطفال كريسبر وعلوم الطب الشرعي باستخدام اختبارات الأنساب لتعقب المجرمين - في العام الماضي ، لم نتوقف عن دهشنا حيث يقود طريقنا العلمي. لا يزال كريسبر يتصدر عناوين الصحف ، ولكن دعونا نرى ما يمكننا توقعه من الطب والتكنولوجيا الحيوية في عام 2019.

وهنا قصص من العلم والطب ذلكقد تنفجر مع الألعاب النارية هذا العام. لكننا أولاً نتذكر ما هو واضح: من الصعب للغاية التنبؤ بالمستقبل. التنبؤ هو الطفل المفضل للإحصاءات والحدس. لكن يناير هو وقت رائع للنظر في الكرة البلورية للعام المقبل. في العام الماضي ، توقعنا قبولًا واسع النطاق لمنتجات العلاج الجيني - وفي أغلب الأحيان خمنت. هذا العام سيكون هناك العديد من التوقعات.

باستخدام محركات الجينات

مفهوم محركات الجينات يخيف الكثير. وليس بدون سبب. تعد محركات الجينات خطوة مهمة إلى الأمام في العمل الجاد مع الجينات ، حتى عند مقارنتها بـ CRISPR وغيرها من أدوات تحرير الجينات. حتى عند تحرير جينات الجراثيم ، أو عندما تتغير الحيوانات المنوية ، أو خلية البيض ، أو الجنين ، فإن تحرير الجينات يؤثر فقط على خط وراثي واحد - عائلة واحدة - على الأقل في البداية ، قبل أن يتكاثر في عامة السكان.

لكن محركات الجينات ، من ناحية أخرى ، قادرة على تدمير أنواع كاملة.

باختصار ، هذه قطع صغيرة من شفرة الحمض النووي ،التي تساعد على تمرير الجينات من أحد الوالدين إلى طفل مع احتمال مثالي 100 في المئة تقريبا. هل سمعت القاعدة: نصف جيناتك مأخوذة من والدك ، ونصف من أمك؟ محركات الجينات بصق عليه.

وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الوقت الوحيد الذي يمكنكسوف تنظر في إمكانية استخدام محرك الجينات - وهذا هو التغيير في التركيب الجيني لجميع السكان. يبدو مؤامرة الفيلم حول الفائق ، لكن العلماء خططوا بالفعل لاختبار هذه الأساليب - أولاً على البعوض ، ثم على القوارض.

الافراج عن عدد قليل من البعوض متحولة ،على سبيل المثال ، يمكن للعلماء تدمير مجموعات كاملة من البشر تحمل أمراضًا معدية مثل الملاريا أو حمى الضنك أو زيكا. هذه التكنولوجيا قوية وخطيرة لدرجة أن DARPA خصصت 65 مليون دولار للبحث في كيفية نشر أو السيطرة على أو حتى عكس تأثير هذه الآثار البيئية.

في العام الماضي ، أوضحت الولايات المتحدة بحذر هذاسيتم نشر التكنولوجيا. حاليا ، يتم إعداد الإصدار الأول من البعوض المعدل وراثيا للاختبار في بوركينا فاسو في أفريقيا - أول تجربة ميدانية في العالم باستخدام محركات الجينات.

كجزء من التجربة ، فقطأنوفيليس البعوض ، والتي هي الناقل الرئيسي للمرض. سيتم إطلاق أكثر من 10،000 من الذكور من هذه البعوض في البرية. إنها عقيمة وراثياً ، ولكنها لا تسبب العقم ، وسوف تساعد العلماء على دراسة كيفية بقائهم على قيد الحياة وتشتت ، استعدادًا لإطلاق البعوض الآخر.

اتحاد غير هادف للربحوبدعم من مؤسسة بيل وميليندا غيتس ، تقوم بتطوير حملة جينية تدعى Mosq ، والتي ستنشر العقم بين السكان البعوض أو تدمر جميع الحشرات النسائية. إنه يحاول كسر قواعد الميراث - وإنقاذ ملايين الناس - وسيبدأ التجربة في عام 2024.

