تكنولوجيا

ربما يكون العلماء الأمريكيون قد حلوا مشكلة إنتاج الأكسجين في الفضاء

على الرغم من وجود أكسجين في الفضاء ،الجزء الرئيسي منه غير موجود في الشكل الذي استخدمناه للتنفس - الأكسجين الجزيئي ، أو O2. أعلن خبراء من Caltech (Caltech) أنهم قاموا بإنشاء مفاعل يسمح بتحويل ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى أكسجين جزيئي ، والذي لا يمكن أن يساعد في المستقبل فقط في مكافحة تغير المناخ على الأرض ، ولكن أيضًا إنشاء إنتاج الأكسجين في الفضاء. جاء ذلك في مقال نشرته مجلة Nature Communications.

كيف تنتج الأكسجين في الفضاء؟

نقص الأكسجين هو واحد من أهمعقبات في تطوير الفضاء السحيق. الأرض هي المكان الوحيد الذي تكون فيه كميات هذا الغاز كافية لبقاء الجنس البشري ، ولكن الحاجة إلى أخذ احتياطيات كبيرة من هذا العنصر الحيوي إلى رحلات الفضاء الطويلة ستكون مهمة باهظة الثمن ومكلفة للغاية. على سبيل المثال ، في محطة الفضاء الدولية نفسها ، يتم تزويد مصدر الأكسجين بتجربة التحليل الكهربائي للماء (تحلله إلى هيدروجين وأكسجين). يتم ذلك على محطة الفضاء الدولية بواسطة نظام الإلكترون ، الذي يستهلك 1 كجم من المياه للشخص الواحد في اليوم. يتم أيضًا تجديد مخازن الأوكسجين من وقت لآخر أثناء بعثات الشحن إلى المحطة المدارية. هناك رأي مفاده أنه عندما تبدأ عملية إعادة تشكيل المريخ ، سيصبح التحليل الكهربائي إحدى طرق إنتاج الأكسجين لمستعمري المريخ ، لكن البشرية لا تملك مثل هذه التقنيات بعد ، لذلك من السابق لأوانه التفكير فيه.

لذلك ، قرر علماء من Caltech العثور داخلبحثه هو طريقة مختلفة لإنتاج الأكسجين. في النهاية ، توصلوا إلى إنشاء مفاعل ، ببساطة ، يأخذ ويزيل من صيغة CO2 (ثاني أكسيد الكربون) C (الكربون) ، وترك الأكسجين فقط. وجد الباحثون أنه إذا قمت بتسريع جزيئات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وضربها على الأسطح الخاملة ، مثل رقائق الذهب ، فيمكن تقسيمها إلى أكسجين جزيئي وكربون ذري.

يقول العلماء أن مفاعلها يعمل فيمبدأ تسريع الجسيمات. أولاً ، يتم تأين جزيئات ثاني أكسيد الكربون الموجودة فيه ، ثم تسريعها بواسطة المجال الكهرومغناطيسي ، ثم تصطدم بالسطح الذهبي. في النموذج الحالي ، يكون التثبيت منخفضًا للغاية: لكل 100 جزيء من ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، يكون قادرًا على الإنتاج حسب ترتيب واحد أو جزيئين من الأكسجين الجزيئي. ومع ذلك ، يشير الباحثون إلى أن مفاعلهم قد أثبت أن مفهوم إنتاج الأكسجين هذا ممكن بالفعل ويمكن أن يصبح قابلاً للتطوير في المستقبل.

شرح الباحثون أن رد فعل مماثليمكن أن يحدث إنتاج الأكسجين في الفضاء بشكل طبيعي. بدأ تطوير المفهوم بمحاولة لشرح الاكتشاف غير المتوقع للأكسجين الجزيئي على المذنبات. بعد اكتشاف المركبة الفضائية Rosetta غازًا يفر من سطح المذنب 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko ، افترض العلماء في البداية أن هذا الأكسجين كان في حالته المجمدة لمليارات السنين ، في الواقع منذ تكوين النظام الشمسي ، أي لمدة تقارب 4 ، 6 مليار سنة. لكن هذه الفرضية لا تزال مثيرة للجدل إلى حد كبير ، حيث أن مثل هذا الأكسجين الجزيئي "المجمد" يجب أن يكون له إمكانات كيميائية عالية جدًا وأن يدخل في تفاعلات مع مكونات أخرى من المادة الكوميتية ، وفقًا لعدد من العلماء.

ومع ذلك ، في عام 2017 ، اقترح فريق Koltehaتفسير آخر. لفت الأستاذ في معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا وأخصائي الهندسة الجزيئية كونستانتينوس جيابيس الانتباه إلى التفاعلات الكيميائية التي تحدث على سطح المذنب 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko ، لأنها بدت مشابهة له تمامًا لتلك التفاعلات التي درسها في المختبر لأكثر من 20 عامًا. اقترح العالم أن الآلية المدروسة جيدًا ، والتي تتألف من حقيقة أن الأكسجين الذري لمادة مذنب تتحول إلى أكسجين جزيئي تحت تأثير جزيئات الماء التي تقصف السطح ، والتي تحتوي أيضًا على ذرة أكسجين واحدة ، قابلة للتطبيق جيدًا في الفيزياء الفلكية لشرح البيانات التي حصل عليها علماء بعثة روزيت . هذا ألهم العلماء لتطوير مفاعل.

