الفضاء

أرمادا من الأقمار الصناعية في المدار يمكن أن تغلق مساحة بالنسبة لنا.

عندما ضربت الهند هذا الأسبوع واحدة منالأقمار الصناعية الصاروخية التابعة لناسا ، لم يفاجأ جيم برايدن ، مدير ناسا. ومع ذلك ، أعرب عن استيائه: "إنشاء حقول الحطام الفضائي عمدا - هو خطأ ... إذا كنا القمامة في الكون ، فإننا لن نعيد ذلك." مشكلة الحطام الفضائي تتفاقم فقط: الأقمار الصناعية الميتة والصواريخ المستهلكة والحطام من الاشتباكات السابقة - كل هذا يهدد الأقمار الصناعية العاملة والأشخاص في الفضاء وحتى محطة الفضاء الدولية.

من السابق لأوانه الحديث عن سحابة من الحطام ،غادر بعد الاختبار الهندي. البنتاغون "وضع عيون" على 250 أجزاء منفصلة ، وتقارير رويترز. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من أن سحابة من الأجزاء المعدنية قد تكونت أثناء الاصطدام ، إلا أنها حدثت على ارتفاع صغير نسبيًا. معظمهم سوف يسقط على الأرض في غضون بضعة أشهر.

كم القمامة في المدار؟

ورغم أن برايدنشتاين لم يكن راضيًا عن الهندياختبار خبراء الحطام الفضائي لديه المزيد من المشاكل. يمكن أن تؤدي "الأبراج الضخمة" المزعومة للأقمار الصناعية إلى مشاكل أكثر خطورة وطويلة الأمد.

حوالي نصف مساحة القمامة اليومتشكلت فقط بواسطة حدثين: الاختبار المضاد للأقمار الصناعية للحكومة الصينية في عام 2007 والتصادم العرضي بين قمرين صناعيين في عام 2009.

ومع ذلك ، هناك خطط لجعل منخفضةمدار الأرض أكثر بالسكان. على سبيل المثال ، يريد بدء تشغيل OneWeb وضع 900 قمر صناعي صغير في المدار لتوفير اتصال إنترنت واسع النطاق في الأماكن التي لا يتوفر فيها حاليًا. في الوقت نفسه ، حصل SpaceX على إذن لوضع 12000 قمر صناعي في مدارات قريبة ومنخفضة للغاية بالقرب من الأرض. لدى شركات أخرى ، مثل Telesat و LeoSat ، خطط مماثلة.

تدفق مفاجئ للمجندين يمكن أن يسببمشاكل خطيرة. في ورقة قدمت في المؤتمر الدولي 69 للملاحة الفضائية في بريمن في أكتوبر الماضي ، قام جلين بيترسون ، باحث في شركة أيروسبيس كوربوريشن ، بحساب آثار إدخال الآلاف من الأقمار الصناعية في الاتصالات والمراقبة والاستطلاع في مدار أرضي منخفض ، حيث يقع معظم الحطام.

إذا كانت جميع الأبراج الضخمة تعمل ، من خلالتقدر بيترسون أن أكثر من 67000 تحذير من الاصطدام سيتم توليدها سنويًا من خلال تقنيات التتبع. سيتعين على المشغلين بعد ذلك اختيار ما إذا كان يتعين عليهم إجراء مئات من مناورات التحذير عبر الأقمار الصناعية يوميًا أو المخاطرة باحتمالية ضئيلة من الاصطدام.

في يناير ، الشركة المصنعةقررت صور كابيلا التي تم توليفها بواسطة رادار ذي فتحة ، نقل القمر الصناعي دينالي الوحيد عند مواجهة احتمال الاصطدام بكوبسات تجاري. يقول الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة كابيلا بيام بانزاده: "كان احتمال الاصطدام حوالي 12٪". "هذا خطر كبير وقد أخذناه على محمل الجد".

كانت هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تستخدم فيها كابيلامحرك دينالي ، واستغرقت المناورة كلها عدة أيام. ستكون المناورات المستقبلية أسرع ، لكنها ستحتاج إلى اهتمام - خاصة إذا كان يجب تنفيذها عدة مرات في اليوم ، كما يقول بن زادة. "بدلاً من جمع الصور في منطقة معينة ، يمكنك تغيير المدار ، وإضاعة الوقت والموارد ، ثم التحقق من الوضع اللاحق".

وحتى الآن ، إذا فات واحد على الأقل إنذاريثبت أنه صحيح ، فإن العواقب قد تكون كارثية. لا أحد يعتقد أن Iridium يمكن أن يسجل على قمر صناعي ويوفر المال ، ولكن البيئة المدارية أصبحت أكثر اكتظاظًا بالسكان وتنافسية.

يقول بن زادة: "إذا تصرفت بشكل لائق في الفضاء ، فهذا لا يعني أن الآخرين سيكونون كذلك". "قد يستغرق الأمر مجرد عدد قليل من الجهات الفاعلة السيئة لجعل الأمور أسوأ".