لقاح الأنفلونزا العالمي

غالبًا ما يتجاهل الناس الأنفلونزا كمصدر للغضب ، لكن هذه العدوى تقتل مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص سنويًا.

فيروس الانفلونزا هو في الواقع بنفس الصعوبةيمكن علاجه مثل فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية - يتحور بمعدل مرتفع للغاية ، مما يجعل من المستحيل تطوير لقاح فعال. يستخدم العلماء حاليًا البيانات للتنبؤ بالسلالات التي قد تتحول إلى وباء ، ويحثون الجمهور على التطعيم ضد هذه السلالات. ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى حقيقة أن لقاحات الإنفلونزا ناجحة في المتوسط ​​في 50٪ من الحالات - إرم عملة معدنية أو نسر أو ذيول.

الميثاق يعتمد على التخمين ، وهجر العلماءفكرة لقاح عالمي ضد الأنفلونزا ، مخصص لجميع السلالات - حتى تلك التي لم يتم تحديدها بعد. تحاول هذه اللقاحات تنبيه جهاز المناعة لدينا إلى أجزاء من فيروس الأنفلونزا الأقل تغيرًا من سلالة إلى سلالة.

في نوفمبر من العام الماضي ، أول عالميدخل اللقاح المضاد للأنفلونزا ، الذي طورته BiondVax ، إلى المرحلة الثالثة من التجارب السريرية. هذا يعني أنها أثبتت بالفعل سلامتها وفعاليتها بكميات صغيرة ويجري حاليا اختبارها على عدد أكبر من السكان. لا يعتمد هذا اللقاح على فيروسات ميتة ، كالعادة. يستخدم سلسلة من الأحماض الأمينية - المكونات الكيميائية التي تشكل البروتينات - لتحفيز الجهاز المناعي ليكون في حالة تأهب قصوى.

ربما تكون هذه هي السنة التي تنتظر فيها اللقاحات الشاملة حدوث طفرة.

تحرير الجينات في الجسم

كريسبر وغيرها من أدوات تحرير الجيناتشغل عناوين الصحف العام الماضي. ما التالي؟ تجارب تحرير الجينات مباشرة في الجسم. في سبتمبر الماضي ، كشف Sangamo Therapeutics في ريتشموند ، كاليفورنيا ، أنه قدم أنزيمات تحرير الجينات لمريض على أمل تصحيح نقص وراثي لم يسمح له بتحطيم السكريات المعقدة.

تختلف هذه الجهود بشكل ملحوظ عن الجهود المعروفة.العلاج CAR-T ، الذي يزيل الخلايا من الجسم للهندسة الوراثية ، قبل إعادتها إلى مضيفيها. طريقة Sangamo تقدم مباشرة الفيروسات التي تحمل الجينات المحررة في الجسم. يبدو الإجراء آمنًا حتى الآن ، لكن من المبكر جدًا تحديد فعاليته.

هذا العام ، تأمل الشركة في النهاية أن تجيب ما إذا كانت تعمل أم لا.

إذا نجحت ، فسيُعرف ذلكيمكن علاج الاضطرابات الوراثية المدمرة من خلال عدد قليل من الحقن. مع مجموعة متنوعة من أدوات تحرير الجينات الجديدة والأكثر دقة ، من المرجح أن تنمو قائمة الأمراض الوراثية القابلة للعلاج. ومع الفضيحة حول أطفال كريسبر الذين يقومون بتحرير الجينات في الجسم ، من المحتمل أن يتم فتح المزيد من المسارات إذا كانت نتائج سانجامو إيجابية.

الوصل العصبي وواجهات الكمبيوتر العصبي الأخرى

Neuralink رائع ، بطريقة ما: يمكن للجزيئات الدقيقة المزروعة في الدماغ توصيل برنامجك البيولوجي بمعدات السيليكون والإنترنت.

