عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

الذكاء الاصطناعي يتوقع احتمال موت تخطيط القلب

هل ترغب في معرفة متى تموت؟ بينما تفكر في هذا الأمر ، ليس أبسط سؤال ، فقد قام باحثون من ولاية بنسلفانيا بتدريب الذكاء الاصطناعي للتنبؤ باحتمال وفاة شخص خلال عام بعد قراءة مخطط القلب الكهربائي للمريض (ECG). صحيح أن الباحثين أنفسهم لا يفهمون بالضبط كيف يفعل ذلك الذكاء الاصطناعي. الحقيقة هي أن الخوارزمية تشير إلى نتائج تخطيط القلب التي تبدو طبيعية تمامًا لأطباء القلب. لكن كيف يكون هذا ممكنًا وما الذي يحلل الذكاء الاصطناعي بالضبط؟

لا يعرف العلماء السبب الذي يجعل منظمة العفو الدولية تنبؤات دقيقة حول موت المرضى بسبب أمراض القلب

تخطيط القلب هو طريقة بحث وتسجيل النشاط الكهربائي للقلب.

بحسب العالم الجديد ،كانت النتائج رائعة ومخيفة قليلاً. في أثناء العمل ، قدم العلماء بيانات منظمة العفو الدولية عن ECG من 400 ألف مريض. في المجموع ، تلقت منظمة العفو الدولية سجلات 1.77 مليون ECGs التي اتخذت من المرضى في أوقات مختلفة من اليوم لاكتشاف أنماط يمكن أن تشير إلى مشاكل في القلب في المستقبل ، بما في ذلك احتمال حدوث أزمة قلبية والرجفان الأذيني.

وفقا لنتائج الدراسة ،أظهر نموذج الذكاء الاصطناعي نتائج أفضل من جميع الأساليب الموجودة اليوم التي تميز المرضى الذين يزداد خطر الوفاة لديهم خلال العام عن أولئك الذين لا يتعرضون لخطر الموت. علاوة على ذلك ، كشفت منظمة العفو الدولية عن مشاكل في القلب لدى هؤلاء المرضى الذين سبق أن عولجوا من قبل أطباء القلب.

ماذا لا يرى أطباء القلب؟

خلال الدراسة ، فريق من المتخصصينقدمت بيانات الذكاء الاصطناعى بطريقتين مختلفتين. في البداية ، يمكن للخوارزمية التعرف على نتائج تخطيط القلب غير المجهزة ، والتي من خلالها كان من الممكن تتبع التغييرات في مخطط القلب مع مرور الوقت. في حالة أخرى ، قدم الباحثون بيانات تخطيط القلب تشير إلى عمر وجنس المرضى. قام العلماء بقياس استجابات الذكاء الاصطناعي باستخدام مؤشر AUC - وهو يقيس مدى تميز النموذج بين مجموعتين من الناس - في هذه الحالة ، المرضى الذين توفوا في غضون عام والذين نجوا. يلاحظ الباحثون أن AUC لنماذج تقييم المخاطر المستخدمة حاليًا من قبل الأطباء تختلف من 0.65 إلى 0.8. وسجلت منظمة العفو الدولية بشكل ثابت فوق 0.85 نقطة (نقطة واحدة تعتبر مثالية ، و 0.5 يشير إلى عدم وجود اختلافات بين المجموعتين).

لمواكبة آخر أخبار عالم العلوم ، اشترك في قناتنا الإخبارية في Telegram

تنبأت منظمة العفو الدولية بدقة بمخاطر الوفاة حتى عند البشر ،ECG النتائج التي يعتبرها أطباء القلب طبيعية. فشل ثلاثة أطباء القلب الذين درسوا بشكل منفصل ECG من المرضى لتحديد المخاطر التي اكتشفتها منظمة العفو الدولية. وبالتالي ، فإن النموذج الذي طوره المتخصصون يرى أشياء غير متاحة للأطباء اليوم. يلاحظ العلماء أن الأطباء قد يسيئون تفسير بعض الأشياء لعقود.

أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية هي السبب الأكثر شيوعا للوفاة في العالم.