قريبا جدا سيكون للولايات المتحدة شبكة.الرادار الأرضي المتقدم ، والمعروف باسم سور الفضاء. يجب أن يحسن دقة تنبؤات الاصطدامات المحتملة. لكن هذه التكنولوجيا هي سلاح ذو حدين ، كما يقول بيترسون. حيث يمكن للرادار الحديث أن يتعقب بشكل موثوق أكثر من 20.000 قطعة من الحطام الفضائي أكبر من 10 سم في الحجم ، ستكون مجسات المستقبل قادرة على اكتشاف شظايا يصل حجمها إلى 2 سم ، وسيصل عددها إلى 200000.

بيترسون يحسب أنه حتى لو كانت كل الأشياءتتبع بدقة ، ستواجه الأبراج الكبيرة عدة مئات من التحذيرات الخاطئة سنويًا. قد يتم إغراء بعض المشغلين للمخاطرة والمضي قدماً في تصادم غير مرجح ، ولكن أي "اجتماع" سيكون كارثياً بسرعة 30،000 كيلومتر في الساعة.

إذا ارتكبنا خطأ ، يمكن أن يكون الوصول إلى الفضاء دائمًا بالنسبة لنا. هل لديك حل؟ أخبرنا في محادثتنا في Telegram.

Space

Armada of satellites in orbit can close space for us.

When this week India hit one of itsNASA’s own rocket satellites, NASA administrator Jim Brydenstein was not surprised. However, he expressed his dissatisfaction: “Creating space debris fields intentionally is wrong ... If we litter the cosmos, we will not return it”. The problem of space debris is only aggravated: dead satellites, spent missiles, debris from previous clashes - all this threatens working satellites, people in space and even the International Space Station.

It's too early to talk about a cloud of debris,left after the Indian test. The Pentagon "laid eyes" on 250 separate parts, reports Reuters. However, although a cloud of metallic fragments was probably formed during the collision, it occurred at a relatively small height. Most of them will fall to Earth in a few months.

How much garbage is in orbit?

And although Brydenstein was not pleased with the Indianthe test, space debris experts have more problems. The alleged "mega-constellations" of satellites can lead to much more serious and long-lasting problems.

About half of all space junk todayformed by only two events: the anti-satellite test of the Chinese government in 2007 and the accidental collision of two satellites in 2009.

However, there are plans to make lowEarth orbit more populated. For example, a OneWeb startup wants to put 900 small satellites into orbit to provide a broadband Internet connection in places where it is currently unavailable. At the same time, SpaceX received permission to place 12,000 satellites in low and very low near-Earth orbits. Other companies, such as Telesat and LeoSat, have similar plans.

A sudden influx of recruits can causeserious problems. In a paper presented at the 69th International Astronautical Congress in Bremen last October, Glenn Peterson, a researcher at Aerospace Corporation, calculated the effects of introducing thousands of satellites to communications, surveillance and reconnaissance into low-Earth orbit, where most of the space debris is located.

If all the mega constellations are running, byPeterson estimates that more than 67,000 collision warnings will be generated annually by modern tracking technologies. Operators will then have to choose whether to perform hundreds of satellite warning maneuvers per day or risk a low probability of collision.

In January, the manufacturing companyCapella synthesized aperture radar imagery decided to move its only Denali satellite when faced with the likelihood of crashing into a commercial Kubsat. “The probability of a collision was around 12%,” says Capella CEO Payam Banazadeh. "This is a big risk and we took it very seriously."

This was the first time Capella usedDenali engine, and the whole maneuver took several days. Future maneuvers will be faster, but they will still need attention - especially if they have to be carried out several times a day, Banazadeh says. "Instead of collecting images in a specific area, you change the orbit, waste time and resources, and then check the post factum."

And yet, if at least one missed alarmproves to be true, the consequences could be catastrophic. No one thought that Iridium could score on a satellite and save money, but the orbital environment is becoming more populated and competitive.

“If I behave decently in space, it does not mean that others will be, too,” says Banazadeh. "It may take just a few bad actors to make things worse."

Very soon the US will have a network.advanced ground-based radar, known as the Space Fence. It should improve the accuracy of predictions of possible collisions. But this technology is a double-edged sword, Peterson says. Where modern radar can reliably track only 20,000-plus pieces of space debris larger than 10 centimeters in size, sensors of the future will be able to detect fragments up to 2 centimeters in size, and their number will reach 200,000.

Peterson calculated that even if all objectstracked accurately, larger constellations will encounter several hundred false warnings annually. Some operators may be tempted to take a chance and go on a close passage with an unlikely collision, but any “meeting” will be disastrous at a speed of 30,000 kilometers per hour.

If we make a mistake, space can be permanently inaccessible to us. Do you have a solution? Tell us in our chat in Telegram.