بحث

سيستخدم رواد الفضاء الطحالب كغذاء ومصدر للأكسجين

خلال بعثات الفضاء الطويلة للأعضاءسيتعين على طواقم المركبات الفضائية تطوير طعامهم لأن التسليم من الأرض سيكون مستحيلاً. في الوقت نفسه ، سيكون من المهم بالنسبة لهم تنويع النظام الغذائي ، لأنه من غير المرجح أن يرغب أي شخص في تناول بطاطس واحدة مثل شخصية مات دامون من فيلم "المريخ". بدأ باحثون من محطة الفضاء الدولية تجربة حيث يمكنهم معرفة ما إذا كان يمكن أن تنمو وتغذي وتحصل على الأكسجين من الطحالب. يبدو ممكن جدا.

لزراعة الطحالب التي سوف تستخدمهامفاعل حيوي ضوئي ، تم تسليمه إلى المحطة في 6 مايو داخل سفينة الفضاء SpaceX Dragon. يُعتقد أنه بمساعدة ذلك ، لن يحصل رواد الفضاء على الكتلة الحيوية المغذية فقط ، والتي يمكن أن تشكل 30٪ من النظام الغذائي للبعثات الفضائية المستقبلية ، ولكن أيضًا مصدر إضافي للأكسجين النقي. لهذه الأغراض ، بالمناسبة ، فإن الطحالب شلوريلا الشائع ، التي ستزرع داخل مفاعل بيولوجي ، ممتازة.

من المفترض أن يعمل الجهازبالتزامن مع نظام إعادة تدوير الهواء الفيزيائي الكيميائي وتكنولوجيا ACLS لتحويل ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى أكسجين. في الأساس ، يتم إنتاج الأكسجين الموجود في محطة الفضاء الدولية عن طريق التحليل الكهربائي للماء الذي يتم تسليمه بواسطة سفن الشحن - يتم بعد ذلك إلقاء الهيدروجين الناتج في الفضاء. بفضل الطحالب وغيرها من تقنيات توليد الأكسجين ، ستكون الوكالات قادرة على توفير كمية أقل من المياه إلى 400 لتر ، أو استخدام هذا الحجم لأغراض أخرى.

إذا كانت التجربة ناجحة والجهازسوف تثبت فعاليتها ، وسيتم استخدام التكنولوجيا على نطاق واسع في الاستكشافات المأهولة للقمر واستعمار المريخ. خلال هذه المهام ، سيكون تسليم المنتجات من الأرض مستحيلًا ، ليس فقط على مسافة كبيرة ، ولكن أيضًا في زيادة حجم البضائع. هذا هو السبب في أن الباحثين يشاركون بنشاط في إنشاء نظام دعم للحياة مغلقة ، حيث لا يلزم توفير الغذاء والماء.

يشار إلى أنه في سفينة الشحن SpaceXقام دراجون أيضًا بتسليم المواد لإبطاء العمليات المؤكسدة في خلايا رواد الفضاء. يُعتقد أنه في يوم من الأيام سيشكلون أساسًا للعقاقير التي تقضي على آثار الإقامة الطويلة في درجة انعدام الجاذبية. مزيد من المعلومات حول هذا يمكن العثور عليها في المواد لدينا.

ناقش هذا وأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا الأخرى في Telegram-chat.

Research

Astronauts will use algae as food and source of oxygen

During long space missions to membersspacecraft crews will have to grow their own food, because the delivery from Earth will be impossible. At the same time, it will be important for them to diversify the diet, since it is unlikely anyone will want to eat one potato like the character of Matt Damon from the movie “Martian”. Researchers from the International Space Station began an experiment in which they will find out whether they can grow, feed and get oxygen from algae. It seems quite possible.

For growing algae they will usephotobioreactor, which was delivered to the station on May 6 inside the cargo spacecraft SpaceX Dragon. It is believed that with the help of it, the astronauts will receive not only nutritious biomass, which can make up 30% of the diet of future space missions, but also an additional source of pure oxygen. For these purposes, by the way, the algae Chlorella vulgaris, which will be grown inside a biological reactor, are excellent.

It is assumed that the device will workin conjunction with the physico-chemical air recycling system and ACLS technology for the conversion of carbon dioxide into oxygen. Basically, oxygen on the ISS is produced by electrolysis of water delivered by cargo ships - the resulting hydrogen is subsequently dumped into space. Thanks to algae and other oxygen generation technologies, agencies will be able to deliver less water to 400 liters, or use this volume for other purposes.

If the experiment is successful and the devicewill prove its effectiveness, the technology will be widely used in manned explorations of the Moon and the colonization of Mars. During these missions, the delivery of products from the Earth will be impossible, and not only in a large distance, but also in an increased volume of cargo. That is why researchers are so actively engaged in the creation of a closed life support system, where the delivery of food and water is simply not needed.

It is noteworthy that in the cargo ship SpaceXDragon also delivered materials to slow down oxidative processes in astronaut cells. It is believed that someday they will form the basis of drugs that eliminate the effects of a long stay in conditions of weightlessness. More information about this can be found in our material.

Discuss this and other news of science and technology in our Telegram-chat.