ليست هذه هي المحاولة الوحيدة للاستخدامإمكانيات التعلم الآلي للتنبؤ بالموت. في العام الماضي ، ابتكر باحثون من Google في Mountain View ، كاليفورنيا ، نموذجًا تنبؤيًا يستخدم السجلات الطبية الإلكترونية للتنبؤ بطول مدة بقاء المريض في المستشفى ووقت الخروج من المستشفى ووقت الوفاة. علاوة على ذلك ، تم أيضًا استخدام نماذج مختلفة من الذكاء الاصطناعي لتشخيص أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وسرطان الرئة. في بعض الحالات ، كان تشخيص الذكاء الاصطناعي أكثر دقة من تشخيص الأطباء.

على الرغم من دقة بعض التوقعاتهناك عيبًا مهمًا واحدًا: كل هذه النماذج لا تستطيع ولا تحاول شرح كيفية عمل الذكاء الاصطناعي. لهذا السبب ، لا يمكن للكثيرين حتى الآن تقديم استنتاجات دقيقة حول فعالية مثل هذه النماذج. لاحظ أنه وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ، فإن أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية هي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا للوفاة في العالم ، حيث تقتل سنويًا ما بين 17 و 23 مليون شخص. وما طرق الوقاية من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية التي تعرفها؟ أخبر المشاركين عن دردشة Telegram عنهم.

إشعار Facebook للاتحاد الأوروبي! تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول لعرض ونشر تعليقات الفيسبوك!

General, Research, Technology

Artificial Intelligence Predicts ECG Death Probability

Would you like to know when you die? While you are pondering this not the simplest question, researchers from Pennsylvania have trained artificial intelligence to predict the likelihood of a person dying within a year after reading the patient's electrocardiogram (ECG). True, the researchers themselves do not understand exactly how AI does it. The fact is that the algorithm indicates those ECG results that seemed completely normal to cardiologists. But how is this possible and what exactly does AI analyze?

Scientists don't know why AI makes accurate predictions about patients dying from heart disease

Electrocardiography is a research method and registration of the electrical activity of the heart.

According to The New Scientist,the results were impressive and a little scary. In the course of the work, the scientists provided AI data on the ECG of 400 thousand patients. In total, AI received records of 1.77 million ECGs that were taken from patients at different times of the day to find out patterns that could indicate future heart problems, including the likelihood of a heart attack and atrial fibrillation.

According to the results of the study,the AI ​​model showed better results than all the methods that exist today that distinguish patients whose risk of death increases during the year from those who are not at risk of death. Moreover, AI revealed heart problems in those patients who had previously been treated by cardiologists.

What do cardiologists not see?

During the study, a team of specialistsprovided AI data in two different ways. At first, the algorithm could familiarize itself with the unprocessed ECG results, by which it was possible to track changes in the cardiogram over time. In another case, the researchers provided ECG data indicating the age and gender of the patients. Scientists measured AI responses using the AUC indicator - it measures how well the model distinguishes between two groups of people - in this case, patients who died within a year and those who survived. Researchers note that the AUC for risk assessment models currently in use by doctors varies from 0.65 to 0.8. And AI invariably scored above 0.85 points (1 point is considered ideal, and 0.5 indicates the absence of differences between the two groups).

To stay up to date with news from the world of science, subscribe to our news channel in Telegram

AI accurately predicted the risk of death even in humans,ECG results that cardiologists consider normal. Three cardiologists who separately studied the ECG of patients failed to identify the risk detected by AI. Thus, the model developed by specialists sees things that are not available to doctors today. Scientists note that doctors could misinterpret some of the things for decades.

Cardiovascular disease is the most common cause of death in the world.

This is not the only attempt to usemachine learning capabilities for predicting death. Last year, researchers from Google in Mountain View, California, created a predictive model that uses electronic medical records to predict the length of a patient’s stay in the hospital and the time of discharge and the time of death. Moreover, different AI models have also been used to diagnose cardiovascular disease and lung cancer. In some cases, the diagnosis of AI was more accurate than the diagnosis of doctors.

Despite the accuracy of some predictionsmodels, there is one significant drawback: all these models cannot and do not try to explain how AI works. For this reason, many can not yet make accurate conclusions about the effectiveness of such models. Note that according to the World Health Organization (WHO), cardiovascular disease is the most common cause of death in the world, annually killing 17 to 23 million people. And what methods of preventing cardiovascular diseases do you know? Tell the participants about our Telegram chat about them.