ومع ذلك ، فمن هذه الشركة Ilona Mask ،تأسست في عام 2016 ، وتسعى لتطوير: واجهات الكمبيوتر العصبي التي يمكن توصيلها إلى الدوائر العصبية لعلاج الأمراض أو حتى تحسين قدراتك.

في نوفمبر الماضي ، كسر المسك صمت شركة سرية ، قائلاً إنه سيخبر شيئًا "مثيرًا للاهتمام" في غضون شهرين.

قناع طموح لتحقيق التعايش معالذكاء الاصطناعي ليس القوة الدافعة لجميع واجهات الكمبيوتر العصبي (NCI). في العيادات ، يتمثل الحافز الرئيسي في إعادة تأهيل المرضى - الذين يعانون من الشلل أو فقدان الذاكرة أو تلف الأعصاب الأخرى.

2019 قد يكون العام عندما NCI وسوف تصبح أجهزة تقويم الأعصاب في كل مكان في العيادات والتخلص من الأسلاك. قد تعمل هذه الأجهزة أخيرًا بشكل مستقل في دماغ معيب ، وذلك باستخدام التحفيز الكهربائي فقط عندما يكون ذلك ضروريًا لتقليل الآثار الجانبية وعدم الحاجة إلى مراقبة خارجية. أو يمكنهم السماح للعلماء بالتحكم في الدماغ بالضوء ، دون الحاجة إلى ألياف بصرية ضخمة.

الرأي المستقبليين الرأي: الثورة المعدلة وراثيا

شارك فلاديمير كيشينيف ، دكتوراه ، منسق الرابطة الروسية لخبراء المستقبليات ، رأي الخبراء:

"هناك إجابة قصيرة واحدة فقط: حضارتنا ، على الرغم من كل الصعوبات والصعوبات والمشاكل ، على وشك ثورة الكائنات المعدلة وراثيا. وهذا بالطبع لا يتعلق بالأغذية المحورة وراثياً ، بل يتعلق بدخول عصر إدارة البيولوجيا البشرية.

انها بسيطة جدا: علم الأحياء البشري بعيد عن الكمال ، والتطور الذي خلقنا ليس مصممًا جيدًا. النتائج معروفة للأسف للجميع وواحد منهم هو الآلاف من الأشخاص الذين يعذبون الأمراض ، من الأمراض البسيطة إلى الأمراض المميتة.

في المعركة ضدهم ، حبوب الدواء الحديثة ومشرط ، حقق نجاحا واضحا. ولكن من الواضح أيضًا أن إمكانياتها محدودة وأن الطرق الحالية لا يمكنها أبدًا تحقيق النتيجة المقبولة الوحيدة التي تناسبنا - علاج كامل لجميع الأمراض.

في الوقت نفسه لحل هذا ، يبدو اليوميوتوبيا ، المهمة ممكنة جدا. تقول الحقائق المعروفة ، اليوم من الواضح أن أي كائن حي يمكن للشخص أن يعاني فقط من تلك الأمراض التي يسمح بها علم الأحياء. لا يمكن للإنسان وراثيا ، على سبيل المثال ، أن يصاب بحمى الخنازير ، والحيوانات ليست قادرة بيولوجيا على المعاناة من العديد من الأمراض التي تصيب الإنسان.

اليوم من الواضح أن علاج جذري وبشكل عام ، لمنع الإصابة بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية من الحدوث ، بشكل عام ، لا يمكن السيطرة على حدوث أي مرض ، وليس فقط من طبيعة معدية ، إلا من خلال التحكم في الخصائص البيولوجية للكائن الحي على المستوى الجيني والخلوي.