لماذا تنتج الأكسجين في الفضاء؟

في المستقبل ، يمكن استخدام المفاعلإنتاج الأكسجين لرواد الفضاء الذين سوف يطير إلى القمر ، المريخ وخارجها. على الأرض ، يمكن أن يكون التثبيت المماثل ، مع مراعاة المقياس ، مفيدًا للغاية ، لأنه يمكن أن يقلل تركيز ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الجو ويحوله إلى أكسجين ، مما يساعد في مكافحة تغير المناخ العالمي. ومع ذلك ، يلاحظ العلماء أن المرحلة العملية لتركيبها ليست جاهزة بعد.

هل هذا هو الجهاز النهائي؟ لا. هل يمكن لهذا الجهاز حل المشكلة مع المريخ؟ لا. علق كونستانتينوس جابيس ، رئيس مشروع بحثي ، على الرغم من ذلك ، فقد أثبت هذا الجهاز مفهومًا تم اقتراحه مسبقًا بدا مستحيلًا.

يمكنك مناقشة الأخبار من خلال Telegram-chat.

Technology

American scientists may have solved the problem of oxygen production in space

Despite the fact that there is oxygen in space,its main part does not exist in the form that we used to breathe - molecular oxygen, or O2. Experts from Caltech (Caltech) declare that they have created a reactor that allows to process carbon dioxide into molecular oxygen, which in the future can not only help combat climate change on Earth, but also establish oxygen production in space. This is reported in an article published by the journal Nature Communications.

How to produce oxygen in space?

Oxygen deficiency is one of the most importantobstacles in the development of deep space. The Earth is the only place where the volumes of this gas are sufficient for the survival of mankind, but the need to take large reserves of this vital element to long-distance space flights will be a very expensive and overwhelming task. For example, on the same International Space Station, the oxygen supply is replenished by electrolysis of water (decomposition of it into hydrogen and oxygen). This is done on the ISS by the Electron system, which consumes 1 kg of water per person per day. Oxygen stores are also replenished from time to time during cargo missions to the orbital station. There is an opinion that when the terraforming of Mars begins, electrolysis will become one of the methods of producing oxygen for Martian colonists, but humankind does not have such technologies yet, so it’s too early to think about it.

Therefore, scientists from Caltech decided to find withinhis research is a different method of producing oxygen. As a result, they came up with the creation of a reactor, which, to put it simply, takes and removes C (carbon) from the formula CO2 (carbon dioxide), leaving only oxygen. The researchers found that if you accelerate and strike carbon dioxide molecules on inert surfaces such as gold foil, they can be split into molecular oxygen and atomic carbon.

Scientists say their reactor is operating atparticle accelerator principle. First, the CO2 molecules in it are ionized, and then accelerated by the electromagnetic field, and then they collide with the golden surface. In the current form, the installation has a very low efficiency: for every 100 molecules of CO2, it is capable of producing on the order of one or two molecules of molecular oxygen. However, the researchers point out that their reactor has proven that this concept of oxygen production is indeed possible and can become scalable in the future.

Researchers explain that a similar reactionOxygen production in space can occur naturally. The development of the concept began with an attempt to explain the unexpected discovery of molecular oxygen on comets. After the Rosetta spacecraft discovered a gas escaping from the surface of comet 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko, scientists initially assumed that this oxygen was in its frozen state for billions of years, in fact since the formation of the Solar System, that is, for about 4 , 6 billion years old. But this hypothesis still remains highly controversial, since such “frozen” molecular oxygen should have a very high chemical potential and enter into interactions with other components of the cometary substance, according to a number of scientists.

However, in 2017, the Kolteha team proposedanother explanation. Professor at the California Institute of Technology and molecular engineering specialist Konstantinos Gyapis drew attention to the chemical reactions occurring on the surface of comet 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko, because they seemed to him very similar to those reactions that he had studied in the laboratory for over 20 years. The scientist suggested that the well-studied mechanism, consisting in the fact that the atomic oxygen of a comet's substance turns into molecular oxygen under the influence of water molecules bombarding the surface, also containing one oxygen atom, is well applicable in astrophysics to explain the data obtained by the scientists of the Rosette mission . This inspired scientists to develop a reactor.

Why produce oxygen in space?

In the future, the reactor may be used forproducing oxygen for astronauts who will fly to the moon, mars and beyond. On Earth, a similar installation, taking into account the scale, can also be very useful, because it can reduce the concentration of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and convert them into oxygen, thereby helping in the fight against global climate change. However, scientists note that for the practical phase of their installation is not yet ready.

“Is this the final device? Not. Can this device solve the issue with Mars? Not. However, this device is proven by a previously proposed concept that seemed impossible, ”commented Konstantinos Giapis, head of a research project.

You can discuss the news in our Telegram-chat.