بحث

في الجزء السفلي من خندق ماريانا ، تم العثور على البكتيريا المغذية بالزيت.

عند أعمق نقطة في المحيطات ،اكتشف خندق ماريانا ، الذي يقع في الجزء الغربي من المحيط الهادي على بعد حوالي 11000 متر تحت سطح الأرض (للمقارنة ، يبلغ ارتفاع جبل إفرست 84848 مترًا) ، بكتيريا فريدة تتغذى على النفط. أجريت الدراسة ، التي نشرت نتائجها في مجلة Microbiome ، بواسطة فريق دولي بقيادة علماء من جامعة إيست أنجليا. جنبا إلى جنب مع زملائهم من الصين وروسيا ، أجرى العلماء التحليل الأكثر اكتمالا لمجموعات الميكروبات في أعمق مكان للاكتئاب.

ذهب فريق البحث إلىجمع عينات من السكان الميكروبات في أعمق جزء من خندق ماريانا - حوالي 11000 متر تحت الماء. بعد العودة إلى المختبر ، أعاد العلماء بناء ظروف الموائل لهذه البكتيريا واكتشفوا أن بعض هذه المجموعات من الكائنات الحية الدقيقة قادرة على تحلل الهيدروكربونات.

"الهيدروكربونات مركبات عضوية ،التي تتكون فقط من ذرات الهيدروجين والكربون ، ويمكن العثور عليها في العديد من العناصر ، بما في ذلك النفط الخام والغاز الطبيعي. وبالتالي ، فإن هذه الأنواع من الكائنات الحية الدقيقة ، في الواقع ، تتغذى على مركبات مماثلة لتلك الموجودة في الزيت ، ثم تستخدمها كوقود. لعبت مثل هذه الكائنات الحية الدقيقة دورًا في القضاء على انسكابات النفط الناتجة عن الكوارث الطبيعية ، مثل تسرب النفط من شركة بريتيش بتروليوم في عام 2010 في خليج المكسيك ، "تعليقات أحد مؤلفي الدراسة الجديدة ، جوناثان تود من كلية العلوم البيولوجية بجامعة إيست أنجليا.

الكشف عن البكتيريا الهيدروكربونية المهينة

تقرير العلماء أن نسبة البكتيريا التي تتحللالهيدروكربونات ، في الحوض الأعلى على الأرض. ولكن من أين تحصل البكتيريا على الهيدروكربونات للتغذية؟ لحل هذا اللغز ، أخذ العلماء عينات من المياه من عمق 2000 و 4000 و 6000 متر. وقد وجد أن الهيدروكربونات موجودة في جميع عينات المياه المأخوذة.

لقد اكتشفنا وجود الهيدروكربوناتعلى عمق 6000 متر تحت سطح المحيط وربما أعمق. يوضح نيكولاي بيدنشوك من كلية علوم البيئة بجامعة إيست أنجليا أن معظمها يرتبط على الأرجح بتلوث سطح المحيط.

"لدهشتنا ، حددنا أيضاالهيدروكربونات المنتجة بيولوجيا في رواسب المحيطات في قاع الكآبة. هذا يشير إلى أن مجموعة ميكروبية فريدة من نوعها تنتج الهيدروكربونات في نفس البيئة ، "وأضاف الباحث.

وفقا للعلماء ، وهذه المواد الهيدروكربونية مماثلة لالمركبات التي تشكل وقود الديزل. تم العثور عليها في الطحالب على سطح المحيط ، ولكن لم يلتق قط في الميكروبات في أعماق كبيرة.

وفقًا للباحثين ، تساعد الهيدروكربونات الميكروبات على البقاء أقوى ضغط يبلغ 1091 كجم / سم 2 ، الموجود في قاع منخفض المريخ.

"بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإنها قد تعمل أيضامصدر الغذاء للميكروبات الأخرى التي قد تكون قادرة على استهلاك أي الهيدروكربونات الملوثة التي تذهب إلى قاع المحيط. ويضيف ديفيد لي سميث ، مؤلف دراسة آخر من كلية العلوم البيولوجية بجامعة إيست أنجليا ، أن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث لفهم هذه البيئة الفريدة تمامًا.

يخطط العلماء لمواصلة التحقيق في الحياة الميكروبية في قاع خندق ماريانا ، وكذلك محاولة اكتشاف أحجام المواد الهيدروكربونية التي تدخل بيئتها بسبب النشاط البشري.

وقد لخص البروفيسور شياو هوا تشانغ من جامعة المحيط في الصين: "حتى الآن نعرف الكثير عن المريخ أكثر من الجزء الأعمق من المحيط العالمي".

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Research

At the bottom of the Mariana Trench, oil-fed bacteria were found.

At the deepest point of the oceans,The Mariana Trench, located in the western part of the Pacific Ocean and almost 11,000 meters below the surface (for comparison, the height of Mount Everest is 8,848 meters), scientists have discovered unique bacteria that feed on oil. The study, whose results were published in the journal Microbiome, was conducted by an international team led by scientists from the University of East Anglia. Together with their colleagues from China and Russia, scientists conducted the most complete analysis of microbial populations in the deepest place of the depression.

The research team went down tocollect samples of the microbial population in the deepest part of the Mariana Trench - approximately 11,000 meters under water. Having returned to the laboratory, scientists reconstructed the habitat conditions of these bacteria and found out that some of these groups of microorganisms are capable of decomposing hydrocarbons.

"Hydrocarbons are organic compounds,which consist only of hydrogen and carbon atoms, and can be found in many elements, including crude oil and natural gas. Thus, these types of microorganisms, in fact, feed on compounds similar to those found in oil, and then use them as fuel. Such microorganisms played a role in eliminating oil spills resulting from natural disasters, such as the BP oil spill in 2010 in the Gulf of Mexico, ”comments one of the authors of the new study, Jonathan Todd of the School of Biological Sciences of the University of East Anglia.

Detected hydrocarbon degrading bacteria

Scientists report that the proportion of bacteria that decomposehydrocarbons, in the trough the highest on Earth. But where do bacteria get hydrocarbons for nutrition? To solve this mystery, scientists took water samples from a depth of 2000, 4000 and 6000 meters. It was found that hydrocarbons are present in all samples of water taken.

“We have discovered that hydrocarbons exist onat a depth of 6,000 meters below the surface of the ocean and possibly even deeper. Most of them are probably related to pollution of the ocean surface, ”explains Nikolai Pedenchuk from the School of Environmental Science at the University of East Anglia.

"To our surprise, we also identifiedbiologically produced hydrocarbons in ocean sediments at the bottom of the depression. This suggests that a unique microbial population produces hydrocarbons in the same environment, ”the researcher added.

According to scientists, these hydrocarbons are similar tocompounds that make up diesel fuel. They were found in algae on the surface of the ocean, but never met in microbes at great depths.

According to researchers, hydrocarbons help microbes survive the strongest pressure of 1091 kg / cm2, which is present at the bottom of the Martian depression.

"In addition, they may also act asfood source for other microbes that may be capable of consuming any contaminating hydrocarbons that go to the bottom of the ocean. But more research is needed to fully understand this unique environment, ”adds David Lee-Smith, another study author from the School of Biological Sciences at the University of East Anglia.

Scientists plan to continue to investigate the microbial life at the bottom of the Mariana Trench, as well as try to find out the volumes of hydrocarbons that enter its environment due to human activity.

“So far we know more about Mars than about the deepest part of the World Ocean,” Professor Xiao-Hua Zhang from the University of the Ocean in China summed up.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!