القدرة على تغيير ليس فقط الخلايا الجنينية ،ولكن أيضًا تريليونات من الخلايا التي تعيش بالفعل ، البالغون ... هذا الطب الحيوي قادر على ما لا يمكن تصوره اليوم - لتزويد الناس بما يبدو اليوم لا يصدق - الصحة الدائمة والمطلقة ، وسوف يمنح الطب الحيوي القدرة. سيكون هذا الدواء الجديد شبيهاً بقليل ، لكنه أكثر فاعلية. الخطوات العلمية الأولى في إنشائها واضحة بالفعل. إن إمكانات مثل هذا التدخل في عمل الجسم لن تجعل فقط من الممكن علاج الأمراض بنجاح ، ولكن لمنع حدوثها على الإطلاق. هذا هو مستوى مختلف تماما. "

وأي خيار سوف تختار؟ دعنا نناقش في قناتنا في برقية.

Research

Breakthroughs in the field of medicine and biotechnology, which we are waiting for in 2019

2018 was very cool for science. From a woman who gave birth with a transplanted uterus, to the infamous scandal with CRISPR children and forensic science using genealogical tests to track down criminals - last year we didn’t stop wondering where the scientific path led us. CRISPR is still heading the headlines, but let's see what else we can expect in 2019 from medicine and biotechnology.

Here are stories from science and medicine thatmay explode with fireworks this year. But first we recall the obvious: it is very difficult to predict the future. Forecasting is a favorite child of statistics and intuition. But January is a great time to look into the crystal ball of the coming year. Last year, we predicted widespread acceptance of gene therapy products - and for the most part guessed. This year there will be several forecasts.

Using gene drives

The concept of gene drives scares many. And not without reason. Gene drives are a major step forward in serious work with genes, even when compared to CRISPR and other gene editing tools. Even when editing germ genes, when the sperm, egg cell or embryo changes, gene editing affects only one genetic line - one family - at least in the beginning, before it multiplies into the general population.

But gene drives, on the other hand, are capable of destroying whole species.

In short, these are tiny pieces of DNA code,that help pass a gene from a parent to a child with an almost 100 percent ideal probability. Have you heard the rule: half of your genes taken from your father, half from your mother? Gene drives spat at him.

In other words, the only time that you canIt would consider the possibility of using gene drive - this is a change in the genetic composition of the entire population. It looks like the plot of the film about supervillains, but scientists have already planned to test these methods - first on mosquitoes, and then on rodents.

Having released just a few mutant mosquitoes,that carry infertility gene drives, for example, scientists could potentially destroy entire populations that carry infectious diseases like malaria, dengue fever or Zika. The technology is so powerful and dangerous that DARPA has allocated $ 65 million to research how to deploy, control, counteract, or even reverse the effects of such environmental impacts.

Last year, the US cautiously made it clear that thistechnology will be deployed. Currently, the first release of a genetically modified mosquito is being prepared for testing in Burkina Faso in Africa - the world's first field experiment using gene drives.

As part of the experiment, onlyAnopheles mosquitoes, which are major carriers of disease. More than 10,000 males of such mosquitoes will be released into the wild. They are genetically sterile, but do not cause infertility, and will help scientists examine how they survive and disperse, in preparation for releasing other mosquitoes.

Non-profit consortium Target Malaria,supported by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, it is developing a gene drive called Mosq, which will spread infertility among the mosquito population or destroy all female insects. He is trying to break the rules of inheritance - and save millions of people - and will begin the experiment in 2024.

Universal Flu Vaccine

People often shrug off the flu as a source of irritation, but this infection kills hundreds of thousands of people a year.

The flu virus is actually just as difficulttreatable like HIV — it mutates at a very high rate, making it impossible to develop an effective vaccine. Scientists are currently using data to predict strains that may erupt into an epidemic, and urge the public to vaccinate against these strains. This is partly due to the fact that, on average, flu vaccines are successful in 50% of cases - toss a coin, eagle or tails.

Charter rely on guesswork, scientists abandonedideas for a universal flu vaccine designed for all strains - even those that have not yet been identified. These vaccines attempt to alert our immune system about parts of the influenza virus that are least variable from strain to strain.

In November last year, the first universalThe vaccine against influenza, developed by BiondVax, entered the third phase of clinical trials. This means that it has already proven its safety and efficacy in small quantities and is currently being tested on a wider population. This vaccine is not based on dead viruses, as usual. It uses a chain of amino acids - the chemical components that make up proteins - to stimulate the immune system to be on high alert.

Perhaps this is the year the area of ​​universal vaccines is waiting for a breakthrough.

Editing genes in the body

CRISPR and other gene editing toolsfilled the headlines last year. What's next? Gene editing experiments right in the body. Last September, Sangamo Therapeutics from Richmond, California, revealed that he introduced gene-editing enzymes to a patient in the hope of correcting a genetic deficiency that does not allow him to break down complex sugars.

These efforts are markedly different from the more well known.CAR-T therapy, which removes cells from the body for genetic engineering, before returning them to their hosts. The Sangamo method directly introduces viruses carrying the edited genes into the body. So far, the procedure seems safe, but it is too early to determine its effectiveness.

This year, the company hopes to finally answer whether it works or not.

If successful, it will be known thatdestructive genetic disorders can potentially be cured with just a few injections. With a variety of new and more accurate gene editing tools, the list of treatable hereditary diseases is likely to grow. And with the scandal around CRISPR-kids editing the genes in the body, it is likely that more tracks will be opened if the results of Sangamo are positive.

Neuralink and other neurocomputer interfaces

Neuralink is fantastic, in a way: tiny particles implanted in the brain can connect your biological software with silicon equipment and the Internet.

However, it is this company Ilona Mask,founded in 2016, seeks to develop: neurocomputer interfaces that can be connected to your nerve circuits for treating diseases or even improving your abilities.

Last November, Musk broke the silence of a secret company, saying that he would tell something “interesting” in a couple of months.

Aspiration Mask to achieve symbiosis withartificial intelligence is not the driving force for all neurocomputer interfaces (NCI). In clinics, the main stimulus is the rehabilitation of patients - who suffer from paralysis, memory loss or other nerve damage.

2019 may be the year when NCI andNeuromodulators will become ubiquitous in clinics and get rid of wires. These devices may finally work autonomously in a faulty brain, using electrical stimulation only when it is necessary to reduce side effects and not requiring external monitoring. Or they could allow scientists to control the brain with light, without the need for bulky optical fibers.

Opinion futurologists: GMO-revolution

Vladimir Kishinev, Ph.D., coordinator of the Russian Association of Futurologists, shared his expert opinion:

“There is only one short answer: our civilization, in spite of all the difficulties, difficulties and problems, is on the verge of a GMO revolution. And this, of course, is not about transgenic food, but about entering into the era of managing human biology.

It's pretty simple: human biology is far from perfect, the evolution that has created us is not a good designer. The results are, unfortunately, well known and one of them is the thousands of people who torment the ailments, from minor ailments to fatal diseases.

In the fight against them, modern medicine pills andscalpels, achieved obvious success. But it is also obvious that its possibilities are limited and existing methods can never achieve the only acceptable result that suits us - a complete cure for all diseases.

At the same time to solve this, it seems todayutopia, the task is quite possible. Known facts say, Today it is obvious that any living creature a person can suffer only those diseases that his biology allows. Man genetically can not, for example, ill with swine fever, and animals are not biologically capable of suffering from many human diseases.

Today, it is clear that dramatically cure andin general, to prevent HIV infection from occurring, in general, the occurrence of any disease, not only of an infectious nature, can only be controlled by controlling the biological properties of the organism at the genetic and cellular level.

The ability to change not only embryonic cells,but also trillions of cells of already living, adult people ... Such biomedicine is capable of the unthinkable today - to provide people with what seems incredible today - permanent and absolute health will give biomedicine capable. This new medicine will be a little like modern, but immeasurably more effective. The first scientific steps in its creation are already obvious. The possibilities of such intervention in the work of the organism will not only allow successfully curing illnesses, but preventing them from occurring at all. This is a completely different level. ”

And which option will you choose? Let's discuss in our channel in Telegram.